??!
37 photos
Nissan X-Trail

Nissan X-Trail

T31, T30, T32.I, T32.II
3.9 from 360 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (44)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (42)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (43)
  • Braking
    4.2 (43)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (37)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (43)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (43)
  • Handling
    3.9 (43)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (43)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (43)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (43)
  • Features
    4.0 (43)
Previous
Next
Timeywimey

Timeywimey

  • 2 reviews

36000km and catastrophic failure of electronic control module

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Automatic transmission died.

published

I bought a brand new 2011 Nissan X Trail always serviced every 10,000kms by a highly rated qualified mechanic. Immaculately clean and well looked after. Then I was shocked as my transmission died while I was driving. This happened only 7 years later in 2018 and the car had only 127,000 km on the clock. It left me out of pocket $3,000 to replace the transmission with a second hand one. Extremely disappointed.

Purchased in June 2011.

BoughtNew
Year2011

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Achi

AchiSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car. But build quality is average

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deepak K.

Deepak K.North Western Region, NSW

Great car but faulty aircon

published

Aircon stops everytime in an hour while driving. Not enough air diffuse in that time. So frustrated. Need to turn off the ac for 5 minutes and turn on again to get some cold air. Mine is a 2014 ST model. Car is great and spacious interior.

Purchased for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Taylor

TaylorSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant

published

We needed a new car as our old Mazda 3 was getting tired.... Most cars similar to the Mazda 3 are now very small so we went for a SUV. The X-trail ticks all the boxes. Reasonably priced, large boot, lovely interior and just the right about of features. The car is used for commuting and is the main family car on the weekends and it is perfect for our needs. I am not a big car lover, don't need anything fancy. But this one is the nice amount of fancy for someone like me.

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
See all answers
Steven

StevenSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

It literally fell apart!

published

My parents bought a brand-new X Trail in 2011. This car was immaculately looked after. Driven like an old man, kept incredibly clean inside and out, it was serviced before it’s due dates… nine years later, that’s right just nine years later, the transmission explodes. I’m only leaving this review because my dad takes such pride in what he owns and he looks after his things so incredibly well and it broke my heart to see him have to go through the stress and anxiety of having such an expensive machine simply fall apart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
Joe Bloke

Joe BlokeWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Another CVT failure...

published

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mike small

Mike smallSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely rubbish

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
LizB

LizBNsW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love love love my car!

published

I traded in my 18 month old Pathfinder for my xtrail as the Pathfinder was too big for my now single parent family. The xtrail is absolutely perfect for me as I'm generally the only one in it but when my teens are with me, there is still room to relax. We've taken the car to Victoria and I had an extremely comfortable & fuel efficient trip to QLD last year. Car hasn't skipped a beat and Nissan Service have just been beautiful to me.

Purchased in April 2019 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Riz B

Riz BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great Spacious Car

published

I use the car to commute to work as well as family transport. The Xtrail is great with plenty of space and leg room for both driver and passengers. The ST has all the basic tools, if you would like a bit more accessories then its worth to invest int he ST-L. We bought our Car from Brighton Nissan, Jimmy did his absolute best to help us with the car as well as Chris, Niraj and Antonio. I would definitely recommend Nissan Brighton.

Purchased at Nissan Dealers.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
See all answers
David s

David sGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not bad but could be better

published

I also have issues with Drivers seat , when its done 30 kms. Clicking noise and a small play , when acclerating and Breaking. I replaced Driveres seat Rail under warrenty. Now comes back again also problem with temperature gauge showing 4 degrees higher constant hood vibranting and heater noise.. would i buy another it would have to have a major update

Purchased in December 2016 for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah W.

Sarah W.North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

The greatest car I’ve driven!!

published

It’s a family car for us, so comfortable to drive. Seats are amazing. Great for long trips. I’ve never felt so safe in a car. Great price compared to other similar cars.

Purchased in October 2019 at Nissan Dealers for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Xy guy

Xy guyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 39 reviews
  • 27 likes

Ok mechanicals.

published

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bigmike62

Bigmike62Darling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bullet proof mechanicals.

published

I was an owner of a 2013 xtrail TL diesel. Absolutely brilliant SUV. Bullet proof mechanicals. Good on fuel. Spacious and has some luxury. These t31 last of run models are a very good buy if you can find one. Only sold it because of not needing a SUV anymore.

Purchased in November 2019 at Motors tasmania for A$19,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ANDY ANDERSON

ANDY ANDERSONMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good car but .. A nuisance problem

published

4x4 2012 134 kms, daily use, car has a flat spot, the car dies for a couple of seconds when accelerating, ok of a lot of pedal is used. Two dealers no comp faults.

Purchased at NISSAN for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kerry

KerryFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

2012 T31 2.5 petrol CVT XTrail. Great vehicle.

published

Was getting the famous throttle lag until I installed an iDrive unit at $299. Will spin the front wheels if you go too hard on take off. 6 throttle settings to cater for on/off road conditions. Made such a difference I then fitted one to my wifes Corolla to counter the throttle lag in it.

Purchased in March 2016 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kristy

KristyPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Absolutely love this family SUV

published

Love the spedometer, displays the speed in large digital format. Great fuel economy with co2 stop/start saver function, very sturdy body and feel safe while driving, nice quality interior. Great rearview camera and I adore the foot brake convenience! Perfect family SUV for a small family. The only complaint I have is that it has no in built GPS but not the end of fhe world.

Purchased in July 2019 at Nissan Dealers for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ali

AliSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!!

published

I am so happy we brought this car second hand from Nepean motor group! Its so smooth to drive, feels safe, easy to park and great size for our family of 5!
We have 3 car seats that fit comfortably across the middle row, plus the option of the two extra seats in the back.

Purchased in December 2018 at Nepean Motor Group for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Whitscar

WhitscarGippsland, VIC

Air con gone and not covered by nissan

published

I have had this car since brand new kept up all servicing etc with Nissan. I complained two years into having the car that the air con kept cutting out but they tested it and said it was fine. Now had the car 3 years and air con gone again and surprise Im now out of warranty and not covered.
Nissan want to charge me for a diagnostic report, but I dont trust them based on the previous service on the air con.
I will never buy a Nissan again which is a shame because I loved my car.
Its comfortable and great to drive but not so great when its hot and I have three going kids in the car crying from being too hot.

Purchased in March 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Xtrail dangerous to Dogs

published

Rear floor compartment on a 5 mth old Xtrail cant handle two dogs eg Golden Retrievers. The material bends, dislodges and drops the dogs into the hidden compartment. Complained to dealer who advised me he knew exactly what I was talking about as he had fallen into the hidden compartment of another Xtrail the day before. No offer to fix, just note. Totally upset now that my 6yr old dog on her way to be put to sleep fell into the compartment screaming in pain. Its useless and given Nissans incompetence I intend to cut a sheet of chipboard into shape. Clearly used cheap materials to save fuel consumption.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$26,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Tara

Taraasked

T30 (2001-2007)

What year did the x-trails go from metal Timing Belts to plastic

No answers
Annette

Annette asked

T32.I (2014-2017)

Pipes in air conditioner freeze up and has not much air coming through on max air

1 answer
danny
danny

common Xtrail problem on the 2014-2019 models they nearly all had faulty air conditioners Nissan knew about it, & did nothing. some units units were manufactured in Japan they are ok no problem others were manufactured in germany they are the units that play up

ali a.

ali a.asked

T31 (2008-2013)

Hi everyone I have a 09 xtrail turbo diesel. Was driving fine. One day out of the blue it lost all power. The rpm won’t go over 2000 and it blows black smoke when reving on idle. and as soon as I put it in drive it will stall. the engine light and air sensor codes with diff pressure sensor code came up so I replaced the both of the sensors and cleared the codes. and now it’s giving me 8 more codes. And still having the same problem? Any help would be much appreciated! Local mechanic and dealerships telling me to replace all the sensors that the codes are giving but I’m sure that it will not do anything as the diff pressure sensor was not faulty to begin with but I replaced it anyways. Thanks :)

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 25 Nissan X-Trail
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$28,490A$30,990A$32,490A$32,990
TransmissionManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5575
Fuel Consumption8.2 L/100km7.9 L/100km8.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power106kW @ 6000rpm126kW @ 6000rpm126kW @ 6000rpm126kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 4400rpm226Nm @ 4400rpm226Nm @ 4400rpm226Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance210 mm210 mm210 mm210 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2017May 2017May 2017May 2017
Compare all 25 Nissan X-Trail

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.