??!
1 photo
NRMA Home Insurance

NRMA Home Insurance

1.8 from 161 reviews

WOEFUL EXPERIENCE- AVOID!

I have held a policy for building and contents for over 10 years with no claims ever made. I recently had a fall and badly damaged my Panerai watch (which was specified in my policy documents for accidental damage cover ) After labouring through a telephone claim I then uploaded a quotation for repair from an official Panerai service centre on the NRMA "Self Service" page online. Then nothing,,, I called today and spoke to an extremely rude and abrasive call centre operative to be told I needed an accident report and they had called me twice on my mobile and left messages to advise me that . I said I had received no such messages and anyway why didn't they write to me? The report apparently needs to come from the Jeweller in question. Quite how a jeweller is qualified to ascertain if the damage was caused by a 59 year old man slipping in his front porch is beyond me! In any case the watch is currently in pieces being fixed.

In other words, no report- no payment for this technicality. To put the claim in context the damage totalled $1820 - less a $1000 excess - so $820. Not exactly great when one considers the tens of thousands I've given to NRMA over the years. Thank goodness the claim was not of a serious nature.

I appreciate there are procedures that all insurers have when making a claim but these need to be made clear at the onset. What really annoyed me is that despite the repair work being underway the required report could be done retrospectively according to the NRMA consultant - what a charade!

I for will be moving ALL my policies away from what I thought was a solid reputable company thank goodness I discovered this now.

Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateApril 2019
2 comments
Hi M Catterson, thank you for bringing this current claims experience to our attention. I would very much like to help. You mention that the required report can be done retrospectively. Is this something we can assist you with so that you can have the claimed settled? If you would like to have someone from our claims team contact you pleasePM us with your policy/claim details to our Facebook page via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include your name, policy/claim number, DOB, address and contact details. ~ JonoI will but to be clear, it was your call centre operative not me who said that an accident report could be done retrospectively. Based on how I’ve been treated thus far I’m not at all optimistic that this will be resolved.i will post the outcome on this site.

Too Slow and Communication Issues

As a result of a hail storm multiple items needed replacement. We went for a payout and sorted the repairs ourselves.

The payout for the small ticket items (windows etc) wasn't too bad. It took a while but happy enough in the end.

The big ticket item, the roof, took 4.5 months. This despite being on the phone every second day (am retired so am able to). I eventually dealt with NRMA's preferred provider, MAINCOM, directly.

What was obvious was a disconnect between NRMA and MAINCOM. The communication between the two is poor and leads to long delays as NRMA has no special phone number to MAINCOM. MAINCOM did not know we were paid for the roof, they repeatedly sent scope of works which never reached NRMA. I was continually sent old scopes by NRMA. We were offered $460,000 for a roof replacement (!) as our scope was merged with someone else's who had lost a house. And so it went on. Was not convinced MAINCOM hired help is top notch so we have got our own roofers.

Conclusion. Way too slow and a lack of communication between client - NRMA - building assessor and contractor.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback Geoff. We are sad to hear this experience hasn't been our best and things were drawn out. We'll make sure your concerns are followed up with our claims team so we can make improvements for the future. If there is anything you'd like us to help with at all, please let us know. Thanks again. ~Jamie

They helped us when it counted the most.

First and foremost, an important message. PLEASE make sure you have working smoke alarms. My family and I are living proof that they save lives.

Regarding NRMA, I know there are many negative reviews on this site, but feel it is important to share the positive outcome in our circumstances. Late October last year, we were awakened in the early hours of the morning by the smoke alarm. I got up to discover in horror that our ceiling upstairs was alight (bedrooms also upstairs). I woke up the family and we got out immediately. Within minutes, the whole of upstairs became engulfed. Looking, back we were extremely fortunate to get out when we did. An electrical fault had created this horror for us. The smoke alarm did its job and woke us.

I rang NRMA later that morning. Within a few hours, they mobilised and sending out people to secure the home. They offered us temporary accommodation and then set about assessing the damage and next steps. They seem structured and were able to anticipate our questions and requirements. Within a few weeks, NRMA supported us moving into longer term rental accommodation. They also settled the contents side of the claim relatively quickly.

It has taken just over six months since the fire to work through options and reach a direction on the building side of the claim. If I could be critical, I wish this aspect could have been sorted more quickly. Waiting 6 months for certainty on the next steps was stressful. However, I do recognise that things were complicated a little by the Christmas break and the many Sydney storms late last year which probably stretched their capacity. I guess NRMA also has internal processes to follow which perhaps could be refined or more resources added to support.

Ultimately, NRMA have supported us and I don’t want to take anything away from a great bunch of people who have helped along the way. In the major claims team, Adrian our case manager (a professional and a gentleman) supported by Angela, Deborah and Sharon. They were helpful and patient with our many calls and questions. Also Paul (Technical Assessor) who provided good advice and insights. And finally Tina (Contents Assessor), not only for her help in resolving things quickly in her area, but also her kind words and moral support. These people do more for NRMA’s image and reputation than any advertising can. They present a human side to the organisation. Our sincerest thanks to them all.

With NRMA’s help, we are now moving forward to put this difficult period behind us.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2018
1 comment
Wow Louis, we are so glad to hear you and your family made it out safe, that is the most important thing. We are also happy to hear we were able to help make things a little easier during this extremely difficult time. We appreciate the feedback around the delays in getting things finalised, and will take this on board. But it's amazing to hear stories like this, where we were able achieve what we are all about - helping our customers. Thanks again for sharing this experience with us, all the best to you and your family Louis! ~Jamie

Over a month and counting getting a claim processed

We lodged a claim for a leak in our bathroom. We are 6 weeks into the claim processing process and still do not know if we will be covered. We have had to drive the claim to get to this point and are still waiting. We have not heard from our claim manager at all even after requests to call us back. We talk to a different person each time, no ownership or accountability from NRMA staff regarding our claim. The experience has left a very bad taste in our mouth and we are considering move our policies to another provider

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hi, this is definitely not how we want our customers feeling during claims time. We can follow up on these concerns for you and arrange a call back for you in the next few working days. So we can get the ball rolling here, can you please PM your details to us via our Facebook page: facebook.com/nrmainsurance. Hope we can get things sorted here as soon as possible! ~Jamie

$200 excess for $400 Contents claim

We had a burglary happened while our children were in the house in the daylight last week. Thanks to the Police prompt response, the intruder was apprehended and the only items damaged were my son's newish Converses and my husband's HD motorcycle helmet. I tried to lodge a claim and was informed that an excess of $200 must be paid. I have asked for it to be waived as it is a small claim and also based on our almost 30 years relationship with NRMA, 9 policies and not a single claim on the Home & Contents policy, plus our eligibility for Home@50 benefits. The Call Center person would not have a bar of it and kept repeating "automated"responses with no consideration for a loyalty and a personal circumstances. Since than, I had a few conversations with the Call Center person with an exactly the same automated responses and a refusal to pass me on the their supervisor in Australia. I even went to a Branch and had the same responses. I will withdraw the claim as it is not worth it. I will also be cancelling all of our policies with NRMA and move to another provider. So, dear NRMA, you will save a one-off $200 and will loose almost $10K per year for the next many-many years. The last time I dealt with NRMA in regards to a car repair in 2017 was a completely opposite experience with a Customer Service person in Australia, prompt service, appreciation of the loyalty, updates and politeness. What a difference 2 years make!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim DateApril 2019
5 comments
Hi Olga, thank you for this feedback. As per our policy guidelines, the excess you have chosen on your policy must be paid as part of your contribution towards the claim. However, we can help you to have this escalated if you feel the decision made here hasn't been considered correctly. Could you please private message us via our Facebook page using this link: facebook.com/nrmainsurance, with your claim number and best contact details? Happy to help any way we can. Thanks Olga. ~JamieHi Jamie, I do not have a Facebook account and as per below reviews and comments , the claim No is NRM193208432. According to NRMA PDS available on the website, there are claims when excess is not "must be paid", such as an incident is someone else's fault. The burglary is a someone's fault and I have provided a Police Report No to prove it. Also, one of the benefits of NRMA Home@50 offers is a nil excess on one claim. All successful businesses always take into consideration the benefits of "loosing" $200 but continued contribution of around $10K per year, not the other way around. Thank you.Hi Olga, the option to have a nil excess is provided for Home@50 customers who chose this option and pay the additional premium at start of the policy or at renewal. Having a higher excess reduces your premium and having a lower excess increases your premium. But it is a choice that needs to be considered when starting and renewing a policy. I have forwarded your message to our claims contact to have someone contact you about this to see if there is another option that can help you with your claim. ~ Jono

Very disappointed with NRMA

we have been with NRMA for over 20 years, all our vehicles green slips, comprehensive insurance . Our home & content insurance been swap to NRMA because we think that this company will provide us better service & more protection. Unfortunately, this is completely wrong, they treat us like a fool, last November we try to claim for a roof leak, the assessor just saying that it is a roof maintenance issue, after a lot of ringing up, finally they sent us scope of work to our email . SOW didn't even mention about the roof repair, only mention about painting, luckily we double checked with them word by word, then we found out that the roof repair is not included in the claim. after that we talked to their consultant again to ask why is that happened, telling her that we nearly get trapped by those wording in that scope of work, she just saying that they will send an assessor for 2nd inspection, when the same assessor arrived, just asked if we had got more damages, we just told him that, we are not happy with the 1st decision & expecting 2nd inspection, not claiming for more damages, after he heard that, he just told us will be the same decision(roof repair not included in the claim, take him only 2 minutes for this 2nd inspection.(doing nothing). We called NRMA again, telling them what happened for the 2nd inspection, they said that they will escalate further, saying that level one will ring us shortly, after 2 weeks, nothing happened, we called them again, saying that level 2 will call us back, finally, we received a call , not from level 2. that is from level 1. still saying that is not including roof repair in the claim, and if we are not happy, they will ask customer relation to contact us, when speaking with customer relation, they said that we should go up to the roof to check on that, told him that no one will climb up to the roof often if we don't need to, and just saying that, the claim is rejected, we are just normal people, we trust insurance company, but when we needed them, they just found millions of reasons to reject our claim, also we have asked our neighbors if they climbed up to the roof or ask people to check on the roof if they got no problem with that, answers are all negative, so we really thinking we will move all our policies to other better service company.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
2 comments
NRMA Insurance Care T. NRMA INSURANCE 18 minutes ago Hi there, we are sad to hear this experience hasn't been the best. We really do appreciate your 20 years of loyalty and are sorry to know this claim has left you feeling this way. Unfortunately, if a final decision has been handed down by our customer relations team, this is the final avenue of dispute internally. Your next step would be to contact FOS and lodge an external dispute via them. You can use this link to find out more about this process: https://www.fos.org.au/. Apologies there isn't more we can do at this stage to help here but thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings with us. ~JamieAgain, we are sad there isn't more we can do here. But let us know if you have any further questions around this process. Thank you. ~Jamie

Home Claim

We have been with NRMA for almost 20 years. Very good in the past, but now unorganised, slow, complicated. I complained several times and was promised a supervisor would call me back about the delay of several weeks, even this has not happened. We are still waiting for NRMA to get back to us about the repairs. We are now seriously looking for a better insurance company.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
4 comments
We're sad to hear you're feeling this way after such a long time with us Stephanie! We do want to help make things right here and follow up on what's going on with your claim. Could you please private message us via our Facebook page using this link: facebook.com/nrmainsurance. We just need your best contact details and your claim number to get the ball rolling. Thanks for sharing Stephanie, hope we can get this back on track ASAP! ~JamieI don't have a Facebook account. Can you please send another option to get in contact?Sure thing Stephanie. You can just leave the claim number hear and we can follow this through to the claims team and have them find your details on the system that way. Are you comfortable with that? Just don't want you to leave your contact details here as it is a public page. Thanks Stephanie. ~Jamie

Unprofessional and disappointing

Our home was effected by fire 7 months ago and were still not home ! I have had to make daily phone calls and coordinate the repairs myself from start to finish and Unfortunately me and my family are still not home . The consultants are clueless and usually have no idea of what is happening , the building contractor lost the contract with Nrma and we are one of the last repair jobs to be done by them our home was assessed numerous times and the final scope of work was very poorly put together which resulted in constant repair delays and endless frustration the contents were not cleaned and restored properly by the contracting company which resulted in ash and fire debris still present on our processions when we tried to move back in luckily our kids didn’t come into contact with the items.
The constant delays and interruptions have caused confusion and disappointment.
The accommodation is only extended week by week and is often left to the day before we are due to move out before it’s extended and we are notified of any changes
If I don’t call Nrma and request updates I feel they simply wouldn’t contact me

If you like being constantly stressed , confused and disappointed by all means request a policy from Nrma

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateSeptember 2018
4 comments
Appreciate you taking the time to share this experience with us. We are sad to hear you and your family have been so negatively affected by this claims experience and would like to help. Have you escalated your complaint further with the claims team? If not we can help you do this. I'd just need your claim number and contact details via private message (this is a public page so want to make sure your details remain secure). Could you please send them via messenger to: facebook.com/nrmainsurance. We can then follow up with the right team and if needed, escalate this further. Thank you. ~JamieJamie we did indeed take it higher and also lodged a complaint with AFCA which did speed things up but overall if I could give NRMA half a star I wouldI understand and am sorry it had to get that far to get some results. I know it's probably not needed at this stage, but if you change your mind and would like us to help at all in future, please don't hesitate to get in touch via the link above. Thanks. ~Jamie

Paid the excess promptly, but the repair by CCP Remedial??? ... still waiting 4 weeks later

My house was damaged by the storm in Jan/Feb 2019. A branch from the neighbour's tree made a hole through the ceiling. After the CCP Remedial assessor made the assessment, we were sent the bill for the excess quickly and I paid for it on the same night. I thought I was lucky because these people seem efficient. How wrong was I! It has now been 4 weeks, only the gutter guard has been repaired. I have not heard from anyone from CCP Remedial or NRMA for the remaining repair. I rang NRMA yesterday, the gentleman called John said he would contact CCP to give me a call, and of course I have not heard from anyone. I called again today, a different person answered my call and suggested me to call CCP. Isn't this wrong? CCP is employed by NRMA, NRMA needs to get on to them. Finally, this gentleman said NRMA can give the job to another contractor, I asked "does this contractor have a better reputation?" and he said he doesn't know but he said restarting the process with a different company can take a long time! Wow! I suggested him to call CCP and I hope he did. As a little customer that nobody cares about, even though I have been with NRMA for more than 15 years, I tried contacting CCP but was forced to leave a voice mail!! I wish NRMA would just value their loyal customers, big or small, and hire some reputable builders. I will try to be optimistic for the repair to take place soon...

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
3 comments
Appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us C. Completely understand your frustrations here and would like to help any way we can. If you haven't heard back from the team, could you please PM us with your claim number and best contact details? Please send this to our Facebook page here: facebook.com/nrmainsurance. We know the claims process can some times become lengthy and stressful and want to help you get things back on track. Thanks C. ~JamieWell, I did PM on Facebook using the hyperlink you provided a week ago with my claim number. Guess what, I have not heard from anyone. Is this situation going to improve? Perhaps you want to provide anything more specific and direct?Thanks for getting back to us here Huynh. We can see you contacted us last Tuesday but we only received your full details via messenger on Saturday. This has now been allocated to the team. As they don't work weekends, they should be in touch today or tomorrow. If you don't hear back or there is anything more we can help with, please let us know! ~Jamie

This company has gone down hill

I adjusted my home and contents insurance to a lower amount. They told me via email that all was correct and a new monthly payment would follow. They then adjusted the policy back up to a higher rate without any consultation. They denied i had changed my policy even though i had it in writing. They said sorry and offered a refund if i stopped my complaint with the complaints body. I agreded provided i got the refund, i havent. They wont even answer emails and when you do contact them, the address comes back as postmaster unknown.. We have been with these people for many years, never again, they have gone downhill so fast in dealing with people, yet there ads say they are there for you, even if your surfing or crowd surfing in a wheelchair, or trapped under a train.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
3 comments
Hi Mike. Every renewal we send out will have slightly increased sum insured to prevent under insurance in the community. This may have resulted in your amendment changing. There also might be another reason so I would like to investigate this further for you. If you have received a postmaster unknown response to an email and no other responses you may not be sending to a correct email address. Please reach out to us on our Facebook via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include your policy number, DOB, address and contact details. ~ JonoIts got nothing to do with what you send out, i altered my policy and you agreed i had done so, and then the next payments went back to old policy price, thats the issue. I will not reach out on facebook as i never use it. I send my emails directly back to your responses.We understand Mike and appreciate this feedback. If you would like us to help follow up your concerns further, just let us know. Thank you. ~Jamie

like the premium , then avoid the claim

this was my experience, step father was insured for 30 years before passing, agreed i would pay premium ,
house damaged by storm , assessor avoided taking photos of damaged areas, gyprick water damaged , carpet damaged, dreadful service, avoided claim .
also car repaired by them , got back with damaged parts and internal trim damaged, again ignored , this time off to court,

Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateOctober 2018
1 comment
Hi Mike. This certainly doesn't sound like the claims experiences we aim to provide. If you feel like our claim decision for the Home storm damage was wrong you can have this escalated and reviewed. We also have life time warranty of repairs. If you would like us to have your car claim fix or home claim reviewed please message us on Facebook page via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include Policy/Claim number, DOB, address and contact details. ~ Jono

Terrible service - not consistent with information

I had to give 1 star otherwise it would be no stars for the service provided. In-service for staff so they all provide the same information about policy details should be mandatory. NRMA call centres are most unhelpful and continually change the information that they provide. On 25/3/19 was given two different pieces of information about the public liability component of my home and contents insurance and on the 266/3/19 was given a third totally different piece of information. When I asked to speak with a supervisor I was stalled and not put through.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
4 comments
Hey Karen, completely understand your frustrations here and would like to get the right answers to you as soon as possible. Could you please forward your question and policy details via private message to facebook.com/nrmainsurance so we can take a look into this for you? Really sorry about the misinformation here, but let's get this right for you! ~JamieWe have now purchased comprehensive insurance from NRMA for our new tractor. We live on 30 acres and have a horse and cows - this is not a commercial enterprise. We currently have our home and contents insured through NRMA. We obtaining a quote I was told we would need public liability. I said we had public liability- I the spoke with your general insurance section giving my policy number and explaining our situation - I was told that we were covered for public liability for all of our property with the animals. I then spoke with your farm insurance section and after a long and very very frustrating conversation received a quote to insure our new tractor which included $240 approximately of public liability. I then again spoke with another person in your general insurance area who told me the first person was incorrect in their information - that our property etc. was covered for public liability just not our cows. The next day I had to finalise the insurance - - so had to pay for public liability whether I wanted to or not. Each area keep telling me they didn’t have access and didn’t understand how the other part of business worked and I was informed by your farm section that I now have public liability everywhere on property including home and contents. This as I understand it means we are covered by public liability twice- except for the cows!! I then tried to speak with your general section again to ask how much of our home and contents insurance premium was for public liability. The person ( English very obviously their second language) then told me that we didn’t have public liability just liability and that were not charged for this - it was mandated. I then asked to speak with a supervisor so I could clarify andwas stalled and then told the supervisor was too busy to speak with me. Not a happy camper - very worried that if this is the mis-information I am provided on a what I would believe is a fairly simple question - then what will it be like should I ever go to claim. My other very large issue is it would appear we r paying for public liability twice!Hi Karen, thank you for providing more information about your complaint. I can understand your frustration when having to deal with both our General Insurance team and our Farm Insurance team as they are not trained in the other area's product. All Home Building & Contents policies come with what is called Liability cover up to $20 million. The consultant may not have been familiar with the term "public liability" to mean the Liability cover you were revering to. We don't give a break down of how much each listed event we cover contributes to your premium which is why we are unable to tell you how much of your premium Liability cover contributes. Just like we can't tell you how much Lightning or Theft contributes to your premium. Liability cover in our Home Insurance policy only extends to pet dogs, cats and horses. If you are concerned about liability insurance for your cows then this is important to know. Just like our other listed events Liability cannot be removed from Home Insurance. You can read more about our Liability Cover here https://www.nrma.com.au/sites/nrma/files/nrma/policy_booklets/home_pds_0219_nsw_act_tas.pdf from page 60 on. ~ Jono

NRMA and Rizon building - what an incompetent arrogant partnership partnership

Storm damage December 2018. The Assessors came out 28/29 December. Advised on 22 February by Rizon they had been nominated by NRMA as the designated builder. First problem - the NRMA PDS states "If you agree, we can arrange for our preferred repairers, suppliers or builders" etc. I didn't agree, I was never asked. Rizon want a signed contract and your excess - no information on when the repairs will be carried out. I've spoken to David at AIG Customer Relations and Fiona Claims Consultant at NRMA. Surprise, surprise no result. Finally on 21 March I was contacted by Omodele who said she was from NRMA offering a cash settlement, I said I wanted the offer in writing, an email turned up 23 March which said a cash settlement was agreed. I never agreed to anything! it also purported to attach an estimate! No estimate of the individual items, just a total amount Same day an email from Rizon advising me I could note my concerns on page 4 of the paperwork - there is no live link and I had advised them of my concerns already on 02 March. The cash settlement looks way outside what the costs would be and really the whole mad pantomime is just a delaying tactic until they wear you out and you abandon the claim. I won't give them that pleasure. I've lodged a complaint with the AFCA and unless they smarten up their footwork very, very soon I'll ensure they get the publicity they deserve. What a major mistake to insure with NRMA. It won't happen again.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
4 comments
Thank you for sharing this experience with us Robin, we're upset to see this process has been so frustrating and time consuming for you. We would like to follow up on the points you've raised here and have someone call you back to clear things up as best we can. Could you please send us a private message via our Facebook page: facebook.com/nrmainsurance with your claim number and best contact details? Hope we can get things straightened out as soon as possible for you Robin, thanks again for sharing. ~JamieWell Jamie, I just don't know why you waste your time sending these syrupy messages - from what I read they rarely seem to result in settlement. the facts are these, in my case the NRMA has violated their own PDS for starters and no, I will not PM you via Facebook. I will pursue this matter as I have said and I WILL get a result! My time is far more valuable than to engage in your silly games RobinWe just want to help any way we can Robin. I understand, and completely respect your decision to pursue this matter as you'd like. If you do change your mind and would like us to arrange a call back or pass on your concerns to the team handling your claim - just let us know. Thanks for getting back to me Robin. ~Jamie

4 months after hail storm. Repairs have still not been done !

After I made a claim they sent someone from Rizon to take photos and look at the hail damage . 2 months later I phoned them again they said they haven't received the photos or quote .NRMA then sent someone els from rizon to take photos again and check the hail damage ... another month later I ring them again .. same story . but this time they contacted Rizon and got them to send the details thru . now there are 2 items missing from quote "whirly birds" . rang them again and now they are looking into it .. no doubt there will be more headaches to come from NRMA = "IAG" . avoid this company....

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hi Ashley, appreciate the feedback around your recent claim and understand your concerns. Would you like us to pass this on to the team handling your claim and organise a call back within the next 1-2 business days? If so, could you please private message us via our Facebook page: facebook.com/nrmainsurance - we just need your claim number and best contact details to get started. Thanks Ashley! ~Jamie

look somewhere else

my elderly brother in law house flooded due to burst water pipe under sink ,took 4 days for someone to come and remove carpets and install fans to try and dry it out, then 10 days after event assessor turns up did not listen to what happen from witness and i was told to clean the mould up prior to any work been done mould caused due to 4 days of water soaked flooring

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hey Joe, thanks for sharing. If we can help your brother in law with the concerns you've raised here, please get him to send us a message with his claim details here: facebook.com/nrmainsurance. Hope we can get things sorted for him as soon as possible. Thanks again Joe. ~Jamie

NRMA BUILDING INSURANCE IS FAILING MY FAMILY

We have been with NRMA for over 30 years and have 8+ policies with NRMA
As we are a large family with 5 beautiful kids to look after, we have always felt it was worth paying the extra $$$ to be with the best!
That was until we had to make an emergency claim. . .

It turns out that in a major disaster, it is actually better being with one of the cheaper insurance companies like Budget Direct, GIO, ING and even Real Insurance.

Our property was severely hit by what SES workers referred to as a mini tornado (microburst with winds of up to 200kmp/h), which ripped through ours and neighbouring properties on the 15th of December 2018. Our house and property were smashed by winds and surrounding gum trees and 3 months later we are still living the nightmare.

All of our neighbours (which are with other insurers such as GIO and Budget Direct) had the same damage to their homes and have all settled and are happily getting back on their feet.

NRMA are still paper shuffling.

We had called every day for the first 2 weeks begging for emergency "HELP" which never came.
We then had to patiently wait for all the reports to be done which took a very long time.
They were finally completed several weeks ago and we have been calling almost every single day since explaining that we needed as a minimum the emergency repairs to be done. Still nothing....

We have been promised that the claim has been escalated, then we were told our Technical Assessor was "away" whatever that means, and that it will be pushed through to someone else urgently.

That was 2 weeks ago...

My latest call on Friday revealed that the file still sits quietly on the Technical Assessor's desk while we continue to struggle.
We have holes in the roof which continues to leak, rotting ceilings, insulation and walls, electrical damage to lights in our ceilings, no carpets and spikes sticking out everywhere which our children keep stepping on since the carpets were removed. The majority of the outdoors areas including pool and yard are out of bounds as a result of the dangerous trees, all of this should have been covered under make safe but NRMA never same and made anything safe....
It's a very difficult and stressful situation for our entire family. We just want to get back on our feet and move on...

My family has been waiting patiently for almost 3 months. Unfortunately we now need to take this to the next level to get the help we have been paying for, for over 30 years.

For those of you who are remaining loyal to NRMA like we have been all these years, be warned, loyalty does not mean what is used to.

Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hi Samantha. I am sorry to hear your still waiting on emergency repairs for your home. If you would like us to help you escalate your complaint please use this link to our Facebook page to reach out via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and provide your claim number, date of birth, address and contact details. ~ Jono

NRMA - Appalling customer service and feedback

I am so unimpressed with lack of communication and follow-up from NRMA I will be taking my 6 policies elsewhere. The query related to some water damage some 3 years after roof was fully replaced by NRMA on rental property following storm. Minor damage but wanted to know if I should pursue under the previous claim (as water damage was in same place under same window) or a new claim was needed. Took over 9 months - previous repairer had to assess and leak detector report obtained, had to chase all the time, numerous calls unreturned - eventually declined. Requested a review as leak detection report (eventually received) also mentioned problems on 'lifetime guaranteed' roof. I cannot even get a response to multiple emails and online complaint query and not prepared to waste more hours on the phone to be told someone will be in touch and for nothing to happen yet again. They just hope these little annoying people go away and won't bother pursuing. I am appalled by the standard of service offered by NRMA, will be cancelling all my policies in my time and would highly recommend you give them a wide berth.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeNo
2 comments
Hi Margaret. I understand you do not wish to talk to our claims team online or try calling us. We don't manage claims through Product Review but if you would like us to forward your details through to our claims team use this link to our Facebook page to reach out via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review. ~ JonoWe have had numerous calls unreturned, email and online complaint. I am no longer interested in wasting my time with NRMA and will be moving my policies - it’s just plain too little too late

NRMA- This insurance corruption has to stop.

Most NRMA policyholders are not aware that NRMA has Insurance Laws, Insurance Code of Conduct and Consumer Laws they MUST abide by.
My advise to everyone is do the registration and Licence checks through Fair Trade on everyone NRMA sends to your home and have witnesses when inspections are carried out.
In my experience. I had a claim, NRMA sent out their representative and a report titled 'EXPERT' was submitted to NRMA.
NRMA sent out a plumber that confirmed my claim and a SOW was complied to the value of almost $30,000.
One month later NRMA sent out a so called 'Engineer' the engineer submitted a report 2 weeks later which included an ILLEGAL SOW (not legal definition of a Scope Of Works) which was then sent to the NRMA data analyst who now complied a SOW from another company which devalued the claim by $26,000 to $3,600 less excess $2,600. Based on non FACTUAL information (using terms such as if, but, maybe, possible, likely).
Witnesses have testified that information and recommendations given to us by this 'engineer' were not consistent with the report details.
Alarm bells began to ring for me so I did the Fair Trade Licence and Registration checks. This revealed the so called builders and engineers sent to my home were not the licensed/Registered builders and/or engineer as claimed by the entire NRMA claims department and first level complaints department.
Level 2 Complaints department sent out an 'engineer' this engineer presented a report and the data analyst then devalued the claim down even further... this time to ZERO.
Licence and Registration checks revealed the name of this engineer and the name on his report was not registered with the NER.
Level 2 Complaints department has tried to force a cash settlement in her Final Decision Letter based on the second report without a legal SOW (no itemized details and without a 'written' settlement amount).
This matter is going before AFCA. I advise anyone that has a similar experience and is getting nowhere with NRMA to go to AFCA. This insurance corruption has to stop.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
2 comments
Thanks for sharing your experience Bet and we are sorry to hear about how this has affected you. We can certainly appreciate how you are feeling and that you do not agree with our decision, although we can not manage this directly we can try to escalate this for you again if you would like us to but it does sound like you are taking the steps to dispute this already. Please let us know if we can try to assist and we certainly will but we look forward to this being resolved for you. ~LochyHi Locky. You certainly can help. Instruct NRMA pays me the original quote of $29,061.08 instead of wasting AFCA’s time and resources.

Poor service

So disappointed with NRMA still waiting for pergola roof to be fixed from hail storm in December. Seem to be trying to get out of paying so not happy and looking at moving all our insurance policies to another company. Ridiculous that we pay all the premium to have cover so they can try not to fix - shame on you!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Jezz, thank you for taking the time to review our Home Insurance Product on Product Review. If you would like advice on escalating this through to Claims Management you can follow this link - it will explain your entitlements: https://www.nrma.com.au/complaints-resolutions. Apologies that you have been left feeling so frustrated. A claims experience should be hassle free and efficient. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist with ~Renae

An awful company to have contents with

The waterproofing membrane on my shower walls failed. I thought, that’s fine, I’m covered for water damage to my carpets. No. The NRMA first said that they don’t cover water from a shower recess. Apparently, they define the entire shower cubicle to be the “recess”. Even though it’s not recessed into the walls.
Then to top it off they said they wouldn’t co er faulty or bad workmanship.

It’s unbelievable. They’re completely dishonest. They won’t honour dictionary definitions. They will make any excuse under the sun not to pay out on claims.

I feel as though the NRMA have committed a fraud on me. I’ll be taking my business elsewhere. Just a pity I’m not wealthy enough to sue them for the return of all my premiums I’ve paid to them.

Also, don’t listen to their team. They actually don’t care. Their customer relations team won’t help you either. They’re horrible people in this company.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Richard, thank you for taking the time to review our product. Sounds like you have had an awful experience and you should not be left feeling like this. We understand your frustrations and hope that you have had the policy exclusions explained to your throughout this process. Please let the Social Team know if we can assist you in the future ~Renae

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

When i phoned customer service for my solar system damage by a storm was advised to get a report from a level 2 electrition on damage then 2-3 replacement quotes for my claim. Only to be told when I rang back to lodge my claim nrma would be arranging a builder to asses the damage/replacement of my solar sytem then why did i get a report costing me $199? When nrma has to aprove the damage with there own builder?
2 answers
Hi Lozza, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I can appreciate how frustrating this is to be told two conflicting things and have this additional charge. I would like to have this looked into and rectified for you. Can you please use this link to our Facebook page to reach out via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/nrmainsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review, include your original message and your claim number, DOB, address and contact details so we can contact the correct person in claims to escalate this for you. ~ JonoThankyou for your reply, i will contact FB NRMA and hopefully i will have a better outcome. Lozza

We have had our storm damage assessed recently. Can I obtain a copy of the assessment report including individual cost for each of the claims that have been assessed?
1 answer
Hi Mario, you would need to discuss this with your claims consultant, please give them a call. ~Kaz

The General Insurance Code of Conduct states that you should deliver a decision within 15 business days. Your consultant contacted me afte 5pm on the 15th business day to advise that she would get back to me by close of business on the 17th business day but she still hasn’t . What advice would you give me on how to proceed? I do not feel that NRMA is acting in good faith.
5 answers
Hi Shannon, I had a similar situation as yours when a flexi pipe burst in an upstairs kitchen and damaged a major part of my home downstairs. I had nothing but problems with NRMA the entire way through the process. They assigned a building company by the name of CCP Remedial to handle the repairs. I'm wondering if you have been assigned the same company. Their customer service is a disgrace, never returning calls. I had to constantly follow up on everything. They sent a contractor out to do some repairs and he ended up sending his son to do the painting. The job was shocking. He even painted over a large area of mould on my walls. You could still see it through the paint. I had vinyl tiles which got ruined in an area of my kitchen and NRMA (and CCP Remedial) insisted for months that they would only pay me for the damaged tiles and I would have to pay for the rest myself. (The tiles are not made any more). I pointed out that the policy states that I am covered to the nearest architectural break. Finally I got someone at NRMA who actually knew and understood the policy. Then they removed my vanity which had water damage and realised that the job to replace it was going to be bigger than they had originally thought so they said they weren't going to touch it. I have been 12 months without a vanity. I stood up for my rights and ended up taking the matter to the Ombudsman. I just found out last week that the Ombudsman has ruled in my favour so the NRMA have to pay me to completely fix my bathroom. I have been awarded compensation as well because of how NRMA stuffed me around. My advice to you is to keep good comprehensive records on everything. Just take notes on dates, times and names whenever you deal with them. Write down everything they say. They take notes on their communications with you and you have the right to ask to see these notes. Take lots of photos too. And keep on their back. If they say they will call you the following day and they don't, then call them. And keep doing this. I think we feel like we don't want to be pushy or be a pain but it is what is needed here because their customer service is appalling and we are suffering because of it. It is a very stressful time and NRMA will do their very best to drag it out. My incident happened in September 2017. I went to the Ombudsman with my dispute in May 2018. It has only just been determined and this is due to NRMA always waiting until the final day to respond throughout the process. They do not value their customers or care about their customers' peace of mind. Loyalty means nothing. I had been with them for 30 years and with 10 policies. It meant nothing.Wow, Lisa! thank you so much for answering. Your story is inspiring but also horrifying! Thank you so much for all of your excellent advice and for the hope that the ombudsman can and will make the right decision (though it may take a ridiculous length of time) I’m so delighted that you finally had some resolution but I’m stunned that they are able to subject people to this kind of treatment for this length of time. My work was subcontracted to AJ Grant but the similarities are incredible. I believe the cozy and corrupt relationship between NRMA and their chosen repairers will eventually be part of a royal commission.Hi Shannon, I would be happy to help you in any way I can. I can provide you with names of the people I dealt with at NRMA and can send you a copy of my complaint to the Ombudsman if that would help you. Maybe even mentioning my name, if you get to the complaints resolution process, and letting them know that I will be assisting you, may make a difference, who knows. I am so disgusted by NRMA and how they treat their customers and yes, I agree with you about the relationship between NRMA and their repairers, it is definitely dodgy. I had everyone at NRMA and CCP Remedial repeatedly denying my claim. I had tradesmen at CCP Remedial blatantly lying about the situation. But I knew I was in the right and I was not going to let them bully me. I often wonder how many customers they do this to, who would simply give up, because it is a very long stressful process. I lost many nights sleep and a lot of time in fighting this. It was worth it in the end, not because I received the payout that I was owed, but because I won, and didn't allow them to walk all over me and get away with their dirty tactics. Hang in there. Hopefully it won't come to this for you. Let me know if you need anything and we will work out a way to communicate privately.

Similar listings