??!
2 photos
Pope Water Weeper

Pope Water Weeper

1.6 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(29)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)

Rachel

RachelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Disappointing

published

Needed something I could install in my garden that was able to set and forget. I am not at the property that often and bought a number of items, spent half a day installing only to realise a week or so later that it does not work on low flow water. The Water Weeper hose is connected to a timer then connected to the tank. Unfortunately it only weeps when water come from the pressure pump but but not just the tank (pressurised). I need something that would reliably keep my garden damp and this product doesn't work on a gravity fed tank.

Purchased in September 2019 for $45.00.


Jonno

JonnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published

Purchased x2 systems from Bunnings around 6 weeks ago. Installed and only run them twice a week (use a hose on weekends). Turned on this morning & water was spraying from the connection - The hose has split at the crimped fitting. Cant find the receipt (always happens). Lesson learnt!!!!!

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $30.00.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Joyanne

JoyanneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Terrible Product

published

I bought 3 Pope Water Weeper hoses and if I had of looked at the reviews I definitely would not have purchased them. All 3 hoses have split within 6 months rendering them useless. I bought the Pope brand thinking I was purchasing a well known, reliable brand, unfortunately this was not the case.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
DodgyD

DodgyD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

After 8 weeks blew a hole

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Waste of money

published

I bought three of these weeper hoses. Two out of the three split within a few months. I tried joining one hose with a hose joiner but this did not work. I was told to bring the split ones back so that they could be replaced under warranty. Why bother, the product is flawed.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

John

JohnDarwin

Great water saving

published

I bought a 15 metre holman dripping hose 2 years ago, coiled it around a rosewood tree and covered it with mulch, it is so effective in keeping the tree green all year round i have since purchased a 30 metre for the garden bed and installed it in a single line, watering for 20 min twice a week our water bill is $120 for each quarter now, the product performs as it should even after two years +, i regularly inspect and no issues found. highly reccomend go for the holman instead

Date PurchasedMar 2016

PiL

PiLsyd

weeping over purchase

published

this thing is useless.
you get more moisture beading on a cold bottle of beer than what comes through this hose.
it was my second go too, as the first hose i bought cracked open when i unfurled it. should stuck with guts instinct and just ditched it there and then.
absolutely useless.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

RAW

RAWBallarat

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

WOTAM

published

This product is a waste of money. But what really rankles is the waste of time and energy expended in setting this rubbish up in your garden.
It's very brittle (made from recycled tyres, it seems). It burst in multiple places with me patching it up each time (with joiners) before I realised I'd been had.
I'm a big fan of Bunnings but they dropped the ball on this one.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
RayHall

RayHallIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very dissapointed

published

I carefully installed two lengths of Pope Water Weeper. Both developed splits and sprays in a matter of hours. Tired of making repairs with tape and wire tourniquets, I replaced them with Holman, a less expensive product. Holman were much better, although the ends do tend to blow off at even low pressure, so had to be taped up. I now have four Holman Weepers in the garden and find the principal very good. I read one review that suggested a product called Mazedrip and will look for this as I want to lay more weeping hose in the future. Pope should remove the product from sale until they have significantly improved it and Bunnings should not carry it in stock as it is hugely negative for both brands.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Don't Do It

published

Wish I had read all the other reviews before I purchased! I bought 2 weeper hoses, one a Pope and one a Holman brand just to compare. The Holman is still working fine after 4 weeks but the Pope has developed a split. So I'll be going back to Bunnings to exchange it for a Holman which was also cheaper.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

This has been a lifesaver

published

I have a big backyard and am this has been a lifesaver for the plants . it saves me time and is allowed in water restriction ( because its drip not spray ) . had no trouble with mine except one lengthways slit which i bound up with some high quality tape

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Split after a week

published

split after a week, replacement not feasible as buried hose lightly, have planted added compost and mulch, replacement will cost more in labour and plants, patching - more cost - only current solution
Please purchase alternative product
POPE this needs investigation - have used your products for years without any issues

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Keep splitting

published

Similar to other reviewers, the product is poor. Even with careful laying and use they will split rendering them useless in minutes. The holes can appear anywhere. In a straight section or a curved section. There is no rhyme or reason whi they fail. Not sure why Pope and Bunnings continue to sell such a poor product. Surely a good example where we should get our money back.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Awesome - For 3 weeks!

published

Bought 2 30m POPE water weepers just before Xmas 2017, and for the first few weeks it worked a treat. Last week I noticed a stream of water pouring along the garden bed. Investigated and noticed a large split. Continued looking and found another split. Added two joiners thinking this would overcome the issue. Alas, both weepers are developing splits almost daily to the point they are unusable due to water wastage so will be removing. Very disappointing.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Not HAPPY Pope

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Simon N.

Simon N.Upper Coomera

Great product

published

I bought two of these the 30m and 15m. The key is to take the time to unwind & lay them out in the sun for a few hours before laying out in the garden, this helps prevent any kinks, which in turn will lessen the risk of any splitting taking place due to weakening of the hose. They also have the benefit of being able to cut the hose & run several T-connectors for even more effective watering where it's needed.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope

Good product!

published

I am buying another one today for a second bed. Still using the original one after 5 years. Easy to use - don't turn tap on too fast. Has kept my nandinas in narrow bed along driveway alive and healthy. I am pleased with product. Bought at Bunnings. Covered it with mulch so you can't see it.

Date PurchasedOct 2012

The rating stars don't go low enough for this product

published

The hose keeps splitting I now have more joins than hose.
This product can't be trusted I went on vacation and came back to a mess.
Don't buy this product.
I feel like pulling the whole thing out and taking it back to Bunnings and telling them (very politely) where they can put the hose.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Please don't waste your hard earned cash on it

published

After only few months of light use, this hose burst half way rendering useless. Also, at the end where there is a metal fitting there is a lot of leaking but not as bad as the burst section. Please use your hard earned cash on other products as this one is totally useless

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Waste of money

published

Wish I'd read these reviews before I wasted my money. It split on the 2nd day I started using it even with the correct 1/4 turn of the tap of less. I have heard of using a reducer but mine didn't come with one..... Now just creates a flood when left on for any length of time which defeats the purpose of trying to save water......

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tania

Taniaasked

How many liters does a pope water weeper hose use per hour?

1 answer
Markus
Markus

We dont own a weeper, but I found this pdf from Pope that states it depends on the water pressure and in another table it says 120l/10m for 4mm and 240l/15m for the 12mm weeper hose. So 12l/m/h for 4mm and 16l/m/h for the 12mm but that would be on some specific water pressure.
Here is the pdf: http://www.popewatering.co.nz/userfiles/file/Drip%20Guide.pdf


Get an answer from our members and Pope representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.