??!
2 photos
Masport Bunnings 470 2'n1

Masport Bunnings 470 2'n1

MPN: 578760
3.0 from 72 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
15
3 star
9
2 star
8
1 star
21

Zane

ZaneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Perfect little beast for half the price of others

published

I brought mine from Bunnings almost a year ago now. It is so easy to manoeuvre, it’s light, it starts first try no matter what and stands up to anything thrown its way. Perfect sized catcher with larger sized wheels for rough or uneven grass areas. Couldn’t complain in any way. 5 stars for me

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $475.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Karen S.

Karen S.

  • 2 reviews

Great lawn mower for females

published

Bought this model from Bunnings. It caught my eye straight away. The shop assistant was excellent; answered all quires. Easy to assemble, easy to use. Light weight. Great to use on buffalo grass and easy to push up hills. Catcher is large and easy to remove. I recommend it to female gardeners and older people that do not have the strength of a 20 year old body builder.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Myreview

MyreviewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for the $$$$

published

I purchased this mower from Bunnings 5 years ago 22/06/14 for $400 and it only just gave up the game today 28/06/19 half way through a mow.
Service wise, I never did anything to it other than 1 or 2 oil top-ups, 1 set of blades and a quick air filter clean. It was perfect for regular residential use on an average block. It seemed to have decent power as well and would handle the job even when I let the lawn get a little longer than desired.
Needless to say, I walked out of Bunnings today with the same mower again for $450.
If the new one lasts me another 5+ years and gives me no grief, I’ll be happy! I can only go off the experience I had from the last one. At the end of the day, what do you expect for a $400+ budget mower.

Purchased in June 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Toolmaker

ToolmakerSydney

Snapped Drive shaft

published

Same problem, drive shaft snapped while using on small back lawn, looks to be rubbish steel as the beak shows large grain structurw. Good quality steel does not snap leaving large grains visible. What can be done to repair or replace the drive shaft, is there a recall of faulty ones?

Date PurchasedMar 2013

RobnRob

RobnRobMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Read the warranty carefully...

published
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Masportcrap

Masportcrap

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not the best

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

OK but some design issues

published

This is a lightweight mower. Fair enough then that power is modest but a few design features make it unnecessarily 'heavy' to use. The wheel base is too long (I think the transition to the catcher is awkward - might be to do with what's necessary for mulching). The handle is at a relatively low angle and the mower seems to have more mechanical advantage than the pusher would prefer. That makes mowing hard on the lower back which is not a good thing at my age. I have not had my mower for long and the other things I find odd might go away with familiarity. I hope so.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Bob A

Bob AMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Broken Drive Shaft

published

I've had the Masport for about four years and have been very happy with it. Today the drive shaft broke. The machine wasn't cutting. I'd just started it after changing the oil. Coincidentally two days ago I saw one advertised on EBay that had done exactly the same in the same spot. The shaft looks to be cast iron rather than steel but I may be wrong.
Unfortunately it did everything I asked of it. Started easily, cut well and also mulched. Of course it is out of guarantee so I'll just forget about it.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Kitten

KittenHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Absolutely love my Masport

published

Starts first go (which is a bonus for me as with my previous one I was exhausted by the time it started) the mulching attachment is wonderful for when you just want to give it a quick run over. We were so impressed my Mother ended up buying one for herself after hearing how happy we were. Wonderful warranty.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Slazmo

SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 235 reviews
  • 234 likes
  • Verified purchase

Strong mower

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great lawnmower

published

This mower cuts beautifully, love using the mulching function and it works so well that you can’t even see the clippings on the lawn. The large wheels and light weight make it easy to use so much so that my wife has taken a liking to using it. It starts very easily and the oil changes are simple.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

JT1

JT1Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good mower but lacks power and does cut perfectly

published

The Masport mower is good quality but it does lack in power, I used someone else's who was a cheap Aldi mower and it was almost twice as powerful as mine, I usually have to make 2 passes with this mower as it leaves strands of grass behind (doesn't cut perfectly)

Date PurchasedOct 2016

George G

George GAU

  • 4 reviews

reliable mower

published

I bought the Masport 470 2n1 in Bunnings Warehouse. It is a very reliable mower, easy to start, easy to be pushed around the lawn. it is a 4-stroke so you don't have to mix petrol with oil, also quieter than a 2-stroke mower. The only problem I had with it was that once I tilted it too much when cleaning it and some lubricant oil leaked out from the engine. But it did not cause any damage,still works perfectly.

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Linda

Linda

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hard to start

published

Brought lawn mower from bunnings, found it really hard to start and it wasn't long before the lead that you have to move to put in start, soon got loose and end up having to do it manually. The wheels wear out really quick too. Not meant to last like the ones made in the 70s80s ect

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Shelley

ShelleyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Mid Range Model

published

Cutting is clean and even with easily adjustable height setting
Middle of the road for maneuvering, handle nuts need to be checked often as they come loose easily
Mower can take quite a few pull cords starts for motor to kick in especially in winter
It is easy to check and top up oil

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sachin

SachinVIC, 3150

  • 4 reviews

Good Machine

published

We bought this Mower almost 15 months ago from Bunnings, was looking a bit overpriced for 425 AUD because Victa was coming cheaper, but the sales guy there convinced us by one statement that you would be blessing me few years down the line.

And he was so true, even in harsh winters, starts like a charm, does the work and go back to shed, simple and powerful Engine.

Must buy


Nope

Nope

  • 4 reviews

its a lawn mover

published

cuts the grass like you would expect from a product that is purchased to cut the grass. assembly form the box is easy and operation is easy.
mulching function is great and provides an alternative to the catcher.
easy start and has an excellent mowing width to speed up mowing

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Robert P

Robert P

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

New mower that I like so far

published

Starts shortly, within two pulls. Four stroke good.
Folding handle is fantastic to store the mower in a small space as the handle stands vertically.
The chute for mincing the sticks is great as the odd twig that comes along.
Love the black and red colour.
Easy to pour in petrol and oil caps located on the top.
Choice of mulch, catcher and side push out.
Good now while it’s new, and hope it continues.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Rod R

Rod RCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Almost Perfect

published

Great mower, follow the recommended starting procedures and it will start 1st pull, I've had mine for almost 2 years and it still starts 1st pull. Cuts great, ideal cutting height adjustments, light and easy to manoeuvre. I change the oil, spark plug & blades yearly and only use pulp 95 in all my garden tools. Mechanically has never missed a beat and I use it often.
The only issue I have, is the catcher keeps falling off whilst mowing, very annoying.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Masport Magic - 470 Lawn Mower

published

After lengthy research I decided to go with the Masport 470 Lawn Mower from Bunnings. The 470 ticked all the boxes: 4 blade, 4 Stroke, large catcher that wasn’t material but plastic and seemed simple to operate. To my satisfaction the Mower didn’t take too long to prep before first use. A bit of oil, fuel, snap the catcher together and I was ready to get started. First pull did the trick and the 18inch base made cutting the yard quick and easy. Best thing was that I could cut my entire back yard with only having to empty the catcher once (usually 3x being the norm). Highly recommend thus far...fingers crossed my good fortune with this continues for many years!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

ShirleyK

ShirleyKasked

Masport 470 only mulches when I pull it backwards. Changed the blades took it to mower shop still not mulching

No answers

DARRELL N

DARRELL Nasked

whats the best type of oil to put in.

No answers

Gavin

Gavinasked

I purchased the Massport 470,a while ago now it has always run well,but now it starts easy but as soon as it gets hot it start back firing then runs rough then stops how do I fix this problem

1 answer
Zane
Zane

Hey Gavin have you checked your spark plug? Pull it out and give it a clean with a wire brush sometimes dirty or worn or old spark plugs can cause this. Could also be time for a service if this is the case mate. Cheers


Get an answer from our members and Masport representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $449
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity46.5 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut10 mm to 78 mm
Number of Blades4
Weight26.7 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement140 cc
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 500E 140cc OHV

Visit official website
  • MPN: 578760

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.