??!
9 photos
Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless

Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless

FC8472/71, FC8473/72, FC8477/91, etc...
3.8 from 72 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (8)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (6)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (7)
Previous
Next

Clear the dust container = great suction

published

Have installed the foam that separates the motor and dust container incorrectly but have since reinstalled it correctly. Have also cleared the dust container of bigger items. Its working great.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bonuslink Malaysia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Not happy

Not happy

  • 2 reviews

Awesome

published

Awesome vacuum to use.
Very powerful, great for people that own pets.
Would recommend this vacuum to anyone they wants something small cheap & compact.
Easy to glide on all surfaces! Great!

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Konda P

Konda PSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Going strong even after 5 years

published

I use this vacuum cleaner thrice every week and there is no loss of suction or power. The filter needs to be changed every 6 months, but other than that there is no maintenance. You can get replacement filters for 20$ from their website. Comes with a HEPA filter and compact and easy to use.

Purchased in December 2013 at Godfreys Physical Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thanks for leaving your review with us! We're very happy to hear that the Powerpro has been of such great service to you. Hopefully it will deliver many more dust free floors. :)

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent value for money!

published

I have never felt compelled to write an appliance review before but this one has really impressed me. Great suction. Really convenient with the spare bits attached. Really quick and easy to empty. Call me impressed!

Purchased in May 2019 for A$290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Suzan Lovell

Suzan LovellSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Suction is great, but poor materials suck

published

This is still under warranty. I love bagless vacuums, and the power for suction is terrific on this machine. However every time I go to empty the container I struggle for at least 10 minutes trying to wrestle the thing out of this cheap plastic housing without breaking the catches. It's a real pain in the neck and really frustrating. They've got a great machine here but a totally lousy body. Why not spend a few more bucks at the manufacturer stage to make something truly worthwhile.

Purchased in May 2018 for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Holly

HollyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great value for money

published

I love this vacuum cleaner. It was the only decent one in our price range when we moved and its worked beyond my expectations. Weve had it for a year now with no problems. It has great suction and is light enough to move around and easily empty. Just make sure you clean and bang out the filter when you empty the bin

Purchased in June 2018 for A$90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Top Jimmy

Top JimmyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worked Once - Then Failed Despite Filter Cleaning

published

This machine worked fine until the cylinder had to be emptied - the machine consistantly thereafter would work for a few seconds then loose all suction. It’s a cheap and nasty product and ironically the only aspect about it that doesn’t suck is the unit itself.

Purchased in May 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Very bad vacuum cleaner

published

Worst vaccum cleaner I have ever used. Wouldn’t suck and the filer gets clogged up after vacuuming a small room. Took back to Briscoes and they don’t want to know about.

Purchased in February 2019 at Briscoes for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Ang

Ang

  • 3 reviews

great product

published

I love this vaccum, it is easy to clean and easy to store as well and it is fairly quiet compared with other vacuums I have used in the past. I have tried dysons, vax and even kmart- this is my favourite so far. Had it for 5 months so far and no issues yet

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickGilles Plains, South Australia

  • 4 reviews

Massive sucktion and cleans floors very well

published

Purchased this bagless vacuum over a year ago and have used it to clean our house which it dose a fairly good job on. It can pick up dirt from about the middle deep of our carpet and also dose well sucking up our dogs hair. It's easy to also empty with just simple two clicks and into the bin the dust and stuff goes!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Rachel Mcsweeney

Rachel Mcsweeney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Its Great

published

I have never tip the vacuum over. This unit is small and gets vacuumed everyday and it has good suction if it is cleaned properly after each couple of uses. The only issue I have with the vacuum cleaner is the placement of the filters and the filters need to be cleaned properly

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for your review, Rachel! We appreciate it.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Dale

DaleAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

Okay we owned this vacuum cleaner for about 8 months was working great for about 6 of those 8 months but then started to lose quite a bit of suction switch was a bit of a let down but over all you do get what you pay for I say buy a decent Dyson that will last years longer

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Andrew

AndrewWA, 6036

  • 4 reviews

great little machine

published

we are really happy with this new vacuum, it works great and comes with all sorts of extra attachments which makes cleaning couches etc really easy. with it being bagless it means that we no longer have to buy extra parts for it all the time and its easy to empty

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
S.K

S.KCanberra city

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very good if you clean the filter each time

published

Have been using for 2 years and still very good conditions.

However, if you don’t clean the filter ( empty the container and wash the sponge) power decreases significantly, but you can not wash the hepa filter ( we washed the filter and smells bad now)

So We bought a new hepa filter at eBay about 10 dollar, so I think we can keep using for next several years.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Hollowman

Hollowmanmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Powerful Little Sucker

published

Dad joke right there in the title - anyway its true! This is a very compact vacuum but sucks like anything - especially when just cleaned. Thats is to say it has more suction at first and loses it a bit as it fills up. I think that is because of the bagless design. It is well made and has a decent cord length. The only negative is emptying it is a bit messy. Good vac overall.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi, there. Thanks for your valuable yet hilarious review. We're happy to hear your PowerPro is performing as expected. :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team.

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vince

VinceSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap and Best

published

Extremely powerful and good value for money. I bought it a year ago. One of the pretty good budget product which comes with 2 year warranty. I bought it in May 2017 and worked absolutely great. Great value for money. Suction power is remarkable. One of the best product from philips

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Vince, great to read all of this. Thanks a lot for writing down your experiences, we really appreciate the feedback!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sukrit

SukritCanberra, Australian Capital Territory

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good, but loses suction if not cleaned frequently

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Hoohoo

HoohooJunee

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome vacuum and price is great value.

published

Super happy with this purchase. Great suction and maneuvers well around the house. Great over all our house surfsces-carpet, vinyl and tiles. Easy to use, and clean. Quality product for a great price. Light weight compared go some other vacuums. Only thing that would be handy is a longer cord, but no biggy.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Flabbergasted

FlabbergastedSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it when it works

published

When I first purchased my Philips vacuum cleaner last September I was over the moon. This vacuum cleaner is light and it's suction was super powerful. However, last week, only 5 months after buying this, the suction does not work. It barely picks up a thing. Have tried cleaning it etc but it's still not working. Waiting to hear back on how this will be rectified. It's a nice practical design. Wish the power would work.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Flabbergasted
Flabbergasted

Hi there. Yes I did check all of the above. It turns out the small foam filter at the back fills up quickly. So chatted with the company I purchased it from and now after patting the dust out, it works again. It's a great vacuum barr this. Thanks

Philips
Philips S.Philips
kerry

kerryCRAIGIEBURN

  • 18 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value for money

published

I got this thinking it will do until I can afford a pricer vacuum but I am amazed at how well this thing works. It is easy to move around, easy to empty and does a great job every time I use it. I have had a Dyson vac in the past and was expecting this to be much less in comparison but its not! It is worth every cent paid for it and would encourage anyone considering one of these to do it and you wont regret the purchase.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Raiha H.

Raiha H.asked

PowerPro Compact Bagless

I have just brought new powerPro filters and now the machine won't work properly - the motor goes, there appears to be some suction but not enough to suck up the mess on the carpet. And there doesn't seem to be any blockages.

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Raiha, thanks for reaching out to us. It's quite odd to hear the new filters don't seem to work as well as your previous ones did. Could you perhaps reach out to us by phone? You can reach us at 0800 658 224 if you're located in New Zealand and at 1300 363 391 if you're located in Australia.

Kind Regards,
The Philips Australia Team

not

notasked

PowerPro Compact Bagless

Is this a sealed filtation system? Ie no air can escape without going through the filtration system first? What particulates allergens can it filter? Mould? Bacteria ??

Thanks

3 answers
Konda P
Konda P

This vacuum cleaner has a HEPA filter but not sure if it is completely sealed, when I use the vacuum I still smell some dust escaping.

not
not

Thanks

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out to gain more information about the PowerPro Compact Bagless vacuum cleaner. We can imagine that you wish you to know more about this, especially if you have allergies. For this, we recommend you to reach out to our product team. You could contact our colleagues with the following phone number: 1300 363 391 from Mondays to Saturdays: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

TLH

TLHasked

PowerPro Compact Bagless

We just cleaned out powerPro filters and now the machine won't suck - the motor goes. There doesn't seem to be any blockages

1 answer
Matthew H.
Matthew H.

i had this problem and got a philips screw driver to clean the dirt in each slip. Then it worked. alternatively to buy new filter as suggest in the manual

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless
Philips PowerPro FC8477/91
  • Discontinued

Philips PowerPro FC8477/91

2.7
(3)
Philips PowerPro FC8473/72
  • Discontinued

Philips PowerPro FC8473/72

3.5
(17)
Philips PowerPro FC8470/01
  • Discontinued

Philips PowerPro FC8470/01

4.3
(3)
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$209.00A$239.00
Bin Capacity15 L1.5 L1.5 L
HEPA FilterYesYesYesYes
Weight4.5 kg4.5 kg4.5 kg4.5 kg
TypeBaglessBaglessBaglessBagless
Cord Length6 m5 m6 m
Power1,800 W750 W1,800 W1,600 W
Suction (Air Watts)350 AW350 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Discontinuation dateOct 2019
Compare all 6 Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.