??!
6 photos
Philips PowerPro FC8473/72

Philips PowerPro FC8473/72

MPN: FC8473/72
3.5 from 17 reviews

Reviews

(5)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(2)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (2)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Pet OwnerYes (0) · No (2)

Suzan Lovell

Suzan LovellSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Suction is great, but poor materials suck

published

This is still under warranty. I love bagless vacuums, and the power for suction is terrific on this machine. However every time I go to empty the container I struggle for at least 10 minutes trying to wrestle the thing out of this cheap plastic housing without breaking the catches. It's a real pain in the neck and really frustrating. They've got a great machine here but a totally lousy body. Why not spend a few more bucks at the manufacturer stage to make something truly worthwhile.

Purchased in May 2018 for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Holly

HollyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great value for money

published

I love this vacuum cleaner. It was the only decent one in our price range when we moved and its worked beyond my expectations. Weve had it for a year now with no problems. It has great suction and is light enough to move around and easily empty. Just make sure you clean and bang out the filter when you empty the bin

Purchased in June 2018 for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Nick

NickGilles Plains, South Australia

  • 4 reviews

Massive sucktion and cleans floors very well

published

Purchased this bagless vacuum over a year ago and have used it to clean our house which it dose a fairly good job on. It can pick up dirt from about the middle deep of our carpet and also dose well sucking up our dogs hair. It's easy to also empty with just simple two clicks and into the bin the dust and stuff goes!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Dale

DaleAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

Okay we owned this vacuum cleaner for about 8 months was working great for about 6 of those 8 months but then started to lose quite a bit of suction switch was a bit of a let down but over all you do get what you pay for I say buy a decent Dyson that will last years longer

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Andrew

AndrewWA, 6036

  • 4 reviews

great little machine

published

we are really happy with this new vacuum, it works great and comes with all sorts of extra attachments which makes cleaning couches etc really easy. with it being bagless it means that we no longer have to buy extra parts for it all the time and its easy to empty

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Flabbergasted

FlabbergastedSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it when it works

published

When I first purchased my Philips vacuum cleaner last September I was over the moon. This vacuum cleaner is light and it's suction was super powerful. However, last week, only 5 months after buying this, the suction does not work. It barely picks up a thing. Have tried cleaning it etc but it's still not working. Waiting to hear back on how this will be rectified. It's a nice practical design. Wish the power would work.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Flabbergasted
Flabbergasted

Hi there. Yes I did check all of the above. It turns out the small foam filter at the back fills up quickly. So chatted with the company I purchased it from and now after patting the dust out, it works again. It's a great vacuum barr this. Thanks

Philips
Philips S.Philips

anna c

anna cadelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great little sucker

published

Very strong suction, sometimes lifts the carpet it tries so hard! It does unfortunately suck up all kinds of things, like curtains and blankets from afar because it is so strong. It is light, but not the easiest to move around, constantly flipping itself when turning. I find it easier to just carry the thing by its handle to the vacuum destination. I'm only cleaning a small 2 bedroom unit though, so this problem may be amplified in larger houses. The filter is a bit of a pain to clean, but considering I don't have to deal with bags anymore, thats quite fine by me.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Mitchell Hargreaves

Mitchell HargreavesWA, 6163

  • 3 reviews

Decent price for a decent vacuum

published

Never needed a exspensive vacuum due to living alone though this product exceeds its value, high powered, durable and easy to move. Only negative is the noise which can turn very high pitched if the barrel is slightly out of place ! Clean my house which is carpet perfectly and also my car so don't have to pay for car cleaning services every month or so.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
izzy

izzyDarwin

  • 4 reviews

Because of my low immune system its just great even when you empty it no dust blows everywhere.the s

published

Because of my immune deficiency the vacuum has been a god send
It is worth every cent i paid.i would recommend people with disabilities as well to use.because it is light and very flexible for someone in a wheelchair to give them more independence they can save money on cleaners.
Also the cost is compatible with our pension payments.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for the positive review, Izzy! Great to hear you love our Vacuum Cleaner so much. Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Vicksters

VickstersSydney

  • 2 reviews

Very poor product

published

Suction is lousy im fact there isnt any. Crappy product doesnt do its job. Terrible. The lead is very long tho. So you vsn use just one socket for the whole of downstairs. And tbe same for upstairs. Its just a shame that the suction is so poor as otherwise it would be good.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Kikie

KikieNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 7 reviews

It is good on tiles but not good on carpets

published

My Dyson upright vacuum cleaner was being serviced and I thought I would get this vacuum cleaner for the time being. I have dogs and this vacuum cleaner did NOTHING to suck up the dog hairs - especially on the carpets. My cordless Dyson does a better job than this one one carpets.

I suppose for the price one can't expect too much

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

CJOS

CJOSSydney

No Suction!! Dont waste your money on this!!

published

Bought this from Godfreys after reading hunderds of good review for this vacuum. Very disappointed with Philips, the vacuum does not have any suction while using the combination floor head and doesn't pick up hair/thread etc. What would normally take me 10 minutes to vacuum, takes around 30-40 minutes with this so called Powerpro. Can't believe that a trusted brand like Philips can make a product like this. Never buying Philips products ever..

Date PurchasedNov 2016
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
CJOS
CJOS

Thank you for getting back, I checked the above as suggested and tried again. Had to pick up a bunch of hair with hand..

Philips
Philips S.Philips

1 year no problems.

published

It really can take a beating as I managed to clog it with fine masonry dust (about 1 kilo) until zero suction, which meant I had to wash the filter (foam + 1st HEPA) with soapy water about 3 times, but it works like new right now. There is some maintenance to it, but cleaning or replacing old style vacuum bags is similar in work done and usually more messy, the cleaning I hated especially as I usually had to take a shower afterwards, now I do this indoors. Also recovering earrings or small stuff is easy. I have no negatives at this point and really hope it will last.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Great Vacuum Cleaner - But Without Filters, Useless

published

We bought our cleaner from Godfreys a few months ago, and we're very impressed with it. It has great suction, and it's size makes it so handy and easy to move, even for cleaning the car.

As it seems that replacement filters are unobtainable in Australia, we're returning it to Godfreys - wish they had told us when we purchased it. We'll buy a different brand somewhere else.

3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Skip
Skip

Saeco International Group (sselectronics) don't have any filters either

Philips
Philips S.Philips

suction power

published

Is horrible. The sales man tell me is very powerful, initial is very strong, but less then 3 mths the suction power drop alot. The filter very easy get dirty too, and couldn't get it at any department store too, very disappointed. Is not true what the promoter told me. Will never get Philips vacuum again.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jessie

JessieBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

Nearly bought a different brands because the salesman of the store strongly recommended. So glad my partner stuck with Philips. First thing I did was vacuum the mattress and I can see how much dusts I was sleeping on before! Ewww! It also picks up everything on the floor. Very happy with it so far. Hopefully is not too hard to find the filters.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jessie. Your local retailer such as Harvey Norman or The Good Guys should have the accessory for you; if not available we can assist you in ordering the accessories via our spare parts distributor.
Thank you.


Great I love it

published

I purchased the Philips PowerPro Compact Parquet, it was on sale and cost $100. I love it I have all hardwood floors and they are a pain to keep looking nice. They look great but get very dusty quickly. This vacuum cleaner comes with it's own head to do hard wood or floating timber floors.You also get a head for carpet, a long 6 miter cord, on board attachment holder and it is light to use. I had to pay $40 to buy a head for parquet floor to fit my old vacuum cleaner , then the expensive of bags and no more buying bags they are $13.95 for 5. I love this vacuum cleaner and it comes with a two year warranty as well and a bargain.
Light, long cord, on board tools and hard wood floor head.

1 comment
Philips
PhilipsPhilips

See all Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless reviews

Questions & Answers

Dani

Daniasked

Hi,
I'm seriously so in love with my vacuum cleaner (Philips PowerPro Compact 1800W) that I feel like a 1950's wife bragging about how good it is! I have used so many, have a dog and have never had anything that sucks everything with so much power! The only problem I've had is that the hose got stuck under my couch a month ago and when I tried to pull it out, it snapped off :( I had to use tape but it is no longer effortless and I find I am struggling holding it together whilst trying to clean. I have had a look online and can't find anywhere to buy a new hose. Is there anyway I can replace this or am I doomed to holding tightly whilst cleaning, or re buying again? :( Please help! A very big Philips fan!

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Dani, we’re so flattered to hear about your enthusiasm for our lovely PowerPro Compact. :) We would love to see that after the unfortunate couch incident, you’d be able again to feel proud and self-assured again when it comes to vacuum cleaning. Therefore we’d like to recommend the following phone number: 1300 363 391. Our colleagues over there would also like to see you smiling again and will do their utmost to help you locating a new hose. Thank you for reaching out to us!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.