5 photos
Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series

Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series

MSZ-AP25VG (2.5kW), MSZ-AP50VG (5.0kW), MSZ-AP71VG (7.1kW), etc...
4.0 from 16 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi Electric

Reviews

4.0
16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (15)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.9 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

A Very Good Unit

published

We have only had the unit for 4 weeks . Very satisfied. It is the same size as the previous unit but puts out a lot more heat. have not used it as cooling unit as yet.

Purchased in June 2021 at Total Tools QLD, Burleigh Waters for $1,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Electric

Perfect Unit

published

The unit copes very well and we are very satisfied at the moment with all the different settings this unit has and is very quite and I believe it was the right decision to buy the Mitsubishi electric air conditioning unit hope it will continue to work the same in many years to come

Purchased in June 2021 for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Electric

Ray J.
Ray J.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Great Product

published

This split system is very quiet, exceptionally efficient, both heating and cooling are excellent and I would recommend this brand to anyone. It is not an eyesore on the wall looks good and should suit everybody.

Purchased in May 2021 at Harvey Norman for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike M.
Mike M.Central Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very quiet and solid

published

Nothing worse than a noisy aircon at night. Very happy with my Mitsubishi unit in terms of performance and features. The heater is very warm and the AC is very cool.
The remote is easy to use.
Can highly recommend Mitsubishi!!!

Purchased in May 2021 at Harvey Norman for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Marv
MarvSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great appliance, Well priced, Hit expectations

published

This appliance is noiseless, effective, cost efficient and not an unattractive unit. Three months of use is not an extensive test period but I am very happy with this purchase. Due diligence and product research is a must for me. My only suggestion is to ensure you follow the appliance output/capacity (Kw)size to your living areas volumes carefully. That is; match the rooms areas to the units output. I'd recommend this product to anyone.

Purchased in February 2021 for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Peter
PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best Ac on the market

published

We have been installing split systems for around 15 years and these are by far the best split system on the market. They are a lot quieter then any other brand , not just the head unit but also the outdoor unit ( which is important when mounting them to the wall) Back up is the best we have seen as well. Mitsubishi Electric account for about 80% of all the air conditioners we install now, we are so much happier with a lot less call backs. I was so impressed I removed my 5 yr old existing ac unit to replace them we these and glad I did.
We have put together a webpage to have a look at photos and specs https://www.snapairconditioning.com.au/product-category/mitsubishi-electric/

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
blownout
blownoutGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

So slow to start working

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Beta electrical for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve
StevePerth, WA
  • 6 reviews

Extremely disappointing

published

I've had Mitsubishi Electric air cons before and they have been good. However, I purchased this unit just 3 months ago and have had the following problems already: NOT cool at all even on the lowest temp and on cool. Doesn't seem to work on auto at all. Stops all the time and does nothing. Totally unreliable as I cannot use at all.

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
headabovewater
headabovewaterSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 21 likes

Broken longer than it's worked

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
headabovewater
headabovewater
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter From Adelaide
Peter From AdelaideMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews

Very quiet and efficent

published

I replaced my aging split system air conditioner which just gave up the ghost after 14 years in my studio apartment investment property in Brisbane with a 5kw reverse cycle Mitsubishi split system Model MSZ-AP50VGD. My tenant is over the moon with this new air conditioner, they can not get over how quiet and efficient the new air-conditioner is.

Purchased in January 2021.

Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
liana_peter
liana_peter
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Silent but Completely Different to Mitsubishi Images! - Ugly

published

The machine works well and is very quiet, but looks nothing like the image in the Mitsubishi catalogue. In the catalogue it's made to look very sleek and trim, but when it arrived it was VERY bulky - looks like something from the 90's.

We are just in the process of renovating and wanted something to match our modern feel but were greatly disappointed with this very thick-looking and bulky unit.

Ours also doesn't close properly (just got it last week) and the bottom of the unit has a curve popping out.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric
Mark
MarkAuckland
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic and super quiet heat pump

published

Chose this model on Mitsubishi's bullet proof reliability. I also liked how compact the unit is as the space it was to be fitted was quite limited. I love the wifi feature, it give you many options of control so on those cold rainy evenings you can switch it on from work or when driving home. The heat from this unit is felt through the whole house, 150 square meters. In terms of db levels, you hardly notice it's running, extremely quiet. We look forward to summer and checking out it's cooling ability and will have another small Mitsubishi model installed in our bedroom to keep in cool in the evenings.

Purchased in August 2020 for $3,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kaz
KazGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Wow! So Happy!

published

Installed in winter so I can only speak for the heater setting. So impressed with this unit. I have a 3 bedroom house that is not open plan. It is in the lounge room and has 2 door ways to get through in order to heat the rest of the house. I was unsure if it would flow through ok but it heats the rest of the house with absolute ease. It’s quiet, has a simple remote control (though I wish it had a backlight) and is aesthetically pleasing to the eye. We decided to add on the wifi adapter. Relatively easy to set up and app is very user friendly. I find this handy when I’m almost home or not wanting to get out of bed and face the freezing cold house. It’s truly comfortable living at its finest.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 for $2,259.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David s
David sGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

So silent

published

Installed 7.1kw into our new shop
I can't believe how quite on heating all clients comment how quite it is
Fantastic product did my research and picked Mitsubishi over other big brands as I know people who have them and are so impressed

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Christopher J.
Christopher J.Hunter Region, NSW

Excellent Unit

published

I felt compelled to write a review as there is little real world comments about these units - I have installed 3 for bedrooms of varying size, units are very quiet (incredibly so when heating), good looking and appear to heat / cool with very little effort.

The Wifi adapter, while expensive, is fantastic. I do not use the remotes, just Google home and the Mitsubishi AP app only. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The perfect units for bedroom use, and the smart integrations make these units a pleasure to operate.

Purchased in March 2020 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

RCDES18
RCDES18asked
MSZ-AP Series

Hi there,
I've tried finding Warranty conditions for these units on Mitsubishi website without any luck-
Could someone please enlighten me on the warranty period for this Series of Mitsubishi Electric AC.
Thankyou.

3 answers

5 years from new.

RCDES18
RCDES18

Thank you.
Regards

Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric

Hi,

The warranty conditions for this model is listed on our website:

https://www.mitsubishielectric.com.au/warranty.html

The warranty card is available for download on the bottom of the page.

Kind Regards,
Mitsubishi Electric Australia Support.

Fuan C.
Fuan C.asked
MSZ-AP80VG (7.8kW)

Is it expensive to replace a heating element in a Cooling split system in the air condition?

2 answers
Rob
Rob

I don't think there is a heating element as such - the refrigeration process is just reversed so the hot air goes inside instead of outside.

Max D.
Max D.

It dosn’t use a heating element it’s a heat pump meaning it stars cooling out side which will put warm air outside

Lauren A.
Lauren A.asked
MSZ-AP Series

How much money does this cost to run an hour?

2 answers
David
David

Hi Lauren, I'm not surprised no-one answered your question, heh. It's hard to say.
1. The model - this series ranges from 2.5 kW (cooling rating) to 7.8 kW, so it depends on the model.
2. Heating or cooling - heating uses more power than cooling
3. Temperature setting - some people are comfortable at 20C (heating) and others need it warmer, the same for cooling.
But putting aside all these variables, reverse cycle air conditioners are the cheapest way to heat/cool a home.
The way they operate is very energy efficient, e.g. if the the AC is rated at 2.5 kW (2500 Watts) per hour for cooling, this means the AC will provide 2.5 kW of cooling but it will use much less actual power than that. There is a COP rating (heating), and an AEER rating (cooling) which is usually 3-4. So if you divide 2500 Watts by a 3 COP then the actual power used would be 833 Watts.
Compare that to a typical electric fan heater that uses about 1000 Watts on the low setting, up to 2400 Watts on the high setting, and you can see the difference.
I use my Mitsubishi MSZ-AP50VG in the main living area and it has a 5 kW cooling capacity (1.4 - 6.2 kW), and a 6 kW (1.4 - 8.0 kW) heating capacity.
The AEER rating is 3.78, and the COP rating is 3.7. So at the minimum of 1.4 kW the actual power used would be 370 Watts (cooling), and 378 Watts (heating) per hour.
Based on my electricity rate of 21.67 cents per kW/h, that would be 8-8.2 cents per hour. An electric fan heater on low (1000 Watts) would be 21.67 cents per hour.

Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric

Hi Lauren,

To calculate the running cost for an air conditioner and other products try the Energy Rating Calculator:

https://www.energyrating.gov.au/calculator

See all Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Electric representatives

Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series

Details

Compare all 7 Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $999.00$1,060.00$1,280.00$1,599.00
Features Inverter, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power2.5 kW3.5 kW4.2 kW5 kW
Heating Power3.2 kW3.7 kW5.4 kW6 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 5.5 stars3.5 stars2.5 stars3 stars
Heating Energy Rating 5 stars4.5 stars3 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling1.1 to 3.61.1 to 4.11.4 to 6.2
Operating Temperature for Heating1.3 to 51.3 to 5.10.9 to 4.81.4 to 8
Indoor Unit Dimensions 299 X 798 X 219 mm299 x 219 x 798 mm299 x 798 x 219 mm299 x 798 x 219 mm
Indoor Weight10.5 kg10.5 kg10.5 kg10.5 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level44 dB450 dB46 dB48 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 550 X 800 X 285 mm550 x 450 x 285 mm550 x 800 x 285 mm714 x 800 x 285 mm
Outdoor Weight34 kg34 kg34 kg40 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level49 dB50 dB51 dB56 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level59 dB64 dB65 dB69 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Compare all 7 Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-AP Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.