??!
3 photos
Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk

MPN: 36502458
3.4 from 239 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Wide range

  • Fast internet with many devices connected

Cons

  • Connection sometimes unreliable

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (39)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (40)
  • Number of Connected Devices 6.114 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.2 (39)
  • Reliability
    2.2 (39)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (39)
Previous
Next

Don't waste your money!

published

Have had issues since I bought it. Keeps dropping out and have to turn off and on for it to pick connection back up. 0/10 would not recommend. Ended up returning under warranty and swapping to a different brand.

Purchased in February 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kyle F.

Kyle F.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Continually drops internet and support is terrible

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Matt D.

Matt D.South East Queensland, QLD

Horrible don't waste your time like I did

published

I spent too many hours trying to get this modem to work (for example, at one point I had to do a factory reset, I ended up having to reset it 3 times to get it to properly reset, and even then I could get the modem to work properly). I build computers and have used a lot of different modems, routers and network setups over the years, and this completely did my head in. Off to the bin it goes, I'm going to try and find something that actually works how it's supposed to.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tarek

Tarek

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

D7000v2 very poor product

published

I have bought that model from Mwave , It keep dropping the internet connections . Imagine you have home cameras and you leave for a day then you got surprise that the net is off and all camera is off as well .

I have made many troubleshoot , updates however when I googled things , I found heaps of thread about the same issue .
Imagine , the old router which I have received from Telstra 2008 is still working fine and the new D7000v2 is dropping connections .
Poor product

regards

Purchased in January 2018 for $312.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jimee

JimeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

If you want NBN to run - For the love of god DON'T BUY THIS UNIT!!!

published

This product was working fantastically whilst running on ADSL2+. Being advertised as NBN ready and the correct connections FTTP installed, i jumped at the chance to give this top end router a spin. The connection was dropping out every hour for 5 minutes, sometimes even 3 or 4 times an hour. making streaming ineffective and online gaming completely useless. I've gone through countless online treads about this issue and seems very common.

People going through multiple units, firmware updates and settings. all of which I've tried with no avail. I'll never be buying a Netgear product as long as i live. Learn through my mistakes and BUY ANOTHER BRAND!!!

Purchased in January 2018 at Dick Smith for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
john

johnMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works Perfectly with wifi disabled

published

The modem would lock up randomly with all lights still on, I persevered for a couple of weeks and then worked out the unit was getting very hot. I bought a Ubiquiti Unifi wifi AP and turned off the wifi on the netgear modem. Has been running this way for 3 months with not one drop out or problem. Not really ideal when paying so much for the unit but it does work reliably now. It is a good router with ease of static IP addresses and port forwarding.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Daniel M.

Daniel M.New South Wales

  • Verified purchase

Glitchy and hard to use

published

Experienced regular drop outs of wifi. Had to reset multiple times per day. One channel became undiscoverable after a couple weeks. Then both channels stopped being accessible on mobile. Wifi range on was worse than the $100 router I had previously. The set-up guide was very lacking, completely missing any basic steps - no problem if you are experienced at setting up routers, but if you are not you don't have a hope without calling their support line and waiting on hold for 40 minutes... The management app was useless if you weren't already connected, so can't be used to help set-up or troubleshoot connection issues. Ended up returning it and getting a TP link router that worked first time and had an easy clear set-up guide.

Purchased in March 2020 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

How did this get to market?

published

Constantly drops out. Nothing but trouble and support is useless. DO NOT BUY ONE! There seems to be no fix for it's issues and I don't understand how this rubbish made it to the market.

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hifi Home for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
K mark

K markGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

nighthawk app doesn’t support d70000

published

The nighthawk app doesn’t support d7000 for better parenting control, so it no better then the one I get from service provider, and also there is no support to ask any questions, it is just time and money waste

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for $300.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices5 devices
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AyeAyeNet

AyeAyeNet

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is so perfect... You can live without it!! Don't touch it with a barge pole even if its free!

published

This product has great specs that really sell the item as a potentially good performer.
The so called "Genie" stinks of Apple Genius!! Believe me... it stinks!! Takes forever to load and then provides you a limited service that even when it does eventually load it has built in limitations that make you wonder... WTH?!!!
By the way - I have not been offered any reward for the review, and would prefer some else in my shoes does not make the same mistake.

Purchased in October 2019 for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
PaulC

PaulCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

One Day Owner

published

Purchased this for only one day and had to return. Due to constant disconnection when login into the setting. I have to agree with Faz that this is not worth my time. Frustration as I have been a customer of netgear for past 5 years.

Purchased in May 2020 for $298.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices2 devices
See all answers
Faz

FazSydney, NSW

Buy another router!

published

Constant wifi drop out. Randomly won’t take password. Reset at times will make it impossible to get back on wifi connection. Avoid this unit at any cost. Not worth it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jonathan Cajepe

Jonathan CajepeCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worth the money!

published

Very satisfied with this modem/router,it provides excellent fast reliable internet.Looks very cool with the three transmitters!Got in on sale at Officeworks and its worth the money,would buy again and recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 at Officeworks for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
abatage

abatageMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Can't handle anything above basic functions

published

Setting up the router took a few tried before it connected, but once it did, it maintained a stable connection okay. The downside is that I run a number of NAS devices that need a static IP on the network - this router has the option to assign IPs to known devices, but after building the table, it just decides NOT to work and assigns random IPs without any relation to the table I just built. After a lot of googling I find that this is a common problem and I will be quickly replacing it with something that actually works.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Sub par device at a premium price

published

Started out as a pretty reliable modem and slowly degenerated from there over the period of 3 years. It started initially booting certain devices, mainly Apple, off of wifi. A firmware upgrade fixed this. Then came the lockups. At first it would need power cycling once a week. Present day we're rebooting it once a day. Many other owners have the same unresolved issue. What a terrible product. Avoid.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices4 devices
Modems

Find out how Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Honest Reviewer

Honest ReviewerSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Lightning fast internet

published

It's quite expensive. But well worth it. This router paired with my NBN service provides lightning fast internet to all my devices with a huge coverage throughout my house.
Haven't experienced a single dropout while using it.
Easy set-up too.
Definitely recommend.

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jason Lie

Jason LieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst router ever purchased. Do not support this company

published

Worked fine for the first 6 months, then the disconnections and intermittent failures start occurring. Conveniently netgear only gives you 90 days after purchase support otherwise they want to charge you even if it's their product at fault. Read only comments and forums and you'll see it's a very common issue and everyone hates this thing. Given up using this as my main router and just use it as an access point. Even that, it drops off once a week and I need to reset it to keep it afloat. Piece of crap and never buying Netgear again.

Purchased in September 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dan G

Dan GSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Minor issues at first. Major issues over time.

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Don't waste for money

published

Does not work in Australia with Optus NBN - I have spent hours on the phone to Netgear and Optus just a big waste of time. No-one can solve the problem and JB HIFI deserve a boot up the bum for selling and recommending this product.

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
jay w.

jay w.Darwin, NT

Great Router

published

This is definitely a great buy! Had issues with our previous router and as soon as i set this one up (which was very easy btw) all the issues disappeared. Generally we have 2 people connected for gaming and 1 other person streaming and about 5 other devices always conneted and have had no issues at all.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Sougat R.

Sougat R.asked

is this is sensitive to crosstalk
?

No answers
Jordan

Jordanasked

Just purchased this and set everything up and it connected my phone to the wifi but no other devices seemed to want to connect, including ones that were connected by enthernet, tried everything it said but wouldnt work, thoughts?

2 answers
GJR
GJR

You may need new or updated (software) drivers in your devices that you want to connect via WiFi.
Usually if the device that you want to connect via WiFi has the WiFi facility built in, it will pick up the signal and all you have to do is use the password that comes with the Modem or NTU (NTU is a digital both ends modem) to pair the Modem - NTU signal to it.
I hope this makes sense. If you have more problems you could go to the shop you bought the Nighthawk from or ask for help from a local computer shop person.

EzyTalk
EzyTalk

Get your money back - I have had two units replaced under warranty and now the third unit has problems - right now I have no 2.4Ghz wireless and only 5Ghz works.... there have been many complaints about this unit. My 2nd unit lasted 6 months until the ethernet and wireless completely stopped working. I run a home business so I can't afford to keep sending back faulty units (at my expense I might add).... so for me it's goodbye Netgear and hello Asus.

AustinS

AustinSasked

i have nbn through optus modem which has port for the phone line. How do I connect the phone line in the netgear nighthawk d7000v2

1 answer
Rob
Rob

You don’t. It’s not supported with this terrible modem

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk modem router gives you WiFi speeds of up to 1.9Gbps, meaning it can endure huge downloads and HD streams without buckling under the pressure.
  • It has a dual core processor, strengthening wireless an WAN-to-LAN performance.
  • High-powered amplifiers, beamforming technology, and external antennas all work together to give the device excellent range and reliability.
  • You can manage it through the Netgear genie app through your PC or smart device, making monitoring and controlling your network a piece of cake.
  • It has a Gigabit Ethernet WAN port that makes it universally compatible with any Internet service provider.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers praised the range of the Netgear AC1900 D7000 Nighthawk, saying they had great coverage throughout their homes.
  • They also noted that internet speeds were fast, even with many devices connected to it.

Pain points:

  • Many reviewers found that the connection of the modem router was unreliable on both WiFi and Ethernet, as it would drop out and need to be reset frequently.
  • According to a lot of reviewers, Netgear’s customer support was unhelpful when it came to addressing a lot of the issues that users had with the modem router.
CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $328.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 50 x 285 x 185 mm
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36502458
  • GTIN12: 606449120486 and 790069424489

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.