??!

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now

Reviews

4.1

300 reviews
5
(152)
4
(83)
3
(26)
2
(15)
1
(24)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (64)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (66)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (66)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (61)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (64)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Leolass

LeolassGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Was OK for two years then the door shattered!!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Betta Home Living for A$247.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Plutopup

PlutopupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Reading the buttons is impossible

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$283.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Byrno

ByrnoHighfields

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Another great LG product

published

Great machine, cannot fault, cooks things through properly, smart machine alright. Hard to get, but then, usually the good stuff sells first. More room than we really needed, but smaller size was just too small.

Purchased in August 2020 at Joyce Mayne for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent microwave but only lasted 3 years

published

Very similar to Leon's review https://www.productreview.com.au/consumer-profiles/f404efc7-2e91-4118-ba4d-4608aed18f41 but we didn't buy HN's extended warranty in April 2017.
Worked really well in all it's different functions, BUT...
It failed after 12 months - repaired under LG 2-year warranty but took 4-5 hours of my time all told.

Now the lights are on but it's not heating. LG support says take it to the repairer (the 'Smart Diagnosis' software is 'being upgraded, it isn't working').
Could spend another 4-5 hours and $150+ on labour to get it repaired (with parts free?) but when will the LG fail again?
Buying a new microwave, unlikely to be LG.

Purchased in April 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Magnetron 10 year warranty not worth collecting on

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Penny H.

Penny H.Illawarra, NSW

Better than my previous microwaves

published

Very easy to use. I especially like the quick option with the slider for selecting the time. Very quiet compared to my previous microwaves, and I like the jingle (as opposed to the overused beep-beep-beep to tell me when it's done.

Purchased in July 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Crap Quality

published

Bought this microwave just a little over 2 years ago in mid 2018.
It was working quite well and fine, up till tonight where it just stopped heating food up completely. Tried LG smart diagnosis - apparently everything was working fine. Clearly it wasn’t. Tried multiple times to heat up food, lights and tray was turning as normal but everything remained cold after 5 mins.
Our previous Samsung lasted more than 8 years. Can’t believe this one died on us so soon. Never buying LG again.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Syeda K.

Syeda K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Microwave doesn't Heat

published

DO NOT BUY!!!!!
The Microwave stops heating after 3-4min. It starts to cool down by itself and doesn't heat. It takes forever to reach the desired heat in our food. Very annoying and inefficient. Waste our time when heating food. There is no use of a microwave if it fails to heat your food.

Purchased in May 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$315.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Anthony C.

Anthony C.Sydney, NSW

Bad product and even worst after sales service

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$300.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad H.

Brad H.Sydney, NSW

Lasted just over 2 years, some annoying quirks

published

Has stopped cooking. LG advised only 2 yr warranty and we are just a few months past 2 years. Worked well, wish it lasted longer for the price... One quirk, can't manually enter numbers and goes to 30 second intervals once you get up over 3 minutes (so you can't cook for 5:15 for example. Only minor. Lots of other functionality and a good looking device, especially with the clean front / buttons hidden inside.

Prior to this we had a cheap microwave and it lasted until we decided to upgrade it (circa 7 years), forked out a little more for something bigger, better looking, and some more functionality, disappointed it didn't even make 2.5 years.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Honest AF

Honest AFGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Works well

published

Read a lot of reviews and this consistently scored well. Big at 42L but smaller footprint than our last 38L.
Heats evenly
Heating function straightforward, haven't played with the advanced heating options yet
Looks great
Plays a pleasant musical tone when finished if that's a bother to you

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Adam

Adam

  • 5 reviews

Does what i need it to do

published

Love the way this Microwave looks with most of the buttons and menus behind the door. I only really use it to reheat so having only the bare essential buttons and a handy time slider on the outside suit me 100%. Huge amount of room inside, setup was ultra simple and usage so far has been flawless.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$271.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
1098S

1098SPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good Microwave Oven

published

Does everything well and quickly eg. both heating , defrosting and the preset programmes. High level of functionality. The only minor criticism is that it does not have a stand-alone timer that you can use for any purpose.

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Darren

DarrenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Drops rusty water into my food!

published

Very disappointed that my 11-month old LG Microwave has rusted inside the cabinet and is dropping rusty water into my food. Water is condensing inside the oven (never seems to dissipate) and rust has appeared on the inside vents. I can't believe that a product can be manufactured so badly that this can occur - this is a huge food safety risk. Worst of all, when contacting customer service and showing them the pictures, it was assessed not being a manufacturing issue, apparently this is NORMAL! Sorry, this product is not fit to be sold.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Mary

MarySydney, NSW

Initially disappointed! Issue resolved satisfactorily

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$319.00.

Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian S.

Ian S.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Faulty Microwave Do Not Buy

published

Have had this microwave for 13 months and it now no longer heats. After reading the reviews this is obviously a common problem! Still under warranty so called LG Customer Service who were very unhelpful. After a 20 minute phone call they finally supplied the numbers for two local service centres. Both centres are only open during the week which is extremely inconvenient as we work full time. There were also no guarantees that the defect would be covered under warranty, so really not worth the hassle of having to take time off work to try and rectify the problem and being without the appliance for an undetermined length of time. Off to buy a new microwave and will never buy anything from LG again!

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Roll

RollGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

BUYER BEWARE not worth the stress and hassle

published

Replaced within the first few weeks By Harvey Norman because of loud rattling noise, next one lasted only 9 months and stopped heating food (intermittent problem, sometimes it would heat Food sometimes it wouldn’t)
I will never buy LG again, NEVER
They must know these microwaves have quality control problems and they just keep selling them. Harvey Norman must know as well and they keep selling them.
Anyway sent away for assessment (Very inconvenient) hope I can receive a refund as I don’t trust LG Products anymore.
Not worth the hassle BUYER BEWARE read the reviews, you’ve been told.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Roll
Roll

In the end Alicia from LG very helpful in helping me get a refund. Harvey Norman very unhelpful, they hadn’t even sent microwave for assessment after Having it for a week.

Roll
Roll

Thank you Alicia

Lory

LoryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it. Excellent

published

This is an amazing microwave. It looks nice, heats up nice, cooks nice. It heats the food evenly and heats fast. I love how user friendly it is and how easy it is to operate. I especially love the little tunes it plays it makes all my guests laugh and they want one for themselves. Overall a fantastic microwave

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Meredith

MeredithBrisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked for a year then a battle

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$282.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Dani and V.

Dani and V.South East Queensland, QLD

Terrible customer support and even worse product support!

published

Unit bought from Myer on 10/12/19 and has not even lasted 6 months, it no longer heats. I have tried to online chat and speak with customer support only to be told that I would have to organise and pay for the repair and LG will reimburse me if they deem it to be a manufacturers fault. I live in Brisbane so there should be no excuse for not arranging a technician to inspect the unit under warranty conditions.

Purchased in December 2019 at Myer Online Store for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Nikki

Nikkiasked

NeoChef MS4296OSS (Stainless Steel)

Although not too loud, the chimes can become annoying feature of this otherwise sleek and good working microwave. How do you turn off the chimes and sounds of buttons and start/end. It never appears to be in the manual but there is supposed to be a combination that will do it for other neochefs (eg. LG NeoChef MS2596OS- press and hold the 'Clear' button then press the 'Keep Warm' button for 5 seconds then the display will show the changing state 'On' or 'Off" of the beep sound). Please advise, thanks.

1 answer
Anthony C.
Anthony C.

Thanks for the tip and works a treat!

James S.

James S.asked

NeoChef MS4296

is this a convection microwave

1 answer
1098S
1098S

No it's not.

scottalamont

scottalamontasked

NeoChef MS4296OBS (Black)

We have the LG NeoChef MS4296OBS for about 6 months. From day 1 we have had an intermittent issue with the door closing. It tells us that the door is not closed. Does not seem to matter whether you close the door gently or hard it still intermittently shows the door error. HELP PLEASE

1 answer
Beth
Beth

Sounds like a fault to me. Call LG, it will still be under warranty.
Never had that issue with ours.

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.