??!
3 photos
Rainbow E2

Rainbow E2

4.8 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

4.8

26 reviews
5
(23)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
    Previous
    Next
    Ian

    IanWollongong

    • 16 reviews
    • 1 like

    Very Happy with Performance

    published
    Date PurchasedMay 2018
    GilRonAdl

    GilRonAdlMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like
    • Verified purchase

    Thoroughly Cleans. Good Value for Health.

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    1 comment
    GilRonAdl
    GilRonAdl

    UPDATE:This review is for RAINBOW E2 BLACK, the latest model (as of this writing) in the Rainbow System. For some reason, it did not use the classification I used.

    Joy

    Joylismore

    • 9 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Great piece of equipment

    published

    It is very simple to use, light, easy to maneuver. Quality machine, we had our first cleaner for over 20 years, upgraded, there was still nothing wrong with the older one. The carpet looks clean, after vacuuming, stains easy to remove. You need to be the type of person that does not mind spending money on a quality machine for a long term investment. Knowing that you saving on bags and filters. Love the fact it is filled with water.

    Date PurchasedJul 2016
    Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Find out how Rainbow E2 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Khal

    KhalBatemans Bay

    • Verified purchase

    Best Vacuum cleaner ever invented

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2015
    nullz

    nullzAU

    • 12 reviews
    • 11 likes

    Lasts a lifetime!

    published

    Light, quiet, easy to maneuver! Industrial quality unit we can move from home office. We had our previous rainbow for just under 20 years. Great quality machines well worth the money! You will spend more replacing cheaper ones every year or two. Definitely recommend any

    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    tony

    tonyPerth, WA

    • 7 reviews
    • 2 likes

    most important piece of appliance we have

    published

    its an all in one cleaner and also a vaporizer. very simple system which looks like will last a long time as others have experienced. carpet feels much cleaner with this vacuum and has kept my allergy symtoms away with the air cleaner functions. the price might be a deal breaker for some but its well worth it

    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    Kem

    KemBrisbane

    The best by far

    published

    Purchased in 1990 and still going strong. Cleaned pet hair, family spills and anything thrown its way, never leaves smells or gives you that horrible dusty after taste, best vapourisor ever with no wet walls, did an excellent job extracting water from sodden and flooded carpets. 27 years strong with one bowl and one brush head replacement and only one ever service.
    Something's additions/ modifications I would love to see added... retractable cord, maybe a slimmer less bulky style, bumpers or rounded base with wheels. Even without these I would still purchase again ... strong, reliable and has stood the test of time.

    Date PurchasedJan 1997

    Best Cleaner by far

    published
    Date PurchasedMar 1997
    Simon5353

    Simon5353Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

    • 23 reviews
    • 18 likes
    • Verified purchase

    Amazing

    published
    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Find out how Rainbow E2 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Jude Pachamuthu

    Jude PachamuthuForde 2914, ACT

    • 14 reviews
    • 9 likes

    One vacuum my family cannot do without

    published

    We bought our 1st Rainbow in 1996 in Singapore. We traded-in for a new one in 2007. Still works well and hasn't broken since then. It is a high grade and quality product which never fails to deliver.

    My sinus issues with dust and dust mites are gone. Our pillows and beds are clean and smell fresh after using it.

    Excellent product that I recommend for every family that could afford one.

    Date PurchasedJul 2007

    Works well

    published

    The machine works well. Best thing is no dust smell at all. Air remains fresh.
    Easy to clean - just wash it out.
    No power lead retractor is a negative. Needs to be manually wound each time.
    Also quite bulky - needs a good storage cupboard.
    Not sure how long the plastic fittings will last.

    Date PurchasedNov 2011
    Sash U

    Sash USydney

    BEST Cleaning System

    published
    Anne Henley

    Anne HenleyQueenstown

    Simply the best

    published

    I have a rainbow and it is now 6 years old and going like a brand new one. You can taste the difference in the air every time it is used. Wonderful if you have breathing problems. I showed a friend just recently and vacuumed with a normal cleaner and then used the rainbow, you wouldn't believe what was picked up that the other one missed.
    everything
    nothing

    1 comment
    Lily
    Lily

    where to buy rainbow vacuum in Australia? thanks

    Lasts and lasts

    published

    Best vacuum ever!

    published

    We recently had a demonstration of the latest Rainbow and it was amazing. I previously owned a Dyson and during the presentation the representative showed me the difference between air flow and suction. It immediately made sense as i was always sold on the "bowling ball" advertisement and thought that suction cleaned. But if suction cleaned, why do i have to pick up the bit on the floor and stick it down the pipe? Also it is great for cleaning the mattress and seeing the dead skin cells on top of the water was truly revolting. With 8 year warranty and great interest free payment plans im telling everyone about the Rainbow!!!
    Logical demonstration, Mattress cleaning and overall cleaning ability, cleaning the air

    Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Find out how Rainbow E2 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Paolo

    PaoloMelbourne, Victoria

    • 3 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Still going strong since the early 90s

    published

    Although not this specific model, my mum used to go around selling Rainbow vacuums in the early 90s. Even though they were expensive they were the best! She still uses hers to this day, and I've inherited one off her which I share with my sister. Still picks up all the dirt and traps it in the water. Had a small crack in the water bowl and found a replacement for $40.
    No bag, no dust. Great suction. So many attachments. Leaves everything very clean.
    If you leave the water in the bowl after vacuuming for a few days, bacteria builds up and it will stink like a$$.

    Boesman

    Boesman

    • 2 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Worth the money, the rolls royce of machines!

    published

    We bought a rainbow 6 yrs ago. It is still going like it did on its first day. I became a rep for them in the UK and was surprised on how many people bought them despite the price. It pays for itself over the years as it won't break easily. My mum's neighbour has one that's almost 30years old and is still going as good as new. Just one negative point. I find it a bit heavy for carrying it upstairs as I cant be bothered to take the water bowl off first or the pipes.
    The job it does consistently for years on end.
    Just a bit heavy when carrying upstairs.

    This is perfect, Can't live without it.

    published
    ferrette

    ferretteAU

    • 2 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Love it!

    published

    My Dad had one when I was 13, had to get one myself. Was wrapped when they knocked on my door as I had been waiting to buy a rainbow for over 20 years, Great payment plan, I recently shampooed my carpets with it, turned out awesome,although I had to refill and empty tank quite a few times, but it is a household vacuum and not an industrial carpet shampooer, we were suprised with the results. I also know someone else who has owned one of these for over 20 years and it still doesn't miss a beat. I have owned a Dyson, Kirby and a range of other vacuums and this is the best vacuum is the best I have ever used, highly reccommended, it also has an asthma foundation approval on it....love it.

    1 comment
    Brandy91
    Brandy91

    How much was it?

    Shopper_Holic

    Shopper_HolicSydney

    • 14 reviews
    • 13 likes

    Great for vacuuming the dirt you can't see!

    published

    The rainbow is great for any households with pets. You really don't know how much dirt and dust is in your carpets or floors until you've used the Rainbow. After each clean it's quite shocking to see how much fur and gunk is vacuumed up! These bagless vacuums are great for families with allergies too, as all the waste is captured in the water bowl and does not circulate in the air as with traditional vacuum cleaners. There is no dusty smell.

    The air filter feature is great for deodorising a room and cleaning the air.
    Great for deep-down carpet cleaning
    Heavy and bulky and due to its size, it's difficult to use on stairs effectively

    1 comment
    Kelim
    Kelim

    Can u give me the rainbow sellers contact detail, I wanna see one.

    Page 1 of 2

    Questions & Answers

    Claudette S

    Claudette Sasked

    I bought my Rainbow in the late 1980s and it still works well. But the bracket that holds the water container on has broken. I have bought parts from Airflow Vacuum Systems in Perth WA but it seems they may have closed down. Is there somewhere in WA I can buy parts please?

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.