??!
4 photos
LG NeoChef MJ3966
3.1 from 33 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(5)
(2)
(6)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (7)
mr.sneezy

mr.sneezy

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

A warning to stay away from this model if it's still being built.

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $555.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
ARK

ARK

  • 2 reviews

Flakey. Random resets

published

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
James R.

James R.

  • 2 reviews

Worked good for about a year, then it all started...

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman for $515.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fran

FranGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I wish I’d got the add-on warranty offer

published

12 months and 2 weeks old and the inverter error code started. Inverter needs replacing. This is an expensive appliance and should be indestructible. Don’t buy one. Looks can be deceiving.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for $581.00.

S Fowler

S FowlerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Lemon

published

Have had it in for repairs twice for the same error in its 2 years factory warranty which was very inconvenient as a 40min drive each way to drop off and pick up. It is now faulting again with a different issue. I have only ever used for steaming and heating. The worst microwave I have ever owned. LG have agreed to issue a return authority so Harvey Norman are happy to give me a full refund. So happy customer now.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Guavacudda

GuavacuddaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Versatile Faulty Microwave

published

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Burnt-Twice

Burnt-TwiceAU

  • 69 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Convection Microwave I Have Owned

published

Bought this 18 months ago, used to have a Sharp 20 years ago.

Takes some getting used to because the timer jumps in 10 second intervals to 3 minutes, then 30 seconds after that. Also the maximum time it can be set for is 90 minutes, but if you needed 2hrs you could do it in 2 steps.

I use this instead of my older full size oven, takes just a few minutes to heat up, and is quite accurate with temperature. Never had any problems, the interior is easy to wipe down, the fold down door is a fantastic space saver, and the microwave function is awesome.

Would buy again.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $593.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Peeved

PeevedSouth East Queensland, QLD

Obviously a faulty product and LG just won't admit it

published

Like many other reviewers and of the MJ3966ABS, this microwave just keeps resetting back to the clock or turning itself off. It does when you open the door, or press stop and even does it when you've not even using it and in another room. I've been on the phone to LG and absolutely hopeless customer service. There are obviously known problems with this product, and LG just say take it across town to a repairer. Given others have had such problems with getting repairs and then if repair doesn't last, I think I'm just going to go back to Good Guys and see what they can do.
Shocking service LG.
OWN UP when you've created a faulty product and give your customers refunds, rather than sending them on a goose chase.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Monica

Monica

  • 2 reviews

The lemon of microwaves

published

When you open the door or busy cooking or closing the door the microwave would jump to setting the timer. Has gone in for repairs. (took approx a month) and still have same issues. LG response: keep taking in for repairs even though they couldn't fix it previously. Everybody else seems happy with this microwave so feels like this one is a dud.

1 comment
Monica
Monica

I've read through other reviews here now and 5 out of the 16 describes exactly the same issue we've had. So mine not just a dud seems to be a recurring issue. Stay away from this microwave, and so pricey as well for all this pain

Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarnieB

MarnieBSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

The Perfect Appliance in any Kitchen

published

I have had & used some microwaves in my 70 years but this one tops the lot.
It seems to be fool proof as everything just comes out perfectly because of the convenient & easy to use control system, not just for the microwave but also the convection side as well. I am more than happy with it. Also so easy to keep clean.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $589.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Bill Stones

Bill StonesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Used for Office Kitchen. Durable and efficient.

published

Bought this microwave to replace an old one for our office kitchen. Our office has about 100 staff on the floor so needless to say, this gets used heavily. So far it has held up and no complaints from anyone. It simply does the job and does it efficiently. The oven feature doesn't get used very often but i'm sure it works just as good. The timer and heating functions were a bit tricky to figure out at first but once you get the hang of it, you'll find it has a lot of useful heat settings for different types of dishes.

Purchased in September 2017 at The Good Guys Online store for $693.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sue S

Sue SPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Microwave ever

published

Oh my, what doesn't this microwave do. Fantastic as an oven, the best roast pork ever, highly recommended. Easy to use, defrost, microwave, grill. Have even used it to bake a cake, turned out moist. We are going travelling in our motor home soon so this will be our everything.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
baz

bazSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid

published

This was an expensive purchase about 18 months ago. A short time after buying it the over would reset when opening the door and so I eventually took it back to the store. It was allegedly fixed so back it came and started doing the same thing about a week later. So back again to the store and repaired for second time with a new door and board. Overall not impressed with this. Microwave function is ok but sounds like a chaff cutter when running due to the vibration of the case. I haven't used the convection function all that much but it doesn't seem to be as hit as the temperature says. I wouldn't buy another one.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Pam

PamSouthwest, VIC

  • 8 reviews

Too many Bells and Whistles

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Pam
Pam
Mayday

MaydayNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Nothing but Problems

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Mayday
Mayday

Cant thank the betta home living store enough for helping me get reimbursed for the LG NEOCHEF

Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sweet Garden

Sweet GardenKyneton

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a good design!

published

We recently purchased this lovely, stylish microwave and I am very pleased with it. It looks lovely in the kitchen but it also functions brilliantly. It is an inverter style one and it cooks so fast compared to my old machine - I have had to refigure cooking times by half in some cases! It also has very handy digital menus. I really am pleased with it!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Karen and Scott

Karen and ScottGriffin, Queensland

  • 3 reviews

Awesome Unit

published

In our previous home of 13 years we only used our LG Solardome so when we repurchased another home we realised we had to get a microwave and decided to get another convection oven. We loved this model because it has an easy clean interior, a steam unit which supports our healthy food options and easy to follow instructions. We really like the pull down door for easy access as our microwave opening is below the benchtop. It's also brushed silver so it matches our fridge and rangehood.

Naomi

Naomi

  • 2 reviews

Excellent and Stylish Microwave

published

I love the stylish and modern look of this microwave oven! It heats food quickly and very well. Easy to open door and use of knobs /buttons! I would highly recommend purchasing one!

Jeff P

Jeff PWoodhill Qld

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very Disappointed

published

Bought new in June 2017. Not used until August 2017. By December 2017 I got sick and tired of the display disappearing up to 10 times a day. Took it to the LG nominated repairer and 4 months later got it back with a new electronic board and fan (did not know it was faulty). The display is still switching itself off, even when not in use. Compared to my older Panasonic unit the grill function on the LG unit is a waste of time. It is too small and largely inefficient for grilling anything and now the grill function is not operating at all. I have other LG products which I trust completely but this microwave has, for me, run its course.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Jeja

JejaNSW, 2217

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Fault since day 1 and terrible warranty service

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Northern Oasis

Northern Oasisasked

NeoChef MJ3966

Hi we are having an issue with the turntable. It is intermittent and noisy and often quite slow with its turning. We have checked wheels are all running well. White centre gadget is fitted in correctly under glass plate. Housing also appears clean and uninhibited. Worse with any extra weight other than small items. Starting to bug me and concerned it may seize up. We have had the machine 18 months still under 2 year warranty. We do like all the functions and have used it all the time.

No answers
Justin G

Justin Gasked

NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

Why’s is keep showing F11 and stopping??

1 answer
James R.
James R.

Inverter issues. Extremely common and be prepared to have it in a repair shop for weeks (many times)...

Mark A.

Mark A.asked

NeoChef MJ3966ABS (Black)

Hi LG. Perhaps I have not read the manual in enough detail, but my problem is with convection cooking. After I set the temperature and time it cooks fine. BUT, if I need to baste roasting foods or continue cooking after the time that I set it will not work until the oven has cooled down. If I need to interrupt the convection cycle it continues with the timer counting down but the turntable is not working and not heating. I have returned it the the retailer twice now, (Hervey Norman Everton Park Qld.) but just get fobbed off. with my previous CMO, I could press stop, add quicker cooking vegetables or baste the roast etc, close the door and press start and it would continue. Not so with this LG. So....why?
Also, often have an issue where the control panel shows "door" even when the door is closed.
Expensive unit, I regret purchasing it.
Thank you, Mark Andrew. (mark@designmark.net.au)

1 answer
James R.
James R.

Don't worry, Mine is supposed to go in for yet another repair. Great - another 3-4 weeks to get back a fault unit. Each time it comes back - new issues. Not impressed either considering I purchased this as it is supposed to have the "SMART DIAGNOSIS" function "Use this function if you need an accurate diagnosis by an LG Electronics service centre when the product malfunctions or fails. Use this function only to contact the service representative, not during normal operation." PFT - what a load of crap, so many times complaining to LG and they don't even use this . More interested fobbing you off to a repairer. In two minds reporting such a dangerous item to the ACCC. Never know - may cause a recall!

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.