??!
5 photos
Netgear AC1200 D6200

Netgear AC1200 D6200

MPN: 35905135
3.1 from 72 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
14
3 star
17
2 star
8
1 star
16

Melbourne Trav

Melbourne TravGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Quick, efficient and does the job

published

I'm not sure why this modem receives such poor review on here. I found it to be very reliable, reception was really good (much better than my old modem) and it is very easy to install and set up. It offer 5G network which is really fast and rarely goes down.

Purchased in January 2019 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Brian M.

Brian M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Overpriced, unstable and outperformed by $30 TPLink

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 16 devices
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
ModemNetgear AC1200 D6200
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Darikt

DariktGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Reliable modem/router

published

Bought second hand for $50. Never has any issues with the modem. My apartment is FTTN for NBN and this adsl is compatible. 1 bedroom apartment, so the coverage is good. Im not gaming so can’t really tell the different about speed. Stream hd, netflix, social media and all at the same time doesnt be the problem for this one.

Purchased in April 2017 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPTeleron NBN 12 (Bronze)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy

published

I purchased this router from JB HI-FI nearly two years ago and have not got one single complaint. The router was very easy to set up and its does very well holding up with todays internet speeds. I don't know much about technology but this router has a very sleek design but it seems to do well with multi devices connected.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Katrina Ball

Katrina Ball

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

had for a few years very happy

published

ive had this model of router for a few years now and it still holds up well with todays speeds. it has a nice, sleek design that fits in to any modern space. the netgear suite of apps makes it easy to link printers and computers together and share media

Date PurchasedMar 2013

Review collected in partnership with Netgear


S and A

S and ASydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Did the Job

published

Purchased when the standard modem given from isp wasn't doing a great job. Not the greatest speeds and support, but it does okay with multiple devices connected. Boot up speed was fairly decent. I did get a few dropouts now and again but nothing major, not sure if it was isp or modems fault as i didn't bother running the tests.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Djw

DjwGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do Not Buy - If the hardware fails Netgear will charge you for support - ARROGANT with it too

published

The router suddenly decided to allocate a strange IP address to my networked drive. Can no longer access the drive other than connecting it to my old router.

Don't expect any help from Netgear when the product fails they want to charge me - I should send them a bill for the time wasted in trying to sort out the problem and eliminating fault with my network drive.

Taking this router back for a refund and will never buy Netgear again.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Jorge

Jorge

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

It been nice and easy to use every day at the beguining it was like difficult but as soon as you learn to use it is really good and easy with my conexión and you going to be in love with this trust me it is a good router you can buying

Date PurchasedMar 2018
keith

keithTOWNSVILLE

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

is it the modem, or is it the NBN?

published

When it works its great. But then it stops, starts, stops, cuts in and out and drives you crazy. But Telstra have replaced it 3 times and each time it works for a while then starts doing the same thing all over again, so I really think the problem is with Telstra and the NBN, cause I've talked with other people exact same problem

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Good modem

published

This is a good modem. It worked efficiently and the wifi range had complete coverage throughout house (2 storey, 3 bedroom brick house). There were no dropouts and I never had to restart it.
Our internet was ADSL 2 Plus but this modem is NBN compatible. I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Excellent Improvement!

published

This router is a massive improvement compared to my last one. It is very stable and has a large range of connectivity. It requires resets every now and then, but definitely not very often. The WiFi has seen a great increase in speed especially with the 5ghz band and the capability it has with NBN. It is quite expensive however, definitely worth the upgrade!

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Alex

AlexMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Decent router that gets the job done

published

Purchased this a year ago and it does the job pretty well. We are running a ADSL line to it with no issue, and it has the ability to take NBN when that is run in our area. Sometimes the internet will drop out and it will take a while to reconnect, but this might just be the internet in our area. Not too sure!

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Dennis N

Dennis N

  • 3 reviews

User friendly, great.

published

Bought this product a few years ago and it is still working quite well but sometimes it doesn't. After a couple months of use, router needs a couple of resets to properly connect my devices. problems logging into the device numerous times, trying to set up port forwarding, seemed to keep dropping the settings every few days

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Nav

NavPerth

  • 4 reviews

Fairly decent

published

I've found this router works well and has been reasonably stable. It only requires very occasional resets, and has actually lasted longer than many of our previous routers already, which got fried after a few months. The WiFi is pretty fast with reasonably range. All in all pretty good. However, it is

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Alan

Alan

  • 4 reviews

Stable and extremely easy to set up

published

After the problems of the TP link Archer d7 that I was using, I purchased the netgear ac 1200 a couple of months and it has been perfect. All My 3 airplay devices connected seamlessly, the setup is very easy and download speeds are extremely stable. Using the 5ghz band is also very useful for the 6 devices in my home. Is expensive but recommended.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Adn

AdnSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Ok

published

I wouldn't recommend this product. After a couple months of use, router needs a couple of resets to properly connect my devices. Not sure if it's just my one that has an issue or the whole product line in general. Takes a couple of reboot sometimes as well. Otherwise, it's quite clunky as a reviewer has posted here.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Bob.C

Bob.CSydney

  • 4 reviews

Decent, easy to use

published

Bought this product a few months ago and it is working well. My internet was working very slowly so was looking to increase its speed. This was the solution, and it works! It's quite easy to use as well - simply follow the instructions and look at the lights that show up on the router.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Do not buy this product

published

Purchased 2 years ago, no warranty anymore. Last update failed, no access to router anymore. Try to reinstall firmware, given up after 3 hours. This product is rubbish. This problem is known by Netgear. It would by nice if Netgear will have a solution for this common issue. Purchased a different brand (TP Link), easy setup, no hassle.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Monners

MonnersThe Berra

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a fan

published

Not sure if it was an issue out of the box, but had problems logging into the device numerous times, trying to set up port forwarding, seemed to keep dropping the settings every few days, wasnt crash hot with connectivity throughout the house as other routers i have had, took it back and got full refund

Date PurchasedSep 2017

stuey

stueyVictoria, Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Works well enough and easy to set up

published

i needed a new router modem after my last Netgear died. I was reluctant to buy another Netgear product but this one was the best i could afford within my budget. We are a family of four and use it to connect smart TV for netflix, youtube on the kids iPad and general surfing on the net. It has been fine so far and the app is useful as you can turn off wifi remotely, view usage details and has parental controls. My only gripe with it is I think it's ugly and takes up a bit of space as it is basically a black A5 panel that sits upright, so easy to knock over.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Hobbo

Hobboasked

Where is the advertised WPS button?

No answers

bonnie

bonnieasked

hi I want to know if netgeard6200 is compatible with a vpn and if so is it easy to set up?

1 answer
jad81887
jad81887

Beyond my comprehension.
What I have : Wireless AC Adapter AC600 Dual Band Model No. A6100
Easy setup.
Box states : COMPATIBLE-Works with 802.11 a/b/g/n and ac WiFi routers
Try netgear website.


Lex

Lexasked

I bought netgear d6200 wifi dsl modem router last november 2015. Today 5th of dec 2016 the wi fi blue light is not working. Cannot connect to wi fi anymore... i have reset it already but still the same. What should i do? How long is the warranty of this product?

2 answers
stop the goats
stop the goats

The only thing l can suggest you might do, is to do a firmware update. This may fix the problem but it might also destroy your modem. If its the latter, you might then have a case to argue as your warranty will most likely have expired. Its not much help l know but its what l would do.

Under Australian consumer law you have rights to have the good/product repaired, replaced, or refunded for default you are protected. The time frame is termed as reasonable, so I am no expert, but depending where you bought it, you can return it since the warranties are extended under Australian law it depends on how long the item is expected to last certainly more than 13 months. I am not a lawyer just read up on ACL and go back into the store they cannot refuse you, also check your state's laws too. Better to go to the store if feasible, also you can update the firmware, but if after that you still are having issues better go to the store.


Get an answer from our members and Netgear representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.