??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Magna

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
69
4 star
34
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1

SunriseBoy

SunriseBoySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Couldn't kill it with a stick!

published

Purchased in July 2007 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1990
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Duncan A

Duncan AMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ahead of its time

published

Bought this car in 2004. Apart from standard servicing, all i've replaced is a headlight globe. That is it. With 300k on the clock she still runs like a dream. Smooth, good power, comfortable. It is still a daily drive. No oil leaks and uses a tiny amount of oil between servicing. In fact I'm so impressed I've bought a mint VRX TL for garaging.

Purchased in July 2004 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Compatibility magna radiator

published

Just a question . Does 1997 magna v6 auto radiator fit tj 2002 radiator are they compatible n because im trying to find a compatible radiator to suite my 1997 magna

Purchased in September 2018.

BoughtUsed
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Beautiful car

published

Have had this car, the LS version, V6 since 2010, bought second hand with 80K on the clock. Has been an absolute great car. Goes like a rocket. The Gallant V6 motor is super. Now has 240K on clock and still going great. Some oil leaks to fix now but that is normal.

BadgeLS
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Peter

PeterRaby, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most underated car ever

published
BadgeAltera
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

deb

debMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

RELIABLE CAR

published

I drive the Magna daily. It came with a factory fitted Impco LPG system. I have owned the car since new and have done 160,000 kms with no issues. It has been serviced regularly every 10,000 kms. Having dual fuel is brilliant especially now with the cost of petrol. You can run this car for the price of a small 4 cylinder hatch. It is such a reliable car I have no reason to part with it.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2004

Russ H

Russ HPerth

Most reliable car owned.

published

Partners first car (10 years ago) serviced every 12 months lately as not used much, was every 6. The only single item we've had to replace in ten years outside of scheduled maintenance as per the manual was the heater core for as it had corroded.

Whoever says Magnas are not reliable has never owner one.
255,000km and counting.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2010

smok

smokLaunceston, TAS

  • 76 reviews
  • 78 likes

Great Car. Even though it's near 20 years old.

published
BadgeSports
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Dylan91

Dylan91North-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most underrated Australian car

published

If kept up with maintenance you cant get a better family car, big boot for the double pram. If serviced regularly they drive really nice and are very reliable, I'm definitely planning to keep mine for a long time, just fix what us needed and keep up to services and you'll have a good car for a long time.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Excellent car

published

Got mine second hand. It had just over 100,000 k's . It now has 351,000 & still going strong. Plenty of power, plenty of room for a family, great for trips. A little thirsty for around town driving. Good handling. Found it to have a bit of oversteer but not a huge problem. Just passed it on to my son to add another 100,000 or so

BadgeLS AWD
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Steve in Beeliar

Steve in BeeliarPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Never misses a beat

published

I had a TF Magna and loved it but wanted the sexy looking TL model which I have now owned for ten years and has 268,000 km on it. Mainly driven around the city but has been to Kalbarri and done 100mph no problems. Also it is after market duel fuel LPG and I occasionally run it on ULP91 to lubricate the ignition. The roof lining collapsed but cost $200 to have relined. Paint fading on roof as most older cars do. Electric window controls broke but bought another from a wrecker. Parts are so cheap.. although an interior door handle is tough to find! Servicing is easy and uses no water or oil! I am now looking for another one with low kilometres!!!

BadgeLS
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008

Josh S.

Josh S.Adelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Smooth ride and exceptional reliability

published
BadgeAltera LS
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Kent.S

Kent.S

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable work horse

published

Mine does 1000km per week and has now done 435,000km, in my travels on country roads to and from work. Averaging 8.1L per 100km it is remarkably fuel efficient for a car of its age. It is very comfortable to drive and due to regular servicing I have never had a mechanical issue. Still running very well, and I would recommend to anyone seeking a reliable work horse.

BadgeAdvance
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2003

ashish

ashishtownsville

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding car

published

It is one of the best car of the segment. runs smooth, and has a superb grip on the road. It is a 6 cylinder car, so is a bit heavy on fuel, but the power u get is amazing. It is a great car for family. great design and super comfortable seats with ample space inside.

BadgeES
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
RvB

RvBMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never fashionable or cool, but one of the best Aussie built cars ever

published
BadgeExecutive
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2004
saagoo_1111

saagoo_1111Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The undervalued car, Magna.

published

Magna is undervalued for some reason can't figure out why but probably people didn't like v6 with front wheel drive ?
Like typical Mitsubishi you can Service Magna at long intervals and it won't matter.

V6 with fuel economy close 4cylinder sedan but smoothness and comfort exceeds small sedans of course.

It's nice and silent when it's running and stays smooth and stable at speeds exceeding 100kmph too.

Mine is manual vrx and returns fuel economy of 7.8L/100km in highway driving and about 8.3L/100km in city driving.

I love it totally.

BadgeVR-X
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015

simonl

simonl

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

TJ VRX MAGNA I LOVE THIS CAR

published
BadgeVR-X
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011

TJ all the way!

published

I reckon the TJ is the best looking, the last 2 models frontal treatment, was a matter of what were they thinking?!
When they came out in 2000, I was seriously considering buying the VR/X model, I was driving a TP at the time,
(am still driving a TP -not the same one though) anyway, recently I bought a 2000 TJ Executive, in awesome condition, for $300. The performance is better than my 300SE Mercedes (which cost considerably more)

BadgeExecutive
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

400,000ks+ magna

published

The car is perfect has over 425000 ks on the odo and it still runs like brandnew never had the gearbox or engine fixed or replaced has never been serviced and runs like a dream, still my favourite car and as a manual! Gears go through beautifully and will never regret my decision with the roomy interior

BadgeSports
BodySedan
TransmissionManual

defdog

defdogAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 17 likes

Probably Australia's most underrated car. Reliable. Comfortable. Powerful. Efficient

published

A lot of people like to bag magna's. They gained a negative reputation after the second series had gearbox problems. The third series is pretty much bullet proof and well above the Holden and Ford. The 3.5 litre engine is smooth and efficient. If you are looking for a cheap reliable used car, look for a Magna built after 1997 with one or two owners and a full service history, and it will be hard to go wrong. My 99 Model has 215 000km now, and while it's getting pretty banged up on the outside, doesn't use a drop of oil or water between services and still drives very well.

BadgeAltera
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

thaina

thainaasked

Magna TH

How do i set the clock.

1 answer
Duncan A
Duncan A

To advance the hours on the radio LCD , press the left of the 'tune' button.while keeping 'Time' button depressed.
To advance minutes press right of 'tune' button, while keeping 'time' button depressed.
For dashboard LCD, press mode button until 'clock' is displayed. Then use down arrow to change hours and up arrow to change minutes. Do this with ignition in 'ACC' mode.


Brian W.

Brian W.asked

Magna TH

Can I adjust when the thermo fans kick in.

2 answers
SunriseBoy
SunriseBoy

Bud, what kind of a question is that?!
Here's one for you...how long is a piece of string?!

Brian W.
Brian W.

Depends if you buy it in a meter roll or a 50m roll.


Allan P.

Allan P.asked

Where is the starting motor for a 2001 mitsabishy magna

1 answer
SunriseBoy
SunriseBoy

Look it up on YT., or buy a Gregory's workshop manual.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Magna TS
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TS (1994-1996)

1 review
Mitsubishi Magna TE
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TE (1996-1997)

7 reviews
Mitsubishi Magna TF
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TF (1997-1998)

12 reviews
Mitsubishi Magna TH
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TH (1999-2000)

10 reviews
Mitsubishi Magna TJ
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TJ (2000-2003)

36 reviews
Mitsubishi Magna TL
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TL (2003-2004)

17 reviews
Mitsubishi Magna TW
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Magna TW (2004-2005)

14 reviews
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $30,095$35,060$33,190$30,440$39,990$37,990$38,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Alloy15" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars3 Stars
Doors5444444
Seats5555555
Fuel Consumption11.5 L/100km6.6 L/100km10.5 L/100km11.6 L/100km12.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.6L4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power97kW @ 4750rpm105kW @ 5500rpm140kW @ 5500rpm147kW @ 5000rpm163kW @ 5250rpm163kW @ 5200rpm163kW @ 5200rpm
Max Torque212Nm @ 3750rpm205Nm @ 3000rpm255Nm @ 4500rpm300Nm @ 4000rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 1994Jan 1996Jan 1997Jan 1999Jan 2000Jan 2003Jan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 1996Dec 1997Dec 1998Dec 2000Dec 2003Dec 2004Dec 2005

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.