??!
1 photo
RACV Home & Contents

RACV Home & Contents

1.9 from 108 reviews

See the Best Home and Contents Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
14
1 star
73

Unhappy01

Unhappy01Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Unbeleivable Response To Claim

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

Fatemeh B.

Fatemeh B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

The worse insurer ever !

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Crooks! Premiums higher for a 50 year member than for someone who is not even a member!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Classy customer

Classy customerMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very disappointed with the long delay

published

Had enormous faith and trust in RACV.. unfortunately the quality of service is dropping. Waiting over 35 days to fix a problem that had lifetime warranty. They use dodgy companies to do the work who spoil their reputation
Called 8 times in 35 days.!! Still waiting.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

sue

suemelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

quick service

published

Have home and contents insurance with RACV and they were excellent with my claim for a fridge/freezer which has not worked since a severe storm caused it to breakdown and they arranged a replacement as it was covered by my insurance policy. No fuss to me and it was delivered yesterday. I have always found RACV to be very helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Jay S

Jay S

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

You can’t trust them. Change insurers now!

published

cant trust them. Claims team are terrible. Had a total loss claim and they try to get me to settle for less. Get you caught up in their never ending to process. Constant delays and emails not returned to. Don’t trust them with your house. Insure elsewhere!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Ange

Ange

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disgraceful RACV & TANDEM

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

This company should be deregulated

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
JD D.

JD D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Won't answer calls, hang up on me, wait 40 minutes, don't answer emails.

published

It been almost 2 weeks since I claimed. they won't return emails. Ive waited 30 minutes and then it went back to main menu. Hung up on. Had a conversation but nothing came from it. Waited 38 minutes and then they pretended they weren't there but I could hear them. After 2 minutes i said I won't hang up and I'll stay on the line so they hung up. It was 505pm. So frustrating.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
George

GeorgeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very happy.

published

Good value.Had a leak in apartment from next door.Claims were helpful.Sent people out quickly and cash settled within a month.No complaints with RACV.Only a member one year.Will renew with them again.A touch pricier than others but not the most expensive.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2018
See all answers

Fed Up

Fed UpGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

I can't believe this is happening again!

published

After going through a frustrating claim 18 months ago we now have another leak. And so it continues. Their builders, Unique Building Services come out to visit. Arrive later, only interested in replacing A/C, which was none of their business, didn't have steps or ladder, didn't look at carpet etc. I then make 3/4 calls to RACV for updates but waiting on reports. Then, after 75 minute phone call I speak to Shelly from Home Claims. I asked her once to stop yelling, 5 times to let me finish then when I ask her a question, she doesn't answer, says I can't help you and hangs up. I cannot believe this is happening.

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Fed Up
Fed Up

Escalate issues to client relations. They say they will ring me in 2-3 days. Don't ring so I contact them. They say we understand ur frustration and someone will get back to you in 2-3 days. Flabbergasted


Only a problem when you make a claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

Big Time Waster. Impossible to contact.

published

Neighbour rolled car into my fence. Her insurer RACV. I called RACVwith the claim number and was put through to a third-party service centre (they do not even deal with claim internally!!). E-mails sent, calls made, put on hold for hours. I do not insure through RACV and now I NEVER will. Still on hold..... It seems to me that they just want me to go away and not deal with the claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers

Joe Divita

Joe DivitaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Storm damaged

published

made another claim last week winds pushed my cazzeeboo.
They said not covered as water damage from a down pipe which was flowing the opposite way rotted post. They even couldn’t check posts as they were in concrete. Canceling my policy and going elsewhere. There happy to take your money.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers
TooFar22

TooFar22Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Watch out for sneaky increase of your house and contents value

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Home and contents insurance - Increase in premium for 2019 of almost 300%

published

I have been a multi policy owner since 2000. Home and contents and car insurance. I have made 2 small claims on home insurance and 1 on car.

This year received a premium increase on house and contents of almost 300%. The explanation was that the underwriter has now been able to correctly map the property and the risks warrant the increase.

Insurance claim madeYes

Ex Customer

Ex CustomerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

So much for being a loyal customer

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Rose

RoseMelbourne

  • Verified customer

$200,000 of members money spent on accommodation and bogus testing and still no home to live in!

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Disppointed

DisppointedBallarat

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Long time member of racv very disappointed

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Never an easy process, will find ways not to cover a legitimate claim

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Jeff G.

Jeff G.asked

Does the installation of security cameras reduce premiems

1 answer
Fed Up
Fed Up

I think so but I'm not the person to ask.


Susan B

Susan Basked

I have recently lost a gold and diamond earring whilst out walking in local area and despite spending two days looking for it I cannot find it. Is this covered by general contents insurance?

No answers

Bryan

Bryanasked

I recently had my house burgled with a number of items stolen and television smashed. I am a little concerned because jewelery given as a gift 10-15 years ago I have no proof of purchase or photos who does

Is this an issue?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.