??!
3 photos
Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

MPN: 36502458
3.5 from 235 reviews

Reviews

3.5

235 reviews
5
(82)
4
(63)
3
(25)
2
(16)
1
(49)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (36)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (37)
  • Number of Connected Devices 6.176 devices (34)
  • Ease of Setup
    3.3 (36)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (36)
  • Reliability
    2.3 (36)
Previous
Next
Jimee

JimeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

If you want NBN to run - For the love of god DON'T BUY THIS UNIT!!!

published

This product was working fantastically whilst running on ADSL2+. Being advertised as NBN ready and the correct connections FTTP installed, i jumped at the chance to give this top end router a spin. The connection was dropping out every hour for 5 minutes, sometimes even 3 or 4 times an hour. making streaming ineffective and online gaming completely useless. I've gone through countless online treads about this issue and seems very common.

People going through multiple units, firmware updates and settings. all of which I've tried with no avail. I'll never be buying a Netgear product as long as i live. Learn through my mistakes and BUY ANOTHER BRAND!!!

Purchased in January 2018 at Dick Smith for A$380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPKogan NBN 100 (Gold)
ModemNetgear D7000v2 Nighthawk AC1900
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
john

johnMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works Perfectly with wifi disabled

published

The modem would lock up randomly with all lights still on, I persevered for a couple of weeks and then worked out the unit was getting very hot. I bought a Ubiquiti Unifi wifi AP and turned off the wifi on the netgear modem. Has been running this way for 3 months with not one drop out or problem. Not really ideal when paying so much for the unit but it does work reliably now. It is a good router with ease of static IP addresses and port forwarding.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 23 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
ModemNetgear D7000v2 Nighthawk AC1900
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Daniel M.

Daniel M.New South Wales

  • Verified purchase

Glitchy and hard to use

published

Experienced regular drop outs of wifi. Had to reset multiple times per day. One channel became undiscoverable after a couple weeks. Then both channels stopped being accessible on mobile. Wifi range on was worse than the $100 router I had previously. The set-up guide was very lacking, completely missing any basic steps - no problem if you are experienced at setting up routers, but if you are not you don't have a hope without calling their support line and waiting on hold for 40 minutes... The management app was useless if you weren't already connected, so can't be used to help set-up or troubleshoot connection issues. Ended up returning it and getting a TP link router that worked first time and had an easy clear set-up guide.

Purchased in March 2020 at Noel Leeming Physical store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPOrcon
ModemBuilt in
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

How did this get to market?

published

Constantly drops out. Nothing but trouble and support is useless. DO NOT BUY ONE! There seems to be no fix for it's issues and I don't understand how this rubbish made it to the market.

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hifi Home for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband (BigPond)
Modemr7000v2
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
K mark

K markGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

nighthawk app doesn’t support d70000

published

The nighthawk app doesn’t support d7000 for better parenting control, so it no better then the one I get from service provider, and also there is no support to ask any questions, it is just time and money waste

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for A$300.00.

Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPVodafone NBN
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
AyeAyeNet

AyeAyeNet

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is so perfect... You can live without it!! Don't touch it with a barge pole even if its free!

published

This product has great specs that really sell the item as a potentially good performer.
The so called "Genie" stinks of Apple Genius!! Believe me... it stinks!! Takes forever to load and then provides you a limited service that even when it does eventually load it has built in limitations that make you wonder... WTH?!!!
By the way - I have not been offered any reward for the review, and would prefer some else in my shoes does not make the same mistake.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
PaulC

PaulCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

One Day Owner

published

Purchased this for only one day and had to return. Due to constant disconnection when login into the setting. I have to agree with Faz that this is not worth my time. Frustration as I have been a customer of netgear for past 5 years.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$298.00.

Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPInternode NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Faz

FazSydney, NSW

Buy another router!

published

Constant wifi drop out. Randomly won’t take password. Reset at times will make it impossible to get back on wifi connection. Avoid this unit at any cost. Not worth it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Jonathan Cajepe

Jonathan CajepeCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worth the money!

published

Very satisfied with this modem/router,it provides excellent fast reliable internet.Looks very cool with the three transmitters!Got in on sale at Officeworks and its worth the money,would buy again and recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 at Officeworks for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPMate NBN 100 (Soul Mates)
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
abatage

abatageMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Can't handle anything above basic functions

published

Setting up the router took a few tried before it connected, but once it did, it maintained a stable connection okay. The downside is that I run a number of NAS devices that need a static IP on the network - this router has the option to assign IPs to known devices, but after building the table, it just decides NOT to work and assigns random IPs without any relation to the table I just built. After a lot of googling I find that this is a common problem and I will be quickly replacing it with something that actually works.

Sub par device at a premium price

published

Started out as a pretty reliable modem and slowly degenerated from there over the period of 3 years. It started initially booting certain devices, mainly Apple, off of wifi. A firmware upgrade fixed this. Then came the lockups. At first it would need power cycling once a week. Present day we're rebooting it once a day. Many other owners have the same unresolved issue. What a terrible product. Avoid.

Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Honest Reviewer

Honest ReviewerSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Lightning fast internet

published

It's quite expensive. But well worth it. This router paired with my NBN service provides lightning fast internet to all my devices with a huge coverage throughout my house.
Haven't experienced a single dropout while using it.
Easy set-up too.
Definitely recommend.

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN
ModemNetgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Jason Lie

Jason LieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst router ever purchased. Do not support this company

published

Worked fine for the first 6 months, then the disconnections and intermittent failures start occurring. Conveniently netgear only gives you 90 days after purchase support otherwise they want to charge you even if it's their product at fault. Read only comments and forums and you'll see it's a very common issue and everyone hates this thing. Given up using this as my main router and just use it as an access point. Even that, it drops off once a week and I need to reset it to keep it afloat. Piece of crap and never buying Netgear again.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Dan G

Dan GSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Minor issues at first. Major issues over time.

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Don't waste for money

published

Does not work in Australia with Optus NBN - I have spent hours on the phone to Netgear and Optus just a big waste of time. No-one can solve the problem and JB HIFI deserve a boot up the bum for selling and recommending this product.

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPOptus Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jay w.

jay w.Darwin, NT

Great Router

published

This is definitely a great buy! Had issues with our previous router and as soon as i set this one up (which was very easy btw) all the issues disappeared. Generally we have 2 people connected for gaming and 1 other person streaming and about 5 other devices always conneted and have had no issues at all.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPBelong Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
theresegardiner

theresegardinerAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst modem I have ever purchased. Don't waste your money!

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Totchka

TotchkaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Continual drop outs

published

Have to reboot router several times a day due to router disconnecting devices and then not allowing them to reconnect. Only solution is to restart router. Tried all support solutions offered (netgear) not an Internet provider problem. Netgear community support has pages of similar complaints without anyone getting a resolution to this problem which netgear appears to be aware of. Wifi works well when it works but continual dropouts have me going off to buy another router. Will never buy netgear again.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for A$249.00.

Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Sie

SiePerth, WA

Be careful with firmware update

published

I have used this product for 2 years. It has been great but have to be careful when updating the firmware even from their own Nighthawk phone app.

That was an evening when I was watching Netflix and browsing through the Nighthawk app. An update pops up and I was thinking it should be alright to update from its own App. BUT, it was not the case. The whole thing just crash and the router could not restart and nothing can be done to make it work. I have tried reset the router but it could not. I was just 2 months out of the warranty. Really DISAPPOINTING!

Purchased in June 2017 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Can't Fault the Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

published

I purchased the Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk in October 2018. I have an NBN HFC connection and the D7000 works excellent on this broadband configuration. I haven't experienced any issue at all, handles data throughput excellently and the wireless range has exceeded my expectations. I'm a very happy customer.

Purchased in October 2018 at eBay for A$197.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Sougat R.

Sougat R.asked

is this is sensitive to crosstalk
?

No answers
Jordan

Jordanasked

Just purchased this and set everything up and it connected my phone to the wifi but no other devices seemed to want to connect, including ones that were connected by enthernet, tried everything it said but wouldnt work, thoughts?

2 answers
GJR
GJR

You may need new or updated (software) drivers in your devices that you want to connect via WiFi.
Usually if the device that you want to connect via WiFi has the WiFi facility built in, it will pick up the signal and all you have to do is use the password that comes with the Modem or NTU (NTU is a digital both ends modem) to pair the Modem - NTU signal to it.
I hope this makes sense. If you have more problems you could go to the shop you bought the Nighthawk from or ask for help from a local computer shop person.

EzyTalk
EzyTalk

Get your money back - I have had two units replaced under warranty and now the third unit has problems - right now I have no 2.4Ghz wireless and only 5Ghz works.... there have been many complaints about this unit. My 2nd unit lasted 6 months until the ethernet and wireless completely stopped working. I run a home business so I can't afford to keep sending back faulty units (at my expense I might add).... so for me it's goodbye Netgear and hello Asus.

AustinS

AustinSasked

i have nbn through optus modem which has port for the phone line. How do I connect the phone line in the netgear nighthawk d7000v2

1 answer
Rob
Rob

You don’t. It’s not supported with this terrible modem

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.