??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-9 TC

Mazda CX-9 TC (2016-2019)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-9 TC 2018 and Mazda CX-9 TC 2020. Azami LE (2018-2019), Touring (2016-2019), Azami (2016-2019), Sport (2016-2019) and GT (2016-2019)
4.5 from 39 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
28
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
2

tariq

tariqMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

over all happy but few annoyances

published

Overall great spacious car. Comfy drive, less noise, fuel consumption is impressive. We drove from Adl to Melb largely on cruise with full tank ans still 60 km fuel left. We are happy for the choice we made.Nice interior as compared other suv in this category.
Few problems:
Gps system is a wreck despite updates chooses longest and unpractical route, keep google as back up.
I felt the car third row area less illuminated when boot is opened automatically.
Infotainment system is very basic , but love bose sound system.
I am curious to know if anyone has driven both Awd and Fwd to share difference.

Purchased in February 2018 for $57,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Nomes

NomesAU

  • 6 reviews

I love this car

published

My second Cx-9. Wouldn’t buy any other brand of car. So happy with Mazda quality and service. This car is packed with all the safety features as well as the luxury items at reasonable price.

Purchased in June 2019 at Grand Prix Mazda for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Family SUV

published

This is our 2nd Mazda CX9 and still loving it for our family of 5. Perfect for school/ sports runs and fabulous for road trips along the coast. Smooth, light ride and great turning circle. Stylish with all of the extra luxury features as standard. Great value and very comparable with high end European cars that come double the price tag.

Purchased in August 2016 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Princy P.

Princy P.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car cx9

published

I love mazda cx9 am using if from last 6 months . It s reliable and it got more advanced features. Am getting 10l/ 100km. Good customer service and good value for tge money

Purchased in November 2018 at Maitland mazda for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Con L

Con L

  • 4 reviews

Happy with it

published

We've owned this car for over 2 years and it's been a great car considering it was a completely new model from Mazda. It goes great and has plenty of torque for a petrol engine thanks to the turbo charger. Apart from replacing one tailgate strut under warranty, we've done nothing but service it. It has so much room for a seven seater which is what we needed. Highly recommended.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Quality-Check

Quality-CheckGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 31 likes

More bang for the buck than a stick of dynamite

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dom20

Dom20Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

great family car

published

we purchased this car last month as our Commodore no longer suites our growing family and it has been good. Very comfortable to drive and has heaps of safety features such as lane depart and a feature to slow you down if you are coming too close.
it looks really lovely too, with the sunroof and leather interior and maps are very clear.
fuel economy isn't fantastic as a downside (about 13 l/100) and boot size is tiny with the 7 seats up (which is why we bought it) but overall I am happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Suman Prasad

Suman PrasadSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our 7 seater

published

I bought this car in May 2018 and can say this is the best car in the market. Use this car everyday for dropping kids to school and commute to work. Car body looks great, it's very comfy , has lots of leg space, big boot, classy interior and excellent for long drive. Love the sun roof feature.good fuel economy for this size of car and cheap service compare to others.

BadgeAzami
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
benny

bennyRYDE

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great engine and gearbox, internal storage a let down

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveAWD
KNDM

KNDMAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing car!

published

Spacious car for a growing family! Drives well, looks great and has plenty of power! The mod cons are spot on and make driving, parking and reversing a breeze! Annual service costs are fixed and afford able. All rear seats have anchor points as well!! I absolutely love this car!!

BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveFWD

Matthew9929

Matthew9929Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 39 likes

Good but not great- Struggling to enjoy and like the car

published
BadgeAzami LE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Okay - stay away from Melville Mazda

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Phil H

Phil H

  • 6 reviews

Great 7 seater

published

This is the first Mazda we brought and we will never regret it not only do you get a great drive but you feel like your in a top of the range car. The space for kids is great the boot space is very large in fact better then others. Safety gear is on point to

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Brett

BrettBallarat

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not a flagship car

published
BadgeAzami AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Dr Cesar

Dr CesarBEELIAR, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

I LOVE OUR CX-9 MAZDA!

published

Our Mazda CX-9 is a great-looking, comfortable, and well-built seven-seater that feels better to drive than any other big SUV near its price. Its turbo-petrol engine is economical and feels surprisingly sporty. What we like! FOUR STARS Safety, value & features, FOUR STARS Comfort & space, FOUR STARS Engine & gearbox, FOUR STARS Ride & handling, FOUR STARS Technology, FOUR STARS Shrink-wrapped dynamics, FOUR STARS Perky engine, FOUR STARS User-friendly cabin.

BadgeCX-9 6AUTO SPORT FWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
moifa

moifa

  • 22 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent 7 Seater with great styling at a good price

published

I love the styling, interior comfort/space, fuel economy and the quietness of the car. There is decent space behind the third-row seat which can even fit a pram. The boot space beat other people mover like Toyota Tarago, Honda Odyssey because this car is more than 5m long. The second row can fit 2 children car seats and an adult in the middle. The 2.5L petrol turbo engine is decent and quiet, but it will be better if there is a diesel engine option.

If you want a good looking and comfortable 7 seater SUV at a great price, go check out this great car. I highly recommend it.

BadgeTouring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Young

YoungMelbourne

Great car overall but there are some small problems.

published
BadgeAzami 4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

vchan

vchanmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing car!amazing drive

published

The feel and drive is smooth. Legroom is very good, handling also amazing.
Noise is very less. Interiors look very classy
This car is the best SUV in the same price range

Downside: petrol thirsty , preferred a analog speedometer and the back camera line guidance is not very good

BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

JimD

JimDBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car for the money

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Audrey

AudreyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

MY2017 model Mazda CX-9 Touring - Fantastic family car, very impressive and comfortable!

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 2

See all Mazda CX-9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Denis

Denisasked

My 2016,current shape, is rocking when idling, did the same 2 years ago Mazda could not find anything wrong, now it's doing it again.

3 answers
Shan
Shan

Probably the engine mounts. Assuming all the servicing has been done correctly and on time.

Denis
Denis

All the servicing was done in time and at a Mazda dealership.Could have something to do with engine management system....?

Shan
Shan

is it vibration or a miss fire?


Praxad

Praxadasked

Hi,
We test drove CX-9 GT a few weeks ago and while the car seems really nice we had a couple of concerns. We drove the one with black leather seats and it was quite dark and stuffy even on this sunny day which I guess it is due to CX-9's tiny sunroof and lack of third-row air vents. Any owner wants to share their experiences? Does the Ivory leather seats make it any brighter inside?

Thanks in advance,

Neil

3 answers
Aravind
Aravind

I had a Honda CRV with beige leather seats so opted black leather seats on my new CX9. I'm really happy with it, as it blends well and doesn't show off the dirt. With the third row, I don't use them often, but you are right, the absence of air vents is a little disadvantage.Sunroof is tiny compared to kia sorento's large Moonroof , but i'm still happy with it.

Illusion22
Illusion22

We have the black interior and don't find it dark and stuffy at all. In fact having children I much prefer the black.

iryinna
iryinna

try the cx9 signature 2017,auburn leather seats ...awesome!!!!


Manny

Mannyasked

Hi All. We are considering CX-9 sport FWD and was wondering about real world fuel consumption especially in city driving conditions. Given that past Mazda models have a history of poor fuel efficiency it would be really helpful to know what owners experience in real world. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks

2 answers
Flat White
Flat White

Hi Manny. I drive out to Amberley from Brisbane almost daily. The average consumption as indicated on the dash is about 9l/100km. Which is not too bad for an SUV of this size. But if you will be doing mostly town driving, I'd say that it may go to 11L/100km. But comparing this 2.5L Turbo petrol engine to the competition (Kluger, Sorento all have 3.3/3.5 V6 engines, Santa Fe has 2.2l petrol version but nowhere near the performance of the CX-9), the consumption you get from the CX-9 is really good. The start-stop feature for the engine also helps with consumption, don't ever switch this off if you want to save on some fuel. I personally think that it is good for a company to have a history, good or bad. They learn from it and boy, did Mazda ever learn. Hope this helps.

Dave
Dave

Hi Manny, We purchased the new CX9 back in Jan2017. A little bit disappointed with the fuel consumption. We get on average around 13.5/14.5L every 100km which mostly includes driving in Sydney traffic. The reading improves once on the motorway (get around 9-11L every 100km) so overall not happy with fuel consumption. I have asked two other owners of the new CX9, thinking there was something wrong with my car but they have said the same thing (ie around the 13.5L every 100km). Not sure how Mazda can get away with claiming their fuel consumption figures. Anyway, other than that the car goes great, more that enough power and very easy to drive for such a big car.
Hope this helps.


Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

Details

Mazda CX-9 TC Azami AWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Azami AWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

5.0
(2)
Mazda CX-9 TC Azami FWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Azami FWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

4.5
(2)
Mazda CX-9 TC Sport AWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Sport AWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

0.0
(0)
Mazda CX-9 TC Sport FWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Sport FWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

4.0
(1)
Mazda CX-9 TC Touring AWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Touring AWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

5.0
(1)
Mazda CX-9 TC Touring FWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC Touring FWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

5.0
(2)
Mazda CX-9 TC Azami LE

Mazda CX-9 TC Azami LE (2018-2019)

3.0
(2)
Mazda CX-9 TC GT AWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC GT AWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

4.5
(2)
Mazda CX-9 TC GT FWD, 2.5L Petrol

Mazda CX-9 TC GT FWD, 2.5L Petrol (2016-2019)

5.0
(2)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $66,390$62,390$50,990$46,990$56,990$52,990$68,190$64,790$60,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555555
Seats777777777
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.8 L/100km8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 74 L72 L74 L72 L74 L72 L74 L74 L72 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Sep 2018Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all Mazda CX-9

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.