??!
6 photos
Medela Swing

Medela Swing

4.2 from 581 reviews

Its fantastic

I used it when i gave birth to have breaks from BF and they are great. Just at times there would be some muck in the pipe and its sooo difficult to get rid of it. its a little bit noisy so you cant be in the same room as your sleeping baby.

Purchased in April 2017 at Baby Bunting for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Great portable option

This pump is wonderful when out and about! Compact to pack up and discreet to use at high tea, dinner or even at the movies... Just make sure you remember all the parts!

Purchased in April 2017.

Usage Frequency Long-term

Nothing can’t go wrong with it

First time for me to use this breast pump. It has good quality and save a lot of time compare to the previous one i had. Price is higher than others.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)

Gets the job done

The medela swing pump is simple, easy to use and clean. I prefer to use it plugged into the mains as the batteries start to run out fairly quickly and reduce suction.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

Best gift ever

I got this as a gift and I couldn’t be happier with it and it works great with me but unfortunately the paid in the rubber sometimes hurt so you guys just buy the protection pads but for new born mother perfect gift

Purchased in March 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding

So-so

I purchased this as a couple of girlfriends are also using it. It’s so-so, I hand express after pumping and still get quite a bit afterwards, so I feel like it’s not that good. It’s easy to clean but the tubes does have some water in them.

Purchased in January 2018.


Good and reliable

I use this 3-4 times a day, very easy to disemble and clean, quite compact and pretty quiet. I never used it portable so don’t know what it’s like on the go. I do find I can usually pump more with hospital grade pump though. But would recommend this to anyone. Maybe even a double pump instead of single would be better.

Purchased in September 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
1 comment
Hi Mika Thank you for your review and recommendation of the Medela Swing. Depending on how frequently you pump, double pumping does have many benefits over single, if you pump frequently it saves a lot of time as well as increasing your milk supply by up to 18% if you would like to find out more, please see link below. https://www.medela.com.au/breastfeeding/mums-journey/double-pumping Kind regards Pauline

Slow but does the job

I use this pump twice a day.
It does the job but it takes over 30 mins each side.
I have been using for 8 months and the motor seems to be wearing out. Its getting slower and louder.
Easy to use and clean.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
3 comments
Hi Shell Thank you for your feedback. Using batteries that are not fully charged may make the pump go slower. We recommend high-quality alkaline batteries. Using high-quality batteries, you will get 2-3 pumping sessions so people would normally use this option as a backup. The pump will still turn on after 2-3 sessions but it won't be providing enough power to the pump to operate at full effectiveness. A bit like a light in a torch dimming when batteries get low. If this is happening when you are using mains power, it may be a good idea to take it back to the place of purchase, just remember to bring your receipt and all your accessories. Medela offers an excellent warranty of 2 years on electric pumps. Kind regards PaulineHi, I dont use batteries at all. Just directly to the main power. I bought it from baby bunting so I cant see them helping to be honest.Hi Shell As long as you have a valid receipt they should be able to assist you. kind regards Pauline

Easy to use and pretty good pump but not working after 5 days

I bought the double pump straight out of hospital with my bub and was using 8 times a day due to poor latch and supply. Started off great but after 5 days it basically broke, suddenly the pump lost about 70% suction and couldn’t get any milk out. The two days I was without a pump was terrible for my supply. I borrowed my sisters which was the same pump and it had served me well 3 months on, but it breaking so quickly was so disappointing consider it’s not cheap. Keep your receipt! I haven’t done anything yet about it so I cannot comment on customer service

Purchased in November 2018 at Chemist Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
3 comments
To add, it turn out it was the tubes that were the issue. An easy replace but not great that they needed it in less than a weekHi Courtney Thank you for reviewing the Medela Swing. When a pump loses suction it can be because of the valve and membrane (the small yellow and white pieces that the milk flows through). Check that these pieces have not been damaged in any way. The swing comes with a spare membrane. This may resolve the issue. If this doesn’t help, please take your pump back to the place of purchase, together with all the accessories and your receipt. They will be able to test it for you. The pump has a two-year warranty and if it is faulty it will be replaced. Kind regards PaulineThank you :)

Fantastic product.

This pump is amazing! I love that you can plug it in to a power point at home or use batteries if you are out and about and need to pump! Very comfortable while pumping.

Purchased in February 2015 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Noise Level
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Thank you for taking the time to review the Medela Swing. It is also great to hear such wonderful feedback. All our electric pumps come with the option of mains power or batteries. If you are a Medela fan you may want to have a look at our Blog, it has some great stories and advice for breastfeeding mums, see link below. http://medelabreastfeedingblog.com.au Kind regards Pauline

Great Breast Pump

My husband came home with the Medela Swing breast pump when I needed a pump to use to help increase my milk supply when my bub was a newborn. Initially I would have preferred a double breast pump to save time with pumping, but the Medela Swing has been great. Its very comfortable and easy to use, and very effective at expressing a good amount of milk. I have since used a double pump and found it was hard to use due to the fact you need 2 hands to hold the 2 pumps on both breasts at the same time (if you don't have a breast pump bra to hold them!). Whereas with the Swing you still have a hand free to operate the pump and do other things that multitasking mums do! I also like the fact that the Swing can be operated by battery, making it completely portable. Having said that, I haven't used it on batteries yet so I don't know if the power of the suction is compromised when using it on battery. But it is very good when plugged in to the mains power.

1 comment
Hi Dani Thank you for taking the time to review the Medela Swing pump. It’s always great to hear our customers are happy with their purchases. Using the Swing on batteries, should not compromise the suction. Using good quality alkaline batteries, you will get approx. 3 pumping sessions. So for cost-effectiveness, you are much better to use it on mains power when you can. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. Kind regards Pauline

Good Machine. Easy to use.

I’ve had my medela swing single pump for about 5 years with about 4 of those years in storage. I started using it again recently with our second child and it’s in as good condition as when I first purchased the item.

I find the medela really good, although a little hard on my nipples when compared to my recent purchase of the pumpables genie, however I have found that the medela extracts a little more milk. It’s really easy to opearate and the buttons are very self explanatory. The pump comes with 1 size of breast shield so if you’re lucky, you don’t have to buy any other sizes. The membrane is easy to attach and the suction levels accommodate a wide range of requirements.

The power cord is a really good length, and the portability of being able to use batteries is great. The collection bottles are an ok size but the ones that came with the pump were only 150ml bottles so you need to have a few on the go once you baby is drinking more than 150 in a sitting. The bottles can be a bit of a pain those go as they don’t have a proper seal and leak in less you have the teat attached.

I can’t really fault this machine and only purchased a new double because I wanted a double pump to help increase my milk supply whilst also significantly reducing the amount of time I sat on the pump in each session.

1 comment
Hi dmn Thank you for your email and review of the Medela Swing. It is always nice to hear our customers responding in such a positive way. Kind regards Pauline

Not bad for a small pump, easy to transport and use with batteries

This breast pump served me well - it was a good pump and did help with expressing breast pump at home. It was fairly comfortable but did make a lot of noise in my opinion. I ended up hiring a hospital grade pump for the first month or so then used this one. I really liked. Ring able to use it with the cord and just batteries. It was really good when we went away for trips, the pump was small and light enough to take. Parts were easy to clean. I was quite satisfied with the amount of milk I got expressing but did find it a little loud to use.

1 comment
Hi Laura Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing Maxi. It is a very portable pump and is Australias most awarded breast pump (voted by mothers). You may be able to soften the noise a little by placing it on a cushion or something soft that will absorb the vibration. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Pauline

Happy

I used this pump for 2 months while my son was in hospital. It is fantastic i could pin it to me and walk around to do things while pumping still, its light and compact. The children's hospital also have the larger version of these pumps and this little thing is just as good. Definitely will recommend to others.

1 comment
Hi Renee Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing. It is good to know it helped you in your breastfeeding journey. Yes, the Children’s Hospital hires out the Medela Symphony. This is a professional grade pump or multi-user pump. These can be hired from many locations around Australia. See link below for details. https://www.medela.com.au/breastfeeding/locationfinder kind regards Pauline

Prefect for pumping.

Very comfortable and effective as a first time mum, very gentle on the nipples. I used it daily after the birth of my daughter - expressed so her father could also experience feeding our child. I didn't travel with it as most time expressing was at home however it did does come in a handy bag with a little bottle stand (with the adapter or battery operated) some nights I would just use the battery operated mode and I didn't like cords around sometimes and the battery lasted a long time for pumping.

I was satisfied with the amount able to express for my daughter.

1 comment
Hi Ney Thank you for the review of the Medela Swing. Great to hear your positive feedback. You may like to sign up to Take 5 with Medela on the link below. You will receive weekly emails, blogs and videos that may help you through your breastfeeding journey http://medelabreastfeedingblog.com.au/take-5-medela/ Kind regards Pauline

Really good.

Was very comfortable, easy to use and portable!
I used this pump anywhere from 5-10 times a day and I found it really great at keeping my supply up.
I used this pump and a pump from the hospital and found it just as effective.
The only downside is having to pump one side at a time

1 comment
Hi Chris Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing. It is always great to hear positive reviews from our Customers. Yes, double pumping does have several advantages as well as saving you time. You may like to have a look at the following link to find out more. http://www.medela.com.au/breastfeeding/advice/pumping/double-pumping Thank you again for your feedback Kind regards Pauline

Good pump to start with

This was the first time i used some electric breast pump, and settled on medela swing. What i really like about the pump is its suction and let down function. You can adjust the speed and suction of the pump as per the requirement. Definitely helps to express more milk. The packaging itself was quite impressive as it provided with all the essentials. May be i found it bit noisy at the time other than that highly recommend this products.

1 comment
Hi Roo Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing breast pump. It is always lovely to hear positive feedback from our Customers. Kind regards Pauline

Great and compact breast pump

My friend gifted me this pump.
It is Easy to use and small which is good for travelling with. Can also use with 4xAA batteries.

The only annoying thing is that Occasionally the pump doesn't pump. It is weak pumping and not sufficient to do the job. I sterilise the part that attaches to the pump and this works and this is what I assume is the problem.
The only other issue is that I use the bottle
For breast milk and formula. I can't mix formula in the bottle because it is not rubber sealed and leaks everywhere when I shake the bottle.
Another minor issue is that when sterilising the bottle as recommended, the medela branding on the bottle has progressively faded.
Other than that great electric pump.


Love this product!

This breast pump is fantastic! I have recently changed brands and the Medela is nice and quiet to use. It pulls apart easily which makes cleaning a breeze and I find it small and compact so it is easy to travel with. It is also comfortable while expressing around the clock as my old breast pump gave me blisters!!! Love it!

1 comment
Hi Courty Thank you for your feedback, the Swing certainly is a great compact pump designed for busy mothers on the move. It is always great to hear from a happy Customer. For an even easier method of cleaning, try Medela Microwave Quick Clean Bags. These are a great space saver for travel and can be used up to 20 times each. Thank you again for your review Kind regards Pauline

A great buy!

This pump is great! So easy to use and it is portable - definitely well worth the money. It is comfortable to use, the spare parts and bottles are very easy to get if you need, available in a lot of store. I was using it heaps when my son was fully breast fed before solids, I took it to work and used it at least 3 times a day.

1 comment
HI Jessica Thank you for your review of the Swing. All our spare parts are also available on medelastore.com.au for people in more remote areas. It is always nice to hear positive feedback from our Customers. Kind regards Pauline

Page 1 of 30

Questions & Answers

I currently am using an electric pump but the suction is really bad. Sometimes it does not pump any milk at all even when my breasts are full. I have read some good reviews about this product however not much has been said about its suction which is my main concern as I do pump frequently. Can people who have tried this product share their experiences about its suction? Thank you
1 answer
Mines the same. I bought double electric breast puml and all it could pump out was not even 1mls in 15 mins even when my breasts were engorged. I paid around 270$ for them. Very dissappointed.

Will medela swing motor work with symphony pump attachments? Am needing a double pump but can't afford to buy the whole lot so have been looking at individual prices. And found an option but unsure if I will damage the motor by trying to get it to pump both breats.. Thanks in advance
2 answers
Hello, i only used it as single so I'm not sureHi Els Thank you for your email. You can use all parts of the Symphony Kit except the tubing and cap and membrane (that fits on the Symphony pump). You cannot use the tubing as it is too long and may affect suction. The Medela Swing is only designed to be used for single pumping. The Swing Maxi is a double pump and has a much stronger motor. Kind regards Pauline

Is there any concern about using a medela swing pump that was bought 7 years ago but has never been used? Thanks
2 answers
I wouldn't think so. As long as it genuinely hasn't been used and kept in its packaging I wouldn't worry about the age. the risk is that there is no warranty so you should try to get it as cheaply as possible. All the best DeeHi Dee If your Swing pump is "brand new" and stored in a place that doesn't get too hot it should be fine. The only thing you may need to check is the small white silicone membrane to make sure it is in good condition as this regulates the suction. Kind regards Pauline

Details

Swing
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)299.95

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 7612367023986

Similar listings