??!
3 photos
Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

MPN: 36502458
3.6 from 220 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
80
4 star
62
3 star
25
2 star
13
1 star
40

jay w.

jay w.Darwin, NT

Great Router

published

This is definitely a great buy! Had issues with our previous router and as soon as i set this one up (which was very easy btw) all the issues disappeared. Generally we have 2 people connected for gaming and 1 other person streaming and about 5 other devices always conneted and have had no issues at all.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPBelong Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

theresegardiner

theresegardinerAU

  • 2 reviews

Worst modem I have ever purchased. Don't waste your money!

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Totchka

TotchkaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Continual drop outs

published

Have to reboot router several times a day due to router disconnecting devices and then not allowing them to reconnect. Only solution is to restart router. Tried all support solutions offered (netgear) not an Internet provider problem. Netgear community support has pages of similar complaints without anyone getting a resolution to this problem which netgear appears to be aware of. Wifi works well when it works but continual dropouts have me going off to buy another router. Will never buy netgear again.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for $249.00.

Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Sie

SiePerth, WA

Be careful with firmware update

published

I have used this product for 2 years. It has been great but have to be careful when updating the firmware even from their own Nighthawk phone app.

That was an evening when I was watching Netflix and browsing through the Nighthawk app. An update pops up and I was thinking it should be alright to update from its own App. BUT, it was not the case. The whole thing just crash and the router could not restart and nothing can be done to make it work. I have tried reset the router but it could not. I was just 2 months out of the warranty. Really DISAPPOINTING!

Purchased in June 2017 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Can't Fault the Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

published

I purchased the Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk in October 2018. I have an NBN HFC connection and the D7000 works excellent on this broadband configuration. I haven't experienced any issue at all, handles data throughput excellently and the wireless range has exceeded my expectations. I'm a very happy customer.

Purchased in October 2018 at eBay for $197.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Asanka Vidana

Asanka VidanaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Internet keep dropping when more people connect

published

I bought this instead of buying a cheap modem/router thinking the more you spend, better quality and power you get. But I was wrong. Internet was working just fine, until last Saturday when I had around 15 people over. When most of them got connected to the WiFi, it started dropping off. I was really ashamed. Not a great experience

Purchased in August 2019 at Officeworks for $208.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Mick

MickPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Unit replaced twice already, third is a lemon also NETGEAR SUPPORT AWFUL

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 15 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 100 (Family)
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Michael H.

Michael H.Central West, NSW

Connection drops and unit freezes

published

internet and all local wifi constantly drops off and unit needs rebooting almost every hour! I have decent experience with modems and routers and right out of the box it has had many issues even after factory resetting and updating, I haven't even customised settings how I want because this unit cant even work normally!

Purchased in September 2019 at goodguys for $270.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 12 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 50 (Unlimited)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
KnowYourRights

KnowYourRightsCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 20 reviews

Reliable

published

Has been a good router for many months now. Good speed wireless and wired. Very few drop outs and getting in and changing settings is quite easy going confidence with security and setup. I have many devices connected wirelessly and this router cope well.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 15 devices
ISPiiNet ADSL
ModemR6400V2
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

Terrible Product

published

I bought this product in May and have had issues from day 1. Constantly drops out and freezes up as stated in other reviews. The firmware updates didn’t really help and actually made the situation worse as of yesterday 10/8/19 netgear advised the product is actually faulty and I need to post it back to them and they will post out a refurbished product. I’m buying a second hand one on market place for $50 to use whilst I wait for the refurbished one to arrive. I think I’ll try and take it back to JB Hifi and see if I can get a store credit to get a different make/model.
In summary don’t buy this product - too many issues.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Dave G

Dave G

  • 2 reviews

Freezes up

published

The modem/router will freeze up every couple of days which disconnects everything connected to it, to rectify this I have to turn off and on again quite an annoyance. Also it gets Really hot, however setup through the genie was very quick and easy.

Purchased in March 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

luke

lukePerth, WA

Worst customer support

published

Netgear the worst company. I called to ask for the set up guide for the internet and the only thing they wanted to do is to sell me their technical support membership for over $130 a year. They are no help and I will never use them every again and will tell every person I meet not to deal with such a bad company. Now we cant set up the internet and got no help. Worst customer support.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet NBN Satellite (Sky Muster) NBN 25 (Standard)
ModemNetgear AC1200 D6220
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Tea

TeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Regret

published

I honestly wish I had gotten something else, anything else.

Connection will randomly drop -only on the 2.4ghz! Even with every possible channel tried it just does not stay stable, the same goes for the speeds.

For the price tag it is also severely lacking in features such as advanced admin controls.

I'm hoping it's just a really bad area for WiFi so I have a chance at a consistent connection when I move house. I didn't think I would need to return this and regret not keeping the box in better condition.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Home for $424.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Rod T.

Rod T.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Drops connection randomly + more

published

Not not buy this product. I'm an experienced IT professional and could not work out why certain devices were dropping connection randomly. Also, each time I switched any device back to the 2.4G connection I'd have to reenter the password for some reason. I spent 6-8hours trying different things but concluded the best case scenario (for Netgear) is that it was a faulty unit. I finally gave up and returned it and swapped for an equivalent level competitive unit from another manufacturer. It worked right away with the same config. What a waist of time the D7000v2 was. Don't repeat my mistake.

Purchased in June 2019 for $340.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPiiNet NBN 12
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great Modem and wifi signal

published

Just started using netgear d7000 couple days no problems at all on adsl with iinet. Very easy to setup within 5 mins was on the net. Great speed no dropouts and great wifi.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPiiNet ADSL
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Yang Y.

Yang Y.Hobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

Pretty good router

published

was using a Telstra smart modem/router gen2, awful and occasionally with a high lag. Totally cant stand. After using this, internet became stable. BTW, easy to setup and control. The only one problem is cant read the netgear extender via APP.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Unreliable- 2.4 frezes. Stay away

published

I am now on my replacement modem- as the original one was replaced by Netgear. The replacement modem also freezes up. The 2.4 band drops out- the modem needs to be rebooted e.
Please do your own research - there ate plenty of reports on line

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Pary01

Pary01Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Very difficult to get up and running

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPBelong Broadband ADSL
ModemSagemcom F@ST 4315
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 121 reviews

Does the job well, great range. Everything is working well

published

We had a basic modem/ router given to us from our ISP provider. It wouldn't connect all of our devices as it couldn't handle the amount we wanted to connect. We have security cameras, ipads, and phones. Nothing too crazy but we needed something more. I was recommended the Netgear Nighthawk from a forum post in Whirlpool. It wasn't cheap but we gave it a shot. All our devices connect and work well. The range is far better than the modem/ router we have. The Nighthawk is relatively easy to install with great service backup from Netgear customer call centre.

Purchased in February 2018 at Computer Alliance for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPiiNet
ModemiiNet TG789
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Lynton A.

Lynton A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Great extender

published

This Netgear D 7000 nighthawk is a great extender, easy to set up, but most of all the performance is great, I have it set up to transmit both 2.4 and 5 gh, with alot of testing the overall transfer rates we very good.
If you are looking for a very good extender go no further.
I use it with a D link ac 1600 python, work flawlessly.

Purchased in February 2019 at eBay for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPExetel Broadband
ModemD Link ac 1600 python
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Sougat R.

Sougat R.asked

is this is sensitive to crosstalk
?

No answers

Jordan

Jordanasked

Just purchased this and set everything up and it connected my phone to the wifi but no other devices seemed to want to connect, including ones that were connected by enthernet, tried everything it said but wouldnt work, thoughts?

2 answers
GJR
GJR

You may need new or updated (software) drivers in your devices that you want to connect via WiFi.
Usually if the device that you want to connect via WiFi has the WiFi facility built in, it will pick up the signal and all you have to do is use the password that comes with the Modem or NTU (NTU is a digital both ends modem) to pair the Modem - NTU signal to it.
I hope this makes sense. If you have more problems you could go to the shop you bought the Nighthawk from or ask for help from a local computer shop person.

EzyTalk
EzyTalk

Get your money back - I have had two units replaced under warranty and now the third unit has problems - right now I have no 2.4Ghz wireless and only 5Ghz works.... there have been many complaints about this unit. My 2nd unit lasted 6 months until the ethernet and wireless completely stopped working. I run a home business so I can't afford to keep sending back faulty units (at my expense I might add).... so for me it's goodbye Netgear and hello Asus.


AustinS

AustinSasked

i have nbn through optus modem which has port for the phone line. How do I connect the phone line in the netgear nighthawk d7000v2

1 answer
Rob
Rob

You don’t. It’s not supported with this terrible modem


Get an answer from our members and Netgear representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.