??!
1 photo
NRMA Home Insurance

NRMA Home Insurance

1.8 from 226 reviews

Reviews

(31)
(11)
(4)
(15)
(165)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (69)
  • Transparency
    2.0 (48)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (70)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (67)
    • Home Only (9)
    • Contents Only (7)

Terrible service and phones being answered when making a claim

published

I lodged a claim for storm damage one month ago and we are still debating was is to be included in the repairs. Their assessor spent 20 mins in his inspection and missed 12 items which I have documented and referred back.
It has taken me 3 days of waiting on the phone for up to two hours at a time to finally get an answer yesterday. Very poor service and we fell sorry for the poor people answering the calls as they are unable to resolve anything.
Nonetheless, we are still debating whether the additional items would be included and we are still waiting.

This is a concern to us as the flood included storm and sewerage water damage to the house and have no idea when they are scheduling the repair work.

Never again NRMA!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi there, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with the service you have received. We can provide a link to our complaints process should you wish to escalate your concerns. https://www.nrma.com.au/complaints-resolutions ~Kaz

Yvonne

YvonneMurray Region, NSW

  • Verified customer

Very Disappointing NRMA

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Stephend82

Stephend82Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Appalling service when making a claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
4 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Stephend82
Stephend82
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how NRMA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel

RachelSydney

  • 2 reviews

Customer service fails on many levels

published

I have had a claim lodged for over a year. I still cannot get a resolution despite numerous calls and daily emails/complaints. I was eventually sent a letter but they forgot to attach it so I am none the wiser as to the contents of the letter.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Rachel, I do apologise your claim is yet to be resolved. Can you please send us a PM by heading to http://go.nrma.com.au/2kpnEcG so we can escalate it further. ~Natalie

Margaret

MargaretSydney, NSW

Storm damage

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
See all answers
2 comments
Margaret
Margaret

Still no contact from NRMA. The rain is falling, running down the inside of my wall and my floor is wet. Also an ever increasing area of mould on the ceiling. NRMA please help!

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Margaret, thanks for letting us know, can you private message us on our Facebook page saying you are from Product Review https://facebook.com/nrmainsurance with your claim number please so we can get you help, thank you. ~Kaz

BOb

BObSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible customer service

published

I lodged a claim nearly three weeks ago, and I’ve had to be the one calling to make sure it is progressing. Many times on hold for more than an hour at a time with having to call back multiple times, due to incompetent staff, wasting literally two full day’s, plus. When we finally get to discuss settlement they were only going to offer just over $200 for a new amplifyer. I am moving back to Suncorp as they provide excellent service, they are prompt and can problem solve. Terribly disappointed with NRMA.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
kezza

kezzaBrisbane

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Useless, frustrating and be warned offshore call centre

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
6 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
kezza
kezza

Sorry I do not do Facebook you need to call me as per the details on my mother’s file. Please only call if you intend to resolve the issues I have.

kezza
kezza
Not a fan

Not a fanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

NMRA will not answer your calls

published

I have had not herd back from NMRA home insurance since lodging my claim back in December. I try to call on 4 different occasions and have to wait for over 30 minutes, on every occasion the overseas representative advises he has to transfer my call which never gets answered. Have to say that I don't think I can remain with NRMA and have 4 insurance policies with them. Unfortunately, after 7 years with NMRA I now know that I am not a valued customer. Thanks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
2 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Not a fan
Not a fan

Hi, Thank you for a response addressing my concerns and expressed dissatisfaction of service.
Have a great day!

Matthew

MatthewFar North Queensland, QLD

Choose a real insurance company

published

Submitted a claim on the 15/2/2020
Can never speak to a consultant on the phone always put on hold then disconnected
Tried messaging get silly response
All I want is answer, I have never dealt with such incompetent company

Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
2 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Matthew
Matthew

All my details have already been sent via messenger
And I am still waiting
The best I done was cancel my policy’s

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how NRMA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

What happened to NRMA ?

published

Storm claims = and your getting very very poor service.
My wife sent an email 10 days ago to claims and we have no response !
rang 3 times to finally get through and again no Knowledge about claim details and playing catch up. making mistakes to claim details.
Under staffing say's a lot about NRMA.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Andrew

AndrewSydney, NSW

Worst home insurance

published

I have 11 policies with NRMA. Their home & content insurance is the worst.
Very hard to talk to someone. They will either ring at odds time at night or they will called you with a very bad line with private number. Whenever asked them to call back right away due to bad line, they never did and sent sms to call back instead. Tried many times to call back but were put to a long waiting time, more than half an hour before the line cut off and they never called back. None of my claims are resolved. Some more than a year. Can't believe this is NRMA.
Worst of all insurances. I am about to move away from NRMA home insurance. Avoid at all cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2018
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hail damage claim

published

Nothing but good experience with nrma. My house got flogged by hail. Ruined my roof, solar, garage doors, glass in my water tank from smashed solar panels. Everything approved. Even covering the extra money on my electricity bill this summer from not having solar. Repairs process still ongoing, but this is due to contractors being flat out, not nrma delaying. Everything I've claimed has been approved and communicated quickly. My claims consultant Alan, is very friendly and keeps me updated and always follows up things that he says he will. Will stick with NRMA for sure.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Verity

VeritySydney Surrounds, NSW

Large tree from garden of neighbour who is insured by this company!

published

I have a large tree in my garden from the next door neighbours garden from the recent storm. This is the third week of waiting for this insurance company it!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
beautifulkids

beautifulkidssydney

  • 7 reviews

Worst communication Terrible service Worthless policy

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
See all answers
4 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
beautifulkids
beautifulkids
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
aircustomer

aircustomerSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

NRMA looks like you’re losing another customer

published

Tried to lodge a claim for a property I rent to tenants. I gave up after waiting an hour and fifteen minutes, 45 minutes and 30 minutes for a person to answer. Popped into local MRMA office, was told , “We don’t process claims here” I was given number to ring.
I managed to get a claim submitted on line, I gave the number of the real estate property manager as a contact to effect repairs, NRMA did not pass this on to the assessor. I was informed that they would take four weeks to make their assessment, I explained that I was concerned about my tenants (a young family). I have had to engage a local builder to try and make things safe and stop the ceiling from falling in on them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
aircustomer
aircustomer

Nat you are a patronising thing. Has NRMA considered hiring more staff to deal with the over 30000 claims due to fires, floods, hail, storms and whatever else you can conjure up as an excuse. Actions not platitudes please.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

We have, we have moved people across the business into claims & have hired and or are currently hiring. Unfortunately thought with hiring comes training so we are trying to uplift and train staff as fast as possible. ~Nat

Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how NRMA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

+ 25 years loyal customer, very poor claims process

published

25+ years loyal customer, had storm damage to home Sunday Night, poor claims process, offshored contact centre, incorrect information provided by consultant, made a claim online and when checking the portal no claim existed, very disappointing experience still waiting for contact by builder, all I received was a TXT msg, I understand there were bushfires, now storms and floods however NRMA could do much better be extending contact centre hours, as waiting 1.5 hrs on a call to have a msg advising due to technical issues we are unable to take your call, looks like NRMA is on the down hill slide and looks like it's time to review our home & contents, car and caravan insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Please update status of claim please, we have since found further damage post visit from building company

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi James, we don't look after claims through social media and I'm not sure what your claim details are. The fastest way to get an update is to chat with the claims team by heading to https://go.nrma.com.au/2okor0T. ~Natalie

head

headsydney

  • 37 reviews

Not perfect I can live without nrma

published

Cost of policy for house & contents way above others here in Australia
Called to discuss but belligerent attitude and I think overseas call centre?
Bye bye after 40 years, the cars maybe next to give to someone else?

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
6 comments
head
head

Bring back you phone centre to Australia ,you probably have a imported c.e.o?

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
head
head

Waiting for ever and ever!

published

I've been on the phone waiting forever with no end in site! This is the longest time I've had to wait fo a operator and the only reason I haven't done it online is because I don't have my insurance details with me and can't start the process.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Small Business Owner

Small Business OwnerSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

25 years customer with NRMA but no one cares when claim was lodged

published

I have been a loyal customer of NRMA for nearly 25 years but no one cares when I lodged my claim. My house roof has got a big hole in it and a big piece of ceiling crashed down and left a 1.5-2.0 meter hole last Friday evening. After I lodged the claim, I received a couple of emails from NRMA and then nothing has happened. What is the point to have a home and contents insurance ? Very disappointed. I will find another insurance provider soon.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Lewis Bock

Lewis BockSydney Surrounds, NSW

Six months and still waiting for a yes or no.

published
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

My Ngoc Thi Nguyen

My Ngoc Thi Nguyenasked

Recently our home suffered a home invasion. We have a home and contents policy with NRMA. One of the consequences was apart from numerous items stolen a set of keys were removed resulting in a Mazda 3 being stolen and to date not recovered.Amongst the keys stolen was the spare key for another car, Mazda 6. So it is possible that the stolen key could be used to steal the Mazda 6.
I have been advised by the Mazda dealership that two reprogrammed keys is around $450. My question is would the cost for two new keys be covered by insurance.

2 answers
BOb
BOb

Hi Ngoc Thai,
Probably best to see if you can speak to an NRMA representative? Fingers crossed it goes smooth.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Ngoc Thai, it would be best to talk to claims about the cover you have on your policies and then based on the events will be based on if we cover it or not. Please call 131-123 to talk to property claims and see if this is covered. ~Natalie

My Ngoc Thi Nguyen

My Ngoc Thi Nguyenasked

Recently our home suffered a home invasion. We have a home and contents policy with NRMA. One of the consequences was apart from numerous items stolen a set of keys were removed resulting in a Mazda 3 being stolen and to date not recovered.Amongst the keys stolen was the spare key for another car, Mazda 6. So it is possible that the stolen key could be used to steal the Mazda 6.
I have been advised by the Mazda dealership that two reprogrammed keys is around $450. My question is would the cost for two new keys be covered by insurance.

3 answers
kezza
kezza

I don’t work for NRMA however my guess is it should be covered. They may try and change you another excess though. You would need to phone their overseas call centre and ask. Good luck with that as they are useless!

Thank you not sure however about your comment to phone their overseas call centre as the theft happened in Canberra

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi My Ngoc, your claims consultant should be able to advise you about the keys, have you asked them about this yet? ~Kaz

Kesa

Kesaasked

Why am I hearing nothing about my insurance claim not even that the assessor has received the claims from the New Year’s Eve fires. We had a text message From someone from NRMA but have not been able to contact him since. I have sent emails to the assessor office and no reply. Tried contacting by phone get a answer machine

4 answers
BOb
BOb

Hi Kesa, so sorry to hear of your ordeal. This must be distressing. It would be worth your time to contact the Australian Financial Complaints Authority https://www.afca.org.au/. If you get know where with this contact your local MP minister of parliament... local representative.

kezza
kezza

Because NRMA claims are useless!

Margaret
Margaret

My experience recently is that NRMA policies are worthless! I am still waiting for my property to be made safe after storms one month ago. Every time it rains more damage is caused. I receive no contact even after sending numerous emails and attempting to ring! Very very frustrating and disappointing!

Get an answer from our members and NRMA Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.