??!
3 photos
Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P

Netgear Nighthawk AC2300 R7000P

MPN: 35915771
3.9 from 34 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
13
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
5

Taing

TaingMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

This router keeps dropping out

published

This has got to be one of the most frustrating routers i have ever owned. I read reviews that its one of the best but the wifi keeps dropping out. Tried changing loads of settings on it, but it just keeps dropping out. It seems like lots of people are having the same problem with it. Frustrating.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

pinky

pinkyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

good one

published

im happy with this netgear products which im using is very excellent,for daily im suing the wifi for tv and netflix and amazon primes .i dont reset modem everytime im using from longtime it has better connection so far ,jus one thing noticed in night times ,becasue my router in bedroom i can see lights very bright .but anyway im adjusting it with some stuff to lights off.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Constantly drops internet connection, even after factory reset, reconfiguration, and replacement.

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
aussieniks

aussieniksSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent router for NBN

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Tommy

TommyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Excellent product

published

the netgear nighthawk really does what the package says. I've had no trouble setting it up and it was very easy with technical instructions and online help as well as help via the phone if i needed it. we are surprised by how powerful this router is and it can go through many walls and still be strong.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

RoelNiek

RoelNiekPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Smooth Operation for More Than 4.5 Years

published

Purchased this to replace ASUS and has been very satisfied. I connect media server, phones, TV's, PC/laptop, appliances, etc without any issue. Streaming HD material is smooth. Setting up this router is very easy with friendly quick guidance. Support is also satisfying, I got regular updates from Netgear. So far it's keeping up well with my newer gears (mostly running latest version of Windows and Android). I rarely have it frozen but I regularly restart it whenever I feel it get slower or when new updates uploaded.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

WILLIAM

WILLIAMPARRAMATTA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Significant signal increase

published

It provides significant increase in signal strength. I get full coverage in my 3 bedroom apartment. However, the wifi seems unstable sometimes and went offline 6 times so far (in 5months). It could also because of the wifi interference with other residents or incorrect band setting. My NBN service provider could the reason as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Piston3

Piston3Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Reach. Solid Performance

published

We have a largish house and I got exceptional reach with this - absolutely blows away the old d-Link we had. I wouldn't describe set up as easy but I Googled everything I didn't know and there were plenty of instructional videos showing the way. I literally cannot remember the last time I had to restart, it it very solid. Recommended product!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Neil Robins

Neil RobinsSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty Product

published

Purchased a Nighthawk and after just 7 months it crashed. I spent 4 hours on the phone to them as they tried to fix it. Eventually they agreed that the product needed to go to the tip. A week later I received a replacement Nighthawk for no charge. However just two months later the New Nighthawk has also died and when ringing their tech support they wanted $50 to start the process of looking at a fix. Here goes more hours on the phone. What a joke! And as this replacement box was provided directly from the manufacturer I can not take it back to the store I bought it from for warranty. Stay away from this faulty product!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sam P

Sam PMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

For those who value features, this router is all you need.

published

I use this router with the Advanced Tomato open source firmware. Amazingly powerful, allows us to prioritise bandwidth between things like youtube and netflix, and lower priorities of large downloads, which enables us to make the most of our slow internet connection. Great range, and fast 5GHz networking makes wireless backups to a NAS happen quickly.

Very happy with this router. Hasn't missed a beat.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Robert

Robert

  • 5 reviews

10/10, would Recommend.

published

This is an amazing router. It is easy to use, has great range in a big home. Can be a bit slow updating and the UI could do with a facelift. The ability to turn off the LED lights is a nifty feature. It looks awesome to boot. I would strongly recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

MightyJosh

MightyJoshQueensland, 4504

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic Router

published

This is an amazing router. It is easy to use, has great range in a big home. Can be a bit slow updating and the UI could Deo with a facelift. The ability to turn off the LED lights is a nifty feature. It looks awesome to boot. I would strongly recommend.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

No regrets!

published

Love it!

NETGEAR Nighthawk R7000P AC2300 Wireless AC2300 Router is very fast and reliable. It's quite expensive but definitely worth it.

Recently purchased it and have had no issues, whatsoever.

One downside is it's larger than your standard router but other than that, it's perfect.

If you're in the market for one of these bad boys, I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

AKY

AKYSydney

  • 4 reviews

Fast and reliable

published

This router was bought to replace the abysmal router that was bundled with a new internet connection.

The WiFi is fast and very reliable, have not had any dropouts or any other issues. The range was about double that of the bundled router.

Almost all our devices are connected to it (6 phones, several laptops, couple of TV's), and it handles them all with ease.

It's quite large, so make sure that there is room for it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Dan H

Dan HStrathfield

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent modem

published

The modem is great for future proofing the house. We live on a two level townhouse and the device has great speed over wireless. I have added a NAS to it (synology 418play) to back up files. Sweet at choosing 5ghz band and has a feature to turn off the flashing LEDs which are very distracting

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Gabriel

GabrielWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Super fast with no slow downs

published

Good set of features but we use it in a pretty vanilla sort of way to manage our wireless network and have it hooked up to our NBN. We have over 16 devices connected at any time and i've never had any network issues between them. We've had ISP issues but this router has been flawless. The only downside I have about it is it's size, its not exactly inconspicuous but this is not huge deal.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Pheven

PhevenSydney

  • 4 reviews

Beast of a modem

published

I bought this modem when my last one bit the bullet, this is a beast of a modem. connectivity to the LAN is unwavering and fast, signal strength strong. Maybe too strong - when I leave for work; I walk out of my unit, walk down two flights of stairs then walk about 30 meters to the road where I still get 2 bars of my wifi.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Adam M

Adam MGold Coast

  • 3 reviews

Excellent performer once set up, mediocre web interface

published

I have had this router for about 2-3 years now. It is excellent as a router for both wired ethernet connections and wireless connections. I would not recommend trying to plug a USB hard drive into it, as numerous drives had stability issues and it just isn't worth it. Also, making virtually any change to the router's settings on the web interface requires a full reboot, which takes about 1-2 minutes.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Jasony0617

Jasony0617melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Not a bad router

published

this router is quite expensive, but it’s pretty good, there are alot of features and pretty good speed, the guest network and the restrictions are pretty useful, 5ghz wifi is good for a croweded wifi space. but i just coudn’t get the app to work away from the network in the app.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

bovely

bovely

  • 26 reviews
  • 13 likes

Used to be good router

published

I have used it for 3years and It was good until a week ago. It finally died without any hope.

The first problem was from Netgear team support, very poor support for updated firmware, never solve the wifi speed issue with the latest update whatever how you connect the support team.

I avoided updating with old firmware until it's LAN port out of working. Have tried the reset, power off, put it on different ports (all of 4), none of them works anymore. USB port died more early too.

Overall, quite disappointed with this brand and product. Just purchased a new different brand (Asxx)to try the luck.

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jess.Bonifacio

Jess.Bonifacioasked

Where to buy & how much in Sydney?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Netgear representatives

Details

CategoryRouters
Price (RRP) $298.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed2,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Smart Home CompatibilityAmazon Alexa and Google Assistant
Dimensions 50 x 285 x 184.5 mm
Weight0.75 kg
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35915771
  • GTIN12: 606449099829 and 606449106886

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.