??!

Microwaves Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of microwave would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

279 reviews
5
(147)
4
(82)
3
(21)
2
(12)
1
(17)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (45)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (46)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (44)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (46)
Previous
Next
Tony

TonyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Double trouble

published

Good product when working. But...first one lasted a month and was replaced immediately, second one lasted a week and a half out of warranty. Store said to contact LG directly due to 2 failed units now and got a first response from LG customer support where they admitted “it’s unusual for these to fail after only 2 years”, sent info they requested and now they are not answering my emails at all. Poor form.

Purchased in April 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Disappointed

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Neha

NehaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Stopped working only after using for 5 months

published

Microwave stopped working/heating the food after using it for 5 months.
It was working fine before but one day stopped working.
Wouldn’t recommend it to anyone we are in process of getting a replacement

Purchased in December 2019 at Myer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Failed very early on

published

Microwave stopped heating after only one month of use. Need to return and will be without a microwave for weeks while it is repaired. Very disappointing.Turntable was very noisy and rattled from day one also.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for A$315.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Abhi

AbhiCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

works fine for the first year then goes downhill.

published

it worked really well for the first 12-14 months then started playing up, taking long time to cool down, not heating well, took it to local good guys (purchasing store), got it fixed, it lasted for 1 week then stopped heating with loud bang noise and burning smell. poor quality.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Deza da Advocate

Deza da AdvocateSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 36 reviews

OK for 1 yr then major failure & bad service

published

It worked fine for 13 months. Does the job ok until that point.
LG Customer Service terrible, frustrating & difficult. Waited for 1 month for repair & then couldn't get part. I only received a replacement after complaining on social media!

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$265.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Deza da Advocate
Deza da Advocate
Sandra L.

Sandra L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Extremely quiet!

published

So far I love our microwave. It is powerful, very fast at reheating and the best quality it is very quiet for a microwave. We haven’t had it for long but extremely happy with our choice.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$270.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Usable volume of 42l NeoChef similar to old 32l Panasonic

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Rhino

RhinoPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Works well, when THEY worked

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Signor F

Signor FPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews

Very easy to use and very different compare to other microwaves.

published

We have always had Panasonic microwaves but recently have had bad experiences with them so decided to purchase a different brand, This LG microwave is very different to use but very easy to use once you’ve learnt how to use it, I like the LED light inside and it is very quiet while operating.
No complaints from us we are very happy with this product.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Beth

BethGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good looks, worked well....until it died

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$258.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Kylie

KylieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Very happy with purchase

published

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$279.65.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
SinM

SinM

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Most annoying garbage tune that can't be turned off.

published

The "chime" mentioned in the manual is actually a stupid tune... And it repeats... And you can't turn it off.

The reviews for this product must be fake.

Do not buy!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
SinM
SinM

Hold “clear” and “keep warm” for 2secs to disable the tune.

This info is not in the manual or anywhere else on the net - I was about to open it and remove the buzzer!

Andrew M.

Andrew M.Perth, WA

$300 and I want to throw it away 2 days after buying it

published

To set the clock, unplug the microwave and plug it back in. You have about a minute to do this after which the clock function is not available. I kid you not, we have to remove the LG microwave from its recess to get to the power plug behind, to turn it off and on, in order to reset the clock EVERY time we get a momentary power cut. Then during the defrost cycle you get a series of annoying tunes as it goes through the process.

Emily Lawson

Emily LawsonNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Product

published

I never knew buying a better microwave will impact my foods texture.
Control features are easy to use and it looks fancy in my kitchen. The finishing of the microwave as an overall is a 10/10

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MS4296 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jenny L.

Jenny L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Stopped heating

published

I purchased this microwave exactly 2 years and 1 month ago, and today it has stopped heating. All the buttons and functions work fine, it starts spinning when your food is heating but when you take your food out it is still COLD even after 4 minutes. The heating has completely stopped.

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Carolyn

Carolyn

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

LG Microwave

published

I purchased an LG Microwave due to it's sleek design and hidden touch controls and the modern colour that would suit any kitchen. The LG microwave has alot of options to choose for cooking temp control, it also has several quick cook options for snacks/reheats the food is cooked evenly when placed correctly. The microwave will automatically cool down your plate, if it is to hot too handle for safety reasons. I would recommend this product.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
bec

bec

  • 6 reviews

Just buy it.

published

We recently purchased this microwave following a dud purchase of a different brand. It is brilliant. The whole technological layout is so easy to use, easy to clean and practical. Heats quickly and well. Love that the door opens without a button but by pulling open door (to reveal additional controls), and especially love that you can press on the start button while the microwave is operating to add time in 30s units. Seriously, this microwave is amazing, particularly for the price. If you need a new microwave, just buy it.

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$270.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Amber

Amber

  • 5 reviews

simple and great design

published

great design makes the kitchen shine and it is simple to use and no finger print stain remained on the surface. I highly recommend this product to customer finding simple and great design in any kinds of kitchen.

Purchased in October 2019 at Billy Guyatts.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Dani

DaniGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 43 reviews
  • 1 like

Very happy!

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

scottalamont

scottalamontasked

NeoChef MS4296OBS (Black)

We have the LG NeoChef MS4296OBS for about 6 months. From day 1 we have had an intermittent issue with the door closing. It tells us that the door is not closed. Does not seem to matter whether you close the door gently or hard it still intermittently shows the door error. HELP PLEASE

1 answer
Beth
Beth

Sounds like a fault to me. Call LG, it will still be under warranty.
Never had that issue with ours.

Lisa M.

Lisa M.asked

NeoChef MS4296

Difference between the auto sensor model and the smart intervenor

No answers
WGoldberg

WGoldbergasked

NeoChef MS4296

What do the tones sound like?

1 answer
SinM
SinM

Video on youtube, not mine, but same tones:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LB4zDjnO1UA

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.