??!
4 photos
Maxi-Cosi Mico AP

Maxi-Cosi Mico AP

Isofix, Non Isofix
4.0 from 135 reviews

Reviews

(59)
(44)
(15)
(11)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (9)
  • Safety
    4.2 (9)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.2 (10)
  • Ease of Carrying
    3.3 (4)


Amara89

Amara89Sydney

  • 5 reviews

Not a fan

published

My son absolutely hates being in this capsule as it makes him really hot, he cries while seated in it and comes out all sweaty I wish they would improve on the fabric and make it more breathable and better suited to the weather conditions during the Australian summer season. The only thing I like about this is that fact that IF he does fall asleep then I can carry him without disturbing him and that it clicks into our pram (redsbaby jive2). Also the handle clips being on either end is a nuisance I would be awesome if it was in the middle of the handle instead

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Ease of Carrying
Car ModelMercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 250
Pram TypeRedsbaby JIVE2
See all answers

Suzi Q

Suzi QSouth East Queensland, QLD

So good, easily fits in and out of the pram with one click.

published

This was a great capsule. Our baby slept really well in it, and you could easily click it out of the car, without waking the baby, and place it in the bugaboo pram.

Purchased at Baby Baby Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelMazda CX-3 DK Akari LE AWD, 2.0L Petrol, Automatic
Pram TypeBugaboo Cameleon
See all answers
1 comment
Maxi-Cosi
Customer S.Maxi-Cosi

Hi Suzi, Great to hear that you love your Mico AP.

Matt

MattSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Doesnt work well with all car models and can be loose

published

We followed all instructions to install correctly only to find it loose and floppy. eventually found lots of people had found the same problem online too. doesnt work well with some cars and the advice is to use towels to wedge it in so that the base doesnt move.

Purchased in September 2019 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelMazda CX-5
See all answers
1 comment
Maxi-Cosi
Customer S.Maxi-Cosi

Hi Matt, we are sorry to hear you have experienced issues with fitting your carrier, can you please contact our team on 1300 809 526 and they will go through the trouble shooting with you, regards Helen Social Media Team

zahra a.

zahra a.South Australia

  • 3 reviews

Love it.

published

This is a very affordable and comfortable baby sit. Its easy adjusted and cleaned easily. I have bought this product in May and still in great condition and dont have any issue with it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Baby Online for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelJeep Cherokee
See all answers
1 comment
Maxi-Cosi
Customer S.Maxi-Cosi

Hi Zahra, We are so happy that you love your Mico AP.
All the best, Maxi-Cosi


bob t.

bob t.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Most comfortable seat for the little ones to take a nap.

published

Far better than our young mans previous seat. Much better angles for leaning back for a nap. Our little man loves it. When he is so quiet sleeping, us too.

Purchased in August 2018 at Bubs n Grubs for $229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero Sport QE Exceed (7 Seats)
See all answers
1 comment
Maxi-Cosi
Customer S.Maxi-Cosi

Hi Bob, Thank you for sharing your review. We love hearing that your little man is able to relax and sleep in his Mico AP. Maxi-Cosi Team


Elizabeth K.

Elizabeth K.

  • 3 reviews

Great compact seat

published

Unfortunately I don’t think my child is very comfortable, no doubt due to the fabric used. He gets really sweaty and long trips are a nightmare. They should make the cover fabric more breathable if it’s at all possible

Purchased in March 2018 at Baby & Toddler Town for $450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelBMW 1 Series
See all answers
1 comment
Maxi-Cosi
Maxi-Cosi team memberMaxi-Cosi

Hi Elizabeth, Can I please ask you contact our customer service team on customerservice@dorel.com.au so they may help you. Kind regards, Megan


Jocelyn P.

Jocelyn P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Complicated and confusing to install

published

From the moment I bought this I thought my newborn will be the safest and most comfortable. Installing and adjusting is so complicated, I recommend you have professionally installed and take notes or record the professionals on how to adjust it. A bit pricey but didn’t matter as long as it’s safe. Buy man it took years off me trying to install and adjust, and yes my partner also tried.

Also, if you’re petite and carrying an approximately 3-4 kilo capsule plus your newborn... god help me if she was more than 6 months... it’s impossible to carry. I have an uppababy vista that can have the capsule placed on it but haven’t had the chance to buy the adapters to connect it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Ease of Carrying
Car ModelMercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 250 4MATIC
Pram TypeUPPAbaby Vista
See all answers

SStrac

SStracGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love this capsule. Saves me waking the baby to get out of the car all the time

published

Pros
1. I take this out of the car all the time and it’s simple to attach to the car. I usually carry it.
2. Easy to clean as you just take the cover off and put it in the washing machine
3. Handle is useful
4. Easy to get installed from certified person

Cons
1. I think baby actually prefers the car seat in our other car
2. I have adapters for a bugaboo and I find it difficult to get on the right angle (it’s not the same angle as in the car.
3. It’s quite large so the seat in front of it in my car has to be quite forward and there’s not much room in the front seat (ford focus)

Purchased in December 2018 at Amazon for $235.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Ease of Carrying
Car ModelFord Focus
Pram TypeBugaboo Cameleon
See all answers
mowerman

mowermanWestern District, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Handy capsule but could be improved

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Amazon for $240.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Ease of Carrying
Car ModelToyota Kluger GSU40R
Pram TypeRedsbaby JIVE2
See all answers

Worst purchase ever.

published

I just bought this capsule today from Baby Bunting. Installation manual says you need to use a locking clip to secure the capsule but it doesnt come with the box. I tried installing the capsule without the clip and it looks very insecure.

So I ringed Baby Bunting and learned that it is optional and it "adds" to security of the capsule and costs $5.99.

So picture this, you buy a $379 capsule and come home and find out that you need to drive back to get this $6 worth accessory.

I will definitely go back but just to return it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $379.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Ease of Installation
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander
See all answers

Scrimpymummy

Scrimpymummycaloundra west

  • 8 reviews

Fantastic Car Seat

published

This Maxi-Cosy car seat was a complimentary addition to the pram bundle that I purchased from Baby Bunting. It did a fantastic job for the first 6months. It was safe and secure for my little one and gave me peace of mind in those early months. It is on the more expensive side, especially as it is only a capsule for the first 6months, but it is a very high quality baby capsule. It was very convenient that I could use it as a baby carrier and use the adaptors to put it on the pram as well, to prevent disturbing the little one.


Shan

ShanShepparton

Disappointed with this product

published

We purchased the capsule as the store we purchased it from said its a very popular capsule and well made.

We have had nothing but trouble
The hood of the capsule is flimsy and keeps falling down.
The strap that is connected at the head of the capsule is faulty the screw always comes loose and belt falls out. Very unsafe.
The straps always twist which is very annoying when trying to get a baby into the seat.

Very disappointed with this capsule as it is one of the more expensive ones.


Sam B

Sam BMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Nice and light

published

Nice and light weight - great for going from the car to the pram without disturbing baby. Definitely worthwhile to get the clips to convert to the pram.
Not something that I would leave the baby sleeping in at home for long though. Good to store for future babies to get moneys worth.


Lianne

LianneTerrigal

  • 2 reviews

Great for those first few months

published

I had this for bubs and was so handy to be able to transfer bubs in/out of car and onto pram easily. Saves disturbing the baby. However bubs out grew by 4 months and we had to get a new seat which is more expense so early. We have for bubs 2 at least. Bubs was ready to move into another seat too as they are only small.

Beth

BethMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

So convenient

published

The maxi cosy AP was a lifesaver. It was so handy to get around and not have to get the baby in and out constantly. Super easy if your just running in somewhere. Fits on the pram perfectly!
The only negative is the shade cover needs to come down a bit lower.

Chantel

Chantel

  • 4 reviews

Can’t live without

published

I rented a Maxi Cosi AP with my daughter and used it all the time. It clicks into my pram so it’s so easy to get baby in and out of the car and transfer them while sleeping. When we were expecting our second it was one of the first items we went out to buy.


Lana

LanaSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Very good - also very good brackets that fit in with any pram

published

Very good capsule. My baby slept like a log in it. Also very good to get brackets for your pram and you just snap the pram in and off you go. Very good. Would recommend to any new parents. Makes the trasporation of baby from car to pram seemless!!!!! Just fantastic


FMR

FMRCanberra

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for big babies

published

I use this capsule daily in the car and clip it onto my baby jogger pram. Very easy to use. Fits big babies (my 97th%ile boys fit in it until 6 months).

Great being able to just park a sleeping baby under a table or plug straight from car to pram or vice versa. Easy to install.


Dani

DaniMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very useful but couple of things would make it better

published

Fantastic

published

Great capsule. Used it from birth for our daughter. One lever at the back for easy release of capsule from base. Very sturdy carry handle. Great canopy for shade. Easy to install when we would swap the capsule between our 2 cars (we used isofix which was so so easy). Was nice and snug for our daughter which I found reassuring. I read some reviews saying that it was too tight for their children. Each to their own but I prefer my child to be safe and snug - it’s not called a child restraint for nothing. my daughter was a bigger bubba and I still thought it was great!! we used the Redsbaby pram and again the adapters were very simple to use.
Overall great car capsule.


Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

JET.

JET.asked

Hi, I have a maxi Cosi AP Isofix with a manufacture date of 07/2015, what is the lifespan for this seat? When does it expire?

No answers

feroz

ferozasked

Hi I bought a maxi cosi second hand capsule 2014, it does not have connectors on the base.
is it supposed to be with out connectors? can it be restrain only to car seat belt.
it does have a tether strap though.

2 answers
Suzi Q
Suzi Q

Do you mean connectors for the pram? It does come with the base for the car. And it clicks out of the base

Maxi-Cosi
Customer S.Maxi-Cosi

Hi Feroz, can you please contact our customer service team on 1300 809 526 and they will be able to assist you with your query. Thanks


Skye M.

Skye M.asked

I am looking at purchasing a second hard Maxi Cosi mica AP I’m just wondering if you could tell me what has changed with the models between 2015 and 2019/2020.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Maxi-Cosi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.