2 photos
Onga Pool Shark

Onga Pool Shark

2.4 from 25 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Onga

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
northernangler
northernanglerNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

After less than 2 years the thing just fell to bits, all the plastic fitting disintegrated

published

We use a pool cover that allows us to lower chlorine production and lessen pump run times. I remove some of the cover at times to check chemicals etc. and check the pool cleanliness. Pool cleanre has been working for nearly two years and has simply fell to bits. I have been told by the manufacturer the plastic bits are not under warranty.

  • Thumbnail
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poor quality, would never buy again

published

9 months old grey bumper splitting. Was told due to chemical imbalance and with no proof not covered under warranty.
Looking at previous reviews this has been an issue for some time maybe make a pool cleaner that is a little better quality. Never had an issue with “Chemicals” with any other pool cleaners I’ve owned.
Also the timer failed twice on the chlorinator, second failure they replaced the chlorinator

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brent Matthew
Brent MatthewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Shocking

published

This pool cleaner was fine for about three months then it started falling apart .The bumper keep falling off
.After a year the bumper got little splits on the top of it and the cleaner would not sink properly .Then after 15 months it would not spin and would get stuck in all areas of the pool all the time .Rang Pentair and they said only one year warrant for parts ,make sure you read the fine print . They were not helpful at all , very bad service ,this machine is rubbish and after 17 months old i now have to buy a new one .Shame on you Pentair .

Purchased in September 2018 for $299.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wall climbing

published

I have this one for about 8 years now. Mine does climb walls. It all depends on the settings. But it does climb. The things I have to replace on it have been the handle and the bottom pieces. I get them on inyopool.com or any place I find them cheaper.

Purchased in January 2009 for $42,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Pool Shark compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lollies
LolliesSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified

Doesn’t climb walls

published

This little machine does a great job of cleaning the bottom of our pool, where most of the sand and dirt is, but it does not go up the walls or on the stairs. It will try to go up the wall but will give up at about 10cm up.

Purchased in December 2019 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $280.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tunastuff
TunastuffSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Stuck Pool Shark, Easy fix

published

It always stops for no reason. Found the pivoting flange stuck on one side. Closer look revealed,it was sticking on black rubber-Design fault. Pull apart outside housing and insert a spacer btw black rubber and edge, this stops the flange from sticking. Job done. Also I use 100mile tape to keep plastic from rotting.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2014 at Ormeau for $300.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad Osborne
Brad OsborneHunter Region, NSW

Rubbish

published

Don't buy this crap, on to my third bumper rubbers, they last barely 12 months, spend a bit more for something better, $57 a time, would bin it but selling property

Purchased in June 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $300.

Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Incircles
IncirclesPerth
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Slow coach ~ Stuck In One Spot - Defective piece of rubbish!

published

Purchased an in-ground fiberglass pool and was recommend Onga. The leader hose ripped on day 5. Tapped up and waited for the replacement. During this time it went from average speed to slow coach. Thought this was due to the DIY repair. A replacement arrived we connected it back together again, but its still moving at a snails pace.

Facts:
-Lines,basket, filter clear,
-full pressure,
-Hoses pulling water in (until connected to shark)
-Shark clear of debris

Therefore the root cause appears to be a defective slow moving piece of plastic rubbish!

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
neatgadgets
neatgadgets
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Served well but eventually became too expensive to fix

published

I bought this one back in 2009 and has been going well. Every 3 years or so I had to replace the rubber components which wasn't too bad. However now it seems to be stuck in one spot and really needs to be totally replaced. So I am considering something else. But it did serve it's time well.

Date PurchasedJuly 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Pool Shark compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

13 Years and still going

published

Purchased the Shark pool cleaner when i bought the house 13 years ago and its still cleaning, it is a bit worse for wear now but then again it has been in the pool for all that time but hasn't needed any repairs. It cleans quickly, and has made maintaining the pool very easy.

Date PurchasedJan 2004
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris
ChrisGold Coast
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

The Pentair Sand Shark gets the job done

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I call it stupid

published

Is there a swivel connection available for this cleaner? Maybe that would solve the problem.
It's easier for me to manually clean the pool than twist the hoses every 3 mins because the shark is stuck.
Think I'll buy a second hand zodiac instead.
I don't like to knock someone's invention but no choice with this item.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Onga Pool Shark compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean
DeanGold Coast

Great pool cleaner.

published

I've had the same "Shark" for almost 10 years. We had a pool person repair it once. The pool surface is always clean. It's great in areas that have lots of leaves as the large suction inlet does not get plugged. When this one dies I will most definitely be getting another.

Date PurchasedSept 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unbelievable!

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James C
James C
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless

published

Pool Shark was provided with the inground pool in December 2015. From day one it tended to only clean one end of the pool, now it just goes until it hits the wall then stops. Tried all flow setting nothing helps. My pool is rectangular and this cleaner has never been able to get out of a corner. I have spent the past 3 months of a hot summer hand cleaning the pool as often as I can. I will be requesting a refund from the pool builder, they can then take it up with Onga.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Andrew R.
Andrew R.asked

My Pool Shark has stopped moving. For a while it would move slowly, then not at all even when the filter is on, so the pool is not being cleaned. Any suggestions? Thanks

No answers
Ian P.
Ian P.asked

My pool shark keeps going on it’s back what is problem

3 answers
Ian P.
Ian P.

My pool shark keeps going on it’s back when it comes down on wall

Brad Osborne
Brad Osborne

Check bumber is OK, the weight on the hose in right spot or check water is in the hose, hose should vibrate if running

Ian P.
Ian P.

I moved weight back up the line and it seems to be working fine. Thank you for your time

unhappy
unhappyasked

My grey Pool Shark operates in a saltwater pool. The rubbers on the bumper handle keep splitting in only a few months. The chlorine is sometimes over 3 ppm but only occasionally when there is no swimming. Is this product fault? I know of one where the splitting occured where the chlorinator was faulty and no chlorine was being added to the pool. What happens in a chlorine pool?

No answers
See all Onga Pool Shark questions

Get an answer from our members and Onga representatives

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)295
Release dateSept 2010
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.