??!
3 photos
Oricom Secure850 Digital

Oricom Secure850 Digital

MPN: SC850
3.0 from 175 reviews

Baby Monitors Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of baby monitor would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.0

175 reviews
5
(47)
4
(27)
3
(26)
2
(27)
1
(48)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (47)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (51)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (51)
  • Battery Life
    3.1 (50)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.9 (51)
  • Audio Quality
    3.5 (52)
  • Video Quality
    3.3 (52)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
brooke-manly

brooke-manlyNew South Wales

  • Verified purchase

Great quality and easy to set up

published

The picture quality is good and like the automatic sleep mode on the monitor. You can also adjust the volume of sound that the baby makes before the monitor turns on through the night which is great for restless sleepers. The music feature is really loud and distorted on the receiver though so use a separate lullaby projector.

Purchased in March 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review and for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the Secure850. Wishing you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

CRB

CRBSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

I sent it back for a refund.

published

The video quality is so sub-par that everything is pixilated and you can’t see anything. The movement of the camera when done remotely is jerky. And the lack of a lot of buttons means you are constantly cycling through what setting you need to do anything.
Sent it back and got a refund.

Purchased in April 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Audio Quality
Video Quality
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We are sorry to hear of your experience and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

  • Verified purchase

Definately does the job!!

published

It's a great monitor! The range cover is exactly what l need! The image quality is a bit pixelated but all video monitors are! It's reliable and it was very easy to set up even when I had to sync the camera from my old monitor that my toddlers broke!!

Purchased in May 2020 at Oricom for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Hannah, thanks for the review, and for taking the time to let others know of your experience. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure850 Digital compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TiHa

TiHaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Wouldn't purchase again

published

Range is good.. when it decides to work.
I'm constantly having the monitor beep in the middle of the night saying out of range. They replaced for a new camera and the new one does the same thing and flickers dark and light so I feel like it's having a disco party in the night.

Wouldn't purchase again.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
2 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
TiHa
TiHa

Of course it's someone else's fault not the product!!

I have been through everything with a support person and ruled out everything that I could have been doing wrong!!

Ashlee Nicholson

Ashlee NicholsonSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Great product, even better customer service!

published

The monitor is great! It is super clear image in both light and dark, works really well, plug and play, and the thermometer gives me such peace of mind that bub is safe and in a comfortable temperature. A+++

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Ashlee, thanks for the review. We appreciate the support and wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care..

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Mirjana

MirjanaVictoria

  • Verified purchase

Works well for price

published

If baby door is shut it will sometimes come up out of range. Light is bright in baby’s room have stuck a book in front of it. Good battery and monitor can turn to adjust. The picture is also very clear.

Purchased in March 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review, and for sending through your feedback to the benefit of others. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Lynn

LynnSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Very happy customer

published

The Oricom Secure850 digital gives me peace of mind and I am very happy with the video quality and sound. I can go into the garden with the monitor and can see exactly what baby is doing.

Purchased in May 2020 at Opticom .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Lynn, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and thanks for taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Verity

VerityPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

It’s... ok

published

The quality of the camera and ability to tilt is great. Range varies hugely depending on the day. Some days I can be 5m from my sons room and it will say out of range. The night light is waaaaaaay too bright. Much preferred the orange one on my old 710.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience, and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Harmony R.

Harmony R.Southwest, VIC

  • Verified purchase

Very happy customer

published

Happy with this monitor. It has a great picture and good range. It was very easy to set up and run. It also has an excellent battery life. Very happy customer!

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback, and wish you all the best with your future use. Oricom

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure850 Digital compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Amazing!!

published

Amazing!!! We have a large house and both cameras in our kids. They can be monitored anytime from inside and outside the house. Absolute life changer for us. Worth the $$$

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Emm, thanks for the review and feedback. We appreciate the support and so glad to hear of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Review collected in partnership with Oricom

Worst baby monitor

published

This is the worst baby monitor anyone could have! I paid $279 for it and it was the biggest waste of money- currently has no sound, and the temperature reads 54degrees when it’s 21degrees

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Stephen B.

Stephen B.Sydney, NSW

High priced rubbish

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Toysrus for A$440.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Hayley S.

Hayley S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Don’t waste your money

published

Having spent $200+ on this monitor I could not be more disappointed. I live in a 2 bedroom apartment and it constantly shuts off because it’s out of range. The video often cuts out also. Very unreliable and a complete waste of money.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kiddie Country for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
6 comments
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom
Hayley S.
Hayley S.
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Hayley, if you would prefer to offer a time that we could contact, and message through your preferred no. to be contacted on, please email support@oricom.com.au and the team will contact you. Oricom Baby Care.

Jasmin A.

Jasmin A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Absolutely hate this monitor!

published

1. Says "out of range" when the PlayStation is running. So can't use PlayStation if you have a baby who's asleep. What a joke.
2. Says "out of range" randomly for no reason at all
3. Moving camera left right up and down works 20% of the time and only fixes upon turning device off and on again
So upset as I spent a small fortune on this and should have spent the extra money to get something that doesn't work on old fashioned radio frequency.. lift your game Oricom, it's 2020..
4. Screen lags all the time

It's not fit for purpose and I am this close to lodging it with ACCC for a refund.

Purchased in February 2019 at Catch for A$190.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
2 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Jasmin A.
Jasmin A.

Your customer service have asked for my credit card details when processing the warranty "in case I don't return the faulty unit" back to you.
This is insane!!!! Definately taking this further if I can't attain a refund.

SJE

SJE

  • 4 reviews

Biggest waste of money

published

Worked fine until we added a second camera. From day one, the pairing wouldn’t work as simply as stated in the product guide, it would constantly drop out or say out of range even when it was beside the monitor screen unit. Cannot understand why we paid $150 for the second unit that never works properly. Don’t waste your money or time with this. Very disappointing.

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure850 Digital compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jamie

JamieSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Don’t bother

published

Honestly, I wouldn’t even bother. I wish I read the reviews before buying this monitor. We have used it 3 times and it’s dropped out of range each time. No we don’t have anything on in the house interrupting, we are about 10 metres away from the room, yes we have tried re pairing CONSTANTLY, removed battery, powered on and off EVERYTHING. Sometimes it works and then cya out of range. The parent unit decides to go out of range while I’m still in the room! I have no confidence to actually use this at night. I just hope the refund process isn’t as difficult as it is to own one of these things.

Purchased in March 2020 at Oricom for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Nikki

NikkiSydney Surrounds, NSW

Love it

published

I’m really happy with this monitor for my home. It’s so easy to set up and is reliable, I haven’t had any issues. I highly recommend this monitor and video screen.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks so much for the review. We really appreciate the feedback. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Alecia

AleciaPerth, WA

Worse monitor ever

published

have used it for 6 nights and the handpiece screen has now distorted and you can’t see anything but lines, wouldn’t recommend at all, waste of money, audio is ok

Purchased in November 2018 for A$439.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Alecia, thanks for the message. We would love to have this sorted with you, so please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 1300 889 785 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Madieeb

MadieebQueensland

  • 2 reviews

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

published

I have owned this product for less then a year and have had constant issues with it. Sound constantly not working, dropping out of range when standing right next to the camera, screen freezing and after numerous calls to Oricom they are finally sending me a new camera but I have to pay postage to sent my old one back. Not happy with that as it’s still under the 2 year warranty so I should not be out of pocket for a product that for the price you would think would work!!!

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We are sorry to hear of your experience and glad to hear that Oricom Support have been to touch to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Emma

Emma

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic!! Oricom Secure 850 and breathing sensor

published

Fantastic camera and breathing monitor! Love that you can adjust the sound sensitivity, pan around the room, large clear colour screen, play lullabies, great signal, great audio, easy set up.

Purchased in January 2019 at Gadget City Online store for A$339.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Emma, thanks for the review and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Jas L.

Jas L.asked

I have this monitor and need a 2nd camera do I have to purchase the same camera or can I get another camera of the same brand that will work with this monitor.

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Jas, thanks for the message. The model numbers of the camera units compatible with the SC850 system are the CU850PT and CU710. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Kevin.

Kevin.asked

Hi. What’s the warranty from date of purchase. We have our monitor 18mths now, and second baby due to arrive in 3 weeks but our monitor has 5 or 6 multicolored going right down through the screen. It’s impossible to see anything on the screen. Can this be fixed under warranty,
Thanks
Kevin,

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kevin, the included warranty is 3 years on our range of baby monitors, so we would recommend that you give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Luc H.

Luc H.asked

Our monitor has stopped pairing with the camera. Any good tips how to repair that problem?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. If you would like to give our locally based team a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, the team will be able to assist you in this. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.