1 photo
Oricom BSM888

Oricom BSM888

MPN: BSM888
4.5 from 73 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Oricom

Reviews

4.5
73 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Nicolaas
Nicolaas
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Work great, have one in the Pajero and the caravan

published

Had a long play with this, wanted to have it on the caravan battery but bought two on special. One in the tow vehicle too. I find it slow to connect and the update can take a little while if you haven't connected for a while. It did show me how much the battery uses when connecting appliances to it through an inverter. Well worth the money.

Purchased in September 2021 for $88.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Draganotz
DraganotzSydney, NSW
  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

So useful, why haven't I had one of these before?

published

Not sure why I finally realised one of these would be useful to ward off the possibility of an unexpected battery failure sometime in the future, but once I found out that these could be used to monitor the health of my battery and communicate it back to my iPhone via a handy app, I was all in. Bought one and fitted it myself in 10 minutes...so easy. Worked so well that I later bought a second one for the wife's car. Now I monitor the health of both batteries via the one app. Very useful as we are both retired now and the car's don't get out as often (to charge the batteries) as when we were both working.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2021 at eBay for $55.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom

Terry551
Terry551Perth, WA
  • Verified

Wanted for deep cycle batteries

published

Bought the double pack. Put one unit on each deep cycle battery (car and caravan) The unit on car battery work OK but phone app. wouldnt recognise unit on caravan battery.
Contacted Oricom who asked for order number and invoice number which i provided but no response until I completed my initial review which was not complimentary. My techo knowledge is limited but eventually deleted phone app and reinstalled it and eventually got second unit working. I have therefore altered my review rating and would recommend these battery monitors.

Purchased in September 2021 at oricom on line. for $89.00.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

BMCM
BMCM
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great live information

published

I have a start battery and an auxiliary battery foe lights etc. Had an issue with the start battery loosing voltage. Have a device on each battery and was able to fault find. A must have and a very reasonable price. Would buy again

Purchased in October 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. Wishing you all the best with your future use. Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Car Care Products

Find out how Oricom BSM888 compares to other Car Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

So easy to setup and use

published

Found the setting up and usage so easy. Just download the app, press the add button, read the qr code and bobs your uncle... it just works. Only annoying part is opening the app each time

Purchased in August 2021 for $89.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Highly useful device

published

Excellent piece of kit for monitoring car battery condition. Takes less than 10 minutes to install and then connects seemlessly to your smartphone via Bluetooth. App is also quick to download and very easy to use.

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom.

Simon Williams
Simon WilliamsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Pretty Good but not Great

published

This review has been updated since I first posted a week or so back.
Oricom have updated their app which appears to have improved connectivity.
It seems to work well with the sensor in my wife's car but not so much with the second sensor in her van.
The van sensor thinks it's connected to a 24v system. It also won't load the Firmware update, the app crashes when I try to install it.
I'll try disconnecting the car sensor and have another go with the van but it's frustrating that it doesn't work as intended.

Purchased in July 2021 for $50.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Simon, the fault with the App has been addressed, and we would recommend that you uninstall your previous version of the app, and install the new version on the Google Play store, and it will work for you as intended. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Great way to monitor your batteries

published

Really easy and simple device for monitoring the battery. I found it super easy to install and the app is simple to navigate. Should have got the twin pack. Would recommend this product

Purchased in July 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom

Tim
Tim Hunter Region, NSW

Super Handy Product

published

have been using 2 of these now for about 2-3 months has been an absolute gem. Cheaper then going out and buying proper battery monitor gear and they have all the same tech. Super easy to setup and being able to watch what is happening on my phone cheering.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and review. We appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom.

Car Care Products

Find out how Oricom BSM888 compares to other Car Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Super useful Gadget

published

Used on a second battery that runs the fridge in the 4wd.
Given the battery position in the tray it's hard to access.
Was very easy to install and setup via the iOS app.
Was super easy to check via the app that the charger was working and the fridge always had power.
Could easily see the voltage change when the charger was on, or the fridge was running.
While designed for lead acid battery it worked fine on a Lithium battery. (Not all app features are suitable)
Turn off app notifications - too many to be useful.

Purchased in June 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

HI there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product and brand. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Gerrad M.
Gerrad M.Perth, WA

Great product. Beats a battery gauge in the car.

published

4 weeks in and working great. I had a Baintek battery gauge at rear of car that was never accurate due to voltage drop. This is so much better and gives so much more detail. Great product. Would totally recommend.

Purchased in June 2021 for $50.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom.

  • Verified

Handy

published

Gives handy read out of voltage Bluetooth. Also stores battery history, helped me work out when the starter battery was cooked. The notifications however from the app are a bit excessive, would be handy if it only gave you an update once a day, not every time you stand near the car

Purchased in April 2021 for $90.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Car Care Products

Find out how Oricom BSM888 compares to other Car Care Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Another handy device from Oricom

published

Easy install, item works as advertised. Gives you peace of mind when remote knowing the health of your battery. Purchased this based on the recommendation from LowRange Nick on Youtube.

Purchased in May 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and we appreciate the feedback. Wishing you all the very best with your future use. Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

  • Verified

Great device, piece of mind

published

The battery monitor works great and I especially like the trip catalogue.
One thing I hope is added to an updated product would be the availability of viewing on the app the amps that are either going into or out of the battery when in use or being charged.

All in all, currently a great piece of gear.

Purchased in October 2020 for $59.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and we appreciate the feedback. Wishing you all the very best with your future use. Oricom.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

roly
rolyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Bluetooth car battery monitor

published

Great little gadget, easy to install, good features. Build quality seems ok, time will tell. Terminals could be a thicker guage, have tendency to flex when battery terminal nut is tightened. Have now installed my second unit on the tractor, i can now monitor the performance of the battery, cranking was important for me especially on the tractor

Purchased in May 2021 for $44.50.

Incentivised Review No
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and taking the time to let others know of your experience with the product. All the best, Oricom.

Questions & Answers

Paul
Paulasked

Hi am interested in running this product on my secondary 12vdc lead acid deep cycle which is charged by Redarc 12/25bcdc in the rear off my ute as a way monitoring the status of the battery while driving? Is it compatible for this situation with the redarc charger ? Thanks

2 answers
Trams
Trams

Hi Paul
I purchased 2 of the Oricom battery monitors a few weeks ago and fitted one to the start battery of our car and one to an AGM battery in our caravan. The van battery is charged via a solar panel, a 240v C-Tek charger when it is connected to power and a DC to DC charger mounted on the car while we are towing. Both units seem to be working fine, and are visible side by side in the app. Obviously the info for the AGM battery doesn’t show cranking voltage but it does show capacity and charging status which is what I wanted. Hope this helps.
Cheers
Dave

Paul
Paul

Thanks Dave, i will give it a go then. Appreciate your response. Thankyou

Welms
Welmsasked

Can I connect the positive terminal into a positive (always-on) in fusebox in the engine bay? My battery terminals do not have screws/nuts in them to attach with, but Its easier to attach into positive in the fusebox.

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Welms, it is best to connect directly to the battery. By doing this it will exclude any poor connections that may be in the positive or negative connections. If customer is unsure then best to get auto electrician to install. All the best, Oricom.

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

Details

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9338161006267
  • MPN: BSM888

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.