??!
4 photos
LG NeoChef MJ3966
3.2 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (11)
Previous
Next
Burt

BurtBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Once the reset issue is permanently fixed, it works great

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Burt
Burt
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 77 reviews
  • 33 likes

A mini oven with oven features

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$525.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
VinT

VinT

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not too bad with heaps of options available to use but not the most user friendly

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$560.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
peejaybee

peejaybeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks like we're not alone with the reset issue

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
mr.sneezy

mr.sneezy

  • 13 reviews
  • 21 likes

A warning to stay away from this model if it's still being built.

published

Purchased in December 2017 for A$555.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
ARK

ARK

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Flakey. Random resets

published

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
James R.

James R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worked good for about a year, then it all started...

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$515.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Fran

FranGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I wish I’d got the add-on warranty offer

published

12 months and 2 weeks old and the inverter error code started. Inverter needs replacing. This is an expensive appliance and should be indestructible. Don’t buy one. Looks can be deceiving.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for A$581.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
S Fowler

S FowlerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Lemon

published

Have had it in for repairs twice for the same error in its 2 years factory warranty which was very inconvenient as a 40min drive each way to drop off and pick up. It is now faulting again with a different issue. I have only ever used for steaming and heating. The worst microwave I have ever owned. LG have agreed to issue a return authority so Harvey Norman are happy to give me a full refund. So happy customer now.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Guavacudda

GuavacuddaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Versatile Faulty Microwave

published

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Burnt-Twice

Burnt-TwiceAU

  • 71 reviews
  • 58 likes

Best Convection Microwave I Have Owned

published

Bought this 18 months ago, used to have a Sharp 20 years ago.

Takes some getting used to because the timer jumps in 10 second intervals to 3 minutes, then 30 seconds after that. Also the maximum time it can be set for is 90 minutes, but if you needed 2hrs you could do it in 2 steps.

I use this instead of my older full size oven, takes just a few minutes to heat up, and is quite accurate with temperature. Never had any problems, the interior is easy to wipe down, the fold down door is a fantastic space saver, and the microwave function is awesome.

Would buy again.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for A$593.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Peeved

PeevedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Obviously a faulty product and LG just won't admit it

published

Like many other reviewers and of the MJ3966ABS, this microwave just keeps resetting back to the clock or turning itself off. It does when you open the door, or press stop and even does it when you've not even using it and in another room. I've been on the phone to LG and absolutely hopeless customer service. There are obviously known problems with this product, and LG just say take it across town to a repairer. Given others have had such problems with getting repairs and then if repair doesn't last, I think I'm just going to go back to Good Guys and see what they can do.
Shocking service LG.
OWN UP when you've created a faulty product and give your customers refunds, rather than sending them on a goose chase.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Monica

Monica

  • 2 reviews

The lemon of microwaves

published

When you open the door or busy cooking or closing the door the microwave would jump to setting the timer. Has gone in for repairs. (took approx a month) and still have same issues. LG response: keep taking in for repairs even though they couldn't fix it previously. Everybody else seems happy with this microwave so feels like this one is a dud.

1 comment
Monica
Monica

I've read through other reviews here now and 5 out of the 16 describes exactly the same issue we've had. So mine not just a dud seems to be a recurring issue. Stay away from this microwave, and so pricey as well for all this pain

MarnieB

MarnieBSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

The Perfect Appliance in any Kitchen

published

I have had & used some microwaves in my 70 years but this one tops the lot.
It seems to be fool proof as everything just comes out perfectly because of the convenient & easy to use control system, not just for the microwave but also the convection side as well. I am more than happy with it. Also so easy to keep clean.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$589.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bill Stones

Bill StonesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Used for Office Kitchen. Durable and efficient.

published

Bought this microwave to replace an old one for our office kitchen. Our office has about 100 staff on the floor so needless to say, this gets used heavily. So far it has held up and no complaints from anyone. It simply does the job and does it efficiently. The oven feature doesn't get used very often but i'm sure it works just as good. The timer and heating functions were a bit tricky to figure out at first but once you get the hang of it, you'll find it has a lot of useful heat settings for different types of dishes.

Purchased in September 2017 at The Good Guys Online store for A$693.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue S

Sue SPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Microwave ever

published

Oh my, what doesn't this microwave do. Fantastic as an oven, the best roast pork ever, highly recommended. Easy to use, defrost, microwave, grill. Have even used it to bake a cake, turned out moist. We are going travelling in our motor home soon so this will be our everything.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
baz

bazSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Avoid

published

This was an expensive purchase about 18 months ago. A short time after buying it the over would reset when opening the door and so I eventually took it back to the store. It was allegedly fixed so back it came and started doing the same thing about a week later. So back again to the store and repaired for second time with a new door and board. Overall not impressed with this. Microwave function is ok but sounds like a chaff cutter when running due to the vibration of the case. I haven't used the convection function all that much but it doesn't seem to be as hit as the temperature says. I wouldn't buy another one.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Pam

PamSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Too many Bells and Whistles

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Pam
Pam
Mayday

MaydayNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Nothing but Problems

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Mayday
Mayday

Cant thank the betta home living store enough for helping me get reimbursed for the LG NEOCHEF

Sweet Garden

Sweet GardenKyneton

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a good design!

published

We recently purchased this lovely, stylish microwave and I am very pleased with it. It looks lovely in the kitchen but it also functions brilliantly. It is an inverter style one and it cooks so fast compared to my old machine - I have had to refigure cooking times by half in some cases! It also has very handy digital menus. I really am pleased with it!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

VickiJ

VickiJasked

NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

1. Why does user manual say convection can be 200deg but unit only goes to 180?
2. Using convection combi - how do you now what micro power relates to which code? (EG manual says
CC-2 is 330W), what is CC-1 and CC-3?

1 answer
Mortishia
Mortishia

Hi Vicki,
The unit does go up to 200 degrees in. The microwave starts @ 180dg. Turning the dial will take it to 200. Regarding the CC-2 etc. I haven’t come across this, so unable to respond. If not in the manual, I either internet search or go to LG website where Live chat can be used. I do this with appliances I’m uncertain about.

Christine

Christineasked

NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

We have a nearly brand new microwave and everytime the microwave function is selected the "door" display comes on and the microwave stops heating

1 answer
Mortishia
Mortishia

This appears to be a fault. Have you contacted the manufacturer or the dealer you purchased from? Depending on how long you have had the item, usually the dealer will replace. You shouldn’t have such an issue with the microwave. Don’t hesitate and get in contact with dealer first, the LG.
Regards
Maria

Anny

Annyasked

NeoChef MJ3966

Why does the clock turn itself off after it finishes cooking, heating etc?

1 answer
peejaybee
peejaybee

It shouldn’t if you mean it goes blank/off. It’s faulty, just like ours. A few reports on here of the same thing. It needs to be repaired by LG if still under warranty.

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) A$829.00A$709.00
Type ConvectionConvection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor CookingChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Capacity39L39L
Dimensions 325 x 540 x 523 mm325 x 540 x 523 mm
Turntable Diameter360 mm360 mm
Door MechanismPull HandlePull Handle
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack
Power1,100 W1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966

  • MPN: 36527833 and MJ3966ASS
  • GTIN13: 8806087857610

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.