??!
1 photo
RACQ Home Insurance

RACQ Home Insurance

2.0 from 88 reviews

Reviews

(15)
(3)
(1)
(13)
(56)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (7)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (7)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (6)
    • Home Only (1)
    • Contents Only (1)


Jimmy Jay

Jimmy JayAU

  • 36 reviews

Best service

published

We have made several claims through RACQ over the years. And on every occasion they have covered our claims without delay. I cannot fault them for service and knowledge over the phone

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateMay 2016

Margaret

MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Zero customer service

published

We had insurance with this company for many years having transferred to them from RACV when leaving Victoria in 2003
We put in claim in 2013 when we had a leak from the roof onto the front deck
The leak occurred shortly after Christmas. The assessor came out quite promptly However he reported that the leak was a "building defect" and not covered by insurance- despite the fact that the house was almost 18 years old and had never leaked before!
After over 4 months of haggling with this company and the damage getting progressively worst we had it repaired a our own cost and changed insurance companies!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2013
See all answers

Fantastic

published

Have calls RACQ Home Rescue a couple of times, and every time the tradesmen are courteous and good tradesmen. I can can not fault their workmanship. I would recommend RACQ HAOME rescue to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Computer issue takes wrong amount out of bank account

published

A computer problem made my house insurance come to a total of over $9000 per year and they took out $759.94 for a month's insurance!!! When I asked for the money back as it was their computers fault not mine, they stated that they didn't do that, they don't return money. I have other bills I am required to pay. I need to pay my mortgage! I can't afford for them to take out so much money. They stated the rest of the year my payments for my house and contents insurance would be halved as I have over paid. I need my money back!!! Was on hold when I stated I needed my money back and they hang up on me, a loyal member and this is how you treat your customers! Disgusting.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

It pays to belong ?... it sure does.. Pay for something I could have got for nothing!

published

Trade Assist Complaint Only: Reconsidering my home insurance since my call with AIZER a subcontractor for trade assist. All I wanted is advice and a possible call out to a home regarding rewiring an old home. I had phoned another well established electrician who did not charge a cent & even provided a general report. AIZER wanted to charge $165 an hour for advice. If my husband's business got RACQ work , you can bet he'd provide some complimentary call outs for estblished customers such as myself. I've been with RACQ for over 30 years. So sometimes it certainly does pay to belong .. you pay bigtime. Needless to say I won't be using TradeAssist and I will relook at our home insurance policy too.

Transparency
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeNo

Pidgie

Pidgie

  • 28 reviews
  • 1 like

Check your Household Excellence Bonus - has it been applied?

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Disgusted

DisgustedSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't buy insurance from the RACQ

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers

Still waiting for repairs to be done, now 6 months

published

My aunt made a claim shortly after 22 December 2018, An assessor came out 2 months after and to this date no repairs or any correspondence has happened. What could possibly take so long. My Aunt is very sick and this delay is not helping her health. Claim number HH04191966

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
Julie

JulieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Impressive Service

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Contents insurance - as bad as the theives that robbed me

published

Earlier this year my property along with a half dozen others in the local area got robbed. Police have now caught the perps with some of our possessions. I am still battling with the most rude claims officer at racq. They have loopholes to try and not cover just about everything. Then when you get to the items their aren’t loopholes for they tell you that it’s too expensive and they don’t believe you owned it. Absolute joke. Find a better insurer!!!!

Insurance claim madeYes

Anne F

Anne F

  • 6 reviews

Excellent service

published

15 plus years.
We have pet cover with our home and contents and RACQ are just amazing with claims. Our dog needed emergency surgery and I phoned and they took details over the phone I sent a photo of the bill and the next day I got a text to say the claim was approved and then 2 days later the money was in the bank.
The staff were helpful and polite and I highly recommend RACQ for insurance.

Insurance claim madeYes

Nav

Nav

  • 5 reviews

Worst Car Insurer ever

published

I have had a hit run on my car and advised that i would like it repaired under a repairer i recommend and not someone who they recommend as that specific repairer has the worst rating\reviews currently and they seem to not like it so my claim which was supposed to have been reviewed and cleared by now is being delayed. When i asked their rude Customer Service Agents for a eta they advised that the reviewer has a lot of other claims so they cannot really give me a time frame. How is this my problem . Horrible service will wait till this gets approved to move back to my previous insurer as these guys are just horrible.

Insurance claim madeYes

Munro

Munro

  • 2 reviews

Far North Qld RACQ Holders

published
Insurance claim madeYes

not happy Jan

not happy Jan

  • 2 reviews

Inflexible online application nothing but price gouging.

published
Insurance claim madeNo

Worse possible Claim Response

published

No policy not good value
Easy to setup
But claims worst ever seen or heard of, still chasing cheapest quote after 7 months wait just a run around
Customer support a joke keep passing buck around and not interested

Insurance claim madeYes

Quick and Efficient

published

We only have contents insurance with RACQ and we unfortunatly had a total loss with my husbands hearing aids. We put the claim in only a week ago and the turn around was very quick and efficient. The consultants in the call centre were exceptional and I am glad that I have my insurance with them. Thank you!

Insurance claim madeYes

Lyle

LyleBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Awful claim experience

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Terrible experience

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Juliedaniels

JuliedanielsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 17 likes

Extremely satified customer

published

We've been insured with RACQ for many years now and over the past 6 months have had to make two claims on our household policy. One was for replacement of an air conditioner, $3,000. One was for a lost/stolen ring, $2,800. Both claims were settled quickly, with great service, and full payments. RACQ have been wonderful! Not a single problem. Premium increase was minimal. They even showed us ways to save on our premiums. I don't know if they have picked up their game since all those bad reviews, but we are never going to another insurer. Like wise our car insurance. Three claims totalling $11,000. No increase in premiums, great service! RACQ? Wouldn't be without it!

Insurance claim madeYes

Stu

StuHervey Bay

  • 2 reviews

RACQ's Lifetime Repair Guarantee

published

Not satisfied with the providers customer support and I would no longer recommend them to anyone because they don't honor their home and contents policy and lifetime Repair Guarantee after our roof leaked in the same location for the third time

Insurance claim madeYes

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Novantzy

Novantzyasked

Hey, I've had accidental water damage to my laptop(>4years old). Is it worth making a claim with RACQ? I've never claimed before. Are They good with this sort of thing? What process if I've tossed the laptop out?

No answers

Karen

Karenasked

Termite cover?

1 answer
Timacoy W.
Timacoy W.

No unfortunately it’s not


Nanette

Nanetteasked

Does the home and contents insurance cover flood?

2 answers
buzz
buzz

Yes l believe so but best to ring them as there are conditions.

AJB
AJB

Any insurer offering home insurance in Queensland has to offer flood coverage.


Get an answer from our members and RACQ representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.