??!
7 photos
Philips PowerLife Steam

Philips PowerLife Steam

GC2996, GC2997, GC2999, GC2910, GC2920 and 2 more
3.1 from 27 reviews

It’s great, very hot and glides easily

I purchased this iron based on the reviews on Amazon and because Philips has a relatively good reputation as an iron brand. The iron is probably one of the best I’ve used, its ability to glide along my work shirts is exceptional. I’ve found that the iron temperature gets hot enough to iron some of the most difficult shirts. The one thing I didn’t like is that the iron didn’t come with a cup to refill the water... I thought this was standard with every iron. Not a huge issue though. Good value for money!

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for $59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton

A really good iron

Having had our last Philips iron for 10 years, naturally we replaced it with another Philips iron. So far we are pleased with this new one. The water gurgled at first, but it irons well.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for the review - it's great to learn about your trust in Philips, as well as the fact that you're pleased with your new PowerLife. Happy ironing! Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

High quality iron

Pricey but you get what you pay for? Bought a cheap one that lasted a while but wouldn't iron very well. This uses water quite efficiently, has a good weight to it and turns on super quick.

Purchased in January 2019 at Amazon for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Daily
1 comment
Thanks for taking your time to write this review and we appreciate the valuable feedback, Jarrod. :) Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Great performance

Very easy to use and get started with this iron. Just finished ironing shirts that my previous iron couldnt handle.
Quick and easy iron, although the instructions
- mainly pictures - are obviously made for the global market. Didnt see a need for registering warranty on this item. Would recommend for anyone.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Hi Kit, thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you've been impressed with this PowerLife Steam iron. If you ever need our help, feel free to reach out to us on social media. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Really easy to use product, with great results.

Really enjoy using this iron. Am always getting great heat and steam, which makes ironing out any creases really simple and quick to use. Ironing was always a chore with my previous irons, but its been made super quick and easy with this one, and am very glad I've bought it.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Hi there, Wow, what a lovely review. We're so glad to hear this iron has been working so well for you. Thanks for sharing your feedback here. Happy ironing! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Easy to use and good price

Bought this from good guys as we got 20 dollars off it. You just fill it up with water and set what type of steam setting you want and what type of fabric your going to iron and then go ahead and iron. The cord is super short but that's the only problem we had with it

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review here, Dannie. We'll make sure to share your feedback about the cord with our product developers. If you're ever in need of assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out to us on one of our social media channels, where we're available 24/7. Alternatively, you could also give us a call at the following number: AU 1300 363 391 NZ 0800 658 224 Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

It does the job

It really can do tge job and my clothes straight
But the biggest problem of the iron is that it sticks with my clothes everytime when i am ironing which is pretty hard to get it off and also it forms some black thing on the plate afterwards which is hard to get rid of them. The price is also not cheap, it’s right under a hundred dollar which is cheaper than most of the brand but it’s still expensive

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Hi there, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We've just replied to your private message. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Going on Auto off and won't heat

I am very disappointed, we have had the iron for less than 3 years and the auto off function comes on as soon as you plug the iron and won't heat. The warranty was for 2 years so maybe it was intentionally badly designed to make us go and get another one. I got philips because my mother had her iron for years, but clearly they don't make them of the same quality anymore so I have to look at other brands now. What a waste of products, plastic especially! It's bcs of businesses like these that our planet is covered in plastic waste.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Very useful quick n easy

The iron heats up well in time a to perfect temperature control is easy and steam is just right to keep my fresg clothes fresh the iron is very reliable and safe it lets me know when i have left it on and forgotten to turn it off by a beeping sound so i never forget

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here. We appreciate it as this is very valuable for us. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Business man essential

Always ironing my shirts for work, gone through so many models and this was the deal breaker, heats up in min, and once you get used to the heating functions, breeze to use. Feels well made in the hand, however lighter than the average iron which is a bonus for wrist pains.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Meets My Needs

I am only an occasional ironer and this Philips iron meets my needs.
Its lightweight, heats up quickly and seems to hold the right temperature. Steam works well and the cord is long enough. It does have some discoloration on the base but for the times I need an iron, this does just fine.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Hi there, thank you for taking the effort of writing this review. It's great to hear on average you like our GC2997 as it meets your needs as an occasional ironer. It's a pity to hear the base discolored a little but we hope it doesn't bother you that much. Again, thanks for this review and hopefully on many more years with the GC2997. Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Good iron

I have the GC2999. This is a good looking iron (which shouldn't matter but influenced my decision), and feels well made in the hand, being perhaps heavier than the average iron. It heats up quickly and reponds well to temperature control changes. I've had no problems with the spray or steam functions. I do wish the power cord was a bit longer but that's my only complaint so far. Otherwise I'm happy, it performs well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Not a good iron

This iron sticks to everything. It doesn't matter how much you turn it down it sticks to every garment. Then i am forever trying to clean the soleplate. Which is not an easy task at all. This iron has not been good from day one. I am very frustrated with this product.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Hi Sharon. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and can imagine your frustration when garments keep sticking to the sole plate. Usually this indicates that the temperature is set too high, but since you mention that changing the temperature doesn't work, we'd like to look into this further. We advise you to reach out to our customer service centre so that they can assist you further. If you're based in Australia you can reach them on: 1300 363 391. For New Zealand the number is: 0800 658 224. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Sticks and ruins clothes

Just 'melted' my last clothing item. As others have said, this iron is hopeless. I thought it was just me, but even on lower settings it sticks to clothes (particularly black for some reason) and I have an immovable brown mark on the iron as well. I also find it spits bits out at irregular intervals. Can never tell when it will happen.
Glad to have read these reviews to know it's not just me and I can safely bin this - despite the waste of money and the clothes now with marks. Expect better from Philips.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Hello, we're sorry to hear this and we take a situation like this very seriously. We just sent you a private message asking for your contact details. We’d like to get in touch and see if we can help you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Last Philips product for me

Bought this iron, (plus another Philips product), due to brand name.
Only used shop bought ironing water with it. Ok for about a year, then a brown sludge substance, rust coloured, started coming through the steam holes, staining the clothes. Also appeared as though there were bits of metal in it as well. Put the iron through a cleaning cycle, and could never rid the iron of this sludge deposit. Water in the reservoir always looked clean, but still the brown sludge continued to appear.
Also had a tendency to stick to clothing even when using lower temperatures.
In the bin with the other Philips product.

3 comments
HI there. That's odd, a descaling cycle should do the trick. If that didn't help, maybe our colleagues at 1300 363 391, option 1 (for Australia) or at 0800 658 224, option 1 (for New Zealand) are able to help out.Hi, not sure what support could have been given over a phone, other than take it to a service centre, and as it was out of warranty, I elected to dismantle to see if any repair could be affected. Not possible, so it was discarded.Fair enough, although our team might have been able to help you out or meet you halfway somehow. Without making any promises that is, though. :) If you require our assistance at any time, please call us at the earlier mentioned number. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Auto off

Auto off button flashing and then turning off iron immediately. I have tried to unplug and leave for a while before plugging in again but that does not make a difference. Is there anything else I can try .What's happening ? . Kids back at school tomorrow and no uniforms ironed. Not happy.

1 comment
Hey Andy, that sounds rather unfortunate. Since it sounds like the iron may be broken, we kindly advise you to contact our Customer Care team as this may be a warranty related issue. If you are in Australia, please call 1300 363 391. For New Zealand, please call 0800 658 224. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Powerlife Stick

We bought this iron a few years ago and have battled along with it sticking to most of our clothes. The iron works but it is hard work because it just doesn't glide along the fabric as it should and some modern stretch fabrics start to burn before the crinkles actually come out. At the weekend we went and bought a new iron because we just got fed up with it and our new iron made us realise how bad this one had been. Needless to say, our new iron isn't a Philips, nor will I be keen to buy a Philips iron again.

1 comment
Hello, sorry to hear that the product didn't meet up to your expectations and thanks for your valuable feedback. If you ever want to discuss the issue further, please call us on 1300 363 391.

Dissapointment

Bought this iron ( most expensivbe iron on the shelve) as I thought this will be a excellent iron and to my dissapointment, after merely 3 weeks the steamglide become a steam sticker. it looks like I burnt clothes with all the stickey black ......( dont know what to call it) on the iron.

1 comment
Hi there, that doesn't sound very good. Would you be able to reach out to us via 1300 363 391? We'd like to look into this for you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Pretty terrible

Have been through many Phillips irons and always been happy however this one quickly became covered with back, sticky residue which despite trying a few different chemicals to remove is firmly stuck. While searching for this solution I came across a piece of advice "Buy a decent quality iron with a non-stick plate. A good iron will offer more reliable combinations of heat level and steam making it easier to successfully iron the sort of fabric which leaves a black deposit on the base of the iron. If you must wear clothes containing artificial fibres the quality of the iron becomes critical as they can be remarkably difficult to get smooth without using a heat level which causes some melting of the material onto the iron".
So after a few weeks am off to buy another one - with a non stick surface!


Went up in smoke.

The iron smoked a bit in first use which I assumed was normal. During the second use, my husband asked about the smoke. During the third use, it smoked enough to trigger our fire alarm. I believe we got a faulty one iron. We were very disappointed. Luckily, the shop accepted a return on the product.
comfortable grip, reasonable cord length
faulty, set off our smoke detector

1 comment
Hi Amy G, Firstly, our apologies that the product you bought did not perform as you expected it to. This particular iron has been a running model for quite some time and our irons do go through an extensive QC process to avoid instances of this kind. It definitely should not be smoking, as you describe, so you were right to return it under the warranty. Thank you for your feedback. This has been captured here to ensure it's acted upon. Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Hello, I have a GC2990 model, a couple of questions: 1) it is near impossible to see the water level due to the dark casing. Am I blind? Is a light I can’t see? 2) why does it stick to everything? No matter or fabric. 3) why do the steam holes not go all the way to the tip of the sole plate? I bought this because I wanted to be able to adjust the temperature setting myself so disappointed about these other things.
2 answers
Listen man i did the reviews for money idk anything about an iron i cant afford one broHi Ben, thanks for reaching out to us. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed by one of iron, and we would like to see what we can do to help change your experience for the better. Would you please give our colleagues at the Customer Service Line a call? You can reach them on 1300 363 391 (Australia) or 0800 658 224. THanks! Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Hi i have the power life iron with auto turn off but when i turn it on its going on auto turn off so it turns straight off and wont work how do i fix this? Ps. It is immediately turn the auto off light and a click sound then it won’t start
2 answers
Hello Muhammed, thanks for reaching out about this. To be honest this does sound quite strange! We'd recommend to contact us through http://philips.com/support/ or give us a call on 1300 363 391. Then we'll try our best to figure out what's going on and how we might be able to solve it. Many thanks! Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamI have the exact same issue

Hi, We have been very happy with our Philips GC2960 iron until today. Suddenly, the iron does not heat at all and the Auto Lite flicker only occasionally when placed on the soleplate for > 30 seconds. It does nothing in the upright position. Assuming the problem it is smoothing to do with the orientation timer is there any way to check this and or fix it. NMB
1 answer
Thanks for your question, gvh. It's a pity to hear there seems to be something wrong with your iron. We'd recommend to reach out to our product team by calling 1300 363 391. Alternatively you could find us on http://philips.com/support/. We'd like to see how we're able to fix this. :) Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Details

Philips PowerLife Steam GC2997Philips PowerLife Steam GC2999Philips PowerLife Steam GC2996Philips PowerLife Steam GC2910Philips PowerLife Steam GC2920Philips PowerLife Steam GC2930Philips PowerLife Steam GC2960
CategoryIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $79.95$99.95$79.95$49.95
Water Tank Capacity320ml320ml300ml300ml300ml300ml300ml
Release dateNov 2011Nov 2011Nov 2011
Replaced byPhilips PowerLife Steam GC2999

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.