1 photo
Rheem Rheemglas Water Series

Rheem Rheemglas Water Series

111250, 111315, 191080, etc...
3.1 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Hot Water Storage Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Rheem

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
John W
John WLaunceston, TAS
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

27 yrs out of the hot water system

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
VAKMAN
VAKMANSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Faulty heating element after 1yr 9months

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2018 at Same Day Hot Water Service Retail for $2,408.85.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Andrew Melbin
Andrew Melbin
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quality, Reliable Hot Water Heater

published

This unit has been a great choice for many years of supplying Hot Water to my home, I am confident in the reliable service over years of operation and this has proven correct so that I have installed further units when time came to replace them. The lifespan has been very good and even longer than expected from the specifications so that I have only replaced my latest unit by choice when decided it was old enough though still operating as well as it ever has.

Date PurchasedSept 2008
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Albany
AlbanyGreat Southern, WA

only 3yrs old!

published

My 80L Rheem hot water unit was chosen to replace a faulty 'Dux' unit (after 7yrs) in May 2015.

Now - after just 3yrs I have had to replace the element -total charge being over $200!

I'm now wondering how long this new replacement element will last! Its warranty being only for 12months!

Disappointed/concerned Valerie

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Albany
Albany
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Rheem Rheemglas Water Series compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barko67
Barko67Merbein
  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not Impressed

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Haggis
HaggisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good enough record to ensure we replace current failed unit with same brand.

published

Just moved into the house and the unit failed after 6 months. Mind you it was installed in Dec 1999! Previous owner installed the first Rheem in 1983 when house was built so with a 16 and 17 year old service record we are staying with the brand. Hopefully we will make 18 years with this one. watch this space !!

Date PurchasedDec 1999
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Haggis
Haggis

New Rheem 315 litre installed externally this time. Great service from the guys at Woodridge Plumbing. Thanks Gerard.

Andres
AndresSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

17 years, 1 element change, 0 maintenance = That's pretty awesome if you ask me

published

Price is good and the product works.... I just got a new one!! (let's see how we go)
price is good and the product works.... I just got a new one!! (let's see how we go)
price is good and the product works.... I just got a new one!! (let's see how we go)

Date PurchasedJan 1999
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Alan Dunn
Alan DunnMAITLAND
  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Still runs but replacing it before it fails.

published

Ours was installed in 1988 and is still working well enough in 2017. We have decided to replace it though now rather than wait for it too fail. It's looking a bit battle scared and it's survived a few Maitland floods as well but it has been completely trouble free. We are replacing it with a Rheem Stellar Stainless Steel 250 Electric tomorrow and if the replacement is half as good I will be very happy.

Note: Forget the date purchased below - It wouldn't let me select 1988

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Crab Device

published

Crab. No recommendation at all. It works like technology in 1900s. After just two shower it goes to getting cold and I have to wait for a day after to water be heated by device. even there is no key to any setup or boosting to heat water earlier. with this device I can feel that I am living in the second world war age. Terrible

Date PurchasedJuly 2003
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Rheem Rheemglas Water Series compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Is this a record ?

published

This is our second tank 125 lt. And this one lasted 15 years just like the first one. No servicing or repairs.
Now, because of discolored water is time for replacement,still working fine...feel a lot of respect for such a good product.
Maybe we where just lucky, hopefully the new one is made as good as the old one ...
Thanks Rheem
Tom
West Ryde .NSW2114

Date PurchasedJan 2002
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
joe
joeAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Still working Fine after 10 years - please beware you must Service HWS

published
Date PurchasedAug 2006
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Very unhappy with still under warranty and heat element blown up

published

Very unhappy have a rheemglas 250l still under warranty and heat element blown up. Partner called rheem to be told it is now going to cost us money to fix, so I think it is a doggie product, and am hesitant to fix buyers beware they should replace not us.

Date PurchasedDec 2008
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Rheem Rheemglas Water Series compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris
ChrisSydney
  • 3 reviews

17 years of trouble free service.

published

Just changed from electric to gas hot water but sad to see the Rheemglas 151 series 125 litre go. 5 year warranty and 17 years of service with only a new thermostat in 2008. For anyone wanting electric hot water this brand and type I highly recommend. Absolutely first rate.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Lifetime as expected

published

I purchased an 80 litre, electric hot water system for my apartment in 2002. It failed (leaked) in 2014. Unit had a 5 year warranty and typical life without maintenance of this type of unit is ten years, so nothing unusual here.

My new system is also an 80 litre Rheem, so I'll be content if it lasts another 12 years.

You can extend the life of these if you replace the sacrificial anode every 4 to 5 years, so don't get too upset if these last ten years where you haven't been maintaining them.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Lei
LeiSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

leak at the top

published

It seems this is a common problem. Leaking like a small fountain within 10 years. Contacted service and was told I have to replace the current one. I agree with others here, "I guess there's no business in trying to extend the life of these units, but rather in selling replacements..."

Will not be installing another Rheem.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Questions & Answers

Tania G.
Tania G.asked
Rheemglas Water Series

I have just purchased a property and I have a rheemglass electric water heater model 11108007/BL. Should I leave the HWS switch on always? Will it use up excess power? Is it best to turn it off?

3 answers
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Tania.

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31 due to the technical information required.
Our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Andrew Melbin
Andrew Melbin

Hi Tania
I can only add my personal experience here.
I used to have the same thought with both the original (unknown) electric storage HWS for my place and then my new HWS (first Rheenglas subsequently replaced with same when needed).
I was concerned of leaving electric storage HWS running 24/7, consuming power I assumed unnecessarily when hot water not in use and likewise using up the anode at the same time.
I used to switch the HWS Power Supply off at the mains switchboard after showering in the morning and then switching it on before going to bed to have hot water the next morning and so on.
This didn't seem to cause any problems, the HWS(s) continued to operate well and supply hot water without a hiccup for years.
On replacing it on most recent occasion, I mentioned this to the installer and he said that if it was working fine, what I was doing didn't seem to be causing any problems and I could continue if I thought I really wanted but saying, unlike instant HWS which use a very large amount of power as needed to heat water instantly as called on, the storage HWS tank is insulating the existing hot water so only uses small power hits thoughout the day and night maintaining water temperature only greater power to heat the cold water flowing in after the hot is extracted for showers, laundry, etc.
He said the benefit to switching on / off compared to leaving on 24/7 is therefore limited, if anything can increase rusting out the internal lining of the tank as the anode stops doing its thing when power is removed so it may be increasing the life of the anode but potentially reducing the lifespan of the tank itself.
Basically its a split as if used for hot water daily then neither approach is much better or worse than the other than convenience ie no hot water if want another shower at non usual time of day or night if HWS has been off since last used. On the other hand if not to be used for extended period, say going away for a holiday, then turning off could save power but have to remember to turn it back on as soon as back and need to wait a while (hours?) before can use hot water again.
Just my experience of same idea no expert or technical knowledge of my own.

Tania G.
Tania G.

Thanks for that.

Frustrated
Frustratedasked
Rheemglas 111315

Does the above model have 1 element only is it still an available spare part

2 answers
Andrew Melbin
Andrew Melbin

Hi, I can't really provide an accurate answer. My model of Rheem Rheemglas Electric Storage HWS, labelled 90L (but think that was the cylinder size while was actually 80L water storage capacity I think) was definitely Single Element but I can't say in relation to other models. I would suggest it depends on the capacity, as mine had Single Element I would suggest anything similar sized, not much bigger or definitely smaller would also be Single Element. If the one you refer to is more like 100+ (maybe 120?) Litres then very likely Double Element. This would be detailed on the Rheem website under the model specifications so I suggest checking there. Sorry I couldn't be more help on my own.

Frustrated
Frustrated

Thanks Andrew will do.

Grant D.
Grant D.asked
Rheemglas 111160

Can I convert this system to off peak? My electricity bill is extrodinary high, please help!

2 answers
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

We highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Grant D.
Grant D.

Thank you. Will do.

See all Rheem Rheemglas Water Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Rheem representatives

Rheem Rheemglas Water Series

Details

Compare all 16 Rheem Rheemglas Water Series
Rheem Rheemglas 191125
  • Discontinued

Rheem Rheemglas 191125

5.0
(1)
Rheem Rheemglas 111025
  • Discontinued

Rheem Rheemglas 111025

No reviews yet
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Release dateNov 2011Nov 2011
Compare all 16 Rheem Rheemglas Water Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.