??!
6 photos
Medela Swing Maxi

Medela Swing Maxi

3.6 from 154 reviews

Reviews

(47)
(48)
(27)
(14)
(18)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (14)
  • Portability
    4.0 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (13)
  • Suction
    2.4 (13)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (14)
  • Feeding Methods
    • Breastfeeding (13)
    • Baby Formula (1)

So unhappy I am actually crying.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
2 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Ruby
Ruby

Hi Pauline,
Thank you for getting back to me.
I’m going to assume I would need my receipt or proof of purchase for further assistance which I do not have. I have moved from Victoria to Queensland and would not be able to find it.
Thanks anyway.

Kirsty

KirstyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Can't live without it!

published

I am so happy with my medela swing maxi double pump it has cut my pumping time in half. the customer service was absolutely amazing when I was having trouble with my pump they immediately sent out a new part for me to use within 1 day :) definitely recommend this pump!!

Purchased in November 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for $280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Kristy
Thank you for your feedback on our product and customer service. Always great to hear from our customers and lovely that they take time out of their busy schedules to take the time to leave a review.
Best wishes
Pauline

Poor suction, poor pump, Waste of money

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Wellington Neonatal Trust.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shopaholic123

Shopaholic123Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Time saver

published

Previously had the Medela swing pump and it would take half an hour, 15 mins on each side, to empty each side. But now with the maxi, double pumping at the same time has allowed me to put the extra 15mins saved each time towards something else, like changing nappies haha!

Purchased in July 2018 at Baby Bunting.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Waste of Money

published

I've had so many issues with this pump. I've replaced the connectors three times, purchased new shields however nothing seems to work. There's barely any suction and completely unrealiable. Insanely disappointed as Medela doesn't even want to bother replacing the pump for me.

Purchased in January 2019.

Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
  • Verified purchase

Good and does the job

published

Bought this as I heard good things about Medella. And used a similar medella one in the hospital after giving birth. Have only used it a few times as a double pump (with a pumping bra otherwise it is impossible to hold). But still use it at least once a day as a single pump. It does the job well. And haven’t had any issues.

Purchased in October 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

You mean ‘Maxi’ stress using this

published

I would not recommend this pump. It’s very temperamental and has caused me a lot of stress using it. For the most part it’s been pretty good, but it’s very unpredictable when it might not work. I’ve had to replace parts as well. Sometimes mid-pump I’ve had to take it apart and put it back together for it to work. I wish I had bought a Spectra. I let my pregnant friends know to buy Spectra.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
See all answers
Lauren

Lauren

  • 5 reviews

Good easy to use

published

Easy to use. Can sometimes loose suction when have 2 running at once. Let down feature really good. Great attachments with it. Makes the job of expressing easy and convenient

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Sylvia C

Sylvia CPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

pretty good pump

published

i only use this a few times as I mainly feed from breasts directly, but pumped when i felt i needed to release from full/engorged breasts. they are pretty effective and easy to use. however it is very tiring pumping as i had to use my two hands to hold the pumps manually and i didnt have any free hand and couldnt do anything. i dont enjoy the pumping experience. but great that i could pump from both breasts at once.

Purchased in August 2018.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of money. Product doesn't work as double pump.

published

Based in NZ. This doesnt work as a double pump. I have had it replaced by medela already - they were quite good to deal with. Believe this is a fault of the overall design not just the particular pumps I have had. Recommend only purchasing their single pump and not wasting money on a double. Really disappointed and not sure what to do now when I go back to work as buying another double pump is a lot of money.

Purchased in June 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyOccasionally (once a day or less)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Mandy

MandyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worst experience waste of money

published

I bought the double maxi swing breast pump 3 days ago and thought it will be less time consuming as i can pump both breasts at once. But i was wrong because it works only for one breast and not for the other. I have read the instruction manual thoroughly thinking probably i am doing something wrong but nope i followed each and every instruction step by step. There is no suction at all for one side. Spent extra money for double but still using as single. I wasted my money which i had spent going beyond my financial capacity as we are in hardship but because of health issues i needed a pump so my husband bought this to help me. Feel terrible now.

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Short-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Mandy
Thank you for your purchase and feedback. Your pump should be pumping on both sides and obviously, Medela also doesn’t find this acceptable. Please contact our Customer Service Department on 1800 787 345.
Kind regards
Pauline

Megan C

Megan C

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic pump

published

This is a really easy to use and effective pump. I have used it daily for 12 months and have never had any issues with it. I would highly recommend this pump

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Megan
Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing Maxi. It is always a pleasure to receive comments and recommendations from happy Customers.
Kind regards

tangera69

tangera69Victoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A raw and honest take on this pump.

published

A raw and honest take on this pump. Having been here before with pumping I thought I would invest from a single pump to a double. This does not provide yhe adequate suction as a single pump. Very disappointing. I am now left to use it as a single pump.. double time. Would not reccommend this product. Trust me

Purchased in February 2019 for $270.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Jemima

JemimaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

faulty replacement parts

published

Replaced both my valves and because you need to buy a 3 piece because they don’t sell the valves by themselves at a cost of $80. They only last 3 weeks as well, went to the store I bought both the 3 pieces from and they replaced them and then after using it 3 times same fault. Now I’m forced to go back again to see what they are going to do now. I called Medela and they claim that the valves should last 6 months but they don’t. They claimed that they would test the replacement ones and send me some more but when you need to pump all your feeds because your baby is small you don’t have time to wait for the post. It’s really not worth the stress involved in buying this pump or brand.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Baby Formula and Breastfeeding
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Jemima
Jemima
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi Jemima
I am unaware of any Medela subsidiary that sells this product separately but if you can give me some more information I am happy to look into it for you.
Kind regards
Pauline

Useless as a double.

published

This pump is useless as a double. Since I’ve had it brand new, I have have not been able to use it with sufficient suction as a double. I’ve had replacement suction parts sent and still no good. I’ve also been back and forth with medela about getting it tested - living regionally and having a baby it’s hard to get out to a pharmacy 45 mins away just to test the unit even though I did it once before and found it was tested as singles ... I wouldn’t recommend it.

Purchased in July 2018 at Chemist Warehouse for $300.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
4 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Helen P
Helen P
Helen P
Helen P
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing Maxi compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JDP

JDP

  • 7 reviews

Fantastic

published

Much quieter than others. Very simple to use, compact and easy to clean. I replaced the tubes between babies because I used it so much. I'd get this one again.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Suction
Comfort
Usage Frequency Long-term
Milk Expressing FrequencyFrequently (more than once a day)
Feeding Methods Breastfeeding
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi JDP
Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing Maxi. Medela also offers a fantastic warranty of two years on all electric pumps.
Kind regards
Pauline

MariaB

MariaBSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use

published

The meddle swing maxi breast pump works excellent. It is comparable to the ones that I used at the hospital. Very convenient that allows double pump. The fact that has different levels and a pre-massage option makes it very flexible. It is small so to carry and store. The fact that can be used everywhere batteries is a plus (specially at work). I recommend it!

1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Maki

MakiMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's ok

published

I spent quite a bit of money on this double pump from Medela. It was a terrible experience. I bought it after borrowing the hospitals pumps, which were good and also Medela. But this one was terrible and frustrating. It had no pressure to pump out the milk and after returning it to Baby Bunting to get my money back the store didn't want to because apparently the pump is working perfectly. So I contacted Medela and they said to contact the store for a refund. But the store didn't want to do it. So I'm left with a useless pump.
Only thing good would be for someone taking it to work cause it's light, other then that, it was useless to me.

1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Wouldn’t recommend the double, the single would’ve been fine!

published

At the beginning, the pump was great. However I’ve never used the double feature. Now that my baby is 6 month + and I’ve returned to work, I feel as though it’s just not strong enough to get the hindmilk. I could be wrong however (new mum) as I feel as though my milk production isn’t great, so I use the pump to help stimulate & pump when I’m at work to keep my supply up. I would’nt recommend the double pump, stick with the single. In the time I’ve had this, i’ve never used the double feature. You’ll find the suction is weaker if using both. I’ve taped the other end and I’m using it as a single. This way I have a hand free to eat or entertain myself whilst pumping. Other then that, it’s been fine getting the milk out.

1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Loses suction immediately

published

This pump is so useless - and what’s worse - you have to pay to replace faulty parts! I purchased from baby bunting and for about a week when my supply was at its peak it worked fine. After 3 weeks the suction wasn’t working - I took it in and had to buy new valves / piping for $30! I had sone absolute nothing and always stored and cleaned the pump well. This has happened a second time 3 weeks later - right when I’m trying to increase supply again as about to need to store milk. So inconvenient and unfair. Absolutely useless pump - save your money and buy the spectra breast pump - it actually works!!

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Reneilwe K.

Reneilwe K.asked

Good morning, I am using the medela swing, it seems to be making a sound but no suction coming through, does it mean it's broken?Johannesburg

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Reneilwe

Without further information, it is difficult to determine what the problem may be. If you are in Johannesburg, I would recommend contacting the Medela on (0027) 11 788 9102 or going to the link below to find out how to contact them via email as you have contacted the Australian website.

https://www.medela.com/company/services/local-contact?distributor=/P-S/South-Africa&_ga=2.186532009.1408152436.1580964073-426296573.1574137402

Warmest wishes
Pauline

Emilly B.

Emilly B.asked

I bought the swing maxi, have used it once and it has completely lost suction. The parts don’t seem to be sitting flush together which is I think why the suction has gone. I’ve tried so many ways to reassemble but can’t make it work.

1 answer
Helen P
Helen P

I’m not sure how to help... I’m assuming you’ve checked the instructions? I still only single pump with the double it’s so frustrating

Milo

Miloasked

Has anyone else had trouble cleaning g milk from the tubes on this? We have the double pump. I have run (from tap and by siphoning) warm soapy water and then warm water through the tubes but after drying the milk still remains. Does anyone have any suggestions? Cheers.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Medela representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.