??!
5 photos
Medela Freestyle

Medela Freestyle

MPNs: 042.001 and 67060T
3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (17)
  • Portability
    4.1 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (16)
  • Suction
    3.7 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (15)
Previous
Next
Helen

HelenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great pump!

published

I had to invest in a pump when I had my Bub at 26 + 5. I’ve had to pump 8 times a day for the last three months while she was in the NICU. We also live over an hour from the hospital so the fact I can do this in the car while my husband drives is fantastic.
The pump has been great, battery lasts and portability was a must. The only thing I would say is the strength could be better, but that is comparing it to the hospital ones which isn’t really fair.

Purchased in June 2020 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Mrs R

Mrs RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent product!

published

I love the freestyle! Has really helped me with my breastfeeding journey. The freestyle is super comfortable and easy to use, easy to transport. The freestyle has been excellent in keeping my milk flowing. I have used this everyday at least 3 times a day the motor/battery has never skipped a beat.

Purchased in May 2017 at eBay for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Review collected in partnership with Medela

  • Verified purchase

Great to keep milk supply going

published

Kept milk flow going while baby was away for a week. I pump instead of direct breastfeeding so use pump up to 6x a day. Great pump to use for all the expression. Also easy to travel with. Comes with handy bag and cooler
Only downside is to clean and dry all the seperate parts after every use which takes a little bit of time to do it good.
Overall definitely worth the money and life safer for us.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Kristen, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Freestyle pump. We are so happy that it has helped you on your breastfeeding journey.

Best Wishes,
Natasha

Review collected in partnership with Medela

Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Freestyle compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate

Kate

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great breast pump, worth the price tag

published

Purchased at Baby Bunting Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Naomi

Naomi

  • 2 reviews

Never let me down

published

Worth every cent.
Pumped every 3 hours for about 2 weeks and then quite regularly for another 4 weeks.

Hand washed and steralised after every use.

Pumping was effective and thought it was more effective than the hospital grade pump

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peeb

PeebPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great pump!!!

published

The pump is comfortable and effective and does the job well. It is easy to operate and the programming feature makes it easier as I don't have to select the function every time. I have been using the breast pump on a daily basis and few times a day. A great little pump that doesn't need to be plugged in to the wall. Has been a life saver as a new mom.

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting for $389.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Anne

Anne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Overrated for the price you’re paying

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Jess

JessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 37 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can not say enough good things about this pump

published

I love this machine!

I love you can express both boobs at once, super convenient. You can adjust the suction to what suits you.

What I hand pumped in 4 hours I got in 30 mins! Well worth the money.

Easy to clean and sterilise.

The only thing i would complain about is the noise but I’d still buy and recommend it 100%

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $389.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
SJE

SJE

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great pump for home use

published

I have used the Medela Freestyle pump for both of my babies and have had excellent results. It is very simple to use and gentle but still gets ample milk, making expressing a stress free experience. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a pump.

Purchased in November 2017 for $350.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Freestyle compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Horrible expensive useless

published

Breast pump shut give comfort. This crap product gives me stress nothing else. Sometimes it works amazing, mostly not working at all. Every part it seems to be ok but when it comes to pump is not pumping with means it leaves you with full painful breasts

Purchased in November 2016 for $414.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Kirsten S.

Kirsten S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it!

published

I use this everyday and can honestly say it is one of the best things I have ever bought. This has been an absolute life saver for me and I have recommended it to many others who have been looking for a good pump

Purchased in January 2019 at Baby Bunting for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Kristen
Thank you very much for your review and your recommendations. It is always a pleasure to hear from a happy customer that goes to the trouble of writing such a positive review.
Kind regards
Pauline

Liv

Liv

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use pump

published

I have used the freestyle double pump and found it to be effective. I was glad to have the double to make it more time efficient. It is easy to operate and stores in a nice bag.

Purchased in March 2019 at Baby Bunting for $398.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

SStrac

SStracGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great for a busy on the go mum like me

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Baby Bunting for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Charles C.

Charles C.Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great for busy moms

published

Purchased in April 2019.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Salena B.

Salena B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Gentle and easy to use

published

Great little pump held its charge really well and was easy to use and gentle. Great for being able to move around and do things when pumping with the use of a pumping bra of course.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Freestyle compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not reliable.

published

When the pump works it works really well. However the connectors are very finicky and regularly don’t work. I frequently have to pump only on one side as the connectors often lose their suction and have to be put back together again. Quite frustrating when you’re trying to pump late at night and you’re time poor

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Lydia

LydiaPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Broken connector, poor suction

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Lydia
Lydia
Nat

NatSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money, time and stress a new mum doesn’t need

published

What an absolute waste of money. Purchased this and had issues with it since day one. It’s almost like the pump isn’t strong enough to get the double effect and I would have to pump separately. It then got to the point where I would get more with a manual pump and absolutely nothing, NOTHING with the pump, even individually. I would swap all pars around, wash and dry correctly. It was so temperamental and unpredictable. For someone who was exclusively expressing to feed bub it was the last thing I needed.

Purchased in December 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Emily

EmilyHunter Region, NSW

Double pumping not working!!!

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Joe

JoeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great product mega expensive to maintain

published

We bought a freestyle breat pump from babybunting about 1.5years ago. It is a great pump however, now shows a battery sign on screen. Called medela said buy a battery for 150$ read online pump failure faults same symbol so now to repair or swap mega $$$. Not happy so far is very hard to make a decision on what to do. Only works plugged into the power outlet. Now I am considering buying the Spectra since all I hear is good stuff and cheaper price. Hopefully medela costumer care will help me change my mind.

1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Helen

Helenasked

My pump auto shut off in like 5 mins for few time already what should I do now

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Helen
We will probably need a little bit more information. Please call our customer service team on 1800 787 345 and we will be more than happy to assist.
Kind regards
Pauline

Chris

Chrisasked

Can this be used as one pump at a time or does both have to be used together?

3 answers
Keira
Keira

Yes, I think so. Use plastic wrap between shield and breastshield connector. Then you can transfer Freestyle to a single pump

Mandy Y
Mandy Y

Yes, it can be used either one pump or two pumps.

Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Chris, yes the Freestyle can easily be converted from a double to a single pump and back again simply by unplugging the tubing from one of the pump connectors and plugging it into the square shaped adaptor in the centre of the tubing. This needs to be done to regulate the vacuum otherwise it will be lost out of the side not being used. Thank you Medela Australia.

Nat

Natasked

Are these fixable / good for a service once out of the warranty period?

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Nat, generally we do not fix pumps however should the need arise please contact our customer service team to discuss the options available and we will do the best we can to help you. Thanks Medela Australia

Get an answer from our members and Medela representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)499

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 020451670607
  • MPN: 042.001 and 67060T

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.