??!
1 photo
RACV Home & Contents

RACV Home & Contents

1.8 from 114 reviews

Reviews

(17)
(4)
(0)
(14)
(79)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (18)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (17)
  • Customer Service
    1.7 (19)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (13)
    • Contents Only (3)
    • Home Only (1)


Austinj

Austinj

  • 4 reviews

Unethical and a lack of integrity

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2018
See all answers

Not a Company I could recommend

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Fatemeh babashahi

Fatemeh babashahiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

The worst insurance ever

published

After waiting for 6 months investigators told that they rejected our claim just because we got the home insurance on may and it happens after 2 months!! If i find the rubber i will ask him to come next year just because insurance says it doesn't look right to happen too quickly!!!! So crap, I'm not recommending them at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeVilla
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
FairWarning

FairWarningWestern District, VIC

Fraudulent. Deliberate delays to processing urgent situations, no claims honoured.

published

Long term loyal RACV customers, told them we had an urgent claim due to a leak from the toilet which had damaged the floor. We were told over the phone it would be processed ASAP and would be covered. Claim took more than 5 months to process, then was rejected because there had been “repair work done”- despite evidence no work had been done. I believe this was cynically done - they assumed we would have to repair the toilet if they left the claim long enough. How long can someone live without a toilet? Have spent cumulative days on the phone with them. If I’d known would have paid for the work to be done immediately. You’re better off without insurance than with RACV.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers

Prabs

PrabsSouthbank

  • Verified customer

Dont go for RACV

published
Insurance claim madeNo

Victoria

Victoria

  • 5 reviews

It is getting much worse

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Unhappy01

Unhappy01Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Unbeleivable Response To Claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Unhappy01
Unhappy01

After going through their appeal process, everything has been rectified that to customer support. Thank you for understanding RACV and i am still a policy holder.


Fatemeh B.

Fatemeh B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

The worse insurer ever !

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Crooks! Premiums higher for a 50 year member than for someone who is not even a member!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Classy customer

Classy customerMelbourne

  • 16 reviews

Very disappointed with the long delay

published

Had enormous faith and trust in RACV.. unfortunately the quality of service is dropping. Waiting over 35 days to fix a problem that had lifetime warranty. They use dodgy companies to do the work who spoil their reputation
Called 8 times in 35 days.!! Still waiting.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

sue

suemelbourne

  • 7 reviews

quick service

published

Have home and contents insurance with RACV and they were excellent with my claim for a fridge/freezer which has not worked since a severe storm caused it to breakdown and they arranged a replacement as it was covered by my insurance policy. No fuss to me and it was delivered yesterday. I have always found RACV to be very helpful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Jay S

Jay S

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

You can’t trust them. Change insurers now!

published

cant trust them. Claims team are terrible. Had a total loss claim and they try to get me to settle for less. Get you caught up in their never ending to process. Constant delays and emails not returned to. Don’t trust them with your house. Insure elsewhere!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Ange

Ange

  • 2 reviews

Disgraceful RACV & TANDEM

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

This company should be deregulated

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
JD D.

JD D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Won't answer calls, hang up on me, wait 40 minutes, don't answer emails.

published

It been almost 2 weeks since I claimed. they won't return emails. Ive waited 30 minutes and then it went back to main menu. Hung up on. Had a conversation but nothing came from it. Waited 38 minutes and then they pretended they weren't there but I could hear them. After 2 minutes i said I won't hang up and I'll stay on the line so they hung up. It was 505pm. So frustrating.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
George

GeorgeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very happy.

published

Good value.Had a leak in apartment from next door.Claims were helpful.Sent people out quickly and cash settled within a month.No complaints with RACV.Only a member one year.Will renew with them again.A touch pricier than others but not the most expensive.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2018
See all answers

Fed Up

Fed UpGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

I can't believe this is happening again!

published

After going through a frustrating claim 18 months ago we now have another leak. And so it continues. Their builders, Unique Building Services come out to visit. Arrive later, only interested in replacing A/C, which was none of their business, didn't have steps or ladder, didn't look at carpet etc. I then make 3/4 calls to RACV for updates but waiting on reports. Then, after 75 minute phone call I speak to Shelly from Home Claims. I asked her once to stop yelling, 5 times to let me finish then when I ask her a question, she doesn't answer, says I can't help you and hangs up. I cannot believe this is happening.

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Fed Up
Fed Up

Escalate issues to client relations. They say they will ring me in 2-3 days. Don't ring so I contact them. They say we understand ur frustration and someone will get back to you in 2-3 days. Flabbergasted


Only a problem when you make a claim

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

Big Time Waster. Impossible to contact.

published

Neighbour rolled car into my fence. Her insurer RACV. I called RACVwith the claim number and was put through to a third-party service centre (they do not even deal with claim internally!!). E-mails sent, calls made, put on hold for hours. I do not insure through RACV and now I NEVER will. Still on hold..... It seems to me that they just want me to go away and not deal with the claim.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers

Joe Divita

Joe DivitaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Storm damaged

published

made another claim last week winds pushed my cazzeeboo.
They said not covered as water damage from a down pipe which was flowing the opposite way rotted post. They even couldn’t check posts as they were in concrete. Canceling my policy and going elsewhere. There happy to take your money.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Jeff G.

Jeff G.asked

Does the installation of security cameras reduce premiems

1 answer
Fed Up
Fed Up

I think so but I'm not the person to ask.


Susan B

Susan Basked

I have recently lost a gold and diamond earring whilst out walking in local area and despite spending two days looking for it I cannot find it. Is this covered by general contents insurance?

No answers

Bryan

Bryanasked

I recently had my house burgled with a number of items stolen and television smashed. I am a little concerned because jewelery given as a gift 10-15 years ago I have no proof of purchase or photos who does

Is this an issue?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.