??!
2 photos
Nivea Sun Protect & Moisture Sunscreen Lotion

Nivea Sun Protect & Moisture Sunscreen Lotion

1.9 from 112 reviews

Reviews

(14)
(8)
(5)
(7)
(78)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (11)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (6) · No (8)
  • Ease of Application
    2.9 (11)
  • Smell
    2.7 (10)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Tessa H.

Tessa H.

  • 3 reviews

They shouldn't be allowed to sell this product

published

Same story, was at the beach for 4 hours, reapplied after 3 with this 'SPF50', very sore and burned. This is the second time this has happened, first time I blamed myself. I'm going to look up reviews in the future.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers
Brooke

BrookeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely useless

published

I put a thick layer of this sunscreen on 30mins before going to the beach. We were there for 2 hours and I reapplied it another 2 times while we were there. IT DID NOTHING! It’s meant to be 4hrs water resistant!!!! It ruined my holiday and I need to take the next week off work to recover because I am so severely sunburnt. DO NOT USE!!

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Amanda G.

Amanda G.Sydney, NSW

How is this even in the shelves?????

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths for $13.00.

Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Nivea Sun Protect & Moisture Sunscreen Lotion compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RuthR

RuthRSydney

  • 3 reviews

Don't buy this

published

I applied this sunblock twice in a two hour period and still got badly burnt. I wouldn't recommend this product if you're pale. It gave no protection on a 32 degree day.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $8.00.

Value for Money
Kristy G.

Kristy G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

2 kids and I burnt despite multiple applications

published

Spent 5 hours outside and reapplied 3 times to both myself and both my kids. We are all so burnt and sore now. We left early and went home because I could see my legs and their backs were started to reddent. Such a crap product and a waste of money. Only bought this brand as it was on sale and learnt my lesson to never ever buy Nivea again. How does this past safety testing?

Purchased in January 2020.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Carmen T.

Carmen T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Absolutely DISGUSTING!!!! Does not work!!

published

I applied this sunscreen multiple times throughout the day of the 01/01/2020 and I still got absolutely burnt to a crisp... this is now the aftermath of this terrible sunscreen that is meant to be 50+ protection. I am embarrassed to go outside and be seen in public and I am in so much pain still and it's been 4 days after getting burnt. How on earth is this even on the shelves to be sold as sunscreen??? Please DO NOT buy this product especially if you are thinking of applying it on your children.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
See all answers

If I could give less than 1 star I would

published

Applied multiple times throughout day, after rinsing sand and salt first after a swim, in shade when not swimming whole family burnt badly. Throwing out all nivea products and buying a different brand. Utterly crap.

Purchased in December 2019.

Laura

LauraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Still got burnt

published

I used the trigger spray version of this. I applied it an hour before going into the sun & I still got burnt.. I was even in the sun around 2-3pm so the sun shouldn’t have been as harsh but thank god because I feel like I would have got burnt to a crisp otherwise.. so much for 50+ more like 5+

Purchased in December 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $13.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers

Not a suncreen! Don't buy or use!

published

Last summer I used this product and got burnt really badly. A few months on I forgot about my bad experience with this product and used it again for a day at the beach 3 days ago. I got burnt so badly again, I've been in agony and have spent $50 on aloe vera products & Disprin to help relieve my pain. (I reapplied the product with a friend's help to do my back 4times, but still got burnt!) I have a complete mistrust in the NIVEA brand now as a whole and will not purcase any of their products EVER again!
(Shot attached of my upper back, lower back was covered by one-piece swimsuit)

Purchased in February 2019 at Coles for $8.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Nivea Sun Protect & Moisture Sunscreen Lotion compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heidi

HeidiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible product- poor protection

published

Both my daughter and I burnt badly today using this sunscreen. It was 30 degrees outside. We applied the sunscreen 40 minutes before we went outside. Terrible product. I wouldn’t recommend it

Purchased in November 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $8.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers
Sam

SamSydney, NSW

No sun protection

published

This product did not give even 2 hours sun protection. I also received 2nd degree burns. This product should not be sold as a sun protection cream. Very disappointing Nivea

Purchased in December 2019 at Woolworths for $8.99.

Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
S nicole

S nicoleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic non greasy protection

published

Great nivea product to use to protect from the harsh Australian sun.
Loved the coverage. Was not easy, my skin just lapped it up. I know it did work as I did not end up a lobster.bwould definitely use again

Purchased for $8.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

This Product is Deadly! Warning!

published

We used this product yesterday no my wife has second degree burns!
It did NOT protect at all!
We spent more than 2/3 the time in the shade too!
We reapplied cream twice in three hours even though it said’ 4 hour protection”
Could not sleep due ti the constant agony!
This is disgusting!
Where did we go to get this matter looked into?
I had Melanoma removed a few years back so I’m angry as hell!

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles.

Causes Irritation Yes
Charlotte

CharlotteGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Did not do its job

published

I have been badly burned using this brand of sunscreen, despite reapplication every couple of hours or so, when others who used different brands were fine. I definitely would not recommend this sunscreen to anyone, especially those who are sweating or exercising.

Purchased in November 2018 for $12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Jasmin

Jasmin

  • 4 reviews

The worst sunscreen I have ever used.

published

Absolutely terrible sunscreen. I never usually burn from sun exposure due to being sun smart but even after several applications of Nivea sunscreen I have burnt badly while friends who used a different brand were fine. Definitely avoid this brand.

Purchased in February 2019 at Coles.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
See all answers
Sun Protection & Care Products

Find out how Nivea Sun Protect & Moisture Sunscreen Lotion compares to other Sun Protection & Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel N.

Rachel N.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

More like cooking oil than sun protection

published

Followed instructions, didn’t enter any water was out for a little over an hour just for a walk, and I am burnt red raw, so sore, don’t know how it’s lasted on shelves so long!!!

Purchased in January 2019 at Coles for $10.00.

Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No

Incinerated

published

This product nearly killed my partner and I. Layers and layers of 50+ that acted more like amplifying baby oil... we haven’t moved for days... where is the consumer watch-dog... I wish I had read this earlier.

Kels

KelsCanberra

Still burnt

published

I put the Spf 50 on today and I have the worst sunburn. What was the point of applying this if I got the same result.

Should be removed from shelves!!

published

This “sunscreen” is dangerous and should be removed from shelves. I am always very liberal when applying sunscreen, always reapplying every 1-2 hours even if the bottle says it lasts longer. I used Nivea’s apparent 50+ sunscreen and ended up with the worst sunburn I’ve ever had!!!

Kimbap

Kimbap

  • 4 reviews

Got burnt doesn’t work at all useless

published

This product should be banned it’s dangerous. Both me and a friend used it. She has very olive skin and I have medium skin we both got burnt quite badly being out in the sun only 1 hour.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Mia S.

Mia S.asked

this is the best suncream

1 answer
Brooke
Brooke

No do not use it. It will not protect you. I used it (reapplied 3 times in 2 hours) and was burnt to a crisp. Had to take 3 days off work. I now have scarring on my shoulders because of it.

John R

John Rasked

Some sun creams leave a stain on clothes, does this one ?

1 answer
Mia S.
Mia S.

no

Tam K.

Tam K.asked

Does it got heavy smell?

1 answer
Mia S.
Mia S.

no

Get an answer from our members and Nivea representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.