??!
2 photos
My Genie ZX1000

My Genie ZX1000

2.6 from 73 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(10)
(13)
(10)
(17)
(23)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (17)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (17)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (10)
    • Rarely (3)
    • Weekly (2)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.2 (18)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (11)
  • System Errors Every time (9) · Never (4) · Often (3) · Occasionally (2)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    1.9 (16)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (17)
Brajesh K.

Brajesh K.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

published

Purchased in September 2019 at eBay for $165.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers

I love it, the girlfriend not so much

published

Love it. Called it Robo. Set it off every two days and it was a great job for our little house. Occasionally have to pull it out from under the sofa as it gets stuck but fun to watch and come back with a full bin. I've had it 2 months and if buy it again. I can't wait to see this technology progress. Love it although the girlfriend complains it doesn't reach the corners. I just brush out the corner every other week. Problem solved.I use it on carpet and kitchen lino. Not so good on heavily soiled carpet but good for everyday crumbs and hair. Great for bungalows or large clear stairless houses.

Purchased in February 2020 at Catch for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
System Errors Never
See all answers
Raja

RajaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

A Good Product!

published

I have purchased this vacuum last January and I haven't got any error or trouble using it. Must say I am pretty please with this device as it does a great job cleaning my room floor. Just what I have expected and glad that I gave it a shot.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jamelia Jane

Jamelia JaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not good

published

I brought mine through Groupon worked fine for about 9 months then I forgot about it. Wouldn’t charge .so I left it then I’ve only just realised it had a warranty and of course I was 2 days late .wont be buying again.

Purchased in February 2019 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Graham P.

Graham P.South East Queensland, QLD

Honestly just a flimsy useless bit of plastic rubbish

published

It's never worked properly from the start. Never followed the buttons I've pressed on the remote, just done it's own thing going around in circles and backwards getting nowhere. Has very little suck. Just glides right over dust.

After a week it's had this error message and refuses to charge.

And of course Kogan are impossible to deal with so I've never had a replacement, had it fixed or my money back. Huge waste of money.

Purchased in September 2018 at Kogan.com for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

My Genie robot vacuum

published

Do not buy this item and do not ever buy from catch of the day. They do not provided a refund/warranty for items that clearly do not work. Disgusting service.

Purchased in December 2019 at Catch.

Boo

Boo

  • 18 reviews

Worked ok until it stopped, that's when the trouble began

published

Normally if a product stops working within warranty, you send it back for inspection/repair/replacement. Not the case here. The machine does not turn on at all and if I directly plug into the charger it says FULL, but will not go. I contacted the manufacturer bdirect.com.au (email is the only way to contact them). I was told to take a video with my smartphone (presumptious as I do not have one) and send it to them for verification. We are stuck in a never ending loop of I don't have a video recorder/you must send a video. What fun.
This is a cautionary tale for those buying through third party suppliers (Catch in this case). You actually don't know who the manufacturers/1st line distributors are to check on their reliability.

Andrea delgado

Andrea delgadoIllawarra, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Waste of money!

published

Never works properly ! Everytime i want to turn it on! Fails ... it works whenever it wants ! Never charges ! Awful product! I would never ever recommended ! It didnt even last for a month.

Purchased in October 2019 for $290.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Waste of money and time.

published

Hardwood, carpet and occasionally tiles. It performs mediocre on wood and tiles but terrible on carpet. Gets stuck on everything. Doesn't suck up stuff very well. Just goes around and around till it gets stuck again. The virtual wall it comes with is useless as well.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harris Scarfe for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charlene S.

Charlene S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst item I have ever purchased

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Rarely
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers
mouse

mouseHunter Region, NSW

Mygenie zx22000

published

My vac doesn't go across the room it goes about 30cm and turns left or right.. and does 3 laps of the room when I push the home button on the control

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Never
See all answers
And

AndGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Complete and utter garbage

published

The vacuum can't navigate at all. It keeps getting stuck against bare walls that contain no obstacles, and when trapped, can't work out how to reverse its position at all.

Purchased in September 2019 for $230.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Dee

DeeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Rubbish

published

I have used it twice and will not start at all just dead bought from Groupon 3 weeks ago cannot find my receipt from the company
Do not buy it was also missing a battery that is very hard to buy

Purchased at Groupon for $198.00.

Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time

terrible item, do not buy

published

This vacuum worked well for 10 months, and then just ceased working. The program function stopped working, and then the device would only vacuum for about 5 mins, when it was originally vacuuming for approx 20mins. The manufacturer has terrible customer service, and refuses to fulfill the terms of the 12 month manufacturers warranty saying the device is defective due to misuse, it has only ever been used according to the instructions. Do not buy this item or deal with this manufacturer. Terrible.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Katie

KatieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Less than impressed

published

I was so excited to find a reasonable priced robot vacuum and bought my genie. Unfortunately that excitement was short lived as this vacuum constantly gets stuck on regular furniture and fails to clean the entire floor area. I found myself constantly having to find it and release it from whatever it seemed to caught on this time very frustrating.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Camila

CamilaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can’t buy battery replacement

published

It does the job. Good to clean dog hair around the house. But can’t buy battery replacement. I tried to find battery everywhere. I guess they expect you to buy a new one?????

Purchased in January 2018 at Kogan for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers
tdo100

tdo100North Queensland, QLD

Would not buy again

published

i purchased this unit and used it about 6 times and the battery went flat. Cannot seem to find another battery for it, but think I should have got more than 6 uses

Purchased in April 2018 at online for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

No warranty realistically

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
System Errors Often
See all answers
Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent little helper

published

Love having my little helper dance around the floor picking up all the little bits of dust and pet hair which annoy me. This vacuum is great for large flat tiled areas and for spot cleaning carpets. Sometimes she gets a little lost and goes is circles but she soon finds her way. It amazes me how much for hair and dust is on the floor which we cannot see. Easy to turn on with the remote and off she goes. Would love a better model which maps the house but one day I'm sure. Mop works ok, not the best but she does do an ok job of the sections she follows. Would be better with a self mapping system for sure. Cannot be picky, she is reasonably cheap and saves me so much time.

Purchased in January 2019 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Mal

MalGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not recommended as a vacuum cleaner replacement.

published

Use it on both carpet & Linoleum. Has a small collection bin so needs clearing often. Has minimal suction so doesn't pick up much more than pet hair which is what I purchased it for. Works OK for that & I run it every day due to my furry friend. Using it every day means I don't have to get the real vacuum cleaner out very often and carpets look clean all the time. Very clever how it navigates but it loves to chew up shoe laces, or loose appliance cords etc. You need to wall off areas with a cushion or similar, where it will jam itself. In my case its usually door stops on skirting boards.

Purchased in January 2019 at My Deal for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Kaz B.

Kaz B.asked

How long does it take to recharge a zx 1000 genie?

1 answer
Jamelia Jane
Jamelia Jane

Over night or it used to.But mine was 12 months old doesn’t work anymore and I was 2 days out of warranty I would not recommend d this product to anyone even though I brought 2 :(

Vicki E

Vicki Easked

Error message E001 keeps coming up. How do I fix it?

No answers
Fred F

Fred Fasked

How do I know if the battery is fully charged on the zx1000. It doesn’t show ‘FULL’ . The screen is blank after a while so no indication.

1 answer
Kathy
Kathy

Sorry Fred mine was sent back. I think the lights stop flashing.

Get an answer from our members and MyGenie representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.