??!
1 photo
NRMA Home Insurance

NRMA Home Insurance

1.9 from 198 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
29
4 star
11
3 star
4
2 star
14
1 star
140

pressuremat2008

pressuremat2008Hunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Very efficient claims process.

published

Very happy with how our claim was settled. I had a few issues with the app but the claims officer was excellent. Steered me through the process and was courteous and helpful. I pay a higher premium for a higher level of cover and service and that it what I received.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Pressuremat2008! Thank you so much for the positive review. We're glad to hear you had a great claim experience with us and you received great service. :) ~Natalie


Tracey

Tracey

  • 2 reviews

Quick and efficient response to upgrading my current home building insurance

published

Received a very efficient response to upgrading my current NRMA home building insurance policy. Web chat clear and concise and resolved issue in matter of minutes. Thank you very much.

Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Thank you for letting us know about your experience and your kind words Tracey. Do you know the name of the member of staff you spoke with so that we can pass on the great feedback? Thank you ~ Lizzy

KLow

KLowSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Beware of NRMA home insurance

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
5 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
KLow
KLow

Hi Natalie. I dont use Facebook.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Are you able to use the "Ticket" option on this website? We want to make sure to protect your privacy. ~ Jono

Mick

MickIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Cant hear

published

I have been in talks with alot of people in NRMA over last few days ,Joy, Ronal and two other young people.
I just want to say in writing that i appologise to Joy and one other young women i think was called Jenny.
It was taken out on you and thats not who iam, iam sorry.
My claim has been fixed up and iam very grateful for a ending to the hearing aid saga.
Everyone in my house can hear again thank you Joy and thank you NRMA.
I ve been with NRMA for 16 yrs and ill stay .
Have a great day Henny Ogorman.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Heny, thank you so much for your kind Review. I will forward this to our staff who were involved. :) ~ Jono


NRMA Home Claims. Terrible service. Appears to be just an offshore call centre.

published

Frustrated with the NRMA Home Claims process. Multiple calls to multiple people in an offshore call centre that appear to handle multiple insurance companies and still getting nowhere. Its like I keep having the same conversation over and over again with different people - no one person seems to be taking ownership of my claim and following it through to get resolution for me and to get my home repaired. Its now 6 weeks or so on and we are still literally camping in our home surrounded by damage. What an embarrassment from a company that promises to offer HELP and a personalised service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Poor customer service - Loyalty

published

Been with NRMA home insurance for over 5 years. When changing across we were informed we had accidental damage. Turns out we don't - with poor customer service - they were not willing to assist (We even offered to upgrade with our claim). Our loyalty was disregarded, we are changing insurance first thing Monday. Very upset with the result. Do not recommend this service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Sue C

Sue C

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Contents insurance

published

I would like to lower my contents insurance to nil or $10,000 and NRMA will not allow me to do this. I am told because I own my home I must have contents insurance. Surely this should be my decision not NRMA. I am not happy and might have to go to another insurance company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

ol t.

ol t.Sydney, NSW

Absolutely useless and dishonest!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Incompetent moron.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateApril 2018
See all answers
5 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Lisa
Lisa
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Are you able to go to the Raise a Ticket section and provide your claim number? ~ Jono

MONTROSE

MONTROSESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very disappointing... so much for being a loyal customer

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
MONTROSE
MONTROSE
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Reviewer1989

Reviewer1989South East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Horrible customer service

published

Made a claim end of July for a leak in our bathroom. Turns out we have no waterproofing (older house, bought last year) and insurance refuses to accept claim. Called shortly after claim was submitted and told the builders report wasn't submitted yet. Two months later and I had to call again and be on hold for 20 minutes just to be told they won't fix our bathroom. Fair enough regarding leak. Very frustrating but I'm more unhappy about the pathetic customer service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Nadine

NadineHunter Region, NSW

Incompetent, dishonest.

published

After 17 years with nrma, I made my first claim. My neighbours disease ridden tree smashes two fences, and damages my professionally maintained pool. NRMA only offers to repair colour bond fence only. Three phone calls to nrma stating my pool is my main priority were ignored and not assessed as part of my claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

A....J.....

A....J.....

  • 3 reviews

Online chat and online claim lodged, service excellent

published

Had a power outage and lodged an online claim for food spillage. Spoke online afterwards with a consultant, and they finalized the claim within 5 minutes. Online vouchers sent out, very quick efficient and easy process....

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi AJ, I am glad to hear how easy you found the online services for you claim and that it was all sorted so quickly for you. ~ Jono


Jen-E

Jen-EHunter Region, NSW

Webchat and online claims great first time experience

published

it has been a great first time experience web chat and online services... thanks for your help Emma :)
an ease process of online claiming, approval and web help all under 30min! No holding on the phone. all information stored in online claims and much better than another insurance company i had dealings with today. 5 stars NRMA!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Jen-E, thank you for the positive review. I am glad to see you have been happy with our online services and webchat. ~ Jono

Ray Brown

Ray BrownSydney, NSW

Household Insurance Overpriced

published

After receiving my yearly insurance invoice. I felt it was overprice so I called another well known insurance for my age group their quote was approximately $400 lower. I contacted NRMA that was off shore I asked for a review he said unable to help but would get back to me, Two hours later I received two emails for the original price. I currently have six policies with NRMA, I have been insured with NRMA since 1965.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
5 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Ray Brown
Ray Brown

I am still awaiting a reply about a review from your off shore that I made last Thursday 5th Sep.
I am due to make a decision by Friday 13 so could you please contact me by then otherwise I will go elsewhere

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Ray, I can see from your messages with us on Facebook you have said it is no good if that manager calls you back. Looks like our Facebook team have arranged for their supervisor to call you instead. ~ Jono

HW2n

HW2nSydney, NSW

Devastating, frustrating and dispointing

published

I have 5 policy with NRMA for 17 years. There is absolutely no customer services when you want to make a claim. You will only receive a courtesy update (possibly from a machine), but never delivery any result.
Even when you call to follow up, you will only receive response such as the claim is still in process. Then follow with another courtesy update. Lodged my claim since June 2019.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
HW2n
HW2n

I've just cancelled 2 of my policy and will wait to cancel the 2 CTP when it expired in June 2020. I will also cancel the building once this claim over.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

If you haven't already used the link above to contact us to help, the offer is still available. ~ Jono


Tough times during and after the work

published

So I had a nightmare of a time dealing with the guy replacing my floor boards. Not after 6 months the floors seem to have swelled up for no reason . It looked though the guy laying the floors didn't air the section out that flooded . What can I do about this ?

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Tyler, sorry to hear your repairs aren't up to standards. Can I please ask you send us a message through Facebook so we can escalate the repair work done ASAP. ~Natalie

https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/


Devastatingly disappointing-so upset.

published

Policy is twice as expensive as comparable ones on the market. Staff do not have knowledge of policies. It has been 3 months since I raised my claim and all I have had is a never endyseries of ‘yes we will cover that’ followed by being told it’s not covered. No one person handles a claim so there is no accountability and they, in their opinion, are never wrong. I have been financially impacted seriously due to the incompetence and and complete lack of service from NRMA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeVilla
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid and Storm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Sam R

Sam RSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Claim process is hassle free

published

I have had NRMA insurance for home and contents; Landlord insurance for 3 properties, car insurance and have never had any issues with any claim. The only thing stopping me from giving 5 star is the cost of the insurance premium is much higher than most of the insurance companies. Claim is processed in a timely manner and without any hassle, you feel you are glad you are insured.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Sam, thanks for the positive review! We are glad to hear your claim process was easy and you had no hassles. We also appreciate the feedback around our premiums - happy to pass it onto the pricing team. ~Natalie


Donna

Donna

  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

Go anywhere but the NRMA. They're "insurance" is a complete fabrication

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateApril 2019
See all answers
5 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Donna
Donna
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

If you change your mind Donna, we are always happy to help escalate this for you. ~Kaz


Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Kat

Katasked

Can you get a combined House buildings and contents policy

1 answer
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Kat - you sure can if you are setting up a new policy with us. If you already hold a policy for just home or just contents we can't unfortunately add the opposite cover to the same policy number. It's only offered as a combined pack for new policies or if you cancel a contents only or building only and start another joint policy. ~Natalie


Russell L.

Russell L.asked

Hi we are insured by NRMA, and our pool pump is very not work properly, I'm pretty sure we pay extra which should cover this, can you please check, thanks Russell Lahiff

1 answer
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Russell, thanks for your question. Please call our home claims lodgement team on 131 123 and they can check your policy and let you know if you are covered for this event. They are open 24/7 to help. ~Kaz


greenlucy

greenlucyasked

Would damage to solar panels be covered by Home@50 building and contents insurance?

1 answer
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi GreenLucy, solar panels are covered under the home building and if the damaged is caused by a defined event listed in the policy then it is covered. ~Natalie


Get an answer from our members and NRMA Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.