??!
3 photos
Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P

Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P

MPN: 35915771
3.6 from 40 reviews

Reviews

3.6

40 reviews
5
(14)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (10)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7.5 devices (6)
  • Ease of Setup
    3.3 (8)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.9 (8)
  • Reliability
    2.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Thomas

ThomasSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Unreliable wifi

published

I bought this router for my NBN, and was predominantly for the Disney Circle feature. This router has no ability to connect directly to the NBN (no modem built in). So I have to keep my telstra NBN modem/router. As a result I have 2 wifi networks in my house. To get the kids internet controlled by Circle, the kids have to connect to the Nighthawk. So this Circle parental control is completely flawed by design!! It’s a bit like protecting your house from burglar by locking up the windows, but leaving the backdoor completely open.
Additionally, This router keeps on breaking up. I know because if I attach to the telstra wifi/router, it’s still operational. So the NBN is still going but this router fails to broadcast.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Died after 2 years

published

All of a sudden no wifi and ethernet LEDs were not lighting up despite being plugged in. Multiple reboots and factory resets achieves nothing. Netgear support pages are useless. For a router that's expensive as hell I would expect it to last.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Explorer

ExplorerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best NBN modem at a better price

published

Not very often dropouts, one of the best nbn compatible modem available in market.
Very good wifi connectivity with dual bandwidth.
Netgear also supports free customer care calls for support

Purchased at Umart Online for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gambit

GambitSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Has a mind of its own!

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Danny

DannyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Disappointed. "Router" has no modem & misleading Parental Control functionality.

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Simon

SimonVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Router - Terrible user software

published

Great router for WiFi strength and multiple devices. However, has anyone at Netgear set up one at home? They would quickly discover that their App and install guide are terrible. How can such a large company produce an installation App like this? A first year IT student could do a better job.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Taing

TaingMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

This router keeps dropping out

published

This has got to be one of the most frustrating routers i have ever owned. I read reviews that its one of the best but the wifi keeps dropping out. Tried changing loads of settings on it, but it just keeps dropping out. It seems like lots of people are having the same problem with it. Frustrating.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
pinky

pinkyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

good one

published

im happy with this netgear products which im using is very excellent,for daily im suing the wifi for tv and netflix and amazon primes .i dont reset modem everytime im using from longtime it has better connection so far ,jus one thing noticed in night times ,becasue my router in bedroom i can see lights very bright .but anyway im adjusting it with some stuff to lights off.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Constantly drops internet connection, even after factory reset, reconfiguration, and replacement.

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Routers

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aussieniks

aussieniksSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent router for NBN

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Online store for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Tommy

TommyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Excellent product

published

the netgear nighthawk really does what the package says. I've had no trouble setting it up and it was very easy with technical instructions and online help as well as help via the phone if i needed it. we are surprised by how powerful this router is and it can go through many walls and still be strong.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
RoelNiek

RoelNiekPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Smooth Operation for More Than 4.5 Years

published

Purchased this to replace ASUS and has been very satisfied. I connect media server, phones, TV's, PC/laptop, appliances, etc without any issue. Streaming HD material is smooth. Setting up this router is very easy with friendly quick guidance. Support is also satisfying, I got regular updates from Netgear. So far it's keeping up well with my newer gears (mostly running latest version of Windows and Android). I rarely have it frozen but I regularly restart it whenever I feel it get slower or when new updates uploaded.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
WILLIAM

WILLIAMPARRAMATTA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Significant signal increase

published

It provides significant increase in signal strength. I get full coverage in my 3 bedroom apartment. However, the wifi seems unstable sometimes and went offline 6 times so far (in 5months). It could also because of the wifi interference with other residents or incorrect band setting. My NBN service provider could the reason as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Piston3

Piston3Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Reach. Solid Performance

published

We have a largish house and I got exceptional reach with this - absolutely blows away the old d-Link we had. I wouldn't describe set up as easy but I Googled everything I didn't know and there were plenty of instructional videos showing the way. I literally cannot remember the last time I had to restart, it it very solid. Recommended product!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Neil Robins

Neil RobinsSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Faulty Product

published

Purchased a Nighthawk and after just 7 months it crashed. I spent 4 hours on the phone to them as they tried to fix it. Eventually they agreed that the product needed to go to the tip. A week later I received a replacement Nighthawk for no charge. However just two months later the New Nighthawk has also died and when ringing their tech support they wanted $50 to start the process of looking at a fix. Here goes more hours on the phone. What a joke! And as this replacement box was provided directly from the manufacturer I can not take it back to the store I bought it from for warranty. Stay away from this faulty product!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Routers

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam P

Sam PMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

For those who value features, this router is all you need.

published

I use this router with the Advanced Tomato open source firmware. Amazingly powerful, allows us to prioritise bandwidth between things like youtube and netflix, and lower priorities of large downloads, which enables us to make the most of our slow internet connection. Great range, and fast 5GHz networking makes wireless backups to a NAS happen quickly.

Very happy with this router. Hasn't missed a beat.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Robert

Robert

  • 5 reviews

10/10, would Recommend.

published

This is an amazing router. It is easy to use, has great range in a big home. Can be a bit slow updating and the UI could do with a facelift. The ability to turn off the LED lights is a nifty feature. It looks awesome to boot. I would strongly recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
MightyJosh

MightyJoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic Router

published

This is an amazing router. It is easy to use, has great range in a big home. Can be a bit slow updating and the UI could Deo with a facelift. The ability to turn off the LED lights is a nifty feature. It looks awesome to boot. I would strongly recommend.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

No regrets!

published

Love it!

NETGEAR Nighthawk R7000P AC2300 Wireless AC2300 Router is very fast and reliable. It's quite expensive but definitely worth it.

Recently purchased it and have had no issues, whatsoever.

One downside is it's larger than your standard router but other than that, it's perfect.

If you're in the market for one of these bad boys, I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
AKY

AKYSydney

  • 4 reviews

Fast and reliable

published

This router was bought to replace the abysmal router that was bundled with a new internet connection.

The WiFi is fast and very reliable, have not had any dropouts or any other issues. The range was about double that of the bundled router.

Almost all our devices are connected to it (6 phones, several laptops, couple of TV's), and it handles them all with ease.

It's quite large, so make sure that there is room for it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

colin k.

colin k.asked

is the nighthawk ac2300 router nbn compatable

No answers
Anni

Anniasked

I have a Netgear D7000. Excellent since buying 3 years ago. I want to keep it toconnect to NBN. The only issue is that there is no VoIP.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

No answers
Jess.Bonifacio

Jess.Bonifacioasked

Where to buy & how much in Sydney?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.