??!
Mitsubishi Pajero NT

Mitsubishi Pajero NT (2008-2011)

4.4 from 43 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.


A Great all Round Vehicle. I have now had three

I have had
three Pajero's and not one has failed. A few flat tyres, broken windscreen and a blown shock absorber on the NT RX Diesel
The cars have been used for work and since retiring for touring both on and off road with much of the off road in Northern Australia
The cars have followed the service schedules but with the diesel I tend to change the engine oil and filters more frequently, especially after a long hard run. Apart from the odd occasion I have used the same mechanic for 20 years and as he also owns a Pajero I have had no worries with him. If the brake pads need changing he rings me, if the injectors are up for service he rings me> All up I am considering a new Pajero but await 2020 to see what is on offer

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great 4WD

I have owned an NT GL 2011 Pajero Diesel Auto for 6 years it is used for commuting ,holidays/trips & all types of 4WDing & is regularly serviced
& the only problems so far have been a leaking sump fixed under Warranty & the rear door strut siezed … It is great on Fuel & has plenty of power … Easily one of the best 4WDs I have owned !!

Purchased in February 2013 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Corrugations

Vehicle is generally used for the city, but not for the daily commute. It is an excellent vehicle but I would strongly advise anyone contemplating significant corrugation driving to buy something else. The ride is extremely rough and the dash shakes violently on corrugations. It appears not all vehicles suffer from this, but there is no apparent solution. I have spoken with owners on touring trips, and aftermarket suspension doesn't solve these problems. I think the Savannah Way experience speaks volumes - you will see very few Gen IV Pajeros on the likes of the Gibb River Road, as owners have learnt to shy away from such badly corrugated roads. Only newbies such as myself try it, and we learn quickly that such places aren't its natural habitat. An excellent vehicle in other respects, but don't buy it for touring corrugated roads..

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Pajero VRX 4M41T turbo diesel auto wagon

I purchased the NT VRX Pajero brand new in mid-2010. I bought the turbo diesel automatic as my NSW Police Forensic wagon was one and I loved driving it. So upon retiring I bought the silver Pajero VRX.

I bought it with the following options: A 3 tonne rated Hayman Reece towing pack which included an upgraded transmission cooler, a genuine Mitsubishi part nudge bar (airbag compatible), factory fitted car mats front and back (they clip on so they don't slip), and a set of Hella Driving lights (I would like an LED bar when I can afford one).

As part of the deal and I negotiate hard we also got darker window tint (slightly tinted on the two front doors) and a lot darker tint on the rear doors and tailgate which kept the car legal in NSW.

When I say I get the best deal possible and the fact I had no trade in I sent an email to just about every Mitsubishi Dealership in NSW stating that the above is what I wanted and what was their best price drive away registered with all of the above extras. Lancaster Mitsubishi answered the call with a great price about $2000 cheaper than the next competitor it was in the low $60,000.

Then the bombshell that price was for a late 2009 plate and I wanted a 2010 compliance plate as I don't care what you are told if you buy with last years compliance plate it is last years model and that is how you are treated all the way through and your trade-in price, later on, is dealt with as a 2009 model. So they told me that the 2010 plates would be three months away so I put a substantial deposit on it and sealed the price and options.

I bought the VRX Model as it had part leather seats, a DVD player in the rear for the kids, two pairs of headphones and a remote control so they were happy. The 6 stack stereo was an upgrade it also got stronger headlights and a pair of fog lamps, roof racks ( only really good to look at), and a set of 5 mag wheels. The vehicle is a 7 seater and the back two seats very cleverly hide when you would expect to find a spare wheel well. The 7 seats have been very handy as I have two teenage daughters who always seem to want them and their friends taken somewhere every weekend. The spare wheel is hung on the back sideways opening door side steps come standard on the VRX. I also fitted Bush Skinz underbody protection plates. They cover the engine sump and the gearbox and transfer case just a bit of added insurance they were $400 for the set of two plates.

The next few paragraphs are very important read and follow my recommendations when the time comes plse.

whilst your car is under capped price servicing go back to your Dealership for services which is every 10,000kms. The motor runs on an expensive but good Fully Synthetic oil which I swear by. A tip: I am a diesel and petrol mechanic by trade but are semi-retired now so I can offer good advice on the mechanical side of things. Note: When you get up to a service that says check and adjust the valve clearances, which I think is about 30-40,000km service make sure you get confirmation that they are going to manually adjust the valve clearances put new seals on the ends of the injector and the must also clean out the exhaust gas return (EGR) valve and the intake manifold.

The Dealerships Service Manager and Mechanics get their back up about this job. The reason they get a bit upset about doing the above job in the capped price servicing period as it is not a nice job to do it takes several hours and a lot of covers and pipes have to be removed and as the Pajero is common rail diesel the injection pipes are very delicate and if they bend one it is a throw away job. The Service Manager will tell you that they can do a aural assessment and that is all it needs which is a lot of crap. As if the valves are too tight they will not be making any orderable clicking noise. They will be very quiet in fact the problem here is if one or more of the valves and there are 16 valves are too tight there will be no clicking sound at all from them but they will quite quickly burn out your valves and valve seats in the cylinder head which I would estimate will cost someone more than likely you the customer somewhere and I am only guessed it could be more $2600 to $3100 to fix.

Whilst your car is off the road for a few days probably a week and you keep arguing too and fro with Mitsubishi Motors customer service people and your local Mitsubishi Service Manager. I have been told and this is only third hand that the Mitsubishi Dealership may offer to pay half of the cost which at the time sounds good, dont accept this they caused the problem and it is up to them to fix it.

A better way is to make sure that when the capped service comes up for "check valve clearances" you have the discussion with the Service Manager that you want the engine stripped down, the injection pipes and the top cover is taken off and the valve clearances checked manually and the EGR and intake and exhaust manifolds cleaned out. If this job is done once properly the engine will perform quietly but the way it should.
This is a major good tip. I have towed a dual axle 2600kg caravan to Townsville and back with no issues, the Pajeros love towing and love the sand. Buyer beware: The first set of tyres only lasted me 26,000km they were a mainly road tyre say 80% road and 20% offroad use. I put new Cooper Tyres on with a 80% road 20% sand they have done 50,000km and still look as if they are only a bit worn out. I love Cooper Tyres I wouldnt buy anything else they are great on and off road though my offroad is taking the kids for a ride on the sand. Tyre pressures down to 16 PSI at Stockton Beach. Pajero diesel autos are fantastic on the sand.

About 80,000km ago I had the old shocks and springs taken off and replaced with long travel Bilstein Shocks and Lovells 30-40mm lift also had Polyair shocks installed at the same time, wheel alignment for all for wheels.

Great ride and a bit more height for the beach and when towing. It cost about $2300 well spent just make sure you replace the bottom rear shock bolts with a high tensile bolt and nylon locknuts that just fit snuggly into the hole of the new lower shock, if you use the original bolts they have about a 1/4 inch freeplay that drives you nuts it sounds like the back is going to drop out of the car. See Climate Suspension at Thornton NSW He is the best suspension man on the East Coast of Australia Dino is his name, let him know I sent you in and he will look after you.

If you get out and about with your turbo diesel Pajero the best place in Australia to get a Diesel Tune Up is Berima Diesel Service, a friend said he got about 20% more power but the power was there straight away no turbo lag. They also fit oil catch cans that can stop the bit of blow by oil smoke that most diesels have keeping your manifolds and EGR valve clean.

Not much more I can add other than we are very happy with out Pajero I buy kits of Donaldson servicing kits from off Ebay they have fuel, oil and air filters delivered for $90 they are a bargain then another $90 for 10 litres of the best Turbo Diesel fully synthetic oil you can buy Nulon or Penrite I think 5W-30W best check though. I do the oil change and filters myself now about every 10,000km some say go to 15,000km I dont think there is anything wrong with stretching it to 15,000km I am just a bit particular.

Nearly forgot everyone asks this question how much diesel does it use well 10 litres per 100km around town on average, on motorways set on the cruise control about 9 litres per 100km and if I have control driving carefully at
no more than 100kph I can get it down to consistant 8 litres per 100kmph. When towing anything between 14 and18 litres per 100km. If I got to 110kph it goes up to about 17.5 litres per 100km. Dont tow with the overdrive on or you will overheat your transmission 95kph is a good speed in say one gear back from the final drive.

If you buy a Pajero you will be buying a good vehicle that will go the distance and give you a good run for your money. Only buy the turbo diesel auto with the 4m41 motor.
Best wishes Michael

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Excellent outback tourer

We live in the Pilbara and the Pajero is ideal. 2011 model, and no major issues apart from a starter motor and the odd recall. Easy to service and work on. Have been to some pretty remote places and back with no dramas. Looking forward to buying a newer model.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Value for money, very good towing vehicle.

Very happy with this vehicle. Bought ti for towing and to fit teenage family.
Towing heavy loads is excellent, plenty of power.
There are only 3 gripes I have.
1) Metalised plastic surfaces on interior reflect sun, would have been way better to have fake wood.
2) Back door - is heavy and you have to be wary of it, if wind catches it, you could get hurt. Door hits tow hitch when heavy trailer is connected so you have to squeeze in the 10" gap.
An upward hinging door would be better.
3) Turbo lag is noticeable.

It has been very reliable. I have only had to put tyres on it and a rear brake light bulb. All other expenses have been normal running and servicing.
Fuel economy not towing is about 28mpg on open road, towing 2.25Tonne is about 18mpg.
I also looked at a Prado and would have had to pay an extra $15,000 for the equivalent vehicle to get a Toyota badge - nope!
Given the horror stories I have heard about Toyota injectors I am very glad I bought the Paggy.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Great capable 4x4 well built for Australian conditions

Great capable 4x4 well built for Australian conditions. We don't really take it off road but on a few occasions it took us through rough tracks in Litchfield NP, river crossings in Kimberley and a beach or two. Little bit thirsty when towing a caravan but you would be too pulling a 2 ton brick. Rear Difflock is there just in case but I never had to use it.

Badge27990
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Great Value

Purchased our first Pajero in 2010 Activ at a fairly good price.

At this point now being 2018 and 230,000 on the clock we have not had one issue except for recalls and drivers door winder replacement,
The servicing gets a little dear over the years unless you know a good cheap reliable mechanic
We have also done tappet adjustment every 30,000 k’s and also added a catch can other than that all standard.
If I could buy another one of these now I would,As some of the new ones Toyota,Colorado just to name a few are absolute rubbish and with such small engines in them now. Some of them wouldn’t tow my grandmother up the stairs.
It has been good on diesel anywhere from 10/100 to 8.5/100 k’s,
Plenty of room inside,Sat nav is a little out of date although I find google maps the best.
The only down side is.......
The spare tyre on the back could have been higher for towing but you can get a kit to raise it up 50mm.
All in all been a good 4wd/family car to date.

Why Did Mitsubishi Stop producing them????

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010

good for long trips

Overall a good car but thirsty af. Have the top of the range model otherwise don't even bother. Does its job very as well as would a 4X4: everyday use, towing, rough conditions. Transmission may jerk at lower speeds e.g. stop start traffic.What i would like is that even though there's bluetooth connectivity, you can't play music through it - only answer calls which defeats the purpose of a bluetooth system.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Best family car!

We went from a Kluger to a pajero. Havnt regretted at all! Runs smoothly, so reliable! Spacious for a family of 4 and a decent sized dog! DVD player works a treat for the kid, especially with the long drives down south with the kids! We go on long drives economic with fuel! Don't think we will ever switch from the pajero, only to upgrade in models!

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Still can't find a more reliable and practical vehicle.

Having owned a petrol V6 version prior to this NT 3.2 turbo diesel it had some pretty big boots to fill and it has not disappointed.
The main motivation for the switch to diesel was firstly fuel economy/range which is fantastic compared to the old petrol model. I regularly achieve sub 9ltr/100klms around town and slightly better highway driving - very happy with that considering the large size of the vehicle.
Towing ease and ability was also a consideration for me with the occasional 18ft full caravan trip and regular towing offroad on sand with an offroad camper trailer. Towing on soft sand can really reduce range but the high torque output of this Pajero means that it goes a lot further on a tank even under these conditions.
This model retains the excellent interior configuration of other recent models and there are tumbling rear seats and the great concealed boot tub too. I have actually managed to fit a whole interior house door in the back!.
Onroad manners are exceptional, it handles extremely well for such a big heavy 4x4 and parking is as easy as a large sedan albeit with a few blind spots to be aware of.
Offroad these are legendary vehicles and this model is no exception, it's just fun to drive offroad especially on sand where the 5 speed tiptronic auto transmission makes life so easy.
There have been several factory recalls since I've owned this Pajero which is time consuming but also gives a feeling of confidence that Mitsubishi are addressing these faults as they appear and there haven't been any major mechanical issues. ( airbag recall etc ).
The only area where I feel this Pajero is lacking is in the seating dept. I am a larger sized man and have never had an issue with my previous Pajero's but this NT GLX has some pretty poor front seats - frankly I struggle everytime I get in the vehicle, the seats seem poorly designed and I am currently seeking an aftermarket alternative.
I plan on keeping this vehicle for at least 10 years and maybe beyond - looking good so far - A very capable and tame 4x4 onroad but also very good offroad credentials too..

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Great car. Lovely to drive.

Ive driven Pajeros since 2003. This is my third one and the last one had over 320000 km on it and still drove perfectly. I have not had a single breakdown or mechanical problem in 14 years driving Pajeros. Love the power and torque of the diesel engine and the 5 speed auto works perfectluly with the engine. It is slways in the right gear. Tows my 22 ft van easily. Reasonable fuel economy i get around 10 l/100 and i do have a lead foot so I could easily get down to around 8 if I drove gently.
Handling is nice sure footed and drives like a car. Brakes are very good. Suspension is well set up as standard. I oflen go 4 wheel driving and love the standard diff locks on the NW. It makes very rough 4 wheel drive tracks a smooth and easy drive.There are very few 4 wheel drives that could go the places this will go because very few if any have standard diff locks. Ground clearance is pretty good. I bought the GL because it doesnt have side steps so better clearance. It still has a good level of equipment even though it is the low spec model.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Feels safe and yet easy to drive

great driving experience, looks big but really smooth to drive, easy to park. Took to Fraser Island, didn't get stuck even in soft sand.
negatives: rearview camera does not have line indication and no sound to let you know how close you are when reversing, navigation sytem touchscreen is difficult to use, and you have to stop to enter addresses (even if you have a passenger who could enter the address, the navigation does not allow it)

BadgeRX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Excellent

We love our Pajero VRX Diesel. Great fuel economy solo or when towing, fantastic offroad performance especially on sand and dunes and maneuverability of much smaller car. The only drawback is an aircon which depending on setting either cools or heats but it might be an issue of only our car.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Computer problems on NT

6 years of no problems. Out of warranty 5,000k and barometer failed on the computer which sets car into an emergency response and shuts down many systems e.g. will not climb a hill, no power, no cruise control etc. Expensive new computer still not perfect with anti-skid lights on when accelerating. Would not like this to happen on a big trip.

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2010

brilliant vehicle

drives well , yes its a bit rough and the sound of the diesel clatter can be considered a bit loud to todays standards .The interiors could have been a bit more better especially the quality of the interior plastics . Extremely reliable vehicle and low running cost as of now . The only upgrades that i have done is put brighter bulbs and install a music system with a USB port as the old one did not have a USB port .

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2009

More than I expected

I like my Pajero 2010. I have done 26K in 18months. Have done some long trips ($4,600Kmsin 12days) never had any problems. Good value for money. Comfortable, and confident driving in evry weather and terrain. I have done some medium 4x4, sand drive, kept me confident and happy all the time. NIce to drive and usually get 9L/100Kms.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Great bang for your buck

I bought my 2010 NT GLX Pajero 3.2L DiD manual Paj with 169000km on the clock almost 8 months ago and to date cannot fault it. On the black stuff it drives beautifully (although the diesel motor is a little noisy, coupled with the Cooper Discovery AT3 tyres) but offroad is where it truly excels. Unfortunately mine came without the optional rear diff lock however with the centre diff lock and traction control I have found it to be more than capable of getting through whatever I throw at it. The Super Select II 4WD system coupled with the active traction control is a marvellous bit of kit.
The fuel economy is quite good for a car of its size, averaging around 9L/100km country and 10-11L/100km city driving from its 88L tank, made even better with the addition of a K&N filter and Safari snorkel. The interior is neat and tidy albeit a little plasticy and dated but on the whole it's comfortable and spacious. There is enough room for my family of 5, and the rear cargo seats fold away nicely under the floor which also double up as a handy storage compartment if the seats are removed. The seats are comfy with ample leg room in both front and back.
I found the standard suspension quite good allowing sufficient clearance underneath the car, with the diff pumpkin tucked up and out of harms way as to not get caught on any large rocks or rutts, however a 2" lift would definitely benefit.
Overall I am very happy with my purchase, however the 180,000km service did sting the hip pocket a little. While it won't win any races, it will get you to those secret camping spots without too many issues.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual

Faultless NT Pajero

Purchased NT Pajero clocked up 165000 klm can't fault it.
Always had it serviced by Mitsy Toowong (great service) always had the best tyres on it coopers & MT, etc. prefer MT :) towed a tinny in and out of mud bog holes as well as a heavy half cabin Haines up and down the coast.
It's an exceed with real diff lock, done beach and bush, got stuck once towing tinny at inskip soft sand let the tyres down and off again.
It's been faultless, it's been chipped and dyno tuned for 4 years now and I'm going to be sad to miss it, I'm not sure what to upgrade too, it's time to upgrade, I just hope what ever I upgrade too will give me the same or better returns and reliability as what I have had.
Have been given a trade price, just trying to work out what to upgrade too.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Awesome vehicle

I can't rave on about this car enough! This is my 3rd Pajero from 2000. Each one has been extaordinary. All have had good reliability, Driving manners and turning circle. The latest one (2011 NW) is more powerful and fairly efficient.(10 and 12.5) I tow a 1.8 tonne trailer half the time and beefed up the rear suspension to cope. The only negative is that the Brake Rotors warp too readily. Had no problems in this respect from the previous ones.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 3

See all Mitsubishi Pajero reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mitsubishi Pajero NT (2008-2011) but you can read 235 questions about Mitsubishi Pajero.

Details

Pajero NT
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
ANCAP Safety Rating4 stars
Doors5
Engine4 Cylinder, 3.2 L
Max Power147kW@3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm@2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all Mitsubishi Pajero

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.