??!
15 photos
Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback

Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback

W169, W176, W168, W177
3.8 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.8

23 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Car Chick

Car ChickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great car

published

The car is overall not bad for the money! Quite zippy for your city driving in and out of town!! The led lights inside the car are pretty cool as they can be set to ur favourite colour!!

Purchased in March 2020 for $92,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Caroline S.

Caroline S.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love love love my car

published

I've owned other cars but the Mercedes A180 is the best I've ever owned .

It's stylish, sexy and economical .

I get alot of compliments , it's great for parking and has many safety features I love

Purchased in September 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Alexandra S.

Alexandra S.

  • 7 reviews

Great car yet Very Expensive in Fuel

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Private Seller for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car until the temperature hits over high 30s and then it goes into meltdown. It has left me h

published

I use and relay on the car for meetings and long to and from work drive. I need a car for both summer and winter. The car is used daily and not due its first service. Clearly not tested for our harsh summers. You don't expect this from a new car.

BadgeA200
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Jax

JaxTeneriffe

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car!!

published

After recently moving to the inner city, this little car is awesome, being both economical and looking great. It drives super well on the highway!! Service during and after sales also excellent. I am definitely a Mercedes convert. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a small car that's really roomy.

BadgeA200
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.5L Petrol
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Mi Sanders

Mi SandersGold Coast

  • 3 reviews

Super fun car!

published

Love this car! Absolutely great drive, it’s gutsy when I need it to be and super economical when I feel like it. Another great feature is its cute noise when the turbo is activated! I also love the vision package with the sunroof and the sporty look that it adds to the car. So fun to drive!

BadgeA250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Rob

RobForster

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Car is quite good but so many tyre problems

published
BadgeA200
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Rayzar

RayzarHobart, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Mercedes A180 - Great Car

published

Recently changed over from a Subaru Impreza to a new Mercedes A180 which was purchased through Mercedes Benz Sydney. They had the car we wanted, in the colour we wanted and their level of service was excellent. The car itself is everything we wished for so we are looking forward to many years of driving. The interior is classy, the exterior looks great and it handles as you would expect a Mercedes to.

BadgeA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

A180 City Edition is AWSOME

published

I bought A180 City Edition in black color. It's basically the A180 with AMG rings, LED head lights and Apple car play. Its interior is neat and eye catching. No cheap plastic is used. All leather or quality fabric.
The sound system is nice although it's no-name! Seats are sporty and very stylish but not perfectly comfortable. It has a small boot size so if you tend to move things such as suitcases around you have to be careful with this.
The engine has so much power, and it accelerates fast. It really turns heads.

BadgeA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Engine light on!!!

published

Bought A250 4matic 2017 brand new last year. Today it has engine light on! The car has only travelled less than 7800km. Not even 1st service done yet!
So upset with this big brand! I have checked everything that i could.
Towed to MB service centre.
Will update asap with outcome.

BadgeA250
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Christy

ChristySydney

  • 7 reviews

A180 good looking, premium small hatchback!

published

Recently, I have purchased my A180. I am loving it! This is a small hatchback with sporty look car that is good for everyday drive. The interior is neat and classy although, I have to say the head room is really small. The back seats have slightly bigger head room but still, comparing with its competitors like A3, its not that good.

BadgeA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedDec 2017
placktaylor

placktaylorGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love the sporty look!

published

Love my A180. I had a B180 for 6 years and thought its time for an upgrade. Looked at the B models but decided on the A because of the sportier look. I bought this car mainly for the park assist and reverse camera which I find very useful. The satellite navigation system is superb too, no more Melways in the car! .

BadgeA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Loving my A200

published

I purchased my new Mercedes Benz A200 from MB Toorak and let me start off with the outstanding service received from Peter and Rohan along with the rest of the team! real welcoming showroom! the car itself drives amazingly well, going from a Kia to a Mercedes was quiet the jump and i do not regret it one bit, the interior finishes are just amazing the infotainment system is easy to use, the seats are pretty comfy as well, the performance of the car is just wow words cant describe, im also amazed at the minimal amount of cabin noise. the petrol refils are expensive but i can look past that as the car just always amazes me! glad to be apart of the Mercedes Benz family and look forward to my next purchase at MB toorak being an AMG :)

BadgeA200 Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Spuderump

SpuderumpAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A250 is elite.

published

I opted for the A250 over the Golf GTI.

Despite costing more Money, I thought I would invest in a Mercedes as I have always loved the A Class.

So far I have not been let down. It feels very luxurious on the inside and has the quality build of a Mercedes.

It surely is a head turner too in stunning pearl black colour. The HUD and other controls took a bit of getting used too (indicator on the left) but once you get comfortable it becomes 2nd nature.

Well worth spending the extra $$$ to go a Merc.

BadgeA250
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Love it!

published

Love the way this sporty hatch handles. The interior is great but I'm not a fan of the navigation system.
It is a hatch and there isn't a huge amount of room in the boot but I intentionally downsized to a hatch so this isn't really an issue for me.
I would not recommend as a family car due to storage restrictions.

BadgeA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

Petersydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

A serious car

published

Nice car with Vision and Command package options, incl sunroof. Lovely to drive, handle and get noticed in. No maintenance issues. Sat nav makes for easy navigation. Great sound system and auto lighting. Mainly cruise around in eco mode, but Sporty has a nice sound to it for those country drives in the mountains.
I have upgraded from a Golf. The Golf was a fun car to drive. The Merc does not have the fun factor and uses a little more juice. I feel like i have to act mature when driving it and i'm only 60.

BadgeA200 Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
domie48

domie48Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Just not Mercedes Standard.

published

The position of the cruise control stalk is the biggest bug for me. WHY did they have to reposition it?
When you drive several different Mercedes and they switch the position between the indicator and cruise control you are often using the indicator to activate the cruise which must annoy the other traffic around you.
The people responsible should be sacked. Put it back where it worked fine for many years. If it ain't broke, don't fix.

BadgeA200
TransmissionManual
clubgus

clubgusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

its got the looks but whats outside doesn't translate to the inside

published
BadgeA180 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Ryan

RyanMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Cramped boot, fiddly nav

published
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDCT
BadgeA180
James

JamesMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Forget the navigation system in this car!

published

Peninsula Link opened in January 2013 in Victoria. Mercedes charge close to $3,000 for their super duper navigation system ... which does not even have Peninsula Link shown - the map shows the car off-road!!! No response from Mercedes despite a number of e-mails - they've got their money and after sales service is non-existent as far as the navigation system is concerned. And yes, I started at the top, still no response. Oh the arrogance!
Nice big screen, pity about the content!
Out of date navigation system for which we paid a fortune!

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Michael JS

Michael JSasked

A-Class Hatchback

I have a Mercedes A-200, 4 years old. Bought with an extended Mercedes warranty and Mercedes insurance
I had a terrible experience where the drivers window lever buttons started losing their dark gray surface exposing what looks like white plastic. The same issue happened with the electronic brake in the dash.
They told me it was considered a trim and not covered by warranty. Very disappointing . This is the second Merc I have owned, and in 40 years of driving I have never seen this

Has anyone had such an experience and did Mercedes end up fixing this

No answers
david philpott

david philpottasked

A-Class Hatchback

I have a 220 cdi auto, 2014, just recently the car seem to skip through the gears and won`t go into reverse. if you turn off the engine it seems to reset it self, any ideas?

1 answer
Alexandra S.
Alexandra S.

why don't you take it to mercedes for a service or at least a checkup? I believe they charge something like $200 for diagnosing the issue

Anthony

Anthonyasked

A-Class Hatchback

Anyone else had an issue with engine thermostat? My A Class 2014 has done just under 90,000 and now I have to pay $1900 to replace the thermostat due to the work involved to get to the unit and replace it.

2 answers
Jax
Jax

Hi Anthony, no issue to date. Ours is only a 2018 model with only 12,000km or so. I am picking that going forward though, all parts will be a little expensive.

Anthony
Anthony

Ok many thanks and all the best then.Y ep parts when needed can be costly, typical issues on slightly older 4-6 years 90K + can be things like the thermostat. Our previous MB became costly, Turbo's wear out after 100K. Other then general service costs, not usually many costs though.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 14 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $47,200$48,800$49,500$54,800
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km6.6 L/100km6.6 L/100km6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L51 L51 L51 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power120kW @ 5500rpm165kW @ 5500rpm165kW @ 5500rpm165kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 1620-4000rpm350Nm @ 1800rpm350Nm @ 1800rpm350Nm @ 1800rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Apr 2018Apr 2018Apr 2018
Compare all 14 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.