2 photos
MG ZS

MG ZS (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: MG ZS 2020 and MG ZS 2022. Essence, Excite
4.0 from 7 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for MG? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.0
7 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Braking
    4.0 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
SteveW
SteveWPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Impressed so far. Zippier than I expected and plenty of built in extras.

published

Use my car daily - both work and private. Not serviced yet as only got it 3 weeks ago. Going really well so far and will hopefully continue to do so.

Purchased in September 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reader
ReaderRockhampton
  • 20 reviews
  • 22 likes

DO not buy this car

published

Great for first 6 months and downhill all the way from there. Dealership say they can't find anything wrong. Gave them a list of the problems including an engine that dies. Kangaroo jumps in reverse, makes terrible sound when started, tried to stop and brake didn't work, had to use hand brake to stop. Dealership had my car for 6 days and haven't called me .I called them twice. Problem is intermittent and understand can be difficult to diagnose but shouldn't be happening anyway. Engine dying is a safety issue .Car is rubbish. Customer service is atrocious.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5

Best car I’ve ever owned

published

I use my car every day and I’ve driven it on two long trips, my MG handled both trips with ease and was extremely comfortable to drive over long distances. The ride was very smooth na the drivers comfort and the comfort of the passengers was second to none. Plus it also came with MG Roadside assistance which gave us peace of mind. Great car exceeds all my expectations

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Belinda S.
Belinda S.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews

This is my new car post car accident

published

I sell Lorraine Lea this car, it is easy to drive and its features are easy to operate. Its comfortable. I use this car everyday and feel great driving it.

Purchased in July 2021 at MG Werribee for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how MG ZS compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracy T.
Tracy T.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So Far im impressed !

published

Purchased in May 2021 for $25,990.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Spends more time on a tow truck than driving

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2018 for $23,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
brett w
brett w
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car Great Price

published

I bought an MG Essence in November of 2018 and haven't looked back. Beautifully designed, wonderful to drive and without a doubt a lot of automobile for a great price. At around 25K the Essence comes with alloy wheels, sunroof, blue tooth Apple Car play connectivity and reverse cameras among other features. Worth the test drive.

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Questions & Answers

Owjan
Owjanasked
ZS Essence

My question is why would you buy a bran new Chinese car when you can have a few years old Japanese or Korean car for the same money?

1 answer
Nick
Nick

Exactly what I think also

Marty
Martyasked
ZS Essence

Has anyone purchased the new Mg Hs suv excite model and what are your thoughts?

3 answers
Jarrod E.
Jarrod E.

Picking mine up next Monday. Will give you an update when I’ve got it. But from the test drive, I loved it.

Robyn22
Robyn22

Friend has one and says its a real disappointment - as they say "Buy Cheap . . . . Pay Twice". Buyer beware they are in fact made in China and are a bit like the first Hyundai's - they were cheap, but they were rubbish.

Robert G
Robert G

as an owner of 7 months and 14000k i can say im thrilled with my MG HS Essence. Best car ive ever owned by far. Moved from a Sonata HyundI Premium The MG much superior

Trish81
Trish81asked
ZS Essence

I enjoyed reading your review. I’ve just bought the MG ZS Excited and I’m waiting for it to be delivered. Do you have a boot liner and if so where did you get it from? Were there any other accessories that you bought apart from the Excite and I’m waiting for it to be delivered. Do you have a boot liner and if so where did you get it from? Were there any other accessories that you bought apart from the Matt and the Floor mats?

2 answers
brett w
brett w

Hey Trish81 I did get a tow ball. I did want a particular hitch, but because the brand and car was new at the time, the hitch I was after wasn’t available and that was the same with roof racks. It’s almost a year now that maybe different. Apart from that nothing on top of what you get with base model .... which was a lot considering the price. Happy driving.

Robert G
Robert G

Aliexpress has many very well prices accessories

Get an answer from our members

MG ZS (2017-2021)

Details

Compare both MG ZS (2017-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $21,990$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy 17" Alloy
Doors 44
Seats 55
Fuel Tank Capacity 1.5 L48 L
Engine84kW 1.5L NSE Major82kW 1.0T Netblue
Max Power84kW @ 6000rpm82kW @ 5200rpm
Max Torque150Nm @ 4500rpm160Nm @ 1800-4700rpm
Boot Capacity359 L359 L
Country of ManufactureChinaChina
Phone ConnectivityBluetooth
Safety Features
CamerasRear
Parking SensorsRear
Compare both MG ZS (2017-2021)
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.