??!
1 photo
Real Home & Contents Insurance

Real Home & Contents Insurance

1.9 from 169 reviews

Reviews

(29)
(5)
(3)
(9)
(123)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (12)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (7)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (12)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (6)
    • Home Only (3)
    • Contents Only (1)


craig J

craig JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

$600 increase in premiums in 3 years shop around otherwise Real will rip was with real/Hollard for five years

published

good at the start very expensive at the end made some claims hence feeling I got shafted for this if future policy prices tried to tell them there were cheaper prices so I have now left they did not really care
if they had of lowered premium i may have stayed

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes

Raj36

Raj36Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

They don't deserve single star

published

You will only see the real face of unreal insurance company when you make a claim,
They will bring up so many unknown clauses to decline the claim!!
Bunch of liars
Stay away people
This company is not genuine insurance company

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Sarah

SarahPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Hollard Insurance - $10,000 landlord claim and only paying $300! Many, Many fine print exclusions!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2018
See all answers
samdownunder

samdownunderSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Great level of service and quick turn around time

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money

Frank

FrankPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

Unreal insurance suits more than real insurance!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers

Boris

BorisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

I must feel lucky

published

I must feel lucky after getting my renewal land lord insurance up by 88%.

On placing my review 'Stay away to avoid dissappointment' a week ago I received a message, that a Team Leader from Customer Service department was about to contact me shortly. And one week later he did, essentially saying that if I did not accept the current premium of $425.99 it would have been $566.99,- up 234% from last year's one.

Lucky me with REAL!

Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018

Chicken lady.

Chicken lady.Singleton

  • 7 reviews

Fantastic Insurance.

published

I was with different insurance that didn't care about what I was looking for when it came to insurance. Real insurance was totally different, they asked me what I needed . They help me work out the best policy that suits my needs. I have been with them for 5 years.

Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Morning, Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad to hear you have an insurance policy that suits your needs! -Angela


Avoid you’ll only be disappointed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Gman

Gman

  • 16 reviews
  • 23 likes

1 Star is being generous - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

published

We have had an ongoing battle since December last year to have a contents claim resolved after the storms. Its now coming into June and after many emails, phone calls we are still waiting. Claims Central who 'manage' (if you can call it that) claims for Real Insurance are constantly calling asking us to pay the scope of work and every time it is incomplete. Businesses don't talk. There is no follow up. They promise yet no follow through. Avoid the heartache! Good at taking money but no fixing claims.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Gman
Gman

I’ve tried that. Multiple times.

Jerry

JerrySydney, NSW

Worst insurance company ever, stay away

published

After 9 years with them we had claim due to storm in December. Accesor came, told us it's easy claim and we will get new carport. His report was something completely different, everything was our foult, gutter were full of debris even his pictures shows otherwise. They denied our claim because of that and poor tradesmansihip. Absolute joke. Stay away from them.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Bob

BobSouth East Queensland, QLD

I had 5yrs home and contents with Real Insurance with No claims, then they refused to renew

published

After several phone calls and emails to them I eventually was told “ Because of recent weather events and the geographical location of my property I no longer met their underwriter conditions “ I replied that I must have slept through the tsunami that hit the Goldcoast and had not moved my house from its position, it is 16 metres above sea level” I insisted they stated this ridiculous reason as I needed it to give to a new insurer . It’s a question on all insurance applications. I am now with NRMA and also cancelled my life insurance with Real . Telling them I am a loyal customer but they had treated me with contempt.
Would not touch Real Insurance again

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Bob
Bob

Gary Edwards

Gary EdwardsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Claim Dismissed

published

I enquired about making a claim as my Wife had lost a small diamond out of her eternity ring.
This was ( i believe) the first time i had tried to claim anything, the chap was less than helpful and being told i would have to pay the first $500, seems like i am carrying ALL THE RISK, and you are carrying none.
It would appear the only time insurance is useful is if EVERYTHING, i own is destroyed at the same event.
I will certainly seek other quotes when my multiple policies are up for renewal.
As a footnote, i payed for diamond replacement out of my own pocket, if i cannot rely on you when i have an issue what is the point

Customer Service
Value for Money
2 comments
Gary Edwards
Gary Edwards

May have got my various policies confused, obviously i was taking about my contents insurance.
Hard for me to comment on Funeral Insurance as i have not yet made a claim yet

Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Gavsart

GavsartSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

They tell lies

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2018
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Paul

PaulPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best scammers in the country

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
2 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Paul
Paul

Would never deal with this company

published

Had a policy with this company for 2 years. Cancelled the day we sold the house and they made us pay the following full month without refund because it was already scheduled to come out. My family who also have policies with them are not happy and will be changing companies. I advise people to stay away from a company like this

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
4 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

We're very sorry to hear this. If you could please send us your policy details in a private message we will look into this and hopefully resolve this matter swiftly for you.

Nathan
Nathan

How about you return the phone call to 0431618243 that your apparent team leader was supposed to be contacting me on.

Nathan
Nathan

Still no response??? A classic example of why you shouldn’t deal with this company

Wishal mohammadi

Wishal mohammadiSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Refused policy because of driving offense

published

We were refused to purchase a policy because my brother was suspended for driving offense, apparently according to real insurance that is a criminal offense, the people I spoke over the phone first of all weren’t even in Australia and they were trying to tell me that a driving offense is a criminal offense and it limits us from
Buying a home and content insurance! I mean how is that even relavent! So I contacted AAMI and they signed us up straight away without any issue...
terrible service real insurance

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
2 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Kylie

KylieSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Absolutely shocking follw up

published
Insurance claim madeYes
7 comments
Real Insurance
Benedict G.Real Insurance
Kylie
Kylie

No option to write private message

Kylie
Kylie

Clearly no improvement in service. I have no option here for a private message. Could you please supply another option.


Adrienne

Adrienne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stay Away from Real Insurance

published

have been with Real Insurance for 8 years and never have had a claim previously. I lodged a first claim due to the storm and heavy rain broke the backyard fences. After the elevation, they rejected my claim and said it's due to poor condition. This is ridiculous, what do I need the insurance for. Stay away from them as they won't insurance you when you make the claim.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Real Insurance
Benedict G.Real Insurance

Hi Adrienne, sorry to hear you are unhappy. All claimants are entitled to have their claims reviewed. If this is something you would like to pursue, please share your policy details in a private message and we will have a Claims Manager contact you.


Nedds.

Nedds.lurnea

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible service!!!!!!!!!!!!

published
Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Greenstone F.Real Insurance

Gazza

GazzaPortland

Very Poor Service

published

17 years & never having a claim, was knocked back today as they don't recognise carpet as part of the dwelling, bye bye Real

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Greenstone F.Real Insurance

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Shirley G.

Shirley G.asked

need a quote on house and contents

1 answer
Chicken lady.
Chicken lady.

Ring Real Insurance ask for a quote, then you can see if it suit your needs.Staff at Real Insurance are helpful they help me find a policy that suit my needs. I'm very happy i went with Real Insurance.


Anje

Anjeasked

Do you cover leaking water pipe inside wall of shower?

1 answer
Real Insurance
RitchieReal Insurance

Hi Anje, do you currently have Home & Content Insurance with us? If you do, please call us on 13 19 48 and we can clarify this issue for you. Or you could send us your policy details in a private message on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/Real.Insurance), and a member of our Service Team will get in touch. Thanks.


Daniel

Danielasked

Hi,

I haven't got my home and content Insurance tax receipt for my home which is located at 5 Sylvan Ridge Drive, ILLAWONG NSW 2234 yet. Could you please send it to me.

Thanks and regards,

Daniel Win

1 answer
Real Insurance
Greenstone F.Real Insurance

Hi Daniel, we will arrange for our Service team to assist further, thanks.


Get an answer from our members and Real Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.