??!
1 photo
Marley Spoon

Marley Spoon

3.4 from 370 reviews

Dissappointed

How can I received an sms saying that my box will come??? I have skipped all future plan. I even don't have any plan! How to stop this? I am tired of this.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi @nurul, Thank you for your review. Please contact our friendly team on (02) 6145 2910 with more details and your account email and our team will gladly assist you! Marley Spoon

Don't do it.

Suspended my orders AND cancelled my subscription. 8 Weeks later I get charged $80 for a box. I ring to say I had cancelled and I don't want the food. Told that they cannot stop this box and I have to cop the $80 for a box of food my daughter and I won't eat. Terrible customer service, disgraceful practice.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryNo
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for taking the team to leave Marley Spoon a review, we really appreciate your valuable feedback. We're very sorry to hear that your subscription has rolled over, for some reason. We'd love to find out what happened here, so please give us a call back on (02) 6145 2910 or email contact@marleyspoon.com.au with more details so we can assist you. Kindest, Marley Spoon

They automatically restarted my cancelled subscription

I had cancelled my subscription in December with the status -terminated as I was moving house. Then in May they reactivated my subscription and charged me for a box, they claim I logged into the website and reactivated, which I did not reactivate, why would I when I dont live at that house.
Even if I logged into their website it should not automatically reactivate my subscription. I had removed my payment anyway prior. So they blame me for their poor process in their system, or maybe someone else reactivated, I dont know, but now I am out of pocket $70 and someone got a box.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryNo

The food is good but customer service is absolutely shocking

I had a issue today with Marley Spoon where I had skipped all future boxes you could possibly skip up until via the mobile app. I then got an email today saying my box for Monday was on the way (even though I skipped it already). I then went onto the website and see that none of the boxes had actually been skipped as per the mobile app and they wanted me to take this box coming even though I had already cancelled it last week with enough time to spare (10 days ahead of when the box was due). Very disappointed that the rep essentially accused me of lying and that I hadn't cancelled it when I had (as I redid the skipping via the website). I told him it was due to a technical issue in the mobile app and he essentially said he couldn't cancel it at this late stage and said I should have done it directly on my PC. What is the point of having a mobile app if it doesn't work and you are trying to charge people for its errors? I basically had to just refuse to pay for it in the end. They were going to get my ongoing business after a short break and now I will never use them again.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
6 comments
Hi @ck2b, Thank you for your review, we're so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience using our mobile app and editing orders. We'd love to find out what went wrong here, so we can ensure this doesn't happen again. If you could please kindly call (02) 6145 2910 or email contact@marleyspoon.com.au, we'd love to hear from you. In the meantime, we've passed your review onto our customer care team. Kindest, Marley SpoonHi there not going to call again but disappointed that your representative basically accused me of lying about when I originally skipped the boxes from next week onwards. I had cancelled on the mobile app all boxes going forward last Friday and due to an error in your mobile app it didn't skip them. I then received an email saying box was on the way and logged onto your website to skip the boxes coming up again and then phoned to explain the situation. Was not expecting to be accused of lying about this. I had to refuse to pay for the box coming on Monday which I had already cancelled as you were still going to charge me for food that was arriving anyway despite me already cancelling it. The mobile app needs to be fixed to avoid this issue as I spent half an hour doing it on Friday.Hi @ck2b, Thank you for coming back to us, we really appreciate it. We're very sorry to hear this and have passed on your reply to our team to investigate what happened here with our Customer Care team member that you spoke to. We've also let our product team know about the issue when you skipped orders, to investigate any problems with our iOS/Andorid app. Thank you again. If you would like, please DM us your full name and account email so our team can contact you. Kindest, Marley Spoon

Worst Experience

I committed to try Marley Spoon from a door to door salesperson, probably a backpacker whose English was not good. I was to receive a discount over several weeks. I can honestly say not one meal was enjoyable, meal sizes small, more complicated and time consuming than indicated. I rang to cancel but was told I was too late for the next weeks delivery. I said well I did not want it as the meals they had chosen to send me were not appealing at all. I was told I could donate it to OZ Harvest and assured me it would be delivered to them. Well that did not happen as it arrived at my home today. My experience with Marley Spoon was very disappointing. Hello Fresh is much better

Value for Money
1 comment
Hi Judi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience with Marley Spoon and we've passed on your review to our customer care team. All nutritional information can be found on both the recipe card and/or website and includes the calorie count and macronutrient profile (per serve/portion), as well as any allergens found within the dish. As our customers and their dietary requirements are each unique, our portion sizes are largely based on the average set out in the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating. You do however have the ability to customise your meals as you wish at home, adding more or less of something or substituting an ingredient. We are a flexible subscription, which means you decide which weeks to receive Marley Spoon deliveries. You can easily switch weeks on and off, or cancel your subscription in your account. We operate with the mission to reduce food waste completely in our facility, and to do this we require you to skip or cancel deliveries 6 days before your next delivery for VIC, NSW and ACT and 7 days for QLD, NT and SA due to production timelines. Regarding delivering to OzHarvest, we'd love to chat to our team to find out what happened here. If you could please kindly contact us at contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call (02) 6145 2910, we'd really appreciate it. In the meantime, we've passed this onto our team who will try and locate your account under 'Judi N.' Kind regards, Marley Spoon

Horrible and not as fresh as HelloFresh

All their recipes taste horrible and are over complicated to cook ie on recipe required that I make my own sour cream when I already had some in the fridge, stupid. The portion sizes were also very small and under average will never use again.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you found our recipes complicated to cook and we will certainly pass this feedback onto our Culinary team! All nutritional information can be found on both the recipe card and/or website and includes the calorie count and macronutrient profile (per serve/portion), as well as any allergens found within the dish. As our customers and their dietary requirements are each unique, our portion sizes are largely based on the average set out in the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating. You do however have the ability to customise your meals as you wish at home, adding more or less of something or substituting an ingredient. We will pass your feedback onto our teams and we're very sorry that you didn't enjoy cooking with Marley Spoon. If you would like to leave us more feedback, please don't hesitate to send us a note at contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call us on (02) 6145 2910. Best, Marley Spoon

Worst Food and Service ever.

Signed up at a mall for a one off.
Not impressed with recipes, they are fanciful but don't taste nice and the meal took more than 30 mins to prepare.
But as I thought it was only a one off did not consider it a problem until I saw another payment taken from my account.
Called to question why and was told that I had signed up for weekly deliveries!!!
I then tried to cancel but was unable to. Seems you need to cancel a week in advance according to one of their employees called Jack.
Then I asked if I could at least choose the dishes, as one of the dishes was something I don't ever eat - he said it w too late - this was 3 days before the scheduled delivery.
I did not find them very helpful and asked that my account be cancelled.
I sincerely hope never to hear from them again.
It's deceitful to tell people it's a one off trial and then take advantage,

1 comment
Hi Katherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have passed your details along with your review onto our marketing and customer care team to action with our kiosk sales representatives that present Marley Spoon in malls. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our service. Kind regards, Marley Spoon

Not recommended

Really disappointed, I thought just want to try only but they keep on deduct money from my account and sending the stuff , even I already pause and still sending the boxes, I didn’t ever select the menu as well. Why you forcing someone to try your foods? I didn’t like your foods also. Is like scam if you still doing like this. Stop send your stuff

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi Harchana, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear you haven't enjoyed cooking with Marley Spoon lately. We are a subscription service, so we do require notice if you would like to skip or cancel your orders. You can easily cancel in your account area under "My settings". Please note that you will have to cancel your subscription 6 days before your next delivery (for VIC, NSW and ACT orders) and 7 days before your next delivery (for NT, SA and QLD orders) due to production timelines. If you would like to chat further, we would absolutely love to hear from you. Just send us an email contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call us on (02) 6145 2910. Regards, Marley Spoon

Horrible service

Horrible service. Even after cancelling a box they left it on the doorstep in 34 degree heat. Customer service were useless. They promised the box would be delivered to a person and not left on the doorstep and yet they dumped it there anyway. I do not recommend their service.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryNo
1 comment
Hi Kylie, Thank you for leaving Marley Spoon a review. We'd love to find out what went wrong here and how we can resolve this, if you could please kindly call us on (02) 6145 2910 or email contact@marleyspoon.com.au we would love to hear from you.

Just terrible

Your ingredients honestly were not fresh and were missing items. I called customer support and the person I talked to was not very helpful and just said ‘I’ll give you credit on your account’ but I did not receive and email confirming this or telling me how to access this. I do not want to waste my money on your product when HelloFresh was so much better; when the person who signed me up *convinced* me that Marley spoon is better than hello fresh. Waste of time and money and the food was not tasty and just seemed completely thrown together and silly. Sorry but will not purchase again.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi Yab, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience cooking with Marley Spoon, this is certainly not up to our standards. We would love to chat further, if you could please give us a call on (02) 6145 2910 or email contact@marleyspoon.com.au, we would love to hear from you!

Love Marley Spoon

You have saved us money, time and wastage.
You have inspired us to to cook again.
Local sourced produce.
I love choosing the meals
I get excited when our delivery arrives, always on time.
Thank you Marley Spoon
Julie

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Thank you Julie for your lovely review! So glad you're enjoying Marley Spoon.

Haven’t had a tasty meal

Me and my girlfriend have tried this for 3 weeks the 3rd week it just turned up and we were charged for when we didn’t order as we have not enjoyed a single meal. We have tried other organisations they are a few dollars more but every meal is 9/10 (hello fresh ). Would not recommend unless they hired actual chefs to design meals

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi Brad, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear you haven't enjoyed cooking with Marley Spoon lately. We are a subscription service, so we do require notice if you would like to skip or cancel your orders. You can easily cancel in your account area under "My settings". Please note that you will have to cancel your subscription 6 days before your next delivery (for VIC, NSW and ACT orders) and 7 days before your next delivery (for NT, SA and QLD orders) due to production timelines. In regards to our recipes, we do have an in-house team of chefs and nutritionists who come with years of experience cooking for magazines, TV shows and their own cookbooks. We will pass your feedback onto our culinary team regarding the recipes. If you would like to chat further, we would absolutely love to hear from you. Just send us an email contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call us on (02) 6145 2910. Regards, Marley Spoon

Money debited from my account

Despite me not ordering any choice of food from the website , a box was sent to my place when I was away and $70 were debited from my account without me authorising that. My account was paused but I came to know when I got the text mesg saying about the delivery.
No one looked after my query, I wasn’t expecting this for a company like Marley spoon especially when I was away for 2 weeks

Timely DeliveryNo
1 comment
Hi Garima, We're very sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience cooking with Marley Spoon. We'd love to chat further and find out why your account was resumed without your authorisation. Please send us an email contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call (02) 6145 2910. Thank you, Marley Spoon

Healthy and convenient

After 20 years of planning and cooking for a family, I’m now an empty-nester.
Having food and recipe inspiration delivered to my doorstep each week takes the drag out of having to think about what to eat. Also a bonus when leading a busy life.
My partner and I have loved all the meals so far. Good vegetarian options.
Pricing is alright too I reckon.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi @Helmunga, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We're so glad to hear you're loving cooking with Marley Spoon and that we're making dinnertime easier :) Happy cooking, Marley Spoon

Great for Shift workers

Marley spoon has more options for Vegetarians than Hellofresh which is great for me.

The means are always on time, fresh and somewhat healthy (I can often alter the recipes).

But for someone who is either just starting to learn to cook or doesn't have a lot of time to think about what to cook or the time to go shopping this is a great option.

It is a little more expensive then just buying from food markets or supermarkets but you can paying someone to think for you.

All in all a good product.

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
2 comments
Hi Victoria, Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled you are enjoying cooking with Marley Spoon and you're trying lots of delicious, healthy, vegetarian meals. We'll be sure to pass on your valuable feedback to our team. Thanks again! Happy cooking, Marley SpoonYes more healthy veggie meals would be amazing

Disappointed

I reactivated my account and Whilst browsing through the menu it automatically charged me $84 not even sure how this happened anyways cut a long story short I paid this amount for two meals which I normally pay out on a dinner not impressed

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi Adriana Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We would love to chat further with you, please send us an email at contact@marleyspoon.com.au or call (02) 6145 2910 during business hours. Thanks in advance, Marley Spoon

The food was mostly good

Only recently started with Marley Spoon. The food was generally good except for the last order when one of our meals was not so great. The vegetables were limp and dead. We also had problems with the delivery of our box. We live in an apartment block and sometimes the driver managed to get the order to our front door and other times he did not - we had to go searching for it. It was left at the front of our apartment block near the letter boxes - not ideal! Customer services also seems to be slightly lacking, pretty well non-responsive to emails. It's a shame, as the concept is good and I loved the variety of the recipes and not having to think about what to cook for dinner and buy it. Lift your game Marley Spoon and I may come back :)

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryYes
1 comment
Hi DandD, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience cooking with Marley Spoon. We'd love to find out what went wrong with your deliveries on our end and get back to you with a solution so that we can have you back in the kitchen cooking delicious dinners with Marley Spoon soon! Please send us a note at contact@marleyspoon.com.au with more details and your account email. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Marley Spoon

Annoying staff wont take no for an answer

I was shopping at small suburban shopping centre in Sydney. A Marley Spoon team was set up in a portable kiosk in the centre. They asked me three separate times to speak with them, even though I made it clear I was not interested. Last time I passed the table one of the men tried to get my attention, and when I said no, he waited until I’d walked about 10 metres away, and called me a crap. Not loudly, but I certainly heard him.
Unprofessional response to a person saying no. Perhaps they could do with some staff retraining.

1 comment
Hi @Lavendercat, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience with our kiosk team. This is unacceptable on our end and we'd love to chat further to find out what shopping centre it was so we can investigate with our team. If you could please kindly send us an email at contact@marleyspoon.com.au or give us a call on (02) 6145 2910.

Waste of money and such a scam

Ordered 1 box to try out, paid 20 and got exactly what it’s worth. Didn’t want to pay 55 for such quantity and quality so skipped all upcoming weeks showing on their webpage, thought that’s it. But no, they just take 55 from your account directly without letting you know what’s coming. Called them to say I don’t want the box, customer service replied in a mocking tongue “nothing I can do now”. Such a fraud and scamming company. Never want to order again and will tell my friends never to. And yes I have ordered from lite n easy and Youfoodz before, sometimes their food doesn’t taste perfect, but at least they are honest and you have a chance to decide

Value for Money
Timely DeliveryNo
1 comment
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience cooking with us. We are a subscription service, so we do require customers to skip or cancel with 6 or 7 days notice (depending on your location) if you do not want to receive a box. If you would like to chat further, please don't hesitate to contact us at contact@marleyspoon.com.au and our team would love to hear from you!

Shocking soggy packaging

For the past 3 weeks in a row the box has been severely damaged and soaking wet. To the point the box has caved in and falls apart when touched. The inside is wringing wet and all packaging dripping wet. I then have to wash everything and dry it before placing in fridge.

I haven’t been able to put the brown bags straight in the fridge. Even inside the bags is soaked. It took me half an hour this morning to get everything to a stage I could place it in the fridge.

This was meant to make my life easier but instead takes more time. I’m bitterly disappointed.

First time this happened I contacted customer service and it took several days for a reply. $30 credit was applied to my account. That occasion a sheet had been left in my box stating I was to get a free tea towel - it was missing and never replaced. I’ve had about 7 or 8 orders now and only 2 free gifts - spoon and folder.

At $145 a week it is pricey and I expect better quality re the box and packaging. Not soggy, drenched, wringing wet and broken.

One of my brown bags was conpletely open and unsealed today. I’ve also had to take produce out and place in my own bags because the brown bags soaked through.

Recipe cards have been saturated 2 wks in a row now. I’ve had to leave on the side to dry all day in order to make them usable.

Photos will be attached of this delivery. I also have video, which shows full extent of damage and inconvenience.

Things weren’t just soaked with water either. It was slime on all 3 deliveries this has occurred. Slime. Like meat slime. Which is why I’ve had to rinse everything. My tea towel ends up soaked, as does my kitchen side. A huge mess to clean up and such a time waster.

I will say too that I have been up when delivery has occurred around 5am. So it isn’t as if the box has been sitting outside for hours. It gets delivered and I bring it in straight away.

I don’t know that I’ll continue ordering due to the past 3 wks of shocking deliveries. Which is a shame given the meal portions are great, as is the taste and quality of the meals.

Terribly, terribly upset.

Timely DeliveryYes
3 comments
Hi Amandeez, We're so sorry to hear that you have had an unpleasant experience cooking with Marley Spoon, this is certainly not up to our standards! We'd love to chat further, if you could please provide us with your account email we would like to hear more about your experience, as well as pass on feedback to the relevant departments so we can improve on our service. Kind regards, Marley SpoonI believe I have given more than enough of a description of my experience and have been in touch with your team via email. Regina gave me a less than favourable response and I felt completely dismissed. I have since replied to her, so please see that for more information. While it may potentially assist future deliveries, ‘improving on service’ and passing on ‘feedback’ to ‘relevant departments’ doesn’t help my 3 weeks of poor quality service, packing and presentation. Not to mention the inconvenience and time wasting it caused me.Just to add to this, 2 x batches of chicken from this delivery were off. I opened a pack on the 4th (use by date 6th) and it was putrid. I then opened the other pack (meant for a different meal) and it too was off. The smell was horrendous. I contacted Marley Spoon that day (the 4th) but am yet to receive a reply. I have no idea if the off chicken was due to the poor packaging of my entire delivery or not. Or whether it had been left out of a fridge prior to reaching me. All I know is that the meat from 2 out of 4 meals last week couldn’t be used.

Page 1 of 19

Questions & Answers

Before i decide to join I was wondering do they leave the delivery at your door or do you have to be home to accept delivery.
3 answers
On-top of my fence at the mailbox as I have a security gate and a overnight delivery.Hi Helen, you don't have to be home! Just leave some specific instructions when you checkout and our team will follow them. We can absolutely leave a delivery at your door!Cheers thanks

We’ve found that another similar kind of service used a lot of plastic in all of their meal deliveries and I was wondering how you packaged food and if all the spices and condiments were wrapped in plastic?
1 answer
Hi Elisabeth, Thanks for your question. We're so sorry for the late reply! You can read all about our packaging at https://recycle.marleyspoon.com.au/ If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to email us at contact@marleyspoon.com.au

Can I have two Marley spoon deliveries per week? The app only appears to let me select one delivery per week
1 answer
Hi Mrs McKellar, We're so sorry for the late reply! Please feel welcome to email us at contact@marleyspoon.com.au and we'll see what we can do!