??!
37 photos
Nissan X-Trail

Nissan X-Trail

T31, T30, T32.I, T32.II
4.0 from 343 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
146
4 star
103
3 star
46
2 star
30
1 star
18

Ali

AliSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great car!!

published

I am so happy we brought this car second hand from Nepean motor group! Its so smooth to drive, feels safe, easy to park and great size for our family of 5!
We have 3 car seats that fit comfortably across the middle row, plus the option of the two extra seats in the back.

Purchased in December 2018 at Nepean Motor Group for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Whitscar

WhitscarGippsland, VIC

Air con gone and not covered by nissan

published

I have had this car since brand new kept up all servicing etc with Nissan. I complained two years into having the car that the air con kept cutting out but they tested it and said it was fine. Now had the car 3 years and air con gone again and surprise Im now out of warranty and not covered.
Nissan want to charge me for a diagnostic report, but I dont trust them based on the previous service on the air con.
I will never buy a Nissan again which is a shame because I loved my car.
Its comfortable and great to drive but not so great when its hot and I have three going kids in the car crying from being too hot.

Purchased in March 2016.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Xtrail dangerous to Dogs

published

Rear floor compartment on a 5 mth old Xtrail cant handle two dogs eg Golden Retrievers. The material bends, dislodges and drops the dogs into the hidden compartment. Complained to dealer who advised me he knew exactly what I was talking about as he had fallen into the hidden compartment of another Xtrail the day before. No offer to fix, just note. Totally upset now that my 6yr old dog on her way to be put to sleep fell into the compartment screaming in pain. Its useless and given Nissans incompetence I intend to cut a sheet of chipboard into shape. Clearly used cheap materials to save fuel consumption.

Purchased in July 2019 for $26,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
husain

husainGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Love my car.. Love the interior and exterior. But could be better

published

Great car for a family. Had some issues with automatic breaking software which got serviced. Overall never had any issues. Parking sensors and 360 degree cameras make life easy for wifey.

Purchased in November 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $360,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Simple, reliable, cheap - second time XTrail purchaser

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $25,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Olive

OliveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new car..very spavious..excellent both interior & exterior

published

Hubby uses it to drive to work. I mostly drive it weekends. A perfect family car with lots of boot space, leg room and 2 seats to open whenever family or friends visit. Loved it. A perfect car both economical and fabulous looking..

Purchased in November 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Underrated all-rounder

published

Basic, but fantastic for around town or on long trips. Can easily fit 3 carseats across the back row, and the boxy design means the boot can be filled to the gills. Wipe down boot surface and what more can you need? Our growing family of 5 had 6 and a half outstanding years and 118,000kms in that car - so good, that we traded it in for a brand spanker. Glad we don't need more than two car seats in the new ones though - the fanciness of the new model has cost some interior space!

Purchased in January 2013 at Nissan Dealers for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

just bought it two weeks ago

published

family transport,use it two three times a day not far distances and ive noticed it burns oil, do i replace motor or fix it.Havnt taken it to my mechanic yet.

Purchased in October 2019 at Fowels Auctions and sales.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
johnemv

johnemvMERIMBULA

Ths sad truth - AC system and no responsibility by Nissan.

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers
Gentleman

GentlemanAU

  • 8 reviews

Good and reliable

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wayne

WayneMurray Mallee, SA

Lovely soft roader

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jules J.

Jules J.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Excellent!

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Von Bibra.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tran

TranSydney

  • 2 reviews

11l/100km city driving

published

My Nissan X-trial 2012 2wd and 2.0L The car has lot of space and perfect for camping and comfortable highway driving . However average fuel consumption around the city 11l/100km, That is a bit too high .

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Liss R

Liss RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect family car

published

We have owned this car for about 8 months and I can’t fault it. We have a baby and a toddler and their seats fit comfortably in the back and an adult can sit between them (although it’s a bit cramped). The boot is huge and the telescopic back seat means we can choose between more boot space or more leg room depending on what we’re doing. I struggle to live without the 360 degree cameras in my other car now. A very comfortable and quiet drive and strong enough to tow a trailer. My only small gripe is the GPS system seems to send you on long and strange routes but I just use my iPhone map connected by Bluetooth.

Purchased in November 2018 at Cricks Noosa.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nathan V.

Nathan V.Sydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews

SUV X Trail [The Game Changer]

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ScottyP

ScottyPNSW, 2256

  • 14 reviews

2005 X-Trail T30 Series II - Under-rated and often overlooked little workhorse...sometimes older is better

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Leanne C

Leanne CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best decision I've ever made

published

This car is perfect for my everyday needs and has all the bells and whistles the boot space is amazing and it is a pleasure to drive I'm totally impressed

Purchased in May 2019 at Motorama Nissan Hillcrest for $36,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

dino

dinoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Surprisingly Brilliant!!!!

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Xinliang w.

Xinliang w.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Poor quality car

published

I bought this demo Nissan X-Trail 2019 Ti model just over 3 months ago from a Nissan Dealer. Now all cams are not working. All buttons in car are completely dark at night. Never trust Nissan again.

Purchased in April 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mike

MikePerth

  • 2 reviews

Fuel consumption was not as good as expected

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Mandeep

Mandeepasked

I have Nissan Xtrail 2015 . When I drive this car noise come from the front wheels and after that I changed the 2 front hubs but noise still there , its like something grins its very annoying

No answers

Andrew B

Andrew Basked

Does the Nissan X-Trail 2013 have a mother board?
We had the air bag light come on and had it fixed by the Nissan dealership. Whilst we were at the dealership they said that we additionally had a callback on the air compressor, so we decided to have it replaced, to which they said it needed new brakes and drums as well. So, we had those serviced too by the Nissan dealership. However, now the anti-skid light frequently flashes and solidly remains light-up constantly. Henceforth, we had taken it back and they tried to correct the problem but have thus far failed, to which Nissan states that they have never encountered this problem before. Interestingly, they have demonstrated how to switch off the anti-skid bakes manually, and since the service we also have no radio display or radio channels. Furthermore, they now tell us that they have no codes coming up on there diagnostic system to fix said problems. So, can anyone tell us if they've had this problem and how they've fixed it?
Regards, AB.

2 answers
bill bayley
bill bayley

Your only getting the problem because Nissan has no idea what they are doing they "fix" 1 thing & fu*k another then "fix" that problem and so on Knowing Nissan they have probably deactivated the anti skid & . its showing a solid light because Its NOT working. If the system is deactivated it WONT show up on their diagnostic system. If they changed the brakes & drums that more than likely has something to do with it. & they probably also stuffed around with wiring when they were "fixing" the air bag the apprentices do the work & they are not supervised. Its not a common problem with Xtrails the problem is caused by Nissan themselves. By the way they shouldnt need a code to fix it. Have you checked all the fuses & relays?

hammerhead
hammerhead

typical Nissan They havent got a clue nissans are good cars If you dont let nissan service them Its nissan who creates the problems in the 1st place. they dont know what they did to create the problem & cant fix it.


David69

David69asked

Our 2014 xtrail which we brought brand new has started making a ticking noise on start up, not when driving. Noise from speedometer. We have been quoted 2000 to fix it. Has anybody else had issue? Car regularly serviced and only 64000 kms.

8 answers
bill bayley
bill bayley

is it diesel or petrol or turbo?

David69
David69

Its just a petrol model

David69
David69

We took it to the dealership they rang Nissan..its the speedometer some bushes wearing out making the speedometer needle make the noise we have to pay $800 and Nissan will pay the rest got quoted $2,000 to fix . They are going to fix it on their good will .. we got a phone call yesterday


Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.