??!
1 photo
Real Home & Contents Insurance

Real Home & Contents Insurance

1.8 from 173 reviews

Reviews

1.8

173 reviews
5
(29)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(127)
Previous
Next
dmuk

dmukPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Deceptive, misleading, unreliable, expensive

published

In 2008 my premium was $300. Today it is $2000. Same property, no changes.
Lodged a claim that they have been unable to finalise for months. Cannot get in contact.
Policy wording and coverage questionable on what they actually will pay out.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMay 2020
See all answers
Kylie

KylieSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Misleading policy

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Kylie, we're sorry to hear about your experience. You should be receiving a call or email from our disputes resolution team.

Kylie
Kylie

I noticed that I was sent another policy renewal the day after I wrote my product review. No doubt it will be different from the previous one.

Jingjoe M.

Jingjoe M.Gippsland, VIC

Disgraceful treatment of long term customer.

published

Insured with 'Real' for 9 claim free years. Contents insured value $137000. Made a claim for $30,000. Payout from 'Real' was $2000. Was told we were under-insured! Absolutely disgraceful and Real are bigger thieves than those that broke into it house.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Real Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
D. Anthony

D. AnthonyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

25.69% premium increase every year in the last 3 years

published

we have been with Real insurance since 2010, 3 cars, home, and contents. started in 2017, After been taken over by Hollard. A 25.69% yearly increase on all our premiums in spite we never made any single claim at all in the last 10 years. it's a totally ripped off. we just canceled all the renewals and moved the business elsewhere. Anyone reading my comments. don't be a victim like me. there is no such thing as being a loyal customer. what it counts today is who's giving you the value for your hard-earned money. I am very honest and straight forward against this insurance company ripping me off all these 3 long years. we can no longer stand it anymore. Let it go !!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
marcn

marcnMark.n.sedhom@gmail.com

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

Over a month since claim lodged, and still no claim number or response.

published

Lodged a claim over a month ago and still don't have a claim number, nor has a claim manager gotten in touch with me.

Don't bother with these guys - switch to Youi or another company that responds to their customers and values their business.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
See all answers
craig J

craig JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

$600 increase in premiums in 3 years shop around otherwise Real will rip was with real/Hollard for five years

published

good at the start very expensive at the end made some claims hence feeling I got shafted for this if future policy prices tried to tell them there were cheaper prices so I have now left they did not really care
if they had of lowered premium i may have stayed

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Raj36

Raj36Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

They don't deserve single star

published

You will only see the real face of unreal insurance company when you make a claim,
They will bring up so many unknown clauses to decline the claim!!
Bunch of liars
Stay away people
This company is not genuine insurance company

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Sarah

SarahPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hollard Insurance - $10,000 landlord claim and only paying $300! Many, Many fine print exclusions!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2018
See all answers
samdownunder

samdownunderSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Great level of service and quick turn around time

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Real Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frank

FrankPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified customer

Unreal insurance suits more than real insurance!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeDuplex
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
Boris

BorisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I must feel lucky

published

I must feel lucky after getting my renewal land lord insurance up by 88%.

On placing my review 'Stay away to avoid dissappointment' a week ago I received a message, that a Team Leader from Customer Service department was about to contact me shortly. And one week later he did, essentially saying that if I did not accept the current premium of $425.99 it would have been $566.99,- up 234% from last year's one.

Lucky me with REAL!

Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
Chicken lady.

Chicken lady.Singleton

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic Insurance.

published

I was with different insurance that didn't care about what I was looking for when it came to insurance. Real insurance was totally different, they asked me what I needed . They help me work out the best policy that suits my needs. I have been with them for 5 years.

Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Morning, Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad to hear you have an insurance policy that suits your needs! -Angela

Avoid you’ll only be disappointed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Property TypeOther
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTheft
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Gman

Gman

  • 16 reviews
  • 26 likes

1 Star is being generous - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

published

We have had an ongoing battle since December last year to have a contents claim resolved after the storms. Its now coming into June and after many emails, phone calls we are still waiting. Claims Central who 'manage' (if you can call it that) claims for Real Insurance are constantly calling asking us to pay the scope of work and every time it is incomplete. Businesses don't talk. There is no follow up. They promise yet no follow through. Avoid the heartache! Good at taking money but no fixing claims.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
Gman
Gman

I’ve tried that. Multiple times.

Jerry

JerrySydney, NSW

Worst insurance company ever, stay away

published

After 9 years with them we had claim due to storm in December. Accesor came, told us it's easy claim and we will get new carport. His report was something completely different, everything was our foult, gutter were full of debris even his pictures shows otherwise. They denied our claim because of that and poor tradesmansihip. Absolute joke. Stay away from them.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how Real Home & Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob

BobSouth East Queensland, QLD

I had 5yrs home and contents with Real Insurance with No claims, then they refused to renew

published

After several phone calls and emails to them I eventually was told “ Because of recent weather events and the geographical location of my property I no longer met their underwriter conditions “ I replied that I must have slept through the tsunami that hit the Goldcoast and had not moved my house from its position, it is 16 metres above sea level” I insisted they stated this ridiculous reason as I needed it to give to a new insurer . It’s a question on all insurance applications. I am now with NRMA and also cancelled my life insurance with Real . Telling them I am a loyal customer but they had treated me with contempt.
Would not touch Real Insurance again

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Bob
Bob
Gary Edwards

Gary EdwardsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Claim Dismissed

published

I enquired about making a claim as my Wife had lost a small diamond out of her eternity ring.
This was ( i believe) the first time i had tried to claim anything, the chap was less than helpful and being told i would have to pay the first $500, seems like i am carrying ALL THE RISK, and you are carrying none.
It would appear the only time insurance is useful is if EVERYTHING, i own is destroyed at the same event.
I will certainly seek other quotes when my multiple policies are up for renewal.
As a footnote, i payed for diamond replacement out of my own pocket, if i cannot rely on you when i have an issue what is the point

Customer Service
Value for Money
2 comments
Gary Edwards
Gary Edwards

May have got my various policies confused, obviously i was taking about my contents insurance.
Hard for me to comment on Funeral Insurance as i have not yet made a claim yet

Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Gavsart

GavsartSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

They tell lies

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateAugust 2018
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Paul

PaulPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best scammers in the country

published
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
2 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Paul
Paul

Would never deal with this company

published

Had a policy with this company for 2 years. Cancelled the day we sold the house and they made us pay the following full month without refund because it was already scheduled to come out. My family who also have policies with them are not happy and will be changing companies. I advise people to stay away from a company like this

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
4 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

We're very sorry to hear this. If you could please send us your policy details in a private message we will look into this and hopefully resolve this matter swiftly for you.

Nathan
Nathan

How about you return the phone call to 0431618243 that your apparent team leader was supposed to be contacting me on.

Nathan
Nathan

Still no response??? A classic example of why you shouldn’t deal with this company

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Shirley G.

Shirley G.asked

need a quote on house and contents

1 answer
Chicken lady.
Chicken lady.

Ring Real Insurance ask for a quote, then you can see if it suit your needs.Staff at Real Insurance are helpful they help me find a policy that suit my needs. I'm very happy i went with Real Insurance.

Anje

Anjeasked

Do you cover leaking water pipe inside wall of shower?

1 answer
Real Insurance
RitchieReal Insurance

Hi Anje, do you currently have Home & Content Insurance with us? If you do, please call us on 13 19 48 and we can clarify this issue for you. Or you could send us your policy details in a private message on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/Real.Insurance), and a member of our Service Team will get in touch. Thanks.

Daniel

Danielasked

Hi,

I haven't got my home and content Insurance tax receipt for my home which is located at 5 Sylvan Ridge Drive, ILLAWONG NSW 2234 yet. Could you please send it to me.

Thanks and regards,

Daniel Win

1 answer
Real Insurance
Greenstone F.Real Insurance

Hi Daniel, we will arrange for our Service team to assist further, thanks.

Get an answer from our members and Real Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.