See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Netgear? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Fast, stable connection

  • Far-reaching, consistent coverage

  • Simple to remotely manage

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (26)
  • Number of Connected Devices 12.5 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.7 (26)
  • Reliability
    3.6 (25)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.2 (26)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Benjamin N.
Benjamin N.
  • 2 reviews

Terrible product

published

Do not get this device if you have smart appliances. The inability of this device to switch easily between 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz makes setting up smart things a nightmare.
Our system also drops intermittently.
Expensive and worst than a cheap router.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dave P.
Dave P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Unhappy

published

I'm a field tech. I've successfully deployed many Orbi systems in the past and they've worked well.
The one I just packed back in it's box (AX1800) means I can't be recommend them again.
Yes, setup via a phone app is easy, but performance was varied, predominantly ordinary.

Purchased in June 2021 at Officeworks for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
John
John
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

AX1800 - finally an every household low cost wifi 6 mesh system

published

AX1800 - only had it a day but....easy setup, download an app and it guides you through what to do with no hiccups. wifi 6 and older devices seem to have slightly more snappy throughput. it maxs out at 1.8gb/sec but considering we are a small dwelling with around 14 devices and our download speed is around 80mb/sec, I don't think a faster orbi would be of any benefit. the satellite extends the range and reliability around our property. appreciate the app as it gives info on all devices connected, wifi signal strength, band etc. without having to logon to some obscure IP address on a computer. The units themselves are not too big or ugly so won't upset your partner.

Purchased in May 2021 for $328.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Orbi compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
normand
normandMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Out from the box faulty. Replaced survived 4 months. Service crap

published

First unit faulty from the box.The second unit stopped working after 4 months. Called support- surprise I had to pay $240 for them to talk with me. After 16 hours of oan over the phone with India it has determined the unit is faulty. Replacement next day an other $40 dollars. Never arrived. Return to the shop and replaced with Google WiFi.

Please do not touch

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
FURIOUS
FURIOUSGippsland, VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

BUY SOMETHING ELSE

published

At first these worked ok but after a couple of years they have become useless. Also their claims about coverage are total nonsense. Netgear support have given me new settings to try but still useless.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Do Not Waste Your Money

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David M.
David M.Hunter Region, NSW

Do Not Buy, Causes more issues than it solves

published

The fact that you cannot turn off the 5ghzt network means you are unable to connect to many smart devices. This makes the orbi unusable in a lot of instances.

Purchased for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rob F.
Rob F.Canberra 2600, ACT
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A good product until you want to use the features most purchase it for.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
B Dyson
B DysonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Netgear Orbi RBR10 (router + 2 satellites)

published

Usually networking stuff is tricky and you hit headaches in setup. I found this brilliant in comparison. This model just hooks into your existing modem, runs through an easy configuration setup and away you go.
I’ve purchased network extenders before that I would have sworn were just an LED inside an empty box (ie they didn’t help coverage at all) but after a number of years my whole family is finally wrapped with the result.
I can’t give this product a bigger rap than just saying it’s easy & it works.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Orbi compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sacd
sacdSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very reliable however units quite physical big

published

Using the RBR50 + Satellite was by far the best wifi solution I’ve had for our large 2 story home. Nothing else was ever as reliable for speed and connection. The remote management tool for iPhone is fantastic - really good if you’re having to help less techy family members remotely. You can even turn individual devices off that are accessing the wifi.

It’s certainly expensive and the units are quite physically big. But it works! Not a single hiccup in a year.

Ps oddly both the satellite and base ended up quite close to each other to get the best result - maybe 15m away. I was expecting they would need to be far apart to work best, but somehow it does the job!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Geoff Costello
Geoff CostelloPerth, WA
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Capable and Flexible, can be complex to setup

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robbie
RobbieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent!

published

I needed a mesh router and decided for Orbi RBK50 mostly because the dedicated backhaul(wireless or wired). This is the key difference with other products like Nest Wifi. In my case the Orbi router is in the garage while the satellite is upstairs connected by wire. It's enough to cover a 36 squares house with 5Ghz WiFi. Also wifi extends outdoor with no problem using the 2.4Ghz. On Amazon I also found wall brackets for it.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $538.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Daniel
DanielSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

RBK50 took us From 22mbps to 48mbps on a NBN50 plan

published

Before we got the orbi we just used our Exetel supplies modem. We always had issues with drop outs and speed. Never approached anywhere near the 50mbps on wifi.

We got the orbi RBK50 kit for $508 as it had been opened previously and wasn’t “fresh” stock. Once home I used the satellite to link our tv PS4 and Apple TV into the satellite. This improved out Netflix and gaming issues.

All other devices on wifi now have great coverage in the house and routinely get 45+mbps on wifi. Game devices (PS4, switch) have much improved pings also.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks for $508.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
VV
VVMelbourne
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome product Orbi RBK50 + Satellite

published

I replaced the standard Sagemcom F@st 3864 v3 supplied with Optus NBN with Netgear Orbi RBK50 + 1 Satellite unit. Never had any problems; easy setup, fast speeds, instant connection, awesome wireless range. Very happy with the quality and overall product.

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Squirrel
Squirrel
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable, unstable and tedious

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Orbi compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Gisbornecherries
Gisbornecherriesasked
Orbi

Internet speeds here are poor 0.1 to 2 mbps. We use a nighthawk m2 modem. It is the only way we can access the internet here. An Orbi 4GX router with satelite has been sugested as a possible solution to faster internet speeds. I am doubtful because I think the problem is with the overloaded tower. Can any one shed further light on this please.

2 answers
John
John

first test your 4g speed with a 4g phone

Dave P.
Dave P.

Orbi or any similar semi mesh system won't improve your internet speeds. These are determined by your connection to your RSP. It's a wifi solution which might help fix dead spots within your home.

bretta
brettaasked
Orbi

Hi, I have a fibre connection at home, with a Tp-link Archer C7 modem/router, how do i connect up a Orbi RBK50 2pc set to it? Do i have to disable the 2 and 5 ghz wireless connection on the C7? Thanks.

1 answer
Geoff Costello
Geoff Costello

If you gave Fibre to the premises NBN, that has an Ethernet port in the house. So it’s Easiest to replace the Archer C7 with the Orbi Router, otherwise the two wifi setups will fight and you will have two routers back to back.

Debbie T.
Debbie T.asked
Orbi

Hi everyone. I'm looking for a mobile internet hotspot device (don't know what it's really called). I travel permently so fixed line no good. Need to attach several devices (5 give or take). What would you suggest I buy? 1. Mobile
2. Best reception
3. High speed
4. Can connect with Galaxy 9 & Xbox & Microsoft laptop & iPhone.
5. Telstra internet
I'm really lost and need your advice. Thanks

No answers
See all Netgear Orbi questions

Get an answer from our members

Netgear Orbi

Details

Features:

  • Netgear’s Orbi uses tri-band mesh WiFi technology, giving you the fastest available internet speeds on all devices.
  • Netgear advertises the Orbi as providing you with steady WiFi that doesn’t leave you walking around the house looking for a reliable internet connection.
  • You can easily set up and manage your Orbi via a mobile app.
  • Parental controls let you filter content and manage the screen time of your kids, giving you peace of mind that they’re safely browsing.
  • It features Netgear’s Armor built-in anti-virus and data theft protection, so you know your data is secure and you’re protected from cyber threats.
  • You can buy an Orbi that suits the size of your home, so you’re not paying for a range you don’t need. You can also buy add-ons to expand the range - a great option if you’re planning on moving around a bit.

Points of praise:

  • Many reviewers said that setting up the Orbi went without a hitch, and that it was simple to remotely manage the system on their phones.
  • They reported that their internet speed was excellent and stable.
  • Most of them also said that it had far-reaching and consistent coverage.
  • Some gaming reviewers noted that they had improved pings when using the Orbi.
Compare all 3 Netgear Orbi
CategoryRouters and ModemsRouters and ModemsRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $649.00
Frequency BandTri-Band (2.4GHz, 2 x 5GHz)Tri-Band (2.4GHz, 2 x 5GHz)
FeaturesMesh Compatible and Mobile App ControlMesh Compatible and Mobile App ControlMesh Compatible, Mobile App Control and Parental Controls
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Number of USB 2.0 Ports4
Number of USB 3.0 Ports4
Smart Home CompatibilityAmazon Alexa and Google AssistantAmazon Alexa and Google AssistantAmazon Alexa and Google Assistant
Dimensions 203.2 x 162.56 x 78.74 mm
Weight0.88 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual, manual 2, manual 3, manual 4, manual 5 and manual 6Download manual, manual 2, manual 3 and manual 4Download manual
Compare all 3 Netgear Orbi
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.