??!
5 photos
Netgear AC1600 D6300

Netgear AC1600 D6300

MPN: D6300
3.0 from 44 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
13
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
15

John P

John PMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

It's easy to use, but out of date

published

I brought this router in 2012 because I needed a quality wireless connection. For its time it was a mid/high range modem/router that wasn't cheap. It has been serving me well since then and I don't see any real reason to upgrade to a newer model. Netgear last updated the firmware in June last year, so it's still relatively secure.

Sure, I could buy a newer model with better wireless for lower latency for gaming, or a faster wireless connection to stream 4K, but at this point it still works and the wireless is good enough for 1080p and Xbox Live. Would recommend if you can get it cheap.

Date PurchasedApr 2012

DrTrinh

DrTrinhVictoria, 3072

  • 4 reviews

Quality product at a reasonable price!

published

Good performer. Fast, steady, minimal dropouts. Easy to setup, quality aesthetics, can be found on sale occasionally at Officeworks, has 2.4G and 5G bands so if there is too much traffic on one, can connect to the other one. Range reaches up to ~30m at home for us so it's pretty damn good.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
wiraau

wiraauSydney

  • 4 reviews

Best home router

published

Supports both 2.4G & 5G WiFi which means no worries whether devices are old or new. Easy to set up and the interface is very simple and easy to navigate. More importantly, the security features are highly functional, and other features such as Parental Control and QoS work very well. This router has been the best and very recommended.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Jess

JessSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Simple and easy to set up

published

Set up is a breeze. Easy to manage and keep tabs on connected devices. Wireless range isn't the best, however the speeds are great and minimal interference with wireless connections. Only recommendation will be to install a surge protector as my first one had the LAN ports fail after lightning storm..

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Jason

JasonSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best one I ever had

published

Wanted to give 5 stars but as I haven't had so many other modem before, I gave 4 stars. But definitely so much better than other Netgear modems I had before. Stable, fast, wide range. Nothing to complain about. And I've had quite a few different modems at my office and this one is absolutely the better one any of I used. Solid and good modem. It's been 3 years and still does the best job, although my previous one died within a year.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Solomon

Solomon

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice little modem router

published

am happy with the performance since i bought this last year. i have downloaded the Netgear Genie app on my phone which you can play around with most of the settings which are available on web interface. Access control is the nice feature which you have control of the devices connected.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Jess S

Jess SAU

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So easy to set up and manage!

published

I love this modem. After our original modem that was provided to us by our internet provider broke we went out and bought this one. I set it up myself with such ease. I love that we can manage the modem via our phones using the app technology. You can reboot the modem, check what devices are using the network, access parental controls and even manage your password settings all through your phone! The modem is also very pleasing to the eye.
My husband and I are very happy with this purchase.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

PARMINDER SINGH

PARMINDER SINGHVIC, 3000

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for streaming videos

published

From the looks of it, the router looks amazing. It has a minimal and stealthy vibe to it. The router has an all-black construction and comes without detachable antennas that its beauty. Great for streaming videos. The sleek design looks quite attractive and you can comfortably place it anywhere. It supports the ADSL connections too, so one product for all your needs.

Also being the dual band you can have two separate network groups for surfing or connecting the devices, connect the external hard drive and make it your own cloud storage & access the same from anywhere . Router Could be manged and configured via netgear remote software.

Overall a great product but bit pricey compared to its features.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Nicho

NichoSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

its great

published

My Netgear router/modem is a really good product it gives great range for all my home WiFi devices and also allows extra ethernet ports so to have multiple devices plugged in at once. Only downfall as its starting to get on with age im finding i need to reset the device more often.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Mr D

Mr D

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Set and forget

published

Works well the wifi to other AC devices is fast. Signal strength could be stronger as it won't reach all rooms in my house... 20m and it drops off. I am currently only using it as a router as I have FTTP. Oh and the no areal design looks nice.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Jeffery

JefferySydney

  • 4 reviews

OK

published

Though there are many negative review for this modem router, I do found it OK. at least it does its job. I am satisfied with its signal. It did took some time to set up initially. But after that, it was working fine. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Rykke

RykkeVictoria

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A very good all round ADSL modem/router

published

The D6300 has proven to be a robust and versatile machine easy to setup and consistently very good at handling a range of devices both wired and wireless. Netgear is a strong innovative company when it comes to home network solutions. The other options from Netgear include Ready Nas Duo and power point extenders which I have both used without any problems and after sales service is no problem as well. All in all I would recommend Netgear products to anyone looking for a home network modem/router.

Date PurchasedJan 2013

Swanny

SwannyBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very decent router

published

Wireless is good quality, the user interface makes it extremely easy to set up. The black slate look also makes it rather good looking to have sitting in your living room and isn't so garish to look at. It's also pretty forward compatible by being ADSL2+ and NBN compatible. Compatible with 2.4ghz and 5ghz wireless bands as well.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

DGDunn

DGDunnAlbany creek

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

decent speed, drops off

published

I have this modem router for almost 4 years now (probably time for an upgrade) and I love the program that lets me easily change the password from my phone or computer (great for blackmailing stubborn children!) but it drops off randomly and it is very frustrating to have to keep turning it off and on when it happens.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Frankie

Frankie

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Better than D-link.

published

i have a 3 bedroom house and the internet was ADSL2 (fastest option available in my area) provider. I initially bought a d-link and it was the worst choice ever. could not even cover my bedroom.
This modem is much better, internet speed increased and coverage extended to my bedroom ok.
one little thing, not stable connection, the speed fluctuates during the day and not always fast. :(

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Vmac

Vmac

  • 4 reviews

Best Modem

published

This wifi modem covers a wide area for people who have a big house. It also has dual adaptors for people with lots of devices. I downloaded the netgear app and it comes with many features, from managing your data usage checking which devices are connecting. The modem has given me great internet speeds.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Result of transfer to D6300 from supplied unit.

published

The supplied router modem from Telstra is from the dark ages. They have in place situations that stop you doing modern procedures. I wanted to use a STATIC IP ADDRESS and there's would not work even after long hours on the phone to support. I got a D6300 and it worked from day 1.
The only problem is the service provider often try and make changes to the unit. I have to do a full reset of my network when they do it. It upsets many aspects including wifi. A TOTAL reset appears the only solution. They do not tell you when they do changes. They are a big headache. Ones who have problems a total reset could be the solution.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

gmack61

gmack61AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Affordable solution to home networking

published

I purchased this product about 2 years ago and have not looked back. We have a 3 bedroom steel framed house large loungeroom and the modem/router is at the opposite end of the house. The dual band 2.4 and 5 KHZ reaches to every corner with ease. You can pick up one at MSY now for $147. New, they were $300.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

yeohkt

yeohktMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap modem for backup - average quality but cheap router modem AC1600

published

if you use the netgear genuie, you actually will have access to a lot of advance function found on more expensive model. the parental control works well . the unit have average adsl sync speed, lower compare to billion but I get this unit for $150 about 2 years ago so can not complain.

support was quick for replacement (on the phone), did not select the quick next business day for $40, slow option arrived about 6 days via star track. not too bad.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Worst products ever

published

Im on my 3rd netgear modem and none worked as specified..
All hard to setup ..hours to weeks..
None stay working for long..
Called tech support australia and explained my problem and was asked for the model which i gave as d6300 and next thing they hang up ..
3 times in a row..
Will never buy netgear again ...
Bought a similiar price linksys and setup in minutes been working perfectly ever since

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Boatin

Boatinasked

Can I connect a phone to the D6300. I got rid of our landline and now only have internet line.

No answers

Overit

Overitasked

What if i don't want ADSL2+ built in?

2 answers

Overit,
Mate, the modem will work with just normal ADSL, but than my personal advice would be just to stay away from this modem

Overit,
Mate, the modem will work with just normal ADSL, but than my personal advice would be just to stay away from this modem as I had nothing but trouble with the modem and their so call tech support.


ro_dd

ro_ddasked

Please advise a good router (in Australia) which is reliable, easy to install and will speed up my streaming and downloading?Cheers Rowena

1 answer
Rodders
Rodders

Rowena,

There are a number of good routers in OZ it depends on how much you are willing to pay. For example you could pay $600 for the top of the range or you could pay $150 for a reasonable router. However there is no router that will actually speed up your streaming and downloading, that is all dependent on your service provider, the area you live in, the kind of service you have. I know people who have the NBN up and running and their speeds are slower than ADSLII for example with my Netgear(ADSLII) D6300 I am averaging 14MB/Sec download and 700kb - 900kb up depending on the time of day. The guy up the road is on NBN with one of the big service providers and he is averaging 8MB down and 2MB up and that is late at night when most others users are in bed. What you can do is a little bit of tweaking with your router which may give you a slight edge in speed. In your router setting uncheck the QOS box. When streaming get rid of all the non essentials running in the back ground, shutdown any non essential programmes, the more you can get rid of the bigger your bandwidth. The other problem you may have is other users doing the same as you or business in the same area doing web backups they all kill the bandwidth. (Just ask Telstra) hope this helps if only a little bit.


Get an answer from our members and Netgear representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $319.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac
DSL SupportADSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports2
Dimensions 77 x 205 x 255 mm
Weight0.65 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateSep 2012

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN12: 606449086843 and 606449086867
  • MPN: D6300

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.