??!
3 photos
Panasonic SR-DF101WST / SR-DF181WST

Panasonic SR-DF101WST / SR-DF181WST

SR-DF101WST and SR-DF181WST
3.5 from 27 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
11
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
4

phoenixd

phoenixdMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 74 reviews
  • 25 likes

Small, 5-cup cooker - exactly what we need

published

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $85.00.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Thank you fo rthe detailed feedback, we do really appreciate you taking the time to provide the review.


Renae

Renae

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terribly Slow

published

I purchased this rice cooker as our last one died. I really wish the store still had my old rice cooker in stock as this one is so slow. It can take over an hour for white rice & there is no alarm to let you know when its done. Sometimes it flicks over to keep warm even before its finished cooking.
It really hasn't made cooking rice easy at all, i might as well cook it on the stove & stand there & watch like we used to.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Graham

GrahamPerth, WA

Great rice... but SO slow!

published

While, admittedly, the eventual result is excellently cooked rice, it takes over 2 hours to cook brown rice (seriously!). Plus it has no alarm to alert you when it’s finished cooking which means you can’t just set & forget & wait for the ‘beep’ so have keep checking it. Disappointed really especially for the cost. My old “cheapie” didn’t cook quite as well but it was/is super quick & ‘pings’ when it’s ready.

Purchased in March 2019 for $89.00.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Hason

HasonSydney, NSW

  • 46 reviews
  • 15 likes

Nice compact versatile cooker.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at 2nds World Online store for $79.00.


Steve

SteveNSW, 2019

  • 24 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great Rice Cooker best I've had so far

published

I've gotten this through my 'flybys' reward program and the SR-DF181WST is the easiest and best rice cooker I've had, no complaints and it does its job in every aspect. Its modern, looks great in a modern kitchen and its ease of use is tremendous, that is and if you read the instruction manual, which I'm sure some people don't and that is why they have some of the problems listed here.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Steve, thank you for taking the time to provide such great information on your experience with your rice cooker, we are glad to hear you find it so easy to use. Happy cooking!


Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Rice Cooked easy

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016

jeeperscreepers

jeeperscreepersMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Waste of time I

published

I was tossing up between buying a cheap rice cooker or the Panasonic thinking you get whatwhat you pay for. My first attempt was a failure ,I was hoping to have rice for tea. After two hours the rice was still hard. I tried again the following day and had the same result I followed all the instructions for white rice. I am taking it back to the Good Guys.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Kelly

KellyPomona

  • 3 reviews

Bought for Brown Rice

published

... but found the brown rice setting didn’t work very well. Used the ordinary rice setting instead but not very happy with that either. Perhaps I wasn’t very impressed with this rice cooker because I usually make only a single serve of rice - one third of a cup - for myself, and presume it would be handy for people who cooked larger quantities. I have an induction cook top with a timer, and that makes perfect brown and white rice and wonder to myself why I bought this rice cooker.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
ccoll

ccoll

  • 39 reviews
  • 13 likes

Works great

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Levi Tsung

Levi TsungAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Reliable rice cooker

published

We were looking for a small rice cooker just for my partner and myself and a lot of the rice cookers in the market are too big, for big families. I finally found this one and we are very happy. It's effective, it doesn't take too long to cook, it doesn't take up too much space in the kitchen, and It's cute.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Ethann

EthannMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but not the best rice cooker

published

I bought this rice cooker eight months ago and have used it everyday. So far the cooker worked fine for different purposes i.e. making sticky rice, porridge or steaming vegetables. However I found the cleaning work for this cooker is hard and there is no water drainage for water coming out of the cooker. This is a big miss as it's a common
thing to have, even with cheaper rice cookers available on the market

Date PurchasedApr 2017

M Ramirez

M RamirezGreat Southern, WA

  • 22 reviews
  • 24 likes

Very happy with it!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015

HumanBean

HumanBeanAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

A good choice

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Colin N

Colin NMelbourne

A great choice!

published

Bought this cooker 2 months ago. I have no complaints so far. It's very easy to use and clean. I usually eat brown rice and it cook them very well. The steam function works well too but you need to use timer as it only automatically stops when running out of water. 5 cups are enough for 3 to 4 people.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
ApplePineapplePen

ApplePineapplePenPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Makes good rice and soup

published

I used this to make rice and soup and it cooks perfectly well. Simple to use and easy to clean. Do not have any problems with this rice cooker. The rice does not stick to the pot hence easy to wash and clean. Have been using it for months and it still works perfectly well.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Martin F

Martin FSydney

  • 5 reviews

Good rice cooker

published

I have been using this rice cooker for the past few years. The price is reasonably, and does cook a few different types of rice. The only thing it's the inside of the cover is not very easy to clean, sometimes there are rice hidden in it and I can't clean it properly.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Jessie

Jessie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product!

published

Excellent product at very good price! It works great and makes perfect rice. It is easy to use and very easy to clean after use. This is my third rice cooker. I bought it three months ago. I use it almost everyday and I still very love it.
I certainly will recomand for everyone.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Almost Perfect.....

published

Pros

-Great Tasting rice. (Perfect Basmati, Jasmine, Long and short grain.
-Good Brown rice
-Simple to use.
--EASY Cleanup. (Simple wipe down after every use of lid avoids cleanliness issues.)

Cons

-Measuring off from factory.... Have to use a little less water or else it comes out as mush
-Only available in white... (Stainless/Brushed Steel or Black finish option would help it blend into the kitchen better.)

Date PurchasedMar 2015

KATHLEEN

KATHLEENMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

It is So Easy To Use, I Use It For Everything

published

I think is cool, I have 6 of them from small to very large, no mess you can throw the pans away more room in the kitchen and safe to teach the little one how to cook without getting burn perfect for the home and unit like I have 5 stars. I even got one for my daughter for her home well done pasta, frying, cakes, soups bread, pancakes, roast and more.


Isabella

Isabella

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does make rice fuzzy so

published

This rice cooker is amazing so! I used this to cook porridge and it turned out to be that I don't even need any other dishes to accompany the porridge. Can make rice so sweet and sticky! That's amazing that I want to purchase two more to bring back to China.

2 comments
Isabella
Isabella
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Isabella, thanks for coming back and reviewing your product again. Great to hear you are so happy with it 4 years later.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Chanita

Chanitaasked

Where to buy a spare bowl in Australia

4 answers
Steve
Steve

I dont think you can buy a spare bowl? To make sure phone Panasonic spares and ask.

Hason
Hason

Try this link to order it from their American warehouse (make sure it is for the right model):
https://panasonic.encompass.com/model/MSCSRDF181

You can also get it in Australia from this link but it will be cheaper to buy a new rice cooker:
https://www.statewideapp.com.au/panasonic-rice-cooker-pan

Chanita
Chanita

Thank you everyone.


Chitta

Chittaasked

SR-DF181WST

How much water do you have to put for 2 cups of Brown rice?

1 answer
Dan
Dan

Standard recipe for cooking brown rice is 1 cup or rice to 2 1/2 cups of water. There's a water line to follow as well inside the cooking bowl if you wish to follow that as its pretty accurate as well.


Krem

Kremasked

SR-DF101WST

I just bought the SR DF101 and I must say that I absolutely DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE MANUAL. I mean I cannot figure out How many cups of rice with how many cups of water I need to put. There are no clear words of what's is cups of rice and what are cups of water in the table of measurements provided on the manual. Can anyone help?

3 answers

I returned mine for a refund it was quicker to cook rice on the stove as I have done for years

Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Krem, the table on page 5 shows the following for white rice - 1 cup of rice requires 1 1/2 cups of water. 2 cups of rice requires 2 3/4 cups of water, 3 cups of rice requires 4 cups of water. We hope this helps. If you require further assistance please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team on 132600.

Dan
Dan

There's marking inside the cooking bowl to follow. It's hard to see on low light but always works like a charm. As long as you use the same cup provided should have no issues.


Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

Panasonic SR-DF101WST

Panasonic SR-DF101WST

14 reviews
Panasonic SR-DF181WST

Panasonic SR-DF181WST

11 reviews
CategoryRice CookersRice Cookers
Price (RRP)$109$129
Release dateDec 2012Dec 2012

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.