??!
1 photo
RAC WA Home & Contents Insurance

RAC WA Home & Contents Insurance

2.2 from 76 reviews

Reviews

(15)
(3)
(6)
(8)
(44)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (14)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (9)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (14)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (15)
    • Home Only (1)


Matt S

Matt SPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

$120 from a $6000 bill.

published

I will be looking for another insurance company.

Storm damage knocked down parts of my fence but the product has been discontinued and unable to be repaired. The only option is a replacement, but this is not covered.

I was under the impression that insurance was there to cover unexpected costs due to unexpected circumstances. It's that simple.

After being a customer for 7 years I was set to receive a whopping $120 for a $6000 bill.

Terrible faceless company.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020

Landlords Building and Contents Insurance

published

In 2018 and 2019, all insurance costs went more than the rate of insurance from the Bureau of Statistics. Emailed RAC for them to provide feedback, and not one reply. Much cheaper rates being a new customer than a long term one.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Ezzy flo

Ezzy floPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Do not insure your phone with them

published

My phone screen cracked and they were happy to pay for repair . My only concern was my phone costed me 1300 dollars and 2 years later it cant even be found in the market. And they wudnt even replace it with the same phone or equivalent phone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
keryn

keryn

  • 3 reviews

looking for another company

published

Our fence blew over in a storm and they didnt cover anywhere near the cost of a new fence. I have been with rac for well over 25 years and have barely made a claim. The cost of insurance rises every year and they dont seem to care any more. just about their bottom line profit.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Excuses and surprises

published

Bore pump burnt out so had it repaired. Made a claim with RAC........3 weeks later and a few phone calls later they obtained an independent quote which was $700 less than the invoice I received (for eligible claimable parts) which required an electrician and retic guy to install. They work hard to avoid paying what you reasonably expect.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers

Rob

RobPerth, WA

Crooks

published

My patio blew over in a storm and due to it being old and have some rot they would not cover it. A Loyal customer for many years and it shows the premiums we pay every year are worth nothing

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Disgusted after 40 years

published

I cant believe after 40 years with RAC building/contents, cars & memberships etc that RAC increased our building & contents insurance premiums by 60% apparently due to the area we live in (Lancelin??). When we contacted RAC they had no interest at all with a 40+ year loyal customers concerns & politely fobbed us off. I would suggest that all current RAC customers shop around for a better price (as we did) & forget about loyalty.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

hate-RAC

hate-RACPerth, WA

crowd funding's better

published

insuring with RAC is like throwing money in the river
friendly when they try to get your business
when you make a claim it's all different: THEY JUST DO NOT GIVE A DAMN
Do not insurance , it is a waste of money and you are dealing with crooks, it is a false safety
and causes nothing but frustration and heartache

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Aaron

AaronPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great customer service

published

I put a claim for 6m of fence that had fallen down. and recieved the pay out quite quickly. I then got a few quotes and it worked out to be 8m not 6m. I phoned Rac and explained it was 8m not 6m and it was asbestos not hardiflex. Rac then payed out for one of the quotes i had been given. I could not fault the whole process all the staff were really helpfully. I cant recommend rac enough

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

try to avoid claim from client

published

got a burned out rangehood. RAC sent someone to check and said the issue wasn't from the rangehood. Got power supply problem. I know it was crap. I called an electrician to check the power supply. No power supply issue. I just bought a new rangehood. RAC knew that i can't touch the power so that i can't claim.
i will walk away from this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Allen V.

Allen V.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Walk Away

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

fullo

fulloPeel, WA

No explanation

published

Been with RAC for many tears and this year policy increase of 14% tried to find out why - answer was we review areas and pricing from time to time - no further details available - reviewing ongoing insurer- if any detailed explanation giving may have reconsidered them

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Ripped off

Ripped offPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Ripped off

published

They work in conjunction with john lying group stating a brick wall got damaged due to bore water which resulted in it to colapse.they put it down to wear and tear but when the assesor came out he said wind damage because my deviding fence snaped off at the same time and the 2 walls on the side of the house are in good condition.
Rac refused to fix or replace the wall
They will do anything possible not to fix or pay for the damage they fabricate make up there own causes so they dont have to fix the problem saving them money.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers

Liz

LizPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Malicious damage - landlord insurance

published

Cannot thank RAC enough for their help and prompt service in assessing and settling a claim for malicious damage to our rental home. Boris was so efficient and kept us updated as the claim was being processed. All was settled within 3 days - so glad we took Landlord Insurance. Thank you RAC, keep up the great work.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Rhonda Manuel

Rhonda ManuelPerth, WA

Poor disclosure of policy limitations.

published

RAC Insurance fail to meet the expectations of their policy holders because they do not disclose the limitations of their product when issuing policies. They are aware of this fact but do not bother to change. This not only reflects badly on the CEO but also on the good standing of the RAC.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2016
Not happy Jan

Not happy JanPerth, WA

Dont waste your time and future stress

published

We have been with rac gold members for 30yrs....We have the highest cover as requested by myself. But apparently that means nothing when you try and make yr first claim, a very large mirror fell of the wall during the night it damaged my dinning table skirting, floor, wall and of course the 900 x 1500 mirror was a write off. I was told it was a matinance issue not covered even though it wasn't the install being the problem, who .....pulls down mirrors to see if anything is wrong ??? I'm so disappointed and fed up didn't expect that from rac.....

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Mark

MarkPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Damage to solar hot water system

published

Damage to solar hot water system from neighbors lawn mower .
RAC approved assessor came out verified claim .
3 weeks later get a call from rac saying sorry we don't cover accidental damage to hot water system because its obsolete and we would have to replace it completely. ( isnt that the meaning of new for old ?)
Time to find a new insurance company.

Insurance claim madeYes

The worst insurance company ever

published

I have been with this insurance cover for as long as I can remember. For the last eight years I have paid over $6000 and have made one claim a broken fence. This time years later trying to get a broken front window fixed have so far waited from 1.00 pm and is now 8.45 pm and still waiting. What a joke they won't be getting any more from me.

Insurance claim madeYes

Different story every time.

published

Every time I have called, an operator will give me a different story on whats covered, tried to make a claim after four years and got rejected after receiving false information from an operator. My cars are insured with them too so I will be changing them all, cant be trusted.

Insurance claim madeYes

RAC Landlord Insurance? - not unless you don't wish to make a claim

published

Been with RAC for too long. However, it will not have my extended business and policies any further. Hideously bad a managing its policies and claims. Can't even interpret simple and definable terms under it's PDS. Unfortunately it's just a poorly managed company, which is a shame because it use to have a reasonable reputation. It's landlord property insurance, car insurance, and roadside assistance programs are antiquated and there are far better policies out there for cheaper or comparable premiums. Don't go near this company.

Insurance claim madeYes

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Jeannie B.

Jeannie B.asked

Does solar panels comes under building insurance?

No answers

LLOYD MEREDITH

LLOYD MEREDITHasked

I am shifting address. What number do I call?

No answers

cathe

catheasked

2011 ford focus trend hatch.14 000 kms. problems? Service issues? Availability of parts?

1 answer
Karen Wilde
Karen Wilde

Great runner, no problems, reliable and economical


Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.