??!
1 photo
Outback Equipment
4.4 from 103 reviews

Terrible Customer Service and false expectations

Just ordered a Sphere 3.3kg Automatic Mini RV Washing Machine - 240v. I chose a Brisbane based company even though it was $30 cheaper elsewhere. I should have gone for the cheaper option as loyalty is not rewarded.
The website estimation of shipping said one day on the day of order (it now says 2 days) and it only has to come across Brisbane so one would think that was the case??? However, my order was placed on hold to check it was a legitimate order - isn't that what my bank does when I pay. I called them and had it approved. It then spent a good day on pick before moving to pack. Finally 2 days later it went to dispatch. Joy of Joys, they then posted it Auspost which now means 3 days to ship - not one day and not 2 days!
I called the company to see what their customer service might do to rectify this and was basically told they had done what their website said. They did not care.
So now we have to drive back to our collection point as we are moving sites to collect the washing machine, could have got a better deal if we had not been loyal to a local company and will never use this company again.

Return Claim MadeNo

False and misleading advertising

Beware: This company advertises bonuses to get you to buy and then don't follow through with what their add clearly says.
I bought an air compressor from Outback Equipment with the promise of a free gift at checkout if I purchased that day. I paid for the compressor only to be told that the add was a mistake and I wont be receiving the promised bonus.
After follow up emails I was finally offered a refund but no free gift.
Would not recommend buying anything from this company especially when offering apparent free/bonus items.

1 comment
Hi Travis, As we have tried to explain through email and over the phone and in response to your Google review, the "ad" was a system generated notice that was automatically posted to each individual item without taking the terms and conditions into account. Marketing material was emailed to our customers with clearly outlined conditions, but our website's automation was not correctly programmed to properly reflect the promotion. As soon as this came to our attention we attempted to remedy the situation by editing the promotional message, but have since decided that it would be best to remove product listing notices altogether for this and all future promotions. We have offered you a refund as well as the option of price matching a discount code on eBay you claimed to have as we had no desire to mislead you into making the purchase. You have refused both options but unfortunately we would be hard pressed to provide you the free gift due to the value of the items involved and for that we apologise again for the error. Thank you for compelling us to reassess the measures required in executing these kinds of promotions so we can avoid repeating such mistakes in future Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Diggin the Diggar

My purchase experience with Outback Equipment was easy and excellent, the fact that it was post free made my purchase even sweeter and it was efficiently delivered within 2 days. Their communication was excellent. The Diggar Shovel is an excellent product. Made of solid acrylic the handles screw on and off easily and are both strong when attached. The spade of the shovel is a great size and sturdy steel with turned edges. The size appeals to me as we tow an off road van and the Diggar stowes away nicely in the front hatch of the van, in its carry bag ready for use.

2 comments
Hi Weiry, Glad to hear the shovel is working out so well. Thanks a bunch for the positive feedback! Best regards, The Outback Equipment TeamNo worries happy to give credit were it’s due. Nothing better than to buy from a business that is run so efficiently. regards Weiry

Could be the difference between a good road trip and a bad experience.

Just fitted these and then completed over 2500 kms through mostly outback country - no kangaroos challenged my car, nor any other critters. Choice or chance? Who knows but I am happy with the real trial


Skipping Skippy

I started using the plain black version in Central Australia - (no joke intended) - & had only one hit
at very much under the recommended speed for them to work . So after 8 years of them being cooked &sand blasted I've replaced them with these flash looking chrome ones


Good products, fast delivery and good customer service!

I ordered on Outback Equipment after reading a lot of reviews online about the equipment I wanted to buy (Maxtraxx and a air compressor). Outback equipment offered the best price.

For the air compressor, I chose the Mean Mother Adventurer 3. We previously used a cheap small compressor and what a difference! I've used it 4 or 5 times now and I am really satisfied with it. The compressor did not heat up too much, it was fast and the remote is convenient.

1 comment
Hi Tristan, Thanks for the great review! Good to hear the air compressor is working out for you. We use the Adventurer ourselves and it has always served us well. Thanks again for the feedback! Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Perfect customer service

Thank you the snorkel was easy to fit and looks really good and great price and communication was really good fast delivery

1 comment
Hi Nigel, Thanks for the great review. We're happy we could be of service and glad to hear the snorkel has worked out well. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!! WILL NOT BE BACK AS A CUSTOMER.

I purchased Dr Air Compressor online on 22nd October,2018. 2 days later I recieved an email stating that if I buy a Dr Air Compressor I will recieve a tyre gauge and bypass controller for free. The email was dated 24/10/18.
I rang the store inquiring about this deal and spoke to Dave, a sales assistant.He said he would ask his manager. Being on hold for 5 minutes, he returned and said the manager could meet me half way and sell me the "Freebies" for $30. I asked to speak to the manager and Dave's reply was that his manager does not take calls. I said that is part of his job, to speak to his customers. Dave said he was too busy.I persisted with the matter and finally the manager took my call. He stated that he could send out the "Freebies" to me but postage would be $30 and that they retailed at $60 .On the email RRP was $180.This is totally different to what Dave had told me minutes earlier.
ANYWAY I have money to spend but I DEFINITELY WILL NOT be spending it at this store. Very unprofessional and untrained staff members. Shame on you for your POOR service. Your loss!!!

1 comment
Hi Debo, It is unfortunate that we were yet to release our special offer at the time you purchased your air compressor. Your order was processed last week and you only called this morning to enquire about the deal on the air compressor that you have already received. As you made your purchase outside of the deal period, we are not obligated to honour it. This is why we offered to meet you halfway by selling you the items at cost as well as shipping. We're sorry that you have taken aversion to our customer service team trying to explain all of this to you. Please also note, the RRP you're referring to in the email was in relation to how much the minimum spend must be in order to get the free gifts and not the value of the gifts. Again, our apologies for being unable to meet your demands. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Very happy with product

Adjustable towbar was very easy to fit. Easy to change height of tongue for different trailers 3.5 tonne capacity ideal for caravan

1 comment
Hi BRM, Thanks for the positive feedback! We're happy to hear the adjustable towbar is working a treat. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Experts in the field

Excellent product range and very knowledgeable.everything you need for camping and caravaning.competitive pricing and availability.i would recommend highly.great service given.

1 comment
Hi Robo, Thanks for singing our praises! We're stoked to hear you had a positive experience with us. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Good price and delivery service

I have just started caravaning and needed extended mirrors to see whats behind. I would buy from them again. Thanks

1 comment
Hi Phil, Thanks for the positive review! Best of luck with the caravanning adventures and let us know if we can be of any assistance to you again. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Car Cover

Extremely happy with the quality of the cover as well as with Outback Equipment. I would certainly use Outback Equipment again.

1 comment
Hi Dave, Thanks for the glowing review! We're glad to hear the cover has worked out well for you. We look forward to hopefully being of service to you again. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Zero service

Like other poster I ordered and paid for goods and was then contacted to call a 1300 number to confirm order or goods would not be shipped. After trying 6 times over 2 days I called a mobile no. contained in an email and was told that if they were busy the phone would ring out and they do not get notification of my call. In the meantime they are sat on my money. I’ve requested a refund which I have been told will be actioned today. Time will tell but no further interest in ordering from this company

1 comment
Hi Chris, We apologise that you felt the ordering process did not go smoothly for you. We did call and email you for confirmation - due to the amount spent on your credit card as per our policy - the same afternoon you placed your order and then when you got a hold of us first thing the following morning you cancelled your order. From the moment you placed your order, to the moment you cancelled, 5 business hours had lapsed. Our accounts department was informed the following day and as you said, the refund was actioned today. Based on the fact that you ordered 2.5 hours before close of business, your order would still only have started getting processed the following day due to the hundreds of other customers we serve in a day and the courier pick-up times we must work within. It seems we were always bound to fail in this scenario, but we thank you for your feedback. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

De-flappers

The de-flappers fitted perfectly with the added curved awning support bar made the whole plan of stopping the awning from moving around in the wind ,thanks again.

2 comments
Hi Douglas, Thanks a bunch for the positive review! Glad to hear the de-flappers and roof rafter are working a treat! Best regards, The Outback Equipment TeamGlad to help out .

Great product - great service

Very helpful customer service after ordering the wrong style car dash mat but was changed quickly before despatch. Delivery was quick. Extremely happy with product. Great quality.

1 comment
Hi Jake, Thanks for such a positive review. We're happy to hear it all worked out in the end. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Does what it says on the packet

It does what it says on the packet, a functional dash mat that fits the proton jumbuck well. My only criticism is the holes around the delisted don't match perfectly..

1 comment
Hi ArgyBargy, Thanks for the constructive review. We'll be sure to pass on that point of information to the manufacturer. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Great dash matt

This dash matt fitted perfectly and is finnished off very well, looks great and does the job very well that it was intended for.

1 comment
Hi Jobbo, Thanks a bunch for the great review. Glad to hear the dashmat is serving you well. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Deliberately wasting my time and lied to

Bought a Maxxair fan. 500+ dollars disappears from the card instantly. Wait. Two weeks. Nothing. Call up and was told a blatant lie of the following " yeah ah we haven't sent out your item because you are a new customer and we are worried about fraud and we just need to double check your details".
Me: I'm fraudulent?! You take my money two weeks ago without any correspondence.
Outback: I'll express post it for you

Three weeks later

Still no fan. Call up again and was told that their supplier has a back order, and it will be in tomorrow.

Me: refund me immediately and I'll take my business to somewhere not run by monkeys

Yet to see refund.

1 comment
Hi Tymon, We're sorry to hear your experience with Outback Equipment was less than ideal. We do perform fraud checks with customers who spend a certain amount with their credit cards through our website. This is because online retailers have been targeted by groups using stolen credit card details who then get items sent to different/fake addresses. By the time the error is discovered, the item has already been sent but the money must be returned to the credit card holder which leaves the retailer out of pocket. We did email you for confirmation, but it seems your details were then overlooked for a follow-up phone call which explains the initial delay and for which we are very sorry. Due to the same misplacement of processes, the fan missed getting ordered for you and we completely admit fault to that and apologise for the sizable inconvenience. By way of reparation we did provide you a $50 store credit and refunded you the full cost of the fan on the 13th of August - of which we have transaction records. If you are actually yet to see this refund you should contact your credit card provider immediately. Again, many apologies for the oversights on our behalf. We are working hard to ensure mistakes like these do not occur in future. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Quality product

Ordered a molded dashmat online as unable to find particular vehicle version in auto stores. Arrived as expected and fit perfectly. Thank you.

1 comment
Hi Marie, We're glad to hear you were able to find your dashmat with us and that it fit so well. Thanks for the positive review! Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Excellent Service - ThankYou

"Excellent service, quick delivery. Definitely recommend. Thank you. Regards Bob"
I purchased a duplicate order for my Son's vehicles. Thanks again.

1 comment
Hi Bob, Thank you for the glowing recommendation! We're happy to hear you had a great experience with us. Best regards, The Outback Equipment Team

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Interested in towing mirrors for my Isuzu D-max ,any reviews? thanks
2 answers
Hi Ivan, I tow with a Mazda BT50 and my van is 2.5m wide. Initially I purchased the Milenco removable tow mirrors they were ok but not legal because you need to see down along the side of your van to be legal, and they shake and a pain to take on and off. I then purchased the quality Clearview towing mirrors, they are fantastic not that hard to install, they replace your original mirrors and don’t shake they are adjustable electronically and extend out so you can clearly see down the side of your van and clearly see trucks approaching etc. A tip - you can go onto Clearview website and purchase pre loved mirrors to suite your model much cheaper, which is what I did. You just need to check the website everyday they sell quick.Great answer thanks .

Similar listings