9 photos
Mitsubishi Magna

Mitsubishi Magna

TJ, TL, TW, etc...
4.6 from 112 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi

Reviews

4.6
112 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (8)
  • Braking
    4.1 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (9)
  • Handling
    4.0 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
  • Features
    3.4 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Bob P.
Bob P.Hunter Region, NSW

Great value, under-rated car

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2000 at Heritage Holden .

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hans Porter
Hans PorterVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car ever

published

Purchased in May 2002 for $15,000.00.

Noise Level
2/5
Incentivised Review No

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lcook
LcookSouth Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best cheap used car to buy

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Private sale for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Alex
AlexSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Awesome

published

Great aussie built car, had mine 10 years and going strong still. Cant beat good old aussie manufacturing. Those that bag out the car, have no idea what they are talking about.

Purchased in January 2010 for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
karen b.
karen b.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great car

published

I have a 2004 lancer vrx it has 89,000 on the clock it's now done over 205,000 and still goes fine probably one of the best car I've had ,would definitely but another one if I was able too

Purchased in January 2012 for $90,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Tricky
Tricky
  • 2 reviews

Great buy

published

Probably the most astute purchase I ever made. Bought a '05 VRX AWD in '07 for $15,500 (almost a third of the new price!) with 59,000 km on the odo, looking & going like new, smooth powerful engine, handles any road, plenty of legroom, big boot. Only tyres & brake-pads & annual service. Now done 267,000 & finally blew the heater core. Fixed that & intend keeping it going for a while yet.

Purchased in June 2007 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
SunriseBoy
SunriseBoySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Couldn't kill it with a stick!

published

Purchased in July 2007 for $400.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Duncan A
Duncan AMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ahead of its time

published

Bought this car in 2004. Apart from standard servicing, all i've replaced is a headlight globe. That is it. With 300k on the clock she still runs like a dream. Smooth, good power, comfortable. It is still a daily drive. No oil leaks and uses a tiny amount of oil between servicing. In fact I'm so impressed I've bought a mint VRX TL for garaging.

Purchased in July 2004 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rob
RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Compatibility magna radiator

published

Just a question . Does 1997 magna v6 auto radiator fit tj 2002 radiator are they compatible n because im trying to find a compatible radiator to suite my 1997 magna

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised Review No
BoughtUsed
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Beautiful car

published

Have had this car, the LS version, V6 since 2010, bought second hand with 80K on the clock. Has been an absolute great car. Goes like a rocket. The Gallant V6 motor is super. Now has 240K on clock and still going great. Some oil leaks to fix now but that is normal.

BadgeLS
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Peter
PeterRaby, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most underated car ever

published
BadgeAltera
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
deb
debMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

RELIABLE CAR

published

I drive the Magna daily. It came with a factory fitted Impco LPG system. I have owned the car since new and have done 160,000 kms with no issues. It has been serviced regularly every 10,000 kms. Having dual fuel is brilliant especially now with the cost of petrol. You can run this car for the price of a small 4 cylinder hatch. It is such a reliable car I have no reason to part with it.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2004
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Russ H
Russ HPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most reliable car owned.

published

Partners first car (10 years ago) serviced every 12 months lately as not used much, was every 6. The only single item we've had to replace in ten years outside of scheduled maintenance as per the manual was the heater core for as it had corroded.

Whoever says Magnas are not reliable has never owner one.
255,000km and counting.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2010
smok
smokCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 104 reviews
  • 92 likes

Great Car. Even though it's near 20 years old.

published
BadgeSports
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Dylan91
Dylan91North-West & West coast, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most underrated Australian car

published

If kept up with maintenance you cant get a better family car, big boot for the double pram. If serviced regularly they drive really nice and are very reliable, I'm definitely planning to keep mine for a long time, just fix what us needed and keep up to services and you'll have a good car for a long time.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Questions & Answers

Shawn U.
Shawn U.asked
Magna

Hi I have a 2003 model tj magna it ran this morning perfectly fine then when I went to drive it a short time after I turned my ignition on had solid red dash lights can hear the fuel pump working the engine isn't even turning over and it just clicks I had someone try jump start it and no go does anyone know what may be wrong with it please and thank you in advance

1 answer
Alex
Alex

Under the dash on the drivers side, you have the main ECU module. you need to take off some plastic trim to get to it. Disconnect the ecu and leave for a while then reconnect. This should reset the electrics. Check if the connections are rusty and if they are, spray lightly with some contact oil.

Shawn U.
Shawn U.asked
Magna TJ (2000-2003)

Hi I have a 2003 tj magna 3.5 automatic all wheel drive I only just drove the car about 30 mins ago I have since gone down to start it and I have all the red dash lights come on and I can hear the fuel pump working but the car just makes it clicking sound and won't even wind over does anyone know what my problem could be at all any suggestions or help would be so much appreciated thanks guys

1 answer
Lcook
Lcook

That sounds like your battery. One of the cells has failed. Whip down to your local garage or battery world and get a new one

Dave
Daveasked
Magna TJ (2000-2003)

MAGNA WILL NOT GO INTO D and D light does not come on. It will go into R and Rlight comes on.

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Magna questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Mitsubishi Magna

Details

Compare all 7 Mitsubishi Magna
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $38,490$37,990$39,990$30,440
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars3 Stars
Fuel Consumption12.3 L/100km11.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power163kW @ 5200rpm163kW @ 5200rpm163kW @ 5250rpm147kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque317Nm @ 4500rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm300Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004Jan 2003Jan 2000Jan 1999
Discontinuation dateDec 2005Dec 2004Dec 2003Dec 2000
Compare all 7 Mitsubishi Magna

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.