??!
37 photos
Nissan X-Trail

Nissan X-Trail

T31, T30, T32.I, T32.II
4.0 from 346 reviews

Reviews

(148)
(104)
(46)
(30)
(18)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (33)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (32)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (33)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (33)
  • Handling
    3.9 (33)
  • Braking
    4.2 (33)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (28)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (33)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (33)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (33)
  • Features
    4.0 (33)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (33)
ANDY ANDERSON

ANDY ANDERSONMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good car but .. A nuisance problem

published

4x4 2012 134 kms, daily use, car has a flat spot, the car dies for a couple of seconds when accelerating, ok of a lot of pedal is used. Two dealers no comp faults.

Purchased at NISSAN for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kerry

KerryFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

2012 T31 2.5 petrol CVT XTrail. Great vehicle.

published

Was getting the famous throttle lag until I installed an iDrive unit at $299. Will spin the front wheels if you go too hard on take off. 6 throttle settings to cater for on/off road conditions. Made such a difference I then fitted one to my wifes Corolla to counter the throttle lag in it.

Purchased in March 2016 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kristy

KristyPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Absolutely love this family SUV

published

Love the spedometer, displays the speed in large digital format. Great fuel economy with co2 stop/start saver function, very sturdy body and feel safe while driving, nice quality interior. Great rearview camera and I adore the foot brake convenience! Perfect family SUV for a small family. The only complaint I have is that it has no in built GPS but not the end of fhe world.

Purchased in July 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ali

AliSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great car!!

published

I am so happy we brought this car second hand from Nepean motor group! Its so smooth to drive, feels safe, easy to park and great size for our family of 5!
We have 3 car seats that fit comfortably across the middle row, plus the option of the two extra seats in the back.

Purchased in December 2018 at Nepean Motor Group for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Whitscar

WhitscarGippsland, VIC

Air con gone and not covered by nissan

published

I have had this car since brand new kept up all servicing etc with Nissan. I complained two years into having the car that the air con kept cutting out but they tested it and said it was fine. Now had the car 3 years and air con gone again and surprise Im now out of warranty and not covered.
Nissan want to charge me for a diagnostic report, but I dont trust them based on the previous service on the air con.
I will never buy a Nissan again which is a shame because I loved my car.
Its comfortable and great to drive but not so great when its hot and I have three going kids in the car crying from being too hot.

Purchased in March 2016.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Xtrail dangerous to Dogs

published

Rear floor compartment on a 5 mth old Xtrail cant handle two dogs eg Golden Retrievers. The material bends, dislodges and drops the dogs into the hidden compartment. Complained to dealer who advised me he knew exactly what I was talking about as he had fallen into the hidden compartment of another Xtrail the day before. No offer to fix, just note. Totally upset now that my 6yr old dog on her way to be put to sleep fell into the compartment screaming in pain. Its useless and given Nissans incompetence I intend to cut a sheet of chipboard into shape. Clearly used cheap materials to save fuel consumption.

Purchased in July 2019 for $26,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
husain

husainGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Love my car.. Love the interior and exterior. But could be better

published

Great car for a family. Had some issues with automatic breaking software which got serviced. Overall never had any issues. Parking sensors and 360 degree cameras make life easy for wifey.

Purchased in November 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $360,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Simple, reliable, cheap - second time XTrail purchaser

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $25,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Olive

OliveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new car..very spavious..excellent both interior & exterior

published

Hubby uses it to drive to work. I mostly drive it weekends. A perfect family car with lots of boot space, leg room and 2 seats to open whenever family or friends visit. Loved it. A perfect car both economical and fabulous looking..

Purchased in November 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Underrated all-rounder

published

Basic, but fantastic for around town or on long trips. Can easily fit 3 carseats across the back row, and the boxy design means the boot can be filled to the gills. Wipe down boot surface and what more can you need? Our growing family of 5 had 6 and a half outstanding years and 118,000kms in that car - so good, that we traded it in for a brand spanker. Glad we don't need more than two car seats in the new ones though - the fanciness of the new model has cost some interior space!

Purchased in January 2013 at Nissan Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

just bought it two weeks ago

published

family transport,use it two three times a day not far distances and ive noticed it burns oil, do i replace motor or fix it.Havnt taken it to my mechanic yet.

Purchased in October 2019 at Fowels Auctions and sales.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
johnemv

johnemvMERIMBULA

Ths sad truth - AC system and no responsibility by Nissan.

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers
Gentleman

GentlemanAU

  • 8 reviews

Good and reliable

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wayne

WayneMurray Mallee, SA

Lovely soft roader

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jules J.

Jules J.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Excellent!

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Von Bibra.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tran

TranSydney

  • 2 reviews

11l/100km city driving

published

My Nissan X-trial 2012 2wd and 2.0L The car has lot of space and perfect for camping and comfortable highway driving . However average fuel consumption around the city 11l/100km, That is a bit too high .

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Liss R

Liss RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect family car

published

We have owned this car for about 8 months and I can’t fault it. We have a baby and a toddler and their seats fit comfortably in the back and an adult can sit between them (although it’s a bit cramped). The boot is huge and the telescopic back seat means we can choose between more boot space or more leg room depending on what we’re doing. I struggle to live without the 360 degree cameras in my other car now. A very comfortable and quiet drive and strong enough to tow a trailer. My only small gripe is the GPS system seems to send you on long and strange routes but I just use my iPhone map connected by Bluetooth.

Purchased in November 2018 at Cricks Noosa.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nathan V.

Nathan V.Sydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews

SUV X Trail [The Game Changer]

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ScottyP

ScottyPNSW, 2256

  • 14 reviews

2005 X-Trail T30 Series II - Under-rated and often overlooked little workhorse...sometimes older is better

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Leanne C

Leanne CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best decision I've ever made

published

This car is perfect for my everyday needs and has all the bells and whistles the boot space is amazing and it is a pleasure to drive I'm totally impressed

Purchased in May 2019 at Motorama Nissan Hillcrest for $36,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Ryan H.

Ryan H.asked

T32.I (2014-2017)

My AC was not cycling so I changed my AC thermostat and it's still not cycling off its running continuously. Why? Does it have a electrical AC box controlling the thermostat?

1 answer
micheal
micheal

common problem with AC in all the later model xtrails they all had AC problems dont know if Nissan actually did anything about it.

Robert C.

Robert C.asked

T30 (2001-2007)

What is the rattly noise in cabin fan motor?

2 answers
bill bayley
bill bayley

the fan motor rattling they all do it the only way to stop it is to pull it apart & spray it with wd 40

josh
josh

just that the cabin fan motor

Pete R.

Pete R.asked

T30 (2001-2007)

I have a 2002 T30 X Trail and on the front control arms the rear bushes are cracked, I need to know if the bush holder that bolts on to the body with two bolts can just be slipped off and the holder from my parts car slipped on

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.