??!
1 photo
nlc
3.2 from 113 reviews

So Grateful for NLC

I have experienced great service from NLC and would go as far to say that they exceed my expectations. All communications are prompt and the customer support staff have always been friendly and helpful in resolving any issues or queries I throw at them. I am never made to feel silly for asking questions and information provided is understandable. I am very satisfied with my loan and recommend NLC to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
1 comment
Hi Trace, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Beyond terrible

The worst experience in the world even after proving they where taking the wrong Amount out they refused to take out extra causing a lack of funds in the account

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Car ModelToyota Prado J150
2 comments
Hi Adam, I'm sorry to hear of your experience. We are taking this matter seriously and are addressing this as a priority. Please email your full name, contact details and car registration to feedback@nlc.com.au so that I can arrange for a senior customer support representative to come back to you. Thanks, LucyHi Adam, as we didn't hear from you after our initial reply to your review, we therefore don't have enough information to be able to match your details with a record in our customer database. We welcome you to supply your best contact details to feedback@nlc.com.au so that we can get in touch. Thanks, Lucy

NLC - Terrible - Our company will look elsewhere...

Smooth pre-sales service if you can negotiate your way out of the "pre-ticked" "Insurance" items then you may actually get a good deal....

But...

After 2 years and NO CONTACT whatsoever from NLC, I got up at the crack of dawn to drop my car to the Dealership for service and received an EMAIL upon arriving at work stating that NLC would not cover the $300 costs of the service - despite my Maintenance provision being OVER $2000 in CREDIT - because no reconciliation of FUEL costs had been done for the last two years and my FUEL provision is now overdrawn.

The email DEMANDED that I agree to a new contract arrangement with further costs taken from my wages BEFORE they would release the Maintenance Provision (Again...$2000 sitting there for servicing) to cover the service costs at the Dealership.

Again, this is the FIRST I'VE HEARD from NLC in over 2 Years, all the while I've been charged "Contract / Maintenance / Establishment" charges of more than $700, apparently for "Lease Management Expertise"...

And what do I get for that $700? An EMAIL demanding me to alter Financial arrangements, to be agreed to IMMEDIATELY or they will not release my Maintenance Provision to cover the Dealership service!

WOW!

I'll be requesting a REFUND of the "LEASE MANAGEMENT" fees to date and ongoing, which have clearly not been employed in any useful fashion and also reviewing the legality of a Company demanding a contractual change, while my vehicle is on a lift at a Dealership, mid-service, with the threat of not covering costs unless I agree.

NLC, if you need to re-work arrangements with your Clients... As a first contact in 2 years with a Client - Don't EMAIL with demands? Don't DEMAND IMMEDIATE agreement to changes in Contracts with the threat to withhold money whilst the Clients vehicle is on the Dealership Lift, The Client hasn't done anything wrong and shouldn't be inconvenienced because of your poor "LEASE MANAGEMENT" expertise and non-existent follow up?

I am very disappointed.... I really wasn't surprised to see so many other POOR reviews about NLC...

Transparency
Customer Service
2 comments
Hi StillyWoo, I'm sorry to hear of your experience. We are taking this matter seriously and are addressing this as a priority. Please email your full name, contact details and car registration to feedback@nlc.com.au so that I can arrange for a senior customer support representative to come back to you. Thanks, LucyHi StillyWoo, we have tried to reach out to you, but have not been able to get in touch. Our Team Leader left you a voicemail and if you would like to continue this, we welcome you to return the call. Thank you, Lucy

Don’t expect any customer service once NLC has your business locked in

I have been leasing a vehicle with NLC for 4 years and not since the start of the lease have they provided anything more than the most basic of customer service. I would agree with the comments of previous customers who have had the unfortunate experience of being a NLC customer for any length of time. NLC budgeting of my account has been woeful. Their initial budget for my vehicle had my account balance over budgeted many thousands of dollars. Not once in those years did they ever re-cost my account. After contacting NLC, I eventually got my account re-costed (their service at the time was woeful but was happy that at least I thought they had now budgeted correctly). How wrong I was! I have now been overdrawn on my account for over 12 months. I have been watching my account and expected my account to move back into debit. NLC’s budget of my account is now overdrawn by $1,600. To rectify this situation I rang their ‘customer service’ and requested yet another re-costing of my account (how many times does it take to get a simple budget right?). I was told that they would get back to me that day or the following day. It is now more than a week later and I have sent an email, made further phone calls, requested to speak to a supervisor and have not received any return response from NLC. Not any acknowledgement, no re-costing, no phone call from a supervisor, it is like you don’t exist once NLC have hooked you into the lease. I am due to re-lease another vehicle in the coming year and will definitely not consider NLC if this is an example of their customer service. If an NLC representative will finally contact me to discuss these issues (as phone calls and emails don’t seem to get them to contact me to sort out this issue), my rego is; 1EV6SA

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan Start DateJuly 2015
Car ModelMazda BT-50
3 comments
I have now tried to get some response from NLC via; phone (over a week ago), by email (4 days ago), again by phone (2 days ago) and via online on this site (24hours ago) and still no response from NLC! All I want is some customer service and reading through the reviews where customers have been with this company for some time, it would appear that it may be some weeks or months before NLC bother to contact me! If you weren’t sure whether to hand over your hard earned money to this business, have a look at all their reviews - half of which score 3 or less of over 100 reviews over a a number of years is hardly something to hang your hat on?2 weeks since my initial phone call to NLC to ask for a re-costing on my account - 7/8/19 (plus the other phone calls, emails, etc) and still NO response from anyone at NLC. Looking through their 'glossy brochure' that you get when you first begin your lease, it has a section on 'Budgeting' (p.9) where it states; "In some instances, your novated lease account may become overspent ... If this continues to occur, we will contact you to arrange a recosting of your novated lease budget. NLC has a contractual obligation to your employer to monitor all employee balances and minimise overspent amounts". It would appear that NLC staff haven't read their own information, where it is their obligation to contact me (not the other way around when I have been overspent for practically 12 months) and they are obviously breaching their '... contractual obligation' to my employer by not monitoring my balances and minimising my overspent amounts.Hi Joka, I am sorry to hear of your experience. Thank you for providing your details and registration. I have followed this up with a senior member of our customer support team and he will get in touch with you as soon as we have investigated this on our end and can provide an update on this matter. Thanks, Lucy

Seamless, straightforward process.

From initial inquiry to receipt of my new car and the subsequent follow up support, the process of organising a novated lease with nlc was smooth and fuss-free. The consultant assigned to me was super-professional, friendly and responsive, and his colleague who covered his leave was similarly so. Everything was explained in detail over several phone calls, and the (not insignificant amount of) paperwork was easy to understand and navigate. My only suggestion is to have fillable pdfs for busy professionals so they can complete them 'on the run' rather than having to print them out, complete them, scan them and email them back. Otherwise: it was a really excellent service and experience all round.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeLine of Credit
Loan Start DateAugust 2019
Car ModelHolden Astra
1 comment
Hi Sara, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience and thoughts on how we can optimise your customer experience. Happy motoring! Thanks, Lucy

Great service. Excellent packaging.

Hands down the best of the three novated lease options. Service was above and beyond and the flexibility in packaging is what won my business. Happily recommend to others. Best of the three major providers by far. Thank you To Hayley and Terrance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
1 comment
Hi Maha, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with the team, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Excellent sales process

I changed from another company and have been extremely happy with the sales process. I collect my car in two days' time. The sales rep was Dylan Bonanno​ and he provided exemplary service. I look forward to leasing my new car through NLC.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
1 comment
Hi Jeanne, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Dylan, happy motoring! Thanks, Lucy

Excellent Customer Service

There were unforseen delays with my car settlement, due to my employer changing their business name whilst my car settlement was in progress. To add to the mix, we were departing on an outback trip where service was going to be quite limited, and my contract needed to be resigned. Nicole Davidson stayed on top of the issue and updated me frequently, and pushed my contract through. The service Nicole provided was outstanding, of which I feel management should be made aware of. Thank you again Nicole, for your excellent customer service, and a very satisfying outcome.

Marji Ponsford-Thompson

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Car ModelFord Ranger
1 comment
Hi Marji, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Nicole, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Terrible service and misleading sale practice

The sales process was great. They did not hesitate to under quote to get you to buy in. I have not used my car as much as they estimated but my account has gone overdrawn because they under estimated the annual service fee which is the most easy item to estimate.

Transparency
Customer Service
1 comment
Hi Gary, I am sorry to hear of your experience and would like to review the matter as a priority. Would you kindly email me your contact details including your car registration number to feedback@nlc.com.au so that I can arrange for a representative to come back to you. Thanks, Lucy

Great leasing company

This is my second lease with NLC and the service has been consistent with both leases. Alex was fantastic with swapping my old lease car and upgrading to new one.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Car ModelRenault Koleos HZG Life
1 comment
Hi Chanelle, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Alex, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Worst. Lease. Ever. STAY AWAY FROM NLC!

If only zero stars were an option.
This experience has become progressively worse and led me to the conclusion that I would advise people to (1) Never take out a novated lease (2) Never take out a novated lease with NLC if they had to take a lease (I had no choice because I needed a vehicle for work and this was the only option I had given the restrictions for my car allowance)
Of course, like any company about to get a major payday from securing your business - they were great through the beginning of the process - very helpful with guidance on the paperwork right through to getting the car delivered.
Unfortunately, the actual costs are a serious rip-off (multiple mysterious costs in addition to a very high interest rate) and they don't do everything they say they will.
When the registration on my vehicle was due, they didn't tell me and allowed the registration to lapse which resulted in me driving around without my vehicle registration. Furthermore, when I called to check on my registration, they told me that it was too much of a hassle for them and I should just get it on my own. The only reason I found that the registration had lapsed was because I had to change jobs (& therefore lease companies) and the new company needed the registration. I ended up having to pay it on my own (it's supposed to be paid for by the lease company) and couldn't get reimbursed because they had closed out my account.
The whole point of a lease is that they "take care of everything" (which is how they advertise their business) and this crucial piece of the puzzle - the registration renewal - was simply neglected by NLC.
In addition - they are near impossible to reach on the phone - if the line is busy, it simply tells you to leave a message and disconnects you - they don't even let you wait in line on the phone.
For the love of all that is holy, STAY AWAY FROM NLC!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeSplit
Loan Start DateJune 2018
2 comments
Hi Keith, I'm sorry to hear of your experience, we are taking this matter seriously and are addressing this as a priority. So that we can identify you in our database, please email your car registration and contact details to feedback@nlc.com.au so that we can review the details and come back to you. Thanks, LucyHi Keith, as we didn't hear from you after our initial reply to your review, we therefore don't have enough information to be able to match your details with a record in our customer database. We welcome you to supply your best contact details to feedback@nlc.com.au so that we can get in touch. Thanks, Lucy

I had the pleasure of dealing with Nicole and she was an absolute gem!

Nicole helped me find a car that suited my needs. She was always on hand to answer any of my questions.

I’ll definitely be passing her name on if any colleague or friends choose nlc.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
1 comment
Hi Jesse, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Nicole, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Great initial customer service

Guru's customer service was great. Kept me in the loop and answered all my questions. I'm looking forward to picking up my car. My only disappointment was finding out that the fuel card would take 3-4 weeks to receive in which I would need to pay for fuel during that time. Just assumed [obviously incorrectly] that the fuel card would be available within a week [postage time]. Hopefully that is the only issue.

1 comment
Hi Kate, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. Apologies for not receiving your fuel card sooner. I've shared your review with Nicole, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

After some initial deliver issues were resolved they were customer focused and rectified things

Some issues with delivery, communication breakdown which was resolved. They were reasonable to deal with and when I wasn't happy put in effort to rectify outstanding issues. In the end we have worked out a compromise to the issues

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Car ModelHyundai Kona OS Elite Kona AWD, 1.6L Petrol, Automatic
1 comment
Hi Nigel, I'm sorry to hear of your experience, it sounds less than ideal. I have escalated the matter as a priority. A representative will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Thanks, Lucy

Fantastic customer service

I could not recommend Guru more. The proffesionalism he showed throughout the whole process was commendable. He constantly stayed in contact and kept me updated with where the lease was at.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Car ModelMazda 2 DJ GT Automatic
1 comment
Hi Natalie, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your great review with Guru, happy motoring! Thanks, Lucy

Great start

Just signed up to a lease. Really good service from Joslyn Kent. Hopefully after-purchase service is the same standard!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
1 comment
Hi Kathy, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Joslyn, enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Before purchase - Perfect. After purchase - Total Crap. Overall - Below Average Exprience.

I have leased 2 cars from them as they were the default option from my company. The before purchase experience was almost perfect and seamless, [name removed] was great to deal with and was helpful throughout the purchasing process and I am very happy. Then once I started dealing with the administration and insurance teams, it was a rather lengthy and frustrating process. Customer service was virtually non-existent and I had to email several times before getting non-satisfactory responses and this process repeated for several months for one particular query and still not completely resolved. For the amount I am paying them for 2 cars, I honestly expected a lot more in terms of customer service and shouldn't be this difficult. So on balance, although the purchase process was great, having to deal with the customer service for several years brings me nightmares so I would stay away.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2016
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
3 comments
Hi Sportivo, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Sorry to hear that this has been your experience on this occasion. We're always keen to find out ways we can improve; if you would be happy to chat with one of our team members, please email your contact details to feedback@nlc.com.au Thank you, LucyHi Sportivo, unfortunately we don't have enough information to be able to match your details with a record in our customer database. Again, if you would like one of our team members to contact you, please supply your details to feedback@nlc.com.au so that we can get in touch. Thanks, LucyHi Lucy, I have emailed feedback@nlc.com.au and my issue has been resolved. I also received a call from NLC which I appreciated. Thanks for following up.

Seamless

I could not recommend both Nicole & James in getting our paperwork together, looking out for us financially and continued customer communication every step of the way.

A very positive experience and would definitely recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Car ModelVolvo XC40 T5 R-Design
1 comment
Hi Marie, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've passed on your review to your consultants, happy motoring! Thanks, Lucy

Thanks for your support, its been great

Chris Browning was exceptional in his courtesy, knowledge and reliability, the NLC service was great and Chris was able to answer all my queries promptly. The arrangement was tailored to what I wanted without pressure to conform. Thanks heaps

Transparency
Customer Service
Timeliness
Loan Start DateMay 2019
Car ModelMazda 3
1 comment
Hi AMM, thank you for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Chris, happy motoring! Thanks, Lucy

Awesome

Justin Barbuto has made this whole experience so simple and easy.
Was able to answer all my questions within a very prompt time frame.
Thank you so much for your professionalism.
Great job Justin

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton
1 comment
Hi Joanne, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. I've shared your review with Justin. Enjoy the new car! Thanks, Lucy

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Is there an establishment fee for the nlc account? What other fees does nlc charge?
1 answer
Hi John, thanks for your query. Fees (i.e. Establishment or Administration) are based solely on employer arrangements. We will be more than happy to discuss fees associated to your employer if you would like. Please let us know of a contact number and preferred time-frame and we will be more than happy to follow up with you. Alternatively, please feel free to contact us on 1800 652 652 to discuss in further detail. Thanks, Lucy

Hi, I have already signed a lease, and only just stumbled on this review site....hmmmm i must say mixed, its either good or bad. Up until now, NLC have been great. I am about to submit a claim for reimbursement of rego so I hope im not waiting 1 month to a year to be reimbursed, hahahaha.
1 answer
How did you go? Want to know if you still have a good experience?

What is the NLC early termination policy to upgrading to a different vehicle with NLC? Current lease is only 5 months old and its a 60 month Term. I had a chat with NLC consultant this morning and I was told, that I have to pay remaining lease term + 3 additional payments. Is this is correct?
1 answer
Hi there, A payout figure is inclusive of our nlc penalty (which is one finance payment and usually when an upgrade is occurring can be waived) as well as a Macquarie Leasing Penalty (which is approx finance payment) as well as any outstanding finance payments, the RV and a credit of interest. I hope this answers your question, please let us know if we can assist further. Kind regards, Lucy

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.