4 photos
LG NeoChef MJ3966
3.1 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Nic
NicAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Oven Doesn’t Work!

published

Terrible. Convection oven doesn’t work. It takes far longer than a cheap convection oven from Kmart. No better than a standard microwave & not worth the money. Very disappointing by LG, a brand I trusted.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $630.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Hopeless
Hopeless Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

LG convection microwave is hopeless

published

Repairs to electronics required twice within 2 year free warranty period but now it has died 3.5years old. Never buying LG again. The LG 10 year warranty is a scam.

Purchased in September 2018 for $530.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Burt
BurtBrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Once the reset issue is permanently fixed, it works great, but you can't trust LG

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Burt
Burt
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mortishia
MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 83 reviews
  • 39 likes

A mini oven with oven features

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $525.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
VinT
VinT
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not too bad with heaps of options available to use but not the most user friendly

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $560.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
peejaybee
peejaybeeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks like we're not alone with the reset issue

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
  • 13 reviews
  • 22 likes

A warning to stay away from this model if it's still being built.

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $555.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
ARK
ARK
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Flakey. Random resets

published

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
James R.
James R.
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worked good for about a year, then it all started...

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman for $515.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fran
FranGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I wish I’d got the add-on warranty offer

published

12 months and 2 weeks old and the inverter error code started. Inverter needs replacing. This is an expensive appliance and should be indestructible. Don’t buy one. Looks can be deceiving.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for $581.00.

Incentivised Review No
S Fowler
S FowlerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Lemon

published

Have had it in for repairs twice for the same error in its 2 years factory warranty which was very inconvenient as a 40min drive each way to drop off and pick up. It is now faulting again with a different issue. I have only ever used for steaming and heating. The worst microwave I have ever owned. LG have agreed to issue a return authority so Harvey Norman are happy to give me a full refund. So happy customer now.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Incentivised Review No
Guavacudda
GuavacuddaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Versatile Faulty Microwave

published

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Burnt-Twice
Burnt-TwiceAU
  • 71 reviews
  • 68 likes

Best Convection Microwave I Have Owned

published

Bought this 18 months ago, used to have a Sharp 20 years ago.

Takes some getting used to because the timer jumps in 10 second intervals to 3 minutes, then 30 seconds after that. Also the maximum time it can be set for is 90 minutes, but if you needed 2hrs you could do it in 2 steps.

I use this instead of my older full size oven, takes just a few minutes to heat up, and is quite accurate with temperature. Never had any problems, the interior is easy to wipe down, the fold down door is a fantastic space saver, and the microwave function is awesome.

Would buy again.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $593.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peeved
PeevedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Obviously a faulty product and LG just won't admit it

published

Like many other reviewers and of the MJ3966ABS, this microwave just keeps resetting back to the clock or turning itself off. It does when you open the door, or press stop and even does it when you've not even using it and in another room. I've been on the phone to LG and absolutely hopeless customer service. There are obviously known problems with this product, and LG just say take it across town to a repairer. Given others have had such problems with getting repairs and then if repair doesn't last, I think I'm just going to go back to Good Guys and see what they can do.
Shocking service LG.
OWN UP when you've created a faulty product and give your customers refunds, rather than sending them on a goose chase.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Monica
Monica
  • 2 reviews

The lemon of microwaves

published

When you open the door or busy cooking or closing the door the microwave would jump to setting the timer. Has gone in for repairs. (took approx a month) and still have same issues. LG response: keep taking in for repairs even though they couldn't fix it previously. Everybody else seems happy with this microwave so feels like this one is a dud.

  • Thumbnail
Monica
Monica

I've read through other reviews here now and 5 out of the 16 describes exactly the same issue we've had. So mine not just a dud seems to be a recurring issue. Stay away from this microwave, and so pricey as well for all this pain

Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

VickiJ
VickiJasked
NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

1. Why does user manual say convection can be 200deg but unit only goes to 180?
2. Using convection combi - how do you now what micro power relates to which code? (EG manual says
CC-2 is 330W), what is CC-1 and CC-3?

1 answer
Mortishia
Mortishia

Hi Vicki,
The unit does go up to 200 degrees in. The microwave starts @ 180dg. Turning the dial will take it to 200. Regarding the CC-2 etc. I haven’t come across this, so unable to respond. If not in the manual, I either internet search or go to LG website where Live chat can be used. I do this with appliances I’m uncertain about.

Christine
Christineasked
NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

We have a nearly brand new microwave and everytime the microwave function is selected the "door" display comes on and the microwave stops heating

1 answer
Mortishia
Mortishia

This appears to be a fault. Have you contacted the manufacturer or the dealer you purchased from? Depending on how long you have had the item, usually the dealer will replace. You shouldn’t have such an issue with the microwave. Don’t hesitate and get in contact with dealer first, the LG.
Regards
Maria

Anny
Annyasked
NeoChef MJ3966

Why does the clock turn itself off after it finishes cooking, heating etc?

1 answer
peejaybee
peejaybee

It shouldn’t if you mean it goes blank/off. It’s faulty, just like ours. A few reports on here of the same thing. It needs to be repaired by LG if still under warranty.

See all LG NeoChef MJ3966 questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG NeoChef MJ3966

Details

Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $829.00$709.00
Type ConvectionConvection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor CookingChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Capacity39L39L
Dimensions 325 x 540 x 523 mm325 x 540 x 523 mm
Turntable Diameter360 mm360 mm
Door MechanismPull HandlePull Handle
Power1,100 W1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack
Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966
  • MPN: 36527833 and MJ3966ASS
  • GTIN13: 8806087857610

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.