15 photos
LG NeoChef MS4296
3.9 from 329 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Pros

  • Reheat, Soften and Melt food functions

  • Spacious cooking capacity

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (91)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (94)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (93)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (87)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (87)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Scoda
ScodaBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stopped heating within a year...

published

Just under a year ago, went looking for a microwave online to replace older one. Thought I'd give this LG one a try as seemed well reviewed. 11 months on, it has just died i.e., made buzzing sounds and just stopped heating. I'm in Brisbane, and suprisingly now have to travel at least an hour up/down the coast for warranty, which is a hassle. I see some other reviews saying it just stops heating after 1-2 years. Got it cheap which is a plus I guess, though I wasn't looking for cheap at the time. It is a case you get what you pay for here. If I could go back I'd gamble on an alternative brand. If looking to buy, do your best to research and best of luck!

Purchased at Appliances Online for $269.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Very good

published

Love this product . Very easy to use and the new look is fantastic. Would recommend this for sure . It works without a problem unlike my old one that was stalling

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Tracie M.
Tracie M.Darling Downs, QLD

Don't waste your money

published

This is my second microwave, same model. First one stopped heating after a year and a half. Returned and wanted to replace with exact same as I like the look and generally it was a good.microwave, while it worked. Thinking that the first was just a once off, second dosent heat after half the time. Must be a common problem with the neochefs. It heats when it wants to. Would not buy another to replace it.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jojo
JojoTasmania

Rusted inside

published

I bought this microwave based on the positive reviews, so thought it was important to share my not so positive experience.

At just outside 2 years old, and conveniently outside out of warranty period, our microwave has rusted on the inside. It started as a small patch and now spread to the complete ring under the turntable where the wheels go. I think it relates to 3 of the wheels being fixed and scratching the base, but I’m no expert.

Very disappointing as this microwave is not one of the cheapest but I was happy to spend the money if it provided good value, unfortunately it hasn’t.

Would definitely not recommend this microwave to anyone. I’ll be going back to my previous brand that lasted 15 years.

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

EMC Issues

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2021 at Noel Leeming.

Build Quality
Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Rach75
Rach75Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Worst appliance purchase ever made

published

Works ok when heating one item but if you want to heat anything after you need to wait minimum 30 mins before it will work again
If a suggested heat time for a food is 8 mins you need to allow 12-15 and test and add more heat time - is never heated through consistently - usually cold in the middle - and then wait 30 mins before putting the next food in to heat … wish I had never bought it. Waste of time - have reverted to using stove top as it is quicker!

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ben423
ben423AU
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worked for 3 months, then doesn't heat anymore

published

This microwave worked well for about 3 months, then it just stopped heating. The light goes on, the turn table spins, but no heat whatsoever. Very disappointing. This seems to be a common problem looking at the reviews.

Purchased in February 2021 at The Good Guys for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Samkit S.
Samkit S.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible don't buy big waste of money

published

Horrible microwave ,bought it brand new , paid almost $300 and doesn't even heat up any thing .Horrible service as well from LG , called for help and said you have to take it to our repair shop,$60 microwave from Kmart works better then this overpriced hunk of junk.

Never again I will buy from LG.

Purchased in February 2021 for $269.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
DMW
DMWSydney, NSW

Inconsistent touch screen with faults

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jess
JessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 39 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looks good but works inconsistently

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $235.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Dyma
Dyma
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good Microwave and service.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Stan Cash for $214.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Andrew
AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 118 reviews
  • 39 likes

A Very Nice Microwave

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Betta Home Living for $339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Squiggles
SquigglesCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

SENSOR COOKING DREADFUL

published

Purchased LG Neo Chef MS4296 on 24th November 2020. Extremely disappointed with the sensor cooking. Frozen peas came out burnt, like bullets and jacket potatoes like dried prunes. Not happy at all with this model. Friends say that they only use microwaves for heating up. This one did that well but I use the microwave as it is designed to be used and this one does not measure up. Cleaning is extremely easy and there are some good features.
So unhappy, we purchased another brand and gave this one away!

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
alanloganjacksonconnor
alanloganjacksonconnorGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Good product until it wouldn’t heat food

published

Purchased in December 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Elijah L
Elijah L
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed despite assurances from Harvey Norman

published

We bought this microwave from Harvey Norman to replace our previous one which was heating food unevenly. Even after assurances from HN that this would be better it heats food so unevenly that you have to do it twice or thrice. It seems to heat the plate the food is in more than the food itself. It's not a good appliance at all. The only thing this thing has is the looks and stops at that...

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Essex R.
Essex R.asked
NeoChef MS4296

what is an inverter?

2 answers
DMW
DMW

Yes

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Basic google question

C.Ram
C.Ramasked
NeoChef MS4296

Each time I turn this microwave on there is a very high pitched sound only for a few seconds then it goes away. Is it the magnetron working? Is this normal? Or should I have it looked at?
I have only had this microwave for a few weeks

3 answers
Sue
Sue

Mine does not make that noise, so would suggest giving customer care a call.

C.Ram
C.Ram

Thanks for your response, I thought it didn’t seem right. I will contact customer care and the store I purchased it from.

NoAnswer
NoAnswer

Mine is MS2596OB purchased 3 months ago has low buzzing sound when not in use, and also that brief high pitch sound when first starting. Spoke to LG, advised they can't trouble shoot over the phone and maybe dangerous so take to service center. Service center said there's nothing wrong with it and to pay $66 inspection fee. Rang LG back twice to complaint then follow up. Technician finally admit there is a defect and will fix.

Margaret
Margaretasked
NeoChef MS4296OSS (Stainless Steel)

I have had this microwave for 3 years. It just has stopped heating. I don't want to throw it into landfill - what can be done?

No answers
See all LG NeoChef MS4296 questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG NeoChef MS4296

Details

Features

  • The NeoChef’s 42-litre capacity provides a generous amount of cooking space, which is suitable for households of four people or more.
  • When it comes to cooking functionality, this microwave has a number of built-in cooking modes that can make cooking easier. This includes: 8 reheat cooking modes for specific foods, which are: beverage, casserole, dinner plate, muffin, pie, pizza, rice and soup.
  • There are 3 Melt cooking modes, made for butter, cheese and chocolate.
  • 3 ‘Soften’ cooking modes can help make more palatable butter, cream cheese and ice cream.
  • There’s also a Proofing mode, which helps to make yoghurt.
  • This microwave has inverter technology, which heats food evenly, allowing for more precise temperature control.
  • All models in this LG range have an in-built child safety lock to help prevent accidents.

Extra options

The LG NeoChef MS42960MBS is this range’s most premium option. It has a Sensor cook option for 8 types of food: bacon, casserole, fresh vegetables, frozen vegetables, frozen meat pies, jacket potatoes, rice/pasta and risotto.

For $389, the top model features sensor cooking, a glass touch function to open the door rather than a pull handle, and a matte black finish. The other models are slightly cheaper, and vary slightly in price based on their colour.

Compare all 6 LG NeoChef MS4296
LG NeoChef MS4296OMBS (Matte Black)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG NeoChef MS4296OMBS (Matte Black)

4.0
(6)
LG NeoChef MS4296OWS (White)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG NeoChef MS4296OWS (White)

4.1
(41)
LG NeoChef MS4296OSS (Stainless Steel)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG NeoChef MS4296OSS (Stainless Steel)

3.9
(84)
LG NeoChef MS4296OBS (Black)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG NeoChef MS4296OBS (Black)

3.9
(141)
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $389.00$347.00$349.00$319.00
Type ConventionalConventionalConventionalConventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor CookingChild Safety Lock and InverterChild Safety Lock and InverterChild Safety Lock and Inverter
Capacity42L42L42L42L
Dimensions 310 x 540 x 434 mm310 x 540 x 434 mm310 x 540 x 434 mm310 x 540 x 434 mm
Turntable Diameter360 mm360 mm360 mm360 mm
Door MechanismTouchPull HandlePull HandlePull Handle
Power1,200 W1,200 W1,200 W1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishMatte BlackBlack/WhiteStainless SteelBlack
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 6 LG NeoChef MS4296

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.