??!
2 photos
My Genie ZX1000

My Genie ZX1000

2.7 from 71 reviews

See the Best Robot Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
15
3 star
10
2 star
17
1 star
19

Boo

Boo

  • 17 reviews

Worked ok until it stopped, that's when the trouble began

published

Normally if a product stops working within warranty, you send it back for inspection/repair/replacement. Not the case here. The machine does not turn on at all and if I directly plug into the charger it says FULL, but will not go. I contacted the manufacturer bdirect.com.au (email is the only way to contact them). I was told to take a video with my smartphone (presumptious as I do not have one) and send it to them for verification. We are stuck in a never ending loop of I don't have a video recorder/you must send a video. What fun.
This is a cautionary tale for those buying through third party suppliers (Catch in this case). You actually don't know who the manufacturers/1st line distributors are to check on their reliability.


Andrea delgado

Andrea delgadoIllawarra, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Waste of money!

published

Never works properly ! Everytime i want to turn it on! Fails ... it works whenever it wants ! Never charges ! Awful product! I would never ever recommended ! It didnt even last for a month.

Purchased in October 2019 for $290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Waste of money and time.

published

Hardwood, carpet and occasionally tiles. It performs mediocre on wood and tiles but terrible on carpet. Gets stuck on everything. Doesn't suck up stuff very well. Just goes around and around till it gets stuck again. The virtual wall it comes with is useless as well.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harris Scarfe for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Charlene S.

Charlene S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst item I have ever purchased

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Rarely
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers

mouse

mouseHunter Region, NSW

Mygenie zx22000

published

My vac doesn't go across the room it goes about 30cm and turns left or right.. and does 3 laps of the room when I push the home button on the control

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Never
See all answers

And

AndGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Complete and utter garbage

published

The vacuum can't navigate at all. It keeps getting stuck against bare walls that contain no obstacles, and when trapped, can't work out how to reverse its position at all.

Purchased in September 2019 for $230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Dee

DeeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Rubbish

published

I have used it twice and will not start at all just dead bought from Groupon 3 weeks ago cannot find my receipt from the company
Do not buy it was also missing a battery that is very hard to buy

Purchased at Groupon for $198.00.

Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time

terrible item, do not buy

published

This vacuum worked well for 10 months, and then just ceased working. The program function stopped working, and then the device would only vacuum for about 5 mins, when it was originally vacuuming for approx 20mins. The manufacturer has terrible customer service, and refuses to fulfill the terms of the 12 month manufacturers warranty saying the device is defective due to misuse, it has only ever been used according to the instructions. Do not buy this item or deal with this manufacturer. Terrible.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
See all answers
Katie

KatieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Less than impressed

published

I was so excited to find a reasonable priced robot vacuum and bought my genie. Unfortunately that excitement was short lived as this vacuum constantly gets stuck on regular furniture and fails to clean the entire floor area. I found myself constantly having to find it and release it from whatever it seemed to caught on this time very frustrating.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Camila

CamilaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can’t buy battery replacement

published

It does the job. Good to clean dog hair around the house. But can’t buy battery replacement. I tried to find battery everywhere. I guess they expect you to buy a new one?????

Purchased in January 2018 at Kogan for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers

tdo100

tdo100North Queensland, QLD

Would not buy again

published

i purchased this unit and used it about 6 times and the battery went flat. Cannot seem to find another battery for it, but think I should have got more than 6 uses

Purchased in April 2018 at online for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

No warranty realistically

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
System Errors Often
See all answers

Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent little helper

published

Love having my little helper dance around the floor picking up all the little bits of dust and pet hair which annoy me. This vacuum is great for large flat tiled areas and for spot cleaning carpets. Sometimes she gets a little lost and goes is circles but she soon finds her way. It amazes me how much for hair and dust is on the floor which we cannot see. Easy to turn on with the remote and off she goes. Would love a better model which maps the house but one day I'm sure. Mop works ok, not the best but she does do an ok job of the sections she follows. Would be better with a self mapping system for sure. Cannot be picky, she is reasonably cheap and saves me so much time.

Purchased in January 2019 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Mal

MalGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not recommended as a vacuum cleaner replacement.

published

Use it on both carpet & Linoleum. Has a small collection bin so needs clearing often. Has minimal suction so doesn't pick up much more than pet hair which is what I purchased it for. Works OK for that & I run it every day due to my furry friend. Using it every day means I don't have to get the real vacuum cleaner out very often and carpets look clean all the time. Very clever how it navigates but it loves to chew up shoe laces, or loose appliance cords etc. You need to wall off areas with a cushion or similar, where it will jam itself. In my case its usually door stops on skirting boards.

Purchased in January 2019 at My Deal for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
TIm

TImGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

not recommended

published

used for less than 2 weeks and it's stopped working, brushes keep giving an error even no obstruction.
took 2 months to communicate with Kogan support team, they agreed for replacement but after more than 2 week I still haven't received their reply.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kogan.com for $188.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Smashy

SmashyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works as expected

published

Had the device for approx 1 week. It is being used on floorboards and works fine. It is a cheap option compared to a heap of other models. I currently let it run daily, it picks up pet hair and I have to empty the bin every 3 days. I haven't and most likely wont be using the mop function.

Purchased in February 2019 at Catch for $178.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

J Crebert

J CrebertSydney NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

My Genie ZX1000

published

Had to send the first two back after only a short time malfunctioned. This one is doing well still haven't tried the mop circle yet but the vaccum is performing as it should - finally. Doesn't work on high pile carpet but fine on low pile. Great on tile and laminated floor.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Brett G

Brett GPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

IT'S OK - but it's NOT a Roomba

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Sheik

SheikMaroubra

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good for current price

published

It is not as strong , not as cleaver and I did not expect tht anyway . Robot vacuum has a long way to go .but it does the job . i have a kid who alway on the floor and robot vacuum constantly clean as much as it can . Also can mop not bad . I would cry if I have paid original price of $1100.i paid under $200 so it is worth it . It’s good if you trun it on when you leave the house and it will constantly clean until bettery runs out . Can not find home base charge station if it is further than 7 meters

Date PurchasedNov 2018

JacJame

JacJameAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Annoying

published

The My Genie ZX1000 is great for getting under hard to reach places like beds and desks. I however found that it would go over the same spot many times in a row and I would have to use the remote control to change the direction constantly. This actually makes it more time consuming than using a regular vacuum.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Iva

Ivaasked

Having issue with the vacuum as it runs for about 30 seconds then stops
Not sure what to do????

No answers

GWENETH

GWENETHasked

I have just bought a MyGenie ZX1000 robotic cleaner. However, after reading all the reviews I am wondering if I have done the right thing as it appears to stop for no reason within the warranty time of one year and there seems to be no after-service help. I bought mine from Kogan.com. Have I done the wrong thing and will I be able to have it repaired within the warranty period if something goes wrong?

No answers

John B

John Basked

The batteries are on longer charging, where can I buy a new battery pack. Thanks in advance.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and MyGenie representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.