1 photo
Nissan Pulsar N15

Nissan Pulsar N15 (1995-1999)

4.6 from 24 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nissan? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.6
24 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    Billy
    BillyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

    Bullet proof engine absolutely outstanding longevity perfect runaround car.

    published

    Had this car for the last 5 years from my boss who sold it to me for $150 . cost $600 to put it on the road done now around 300Thous clicks been through Hell and Back I mean everywhere from city to Bush to high country even some 4wd tracks and its absolutely bullet proof. Just give it the old 10km yearly service and You can't go wrong I mean it will not disappoint you and never let you down .
    I use it to work and it's a definite investment for cost savings very cheap to run .

    Indestructible

    published

    Bought one of these many years ago with 86000 km on the clock, it had nearly 350000km when I bought a brand new sss C12, not even 2 years later the cvt in the c12 has gone, so back into the n15 I went and never looked back! Not made like they used to be, much better than the newer models that are all plastic and not well made

    BodyHatch
    BadgeSSS
    Engine Size2.0L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedSept 2004

    Other Hatchbacks

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    skipy123
    skipy123
    • 2 reviews

    Perfect car!

    published

    It was my first car in Australia once came here from overseas and I replaced nothing on it. Indestructible engine and very fun to drive. A bit thirsty once you put your pedal on it, but ok at low speed. I missed the cruise control and and sixth gear. This car from Nissan is an amazing car.

    BodyHatch
    BadgeNS
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedMar 2005
    Linda C
    Linda CAU
    • 6 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great first car

    published

    Bought it second hand and had no issues whatsoever with the car. Great first car purchase. Economical and cheap to service and run. Never had an issues and would recommend to all. Spacious boot. Would only wish it opened up like a hatchback and hence the ability to put in furniture.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedMay 2000
    Hatchbacks

    Find out how Nissan Pulsar N15 compares to other Hatchbacks

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Josh
    JoshHobart, TAS
    • 13 reviews

    Good reliable daily drive

    published

    Still runs well, cheap to run and getting around the 200k clicks mark, but despite this it still is fine.
    Wish people would stop denting it though haha. Would recommend given the price range. Only bad thing is they are the most stolen car in Australia (but that's what insurance is for I guess).

    BodySedan
    BadgePlus
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJan 2014

    Was the perfect car until the end..

    published
    BodyHatch
    BadgePlus
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJune 2005
    Ramez
    RamezMelbourne
    • 26 reviews
    • 19 likes

    Awesome - Autech version 2.0L

    published

    I've owned two of these. Good power. Reliable. Easy to work on. Not many in the roads. For my second one, I stripped off the side skirts and the wing, so not being too loud to look at.
    My second one had a few mods, making it a sleeper.
    Plenty of fun.

    August 11th 2018 Update: Bullet proof

    Purchased a 1996 model with 150K on the clock in 2012.
    It was the Autech version with lumpy cams.
    Had a few mods on it. Was in pristine condition.
    Drove a lot better than my MB with 100K on the clock, and more reliable too.
    Low maintenance as per most Japanese cars.

    BodyHatch
    BadgeSSS
    Engine Size2.0L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedMay 2013

    Related Articles

    Previous
    Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

    A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

    Cameron S.
    Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
    our-latest-expert-car-reviews
    Next
    Paul
    PaulAU
    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great economical and powerful care.

    published
    BodySedan
    BadgeST Plus
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedApr 2012
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    Paul
    Paul
    Paul
    Paul
    Paul
    Paul

    Other Hatchbacks

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Carmen
    Carmenmelbourne

    Best Car! I don't think it will ever die!

    published

    I bought this car in 2009 and have just reached 300,000km! It's been such an awesome car and I think it's still valued at almost what I bought it for!
    The only thing I really hate about it is that it gets quite loud going fast on the freeway so I can't use hands free for my phone because I can't hear!
    I've had almost nothing go wrong with it except to replace a wheel bearing. Apart from that it just keeps going! It's fast for a small old car, turns well, easy to drive and I probably won't replace it until it stops working.
    In terms of fuel. I get about 400km per tank.

    BodySedan
    BadgePlus
    TransmissionManual
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    Hatchbacks

    Find out how Nissan Pulsar N15 compares to other Hatchbacks

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Awesome car

    published

    Wow driving experience great, my 1998 n15 Nissan pulsar is still going strong, I am the only owner and have done 428000ks. Best car ever thanks Nissan. Have travelled a lot in the car never broke down, very reliable. I will keep driving it till it stops. My brand new car.

    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    TransmissionManual
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol

    Great Super reliable car

    published

    I have owned two N15 Nissan Pulsars. The first one I had for 6 years and got it too three hundred thousand plus k's and It never game me an issue. I should also mention I took really bad care of it and it still kept on going. Amazing engine. The automatic is a smooth ride but it has little power.

    I would personally go with the Automatic after owning both man and auto as the Auto is a much much smoother ride.

    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic

    Other Hatchbacks

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Dale S M
    Dale S MBundaberg

    Perfect run-about, great in every way

    published
    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Hatchbacks

    Find out how Nissan Pulsar N15 compares to other Hatchbacks

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Kdawggy
    Kdawggy
    • 16 reviews
    • 10 likes

    Brilliant first car

    published

    Loved this little hatch. Very practical interior with folding back seats. No issues for 4 years until it hit 200k that's when everything went wrong. 5g worth of repairs then ended up selling it for 700. All four gas struts, distributor, starter motor, Steering rack boots, cv boots, brake rotors, Rear driveshaft support bearings and Gearbox seal all failed in a one year period. Other than that I loved the way it drove and handled, Very refined. Well I got 70 thousand ks out of it so I wasn't disappointed.

    BodyHatch
    Badgelucino jj 4wd model
    TransmissionManual
    mrmixem
    mrmixemACT, 2617
    • 11 reviews
    • 1 like

    SSS Just keeps going

    published
    Engine Size2.0
    TransmissionManual
    BodyHatch
    BadgeSSS

    Best first car and it will be my last

    published
    BadgeLX
    Engine Size1.6
    TransmissionManual
    BodySedan
    See all Nissan Pulsar reviews

    Questions & Answers

    King K.
    King K.asked
    Pulsar N15 (1995-1999)

    How do u reset the airbag light on 95 Nissan pulsar

    No answers
    Don hampshire
    Don hampshireasked
    Pulsar N15 (1995-1999)

    N15 pulsar can I get the radio code from the vin with out pulling the radio out?

    No answers
    nandana g.
    nandana g.asked
    Pulsar N15 (1995-1999)

    What is the colour code for 1996 Nissan pulser car(silver colour car)

    No answers
    See all Nissan Pulsar N15 (1995-1999) questions

    Get an answer from our members

    Nissan Pulsar N15 (1995-1999)

    Details

    Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar
    CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
    Starting Price $21,690
    TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
    Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
    Fuel TypePetrol
    Wheels14" Alloy
    Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km
    Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L
    Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L
    Max Power86kW @ 6000rpm
    Max Torque147Nm @ 4000rpm
    Country of ManufactureJapan
    Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
    Release dateJan 1995
    Discontinuation dateDec 1999
    Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.