??!
1 photo
RACV Home & Contents

RACV Home & Contents

1.8 from 124 reviews

Reviews

1.8

124 reviews
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(14)
1
(87)
Previous
Next

Appalling customer service and poor quality work

published

After taking over 140 days just to get a permit. The project managed didn't manage the project. The trades caused damage to things undamaged in the fire and resisted demands to repair then botched the repair. The RACV ignored several formal complaints. Currently with the AFCA.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimFire
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The only winner is the CEO of the RACV.

published

Over the last 3yrs or so we've submitted 4 claims and all of them were rejected, insurance policies are designed in such a way that they will only cover things that are least likely to go wrong.
Hard working people are bassically "donating" money to insurance companies so that CEO's can live a life of luxury and I urge everyone to complain to the ombudsman and lodge a dispute with VCAT because these people need to be investigated for the rip-off merchants that they are.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
Sharon

SharonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Goodbye after 26 years

published

I am a gold member who has been with RACV since 1994. I have my home, contents, 2 cars and roadside assist with them. Until today. I quit.
[name removed]'s complete lack of customer service, RACV's increasing costs for less return and lack of interest finally beat me.
I have taken all my insurances across to AAMI.
I don't expect RACV to care as I am just another number but I will be telling anyone who listens to take their business and money elsewhere.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how RACV Home & Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A distraught Insured

A distraught InsuredGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

If there is an option to rate "0" I would do so! Think about 4 months suffering in leaking bedrooms!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
William

WilliamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

RACV: Home and contents Insurance, unfinished business

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Ann

AnnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't be a fool and fall for their glossy marketing!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
Stephen M

Stephen MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good service after an accident

published

I had recently bought a new house and soon after moving in there was an accident with the carport.

The staff at RACV were very helpful and understanding and immediately arranged for a temporary fix to be put in place that day. I had no issues in submitting my claim and in the end getting the damage repaired.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
smac

smacGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

They sat on claim report for 20 days!

published

I lodges a claim on 3rd April for a damaged shower that was leaking through to the ground floor ceiling. Assessor was out on the same day which was lucky. After 3 follow up call, final one being on 27th April. The first two consultants stated the were waiting for building report and told me to call back 5 days later. The third consultant finally told me the report had actually been sitting there since 7th April and had been declined........ being declined is not the issue, Thats for another day. The issue is they sat on a report for 20 days! I could have directed this repair elsewhere. To me this is extremely poor process.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateApril 2020
Vic Consumer

Vic ConsumerGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great service so far.

published

Just taken out new hobby farm insurance.
Both people I have spoken to were very helpful, knowledgeable and personable.
One of them explained she was working from home so if the call dropped out, she would call me back. Which did happen and she did call back very quickly.
So far so good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how RACV Home & Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Home Contents - False advise on death of parent

published

Deceased estate wish to transfer insurance policy from father to myself.
Told death certificate unacceptable need title, months later with title emailed. Asked to combine with my car insurance they can't do transfer or quote by email. That I should start a new policy. Quote online or by phone. Bunch of run around clowns RACV Home Insurance wasting my time and effort. Government officials should investigate them and shut them down.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Austinj

Austinj

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Unethical and a lack of integrity

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2018
See all answers

Not a Company I could recommend

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Fatemeh babashahi

Fatemeh babashahiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

The worst insurance ever

published

After waiting for 6 months investigators told that they rejected our claim just because we got the home insurance on may and it happens after 2 months!! If i find the rubber i will ask him to come next year just because insurance says it doesn't look right to happen too quickly!!!! So crap, I'm not recommending them at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeVilla
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
FairWarning

FairWarningWestern District, VIC

Fraudulent. Deliberate delays to processing urgent situations, no claims honoured.

published

Long term loyal RACV customers, told them we had an urgent claim due to a leak from the toilet which had damaged the floor. We were told over the phone it would be processed ASAP and would be covered. Claim took more than 5 months to process, then was rejected because there had been “repair work done”- despite evidence no work had been done. I believe this was cynically done - they assumed we would have to repair the toilet if they left the claim long enough. How long can someone live without a toilet? Have spent cumulative days on the phone with them. If I’d known would have paid for the work to be done immediately. You’re better off without insurance than with RACV.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers
Prabs

PrabsSouthbank

  • Verified customer

Dont go for RACV

published
Insurance claim madeNo
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how RACV Home & Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Victoria

Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is getting much worse

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Unhappy01

Unhappy01Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unbeleivable Response To Claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Unhappy01
Unhappy01

After going through their appeal process, everything has been rectified that to customer support. Thank you for understanding RACV and i am still a policy holder.

Fatemeh B.

Fatemeh B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worse insurer ever !

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Crooks! Premiums higher for a 50 year member than for someone who is not even a member!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Classy customer

Classy customerMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Very disappointed with the long delay

published

Had enormous faith and trust in RACV.. unfortunately the quality of service is dropping. Waiting over 35 days to fix a problem that had lifetime warranty. They use dodgy companies to do the work who spoil their reputation
Called 8 times in 35 days.!! Still waiting.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

James H

James Hasked

What are the coronavirus safety measures that RACV / Tandem have put in place for customer service? I had an assessor come to my home and he wore no mask, didn't ask about whether the home was "coronavirus free" (IE if we'd been tested), nor did he clarify his own coronavirus status.

No answers
Jeff G.

Jeff G.asked

Does the installation of security cameras reduce premiems

1 answer
Fed Up
Fed Up

I think so but I'm not the person to ask.

Susan B

Susan Basked

I have recently lost a gold and diamond earring whilst out walking in local area and despite spending two days looking for it I cannot find it. Is this covered by general contents insurance?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.