??!
7 photos
Philips PowerLife Steam

Philips PowerLife Steam

GC2960, GC2997, GC2999, etc...
3.1 from 32 reviews

Reviews

3.1

32 reviews
5
(5)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next
Andrew

AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 90 reviews
  • 25 likes

No issues in over 2 years

published

We bought this iron over 2 years ago, and it hasn't missed a beat.

Realistically, irons are a pretty simple piece of kit, it's pretty hard to get it wrong. I especially like the auto-off function so that when the kids leave it on at the wall, it will turn itself off after 5 minutes. This has certainly saved me many dollars over the years.

It's been a great iron, with no likelihood of that changing any time soon.

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$67.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Andrew, we're happy to hear that you're so keen on the PowerLife steam iron. Thank you for sharing this here and enjoy the rest of your week!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Furqan Ali

Furqan AliSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great Steam Iron

published

This iron has a fantastic power and shows outstanding results in ironing cotton/silk shirts and Jeans. I am amazed by its steam generating capacity. I will recommend this iron to everyone.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Gold Coast Chris

Gold Coast ChrisBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Cord ridiculously short and no user instructions!

published

First day using and I could not find any instructions in the box. I filled it up, turned it on and hoped for the best. The power cord only just reaches the full length of the ironing table: did the developers even try using it? Under use it spat water all over my white linen trousers, but once they had dried out there were no marks. I doubt that would be the same in a few months. I have no ideas what the settings on the top mean or how and when to descale it. Also the base is too wide to fit into my wall-mounted iron tidy (Howard’s Storage). Big disappointment. I'll give it a few more goes and if it doesn't improve it's going back.

Purchased in January 2020 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton, Denim, Silk, Synthetics and Wool
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Philips PowerLife Steam compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
New user

New userGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Lovely iron but needs a longer cord

published

I am a long time philips iron user and this iron keeps up the standard. It is lightweight, heats up quickly but I am very disapppointed with the length of the cord. It is shorter than my old one and so I struggle unless I use an extension cord. Bring back the longer cord please.

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
New user
New user

Thank you for responding and good to know that our comments are taken on board. Cheers

Philips
Philips S.Philips
Amit R.

Amit R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Average to Bad for Philips brand value

published

Easy to use but temperature control is tricky. Easily gets too hot sometimes. With Philips one would expect a pretty high performing product. Works well with Cotton but linen and poly can be tricky. Steaming is good and works well combined with iron temperature.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Matt R

Matt RAU

  • 23 reviews
  • 20 likes

It’s great, very hot and glides easily

published

I purchased this iron based on the reviews on Amazon and because Philips has a relatively good reputation as an iron brand. The iron is probably one of the best I’ve used, its ability to glide along my work shirts is exceptional. I’ve found that the iron temperature gets hot enough to iron some of the most difficult shirts. The one thing I didn’t like is that the iron didn’t come with a cup to refill the water... I thought this was standard with every iron. Not a huge issue though. Good value for money!

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
Gibso

Gibso

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

A really good iron

published

Having had our last Philips iron for 10 years, naturally we replaced it with another Philips iron. So far we are pleased with this new one. The water gurgled at first, but it irons well.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jarrod

JarrodGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews

High quality iron

published

Pricey but you get what you pay for? Bought a cheap one that lasted a while but wouldn't iron very well. This uses water quite efficiently, has a good weight to it and turns on super quick.

Purchased in January 2019 at Amazon for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for taking your time to write this review and we appreciate the valuable feedback, Jarrod. :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Kit

KitAU

  • 2 reviews

Great performance

published

Very easy to use and get started with this iron. Just finished ironing shirts that my previous iron couldnt handle.
Quick and easy iron, although the instructions
- mainly pictures - are obviously made for the global market. Didnt see a need for registering warranty on this item. Would recommend for anyone.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Kit, thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you've been impressed with this PowerLife Steam iron. If you ever need our help, feel free to reach out to us on social media.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Philips PowerLife Steam compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jroc

Jroc

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Really easy to use product, with great results.

published

Really enjoy using this iron. Am always getting great heat and steam, which makes ironing out any creases really simple and quick to use. Ironing was always a chore with my previous irons, but its been made super quick and easy with this one, and am very glad I've bought it.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Dannie

DannieSomerton Park, South Australia 5044

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to use and good price

published

Bought this from good guys as we got 20 dollars off it. You just fill it up with water and set what type of steam setting you want and what type of fabric your going to iron and then go ahead and iron. The cord is super short but that's the only problem we had with it

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Winnie da pooh

Winnie da poohPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

It does the job

published

It really can do tge job and my clothes straight
But the biggest problem of the iron is that it sticks with my clothes everytime when i am ironing which is pretty hard to get it off and also it forms some black thing on the plate afterwards which is hard to get rid of them. The price is also not cheap, it’s right under a hundred dollar which is cheaper than most of the brand but it’s still expensive

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We've just replied to your private message.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

MBowman

MBowmanCanberra

Going on Auto off and won't heat

published

I am very disappointed, we have had the iron for less than 3 years and the auto off function comes on as soon as you plug the iron and won't heat. The warranty was for 2 years so maybe it was intentionally badly designed to make us go and get another one. I got philips because my mother had her iron for years, but clearly they don't make them of the same quality anymore so I have to look at other brands now. What a waste of products, plastic especially! It's bcs of businesses like these that our planet is covered in plastic waste.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Breadkrumz

BreadkrumzPerth

  • 5 reviews

Very useful quick n easy

published

The iron heats up well in time a to perfect temperature control is easy and steam is just right to keep my fresg clothes fresh the iron is very reliable and safe it lets me know when i have left it on and forgotten to turn it off by a beeping sound so i never forget

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here. We appreciate it as this is very valuable for us.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team.

Joe

JoeSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Business man essential

published

Always ironing my shirts for work, gone through so many models and this was the deal breaker, heats up in min, and once you get used to the heating functions, breeze to use. Feels well made in the hand, however lighter than the average iron which is a bonus for wrist pains.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Philips PowerLife Steam compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dalton1

Dalton1melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Meets My Needs

published

I am only an occasional ironer and this Philips iron meets my needs.
Its lightweight, heats up quickly and seems to hold the right temperature. Steam works well and the cord is long enough. It does have some discoloration on the base but for the times I need an iron, this does just fine.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Paul

PaulAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good iron

published

I have the GC2999. This is a good looking iron (which shouldn't matter but influenced my decision), and feels well made in the hand, being perhaps heavier than the average iron. It heats up quickly and reponds well to temperature control changes. I've had no problems with the spray or steam functions. I do wish the power cord was a bit longer but that's my only complaint so far. Otherwise I'm happy, it performs well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Not a good iron

published

This iron sticks to everything. It doesn't matter how much you turn it down it sticks to every garment. Then i am forever trying to clean the soleplate. Which is not an easy task at all. This iron has not been good from day one. I am very frustrated with this product.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Sticks and ruins clothes

published

Just 'melted' my last clothing item. As others have said, this iron is hopeless. I thought it was just me, but even on lower settings it sticks to clothes (particularly black for some reason) and I have an immovable brown mark on the iron as well. I also find it spits bits out at irregular intervals. Can never tell when it will happen.
Glad to have read these reviews to know it's not just me and I can safely bin this - despite the waste of money and the clothes now with marks. Expect better from Philips.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hello, we're sorry to hear this and we take a situation like this very seriously. We just sent you a private message asking for your contact details. We’d like to get in touch and see if we can help you.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Last Philips product for me

published

Bought this iron, (plus another Philips product), due to brand name.
Only used shop bought ironing water with it. Ok for about a year, then a brown sludge substance, rust coloured, started coming through the steam holes, staining the clothes. Also appeared as though there were bits of metal in it as well. Put the iron through a cleaning cycle, and could never rid the iron of this sludge deposit. Water in the reservoir always looked clean, but still the brown sludge continued to appear.
Also had a tendency to stick to clothing even when using lower temperatures.
In the bin with the other Philips product.

3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips

HI there. That's odd, a descaling cycle should do the trick. If that didn't help, maybe our colleagues at 1300 363 391, option 1 (for Australia) or at 0800 658 224, option 1 (for New Zealand) are able to help out.

Steamed
Steamed

Hi, not sure what support could have been given over a phone, other than take it to a service centre, and as it was out of warranty, I elected to dismantle to see if any repair could be affected. Not possible, so it was discarded.

Philips
Philips S.Philips
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Overit

Overitasked

PowerLife Steam

When I turn the power life iron ( GC 2996) on, the auto off light flashes and it immediately turns off. The iron has been working in the past. Is it now broken and I need a new one? The iron has hardly been used.

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hello there,

Thank you for getting in touch. We're sorry to hear you've ran into some trouble with your GC2996. For further assistance, please feel free to reach out to our product specialists at 1300 363 391 (Australia) or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand), so they can take a closer look at this for you. They'll be happy to help.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jim

Jimasked

PowerLife Steam

I have a Philips GC2997 iron. It has worked perfectly for about a year.

Today it switched itself off and will not switch back on.

When I plug it in, the red light flashes twice and then the iron does nothing.

Can this be fixed?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jim,

Thank you for raising this concern to us. If you see that the red calc lights are already flashing, it is high time to clean and de-calc your steam generator. You may see the detailed procedure of this here: https://www.philips.com.au/c-e/ho/ironing/descale-steam-generators?locale_code=en_us&remember_locale=en_au&_ga=2.130636934.841225727.1596723788-908297860.1588732995

Should you have any further questions, please contact our local product team at 0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Rowena Lewis

Rowena Lewisasked

PowerLife Steam GC2997

Is this iron has a self cleaning function?

2 answers
Gibso
Gibso

yes

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Besides the usual calc-clean functionality, the PowerLife Steam has a built-in calc-clean slider which allows for easy removal of any built-up scale from your iron. We hope this answers your question. If you have any further questions or comments, feel free to reach out to us on one of our social media channels (Facebook, Twitter @PhilipsCare) or on one of the following numbers:

AU 1300 363 391
NZ 0800 658 224

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.