??!
6 photos
Medela Swing Maxi

Medela Swing Maxi

3.5 from 159 reviews

Reviews

3.5

159 reviews
5
(48)
4
(48)
3
(27)
2
(14)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (19)
  • Portability
    3.7 (18)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (18)
  • Suction
    2.2 (18)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (19)
  • Feeding Methods
Previous
Next
MummaB

MummaBNorthern Region, NSW

Don’t waste your money

published

The pump parts needs to be completely dry before it will provide any suction whatsoever. The motor doesn’t seem to have enough power to fully empty my breasts in a reasonable amount of time. Save your money and buy a hospital grade pump. The only upside of this pump is that it’s portable but that is negated by the need to remain completely still or the flanges become loose and the parts fall off your breast.

Purchased in July 2020 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
MummaB
MummaB
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Adel w

Adel wGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can't live without

published

Excellent customer service from medela.
Esp when parts are broken / faulty, they send out one immediately with express post! Often for free.

My first pump broke after 2.5 years! Machine faulty. Dint bother to repair it but gave it to someone else to trade in (medela overseas offers trade in programme! Not Australia unfortunately).

Anyways, I Love this double pump. Fast and efficient. Reasonably good suction and works for me.

Can also buy USB connector and connect to power bank / car port and pump on the go.

Good to buy when chemist warehouse has sale. Often can price beat.

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$289.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Adel, thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us! We are thrilled that you loved your Swing Maxi pump.

Kindest Regards,
Natasha

  • Verified purchase

DO NOT BUY THIS PUMP!!!

published

Purchased in April 2020 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I wish I had gone through the reviews

published

Bought this in feb2020 right after delivery from baby bunting, but this pump is frustrating. It only worked on the first day, it has lost suction and i have to keep struggling with the wires, upon examining I be found there are cracks in the connector base. Such a poor make, I wish I could get any other pump, be from medela but durable at least

Purchased in February 2020 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Samia
Samia

Thanks Pauline, I have been there, got the equipment checked and they replaced the motor. However I had to buy the new tubing as the warranty doesn’t cover that( as told by the representative at baby bunting)

Medela
Medela A.Medela

That's great Samia, I hope you are happier now. Unless you got milk in the tubing there should be no need to replace the tubing.
Kindest regards
Pauline

User

UserGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Lack of suction and noisy......

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for A$274.99.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
See all answers
5 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi
We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact our customer service department and we will attempt to rectify this for you. Your pump has a 2-year warranty, so is well within the warranty period.
Kindest regards
Pauline

User
User
Medela
Medela A.Medela

So unhappy I am actually crying.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Ruby
Ruby

Hi Pauline,
Thank you for getting back to me.
I’m going to assume I would need my receipt or proof of purchase for further assistance which I do not have. I have moved from Victoria to Queensland and would not be able to find it.
Thanks anyway.

Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Ruby
Would you mind contacting our customer service department and ask to speak to Mili?
Warmest wishes
Pauline

Kirsty

KirstyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Can't live without it!

published

I am so happy with my medela swing maxi double pump it has cut my pumping time in half. the customer service was absolutely amazing when I was having trouble with my pump they immediately sent out a new part for me to use within 1 day :) definitely recommend this pump!!

Purchased in November 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Kristy
Thank you for your feedback on our product and customer service. Always great to hear from our customers and lovely that they take time out of their busy schedules to take the time to leave a review.
Best wishes
Pauline

Poor suction, poor pump, Waste of money

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Wellington Neonatal Trust.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Shopaholic123

Shopaholic123Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Time saver

published

Previously had the Medela swing pump and it would take half an hour, 15 mins on each side, to empty each side. But now with the maxi, double pumping at the same time has allowed me to put the extra 15mins saved each time towards something else, like changing nappies haha!

Purchased in July 2018 at Baby Bunting.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of Money

published

I've had so many issues with this pump. I've replaced the connectors three times, purchased new shields however nothing seems to work. There's barely any suction and completely unrealiable. Insanely disappointed as Medela doesn't even want to bother replacing the pump for me.

Purchased in January 2019.

Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
  • Verified purchase

Good and does the job

published

Bought this as I heard good things about Medella. And used a similar medella one in the hospital after giving birth. Have only used it a few times as a double pump (with a pumping bra otherwise it is impossible to hold). But still use it at least once a day as a single pump. It does the job well. And haven’t had any issues.

Purchased in October 2018 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

You mean ‘Maxi’ stress using this

published

I would not recommend this pump. It’s very temperamental and has caused me a lot of stress using it. For the most part it’s been pretty good, but it’s very unpredictable when it might not work. I’ve had to replace parts as well. Sometimes mid-pump I’ve had to take it apart and put it back together for it to work. I wish I had bought a Spectra. I let my pregnant friends know to buy Spectra.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
See all answers
Lauren

Lauren

  • 5 reviews

Good easy to use

published

Easy to use. Can sometimes loose suction when have 2 running at once. Let down feature really good. Great attachments with it. Makes the job of expressing easy and convenient

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Sylvia C

Sylvia CPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

pretty good pump

published

i only use this a few times as I mainly feed from breasts directly, but pumped when i felt i needed to release from full/engorged breasts. they are pretty effective and easy to use. however it is very tiring pumping as i had to use my two hands to hold the pumps manually and i didnt have any free hand and couldnt do anything. i dont enjoy the pumping experience. but great that i could pump from both breasts at once.

Purchased in August 2018.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Waste of money. Product doesn't work as double pump.

published

Based in NZ. This doesnt work as a double pump. I have had it replaced by medela already - they were quite good to deal with. Believe this is a fault of the overall design not just the particular pumps I have had. Recommend only purchasing their single pump and not wasting money on a double. Really disappointed and not sure what to do now when I go back to work as buying another double pump is a lot of money.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mandy

MandyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worst experience waste of money

published

I bought the double maxi swing breast pump 3 days ago and thought it will be less time consuming as i can pump both breasts at once. But i was wrong because it works only for one breast and not for the other. I have read the instruction manual thoroughly thinking probably i am doing something wrong but nope i followed each and every instruction step by step. There is no suction at all for one side. Spent extra money for double but still using as single. I wasted my money which i had spent going beyond my financial capacity as we are in hardship but because of health issues i needed a pump so my husband bought this to help me. Feel terrible now.

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Mandy
Thank you for your purchase and feedback. Your pump should be pumping on both sides and obviously, Medela also doesn’t find this acceptable. Please contact our Customer Service Department on 1800 787 345.
Kind regards
Pauline

Megan C

Megan C

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic pump

published

This is a really easy to use and effective pump. I have used it daily for 12 months and have never had any issues with it. I would highly recommend this pump

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Megan
Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing Maxi. It is always a pleasure to receive comments and recommendations from happy Customers.
Kind regards

tangera69

tangera69Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

A raw and honest take on this pump.

published

A raw and honest take on this pump. Having been here before with pumping I thought I would invest from a single pump to a double. This does not provide yhe adequate suction as a single pump. Very disappointing. I am now left to use it as a single pump.. double time. Would not reccommend this product. Trust me

Purchased in February 2019 for A$270.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Jemima

JemimaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

faulty replacement parts

published

Replaced both my valves and because you need to buy a 3 piece because they don’t sell the valves by themselves at a cost of $80. They only last 3 weeks as well, went to the store I bought both the 3 pieces from and they replaced them and then after using it 3 times same fault. Now I’m forced to go back again to see what they are going to do now. I called Medela and they claim that the valves should last 6 months but they don’t. They claimed that they would test the replacement ones and send me some more but when you need to pump all your feeds because your baby is small you don’t have time to wait for the post. It’s really not worth the stress involved in buying this pump or brand.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Jemima
Jemima
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi Jemima
I am unaware of any Medela subsidiary that sells this product separately but if you can give me some more information I am happy to look into it for you.
Kind regards
Pauline

Useless as a double.

published

This pump is useless as a double. Since I’ve had it brand new, I have have not been able to use it with sufficient suction as a double. I’ve had replacement suction parts sent and still no good. I’ve also been back and forth with medela about getting it tested - living regionally and having a baby it’s hard to get out to a pharmacy 45 mins away just to test the unit even though I did it once before and found it was tested as singles ... I wouldn’t recommend it.

Purchased in July 2018 at Chemist Warehouse for A$300.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
4 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Helen P
Helen P
Helen P
Helen P
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Amelia

Ameliaasked

Why do I get less supply when I double pump than if I single pump? It’s incredibly frustrating as it’s much more time consuming having to single pump

4 answers

You should be getting more supply, sounds like their might be an issue with the pump. I had one of these pumps and the connectors were not working properly due to a fault which I believe is due to the design of the connectors, I took the pump back to where I bought it from and they gave me a new connector part but the pump still did not suction properly. I found after washing the connectors a few times (as per the instructions in the manual) that they didn't fit back together well and this affected the suction. I returned the pump back to where I bought it and they contacted Medela and I eventually got my money back. Hope this helps, also if you want a good double pump I recommend hiring a hospital grade Medela Symphony pump as they work really well and have great suction.

Samia
Samia

Same here sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t I am fed up with this baby bunting people changed the motor and told to buy a new tube still facing problems with it. I am on baby formula now as my baby has forgotten to latch. I wish I could get a refund or credit towards a good pump

Adel w
Adel w

I find opening and clipping the valve /cap back make some difference between suction. Also the way it fits on boobs. (make sure u have the right size)
You can bring pump to maternal child health nurse, sometimes they can help with breastfeeding trouble shooting.

Good luck!

Reneilwe K.

Reneilwe K.asked

Good morning, I am using the medela swing, it seems to be making a sound but no suction coming through, does it mean it's broken?Johannesburg

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Reneilwe

Without further information, it is difficult to determine what the problem may be. If you are in Johannesburg, I would recommend contacting the Medela on (0027) 11 788 9102 or going to the link below to find out how to contact them via email as you have contacted the Australian website.

https://www.medela.com/company/services/local-contact?distributor=/P-S/South-Africa&_ga=2.186532009.1408152436.1580964073-426296573.1574137402

Warmest wishes
Pauline

Emilly B.

Emilly B.asked

I bought the swing maxi, have used it once and it has completely lost suction. The parts don’t seem to be sitting flush together which is I think why the suction has gone. I’ve tried so many ways to reassemble but can’t make it work.

1 answer
Helen P
Helen P

I’m not sure how to help... I’m assuming you’ve checked the instructions? I still only single pump with the double it’s so frustrating

Get an answer from our members and Medela representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.