??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Magna

Mitsubishi Magna

TJ, TL, TW, etc...
4.6 from 109 reviews

Reviews

4.6

109 reviews
5
(72)
4
(34)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (6)
  • Handling
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.0 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (6)
  • Features
    3.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Alex

AlexSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Awesome

published

Great aussie built car, had mine 10 years and going strong still. Cant beat good old aussie manufacturing. Those that bag out the car, have no idea what they are talking about.

Purchased in January 2010 for A$7,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
karen b.

karen b.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great car

published

I have a 2004 lancer vrx it has 89,000 on the clock it's now done over 205,000 and still goes fine probably one of the best car I've had ,would definitely but another one if I was able too

Purchased in January 2012 for A$90,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tricky

Tricky

  • 2 reviews

Great buy

published

Probably the most astute purchase I ever made. Bought a '05 VRX AWD in '07 for $15,500 (almost a third of the new price!) with 59,000 km on the odo, looking & going like new, smooth powerful engine, handles any road, plenty of legroom, big boot. Only tyres & brake-pads & annual service. Now done 267,000 & finally blew the heater core. Fixed that & intend keeping it going for a while yet.

Purchased in June 2007 for A$15,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SunriseBoy

SunriseBoySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews

Couldn't kill it with a stick!

published

Purchased in July 2007 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1990
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Duncan A

Duncan AMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Ahead of its time

published

Bought this car in 2004. Apart from standard servicing, all i've replaced is a headlight globe. That is it. With 300k on the clock she still runs like a dream. Smooth, good power, comfortable. It is still a daily drive. No oil leaks and uses a tiny amount of oil between servicing. In fact I'm so impressed I've bought a mint VRX TL for garaging.

Purchased in July 2004 for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Compatibility magna radiator

published

Just a question . Does 1997 magna v6 auto radiator fit tj 2002 radiator are they compatible n because im trying to find a compatible radiator to suite my 1997 magna

Purchased in September 2018.

BoughtUsed
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Beautiful car

published

Have had this car, the LS version, V6 since 2010, bought second hand with 80K on the clock. Has been an absolute great car. Goes like a rocket. The Gallant V6 motor is super. Now has 240K on clock and still going great. Some oil leaks to fix now but that is normal.

BadgeLS
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Peter

PeterRaby, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most underated car ever

published
BadgeAltera
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
deb

debMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

RELIABLE CAR

published

I drive the Magna daily. It came with a factory fitted Impco LPG system. I have owned the car since new and have done 160,000 kms with no issues. It has been serviced regularly every 10,000 kms. Having dual fuel is brilliant especially now with the cost of petrol. You can run this car for the price of a small 4 cylinder hatch. It is such a reliable car I have no reason to part with it.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2004
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Russ H

Russ HPerth

Most reliable car owned.

published

Partners first car (10 years ago) serviced every 12 months lately as not used much, was every 6. The only single item we've had to replace in ten years outside of scheduled maintenance as per the manual was the heater core for as it had corroded.

Whoever says Magnas are not reliable has never owner one.
255,000km and counting.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2010
smok

smokCentral West, NSW

  • 89 reviews

Great Car. Even though it's near 20 years old.

published
BadgeSports
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Dylan91

Dylan91North-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most underrated Australian car

published

If kept up with maintenance you cant get a better family car, big boot for the double pram. If serviced regularly they drive really nice and are very reliable, I'm definitely planning to keep mine for a long time, just fix what us needed and keep up to services and you'll have a good car for a long time.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Excellent car

published

Got mine second hand. It had just over 100,000 k's . It now has 351,000 & still going strong. Plenty of power, plenty of room for a family, great for trips. A little thirsty for around town driving. Good handling. Found it to have a bit of oversteer but not a huge problem. Just passed it on to my son to add another 100,000 or so

BadgeLS AWD
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Steve in Beeliar

Steve in BeeliarPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Never misses a beat

published

I had a TF Magna and loved it but wanted the sexy looking TL model which I have now owned for ten years and has 268,000 km on it. Mainly driven around the city but has been to Kalbarri and done 100mph no problems. Also it is after market duel fuel LPG and I occasionally run it on ULP91 to lubricate the ignition. The roof lining collapsed but cost $200 to have relined. Paint fading on roof as most older cars do. Electric window controls broke but bought another from a wrecker. Parts are so cheap.. although an interior door handle is tough to find! Servicing is easy and uses no water or oil! I am now looking for another one with low kilometres!!!

BadgeLS
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
Josh S.

Josh S.Adelaide

  • 8 reviews

Smooth ride and exceptional reliability

published
BadgeAltera LS
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi Magna compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kent.S

Kent.SNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable work horse

published

Mine does 1000km per week and has now done 435,000km, in my travels on country roads to and from work. Averaging 8.1L per 100km it is remarkably fuel efficient for a car of its age. It is very comfortable to drive and due to regular servicing I have never had a mechanical issue. Still running very well, and I would recommend to anyone seeking a reliable work horse.

BadgeAdvance
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2003
ashish

ashishtownsville

  • 7 reviews

Outstanding car

published

It is one of the best car of the segment. runs smooth, and has a superb grip on the road. It is a 6 cylinder car, so is a bit heavy on fuel, but the power u get is amazing. It is a great car for family. great design and super comfortable seats with ample space inside.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
RvB

RvBMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never fashionable or cool, but one of the best Aussie built cars ever

published
BadgeExecutive
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2004
saagoo_1111

saagoo_1111Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The undervalued car, Magna.

published

Magna is undervalued for some reason can't figure out why but probably people didn't like v6 with front wheel drive ?
Like typical Mitsubishi you can Service Magna at long intervals and it won't matter.

V6 with fuel economy close 4cylinder sedan but smoothness and comfort exceeds small sedans of course.

It's nice and silent when it's running and stays smooth and stable at speeds exceeding 100kmph too.

Mine is manual vrx and returns fuel economy of 7.8L/100km in highway driving and about 8.3L/100km in city driving.

I love it totally.

BadgeVR-X
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
simonl

simonl

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

TJ VRX MAGNA I LOVE THIS CAR

published
BadgeVR-X
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Warren O.

Warren O.asked

Magna TL (2003-2004)

On the 2004 automatic gear display there is P-R-N-D and I have been driving in 'D' and thats fine. But I feel that its a shame the car doesn't have 'Overdrive' or ANOTHER GEAR, especially for highway driving (Mainly for economy) I noticed tonight that pushing the gear lever to the left and 'up' the indicator display shows '4'. .... Is this the same 'D'? I could not see any change in the revs. I searched the operator manual but can find nothing.

No answers
Allen L.

Allen L.asked

Magna TF (1997-1998)

Replace fuel pump but now no power to pump

1 answer
Alex
Alex

Either the pump never worked to start off with (it does happen) or a short has blown a fuse.

Van N.

Van N.asked

Magna TJ (2000-2003)

Car alarm keeps going off when locked up
How to stop / fix

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.