??!
2 photos
Rheem Solar Premier

Rheem Solar Premier

52H300, 596270, 52H180, etc...
1.4 from 20 reviews

Reviews

1.4

20 reviews
5
(0)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(17)
  • Build Quality
    1.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.0 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    1.7 (3)
Previous
Next
tholland55

tholland55Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

An absolute dud!

published
Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Kash

KashMernda

Bad bad bad

published

When my house was built this was installed and a year later I started to have problems. First when my hot water didn’t work I thought it was weird so I reset it. Then it started to happen on a daily; Every time there is a cloudy day and I’m about to have a shower there would be no hot water; I have to go outside and reset it. I would not recommend this to anyone! I am beyond Disappointed

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Daniels

DanielsWyreema

Does not heat water

published

Have had the unit for around 8 years almost every year sometimes 2 times per year the unit broke down and needed repair
When ringing Rheem, they say we will get back to you but never do. I am a builder, and with the lack of support from Rheem,I will not put a Rheem hot water system in any of my houses any more. I payed around $4500 for this unit, and would not know how much I paid in electricity to have hot water. Bad product, bad service, not happy,

Date PurchasedDec 2010
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Daniels
Daniels

No I will not call you back any more, how about you returning your calls
My number is 0409465812
You should have it
Regards Daniel

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Solar Premier compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not even 6 years old and needs replacing

published

Have had a couple of repairs done in the first 2 years to the board, 1st was under warranty, continuous issues with the gas booster not firing,now not 5 years and 10 months of use and strange noises heard. Plumber came and looked both panels are severely holed, gushing into panels and leaking onto roof, pump is also broken. Rang to find out warranty is only 5 years and offered no assistance. This damage has definitely been going on for well over a year due to the size and amount of holes. The warranty is a joke. The build quality is a joke. This is called a Solar PREMIER Loline. There is nothing premier about it except the price tag. AVOID. Whole system needs replacing. Not happy

Date PurchasedDec 2012
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
coxbakz
coxbakz

Details forwarded as requested

Charles

Charles

  • 2 reviews

A very good solar hot water system.

published

Our Rheem solar hot water system (stainless steel tank) was installed 1 year and 8 months ago (South West Victoria) We're happy with our unit and it provides us with all the hot water we need. Get a Licensed Plumber who has quality solar HWS installation experience and your plumber should provide you with VBA compliance certificate and Certificate of Electrical Safety. ,

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
BigDocAl

BigDocAlTraralgon

  • 3 reviews

unreliable, doesn't seem built to last...

published
Date PurchasedDec 2013
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
John B

John BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

shocker

published

The unit appears to be designed to run with booster on all the time ie goes cold o/night goes cold after 2 showers
I have previously had solahart dux and heavenly solar all fabulous units this thing was installed by the builder and is sub-standard in my opinion.After a month complaining to the builder Rheem sent out 2 technicians out to assess and couldnt find anything wrong with the unit other than clean the dust off the panels

Date PurchasedNov 2016
3 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
John B
John B

Details forwarded to Rheem as requested but not expecting any reply

John B
John B

Do not recommend to any one there surely must be a better option

Brad

BradBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolutely terrible - highly NOT recommended

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
3 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Brad
Brad

Thats the problem Rheem, it wasn't about meeting my expectations... Its about completely failing to follow through on what you promised. Big difference.

Brad
Brad
Frosty

FrostyPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Got to be kidding!

published

This unit is 3 years old and this is the second time I have had to call someone out. No hot water pressure. It's a dribble. This problem slowly came on over 6 months and I only realised how bad the pressure was when I had a power outage and had to shower at my mother's place.
Out of curiosity, I just checked my paperwork from when I built the house and I paid over $4000 for the unit. I didn't question what was chosen by the building company as Rheem always had a good reputation. Not anymore with me.
I am not impressed that something this expensive is having problems. I'm using a Rheem plumber at $143 for the first half hour!! So this had better be under warranty or I will have to reword this currently nice review.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Solar Premier compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Donna

DonnaPerth

Do not recommend Rheem

published

We had a solar hot water system installed in May 2015. Six months later (12/15) we had an element replaced under warranty as we were not getting any hot water. It's been another 6 months and we are having the same problem. No hot water. Waiting for someone to call us back, we will not be happy if it's the element again and it's not covered by warranty. I think we were given a lemon. Before purchasing Rheem, we had an Everdure which lasted us 18 years with no problems. We have only had Rheem for approx 14 months and 2 call outs to problems with it. We thought Rheem was the best, obviously not!!!!

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Avoid a reem solar hot water system

published

I have previously had a 300 l Solarhart which performed exceptionally well even when there was no sun.

This new Rheem only produces hot water in the sun but it looses all the heat overnight so you wake up to cold water.

The suggestion from Rheem is leave the electric boost on always....sort of negates the reason for having solar hot water. I thought Rheem was a reputable product name.

Electric boost on the Solarhart was only necessary when overcast for a number of days.

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Would not recommend Rheem Premier® Loline 270L + Gas Boosted Water Heater

published

I am disappointed that only approx 5.5 years after installation, it needs to be repaired. I have been quoted a minimum of $1400 to be repaired or to replace with a new solar unit $2577.
This unit has costed us about $5000, This seems expensive shelling out a minimum of $1400 for a system that is only 5.5 years old.. not happy

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Damo

DamoCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Absolute bit of junk

published

Unit is less than 1 year old . plumbers have been out 6 times. So far the motherboard has been replaced , heat sensor has been replaced , Pipes have been relaid. Now waiting on new Pump and motherboard parts taken over a week to be dispatched . A whole summer of free hot water wasted on this unit , Gas bill should be almost nill for usage but instead I get Gas bill for hot water, Time off work waiting for service people to turn up and to add insult my last call to RHeem was answered in New Zealand by a consultant who did not listen , his team leader was too busy in a meeting and I was referred to a service agent 300km s away . Appalling NEVER buy anything from Rheem

3 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Damo
Damo

I have sent an email with Contact Details

Damo
Damo
Chris

ChrisMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disgraceful waste of money

published

We installed our hot water solar system 2003. Since then it has cost us thousands from repairs to water bill soaring as it dumps water every day. Never any hot water on a cloudy day. Always have to remember to press booster button. Not just me, neighbour has had the same problem. So far we have spent $1200 on repairs plus unknown excess water bill. Do not buy.

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Leon M

Leon MPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Constant problems, consistently poor service and warranty

published

Same issues as Matt V. Replaced tank after 3 years,had to pay $1000 in labour, while contractors left us for a week without hot water. unit is still is not particularly effective. i.e. luke warm water on a summer's day. Warranty only covers one defective unit, so we get nothing from Rheem. Looks like we'll have to cut our losses and try another brand, which we will hopefully have a lot less trouble with. Will never trust Rheem as a provider again.

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Solar Premier compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JasonV

JasonVSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unbelievably bad warranty and early tank failure

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

“Dear JasonV, in regards to your review , our Customer Service Investigations team would like to follow-up on this case. Could you please send your contact details through to rheem.service@rheem.com.au so we can assist further?” Thank you.

JasonV
JasonV

Hi. I emailed that address with my contact details and letter of demand on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:35 PM, but as per your request I've emailed it again. The same letter was also posted to the QLD Regional Office and Head Office.

JasonV
JasonV
sahkoyah

sahkoyahSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Non-stop problems. Extremely vague product manual. Bad, bad, bad!

published

This hot water service constantly fails to supply hot water. It can't seem to cope with cold weather (3-4 degrees celcius outside) and fails at least once per week, meaning either myself or my husband has to go outside in the dark and cold, to reset it, so that we can have our night-time hot shower.

I would NEVER again purchase a gas boosted solar hot water service. We tried the warranty service, but all it does is refer you to a local plumber (at your own expense, to be reimbursed later if it is in fact a product fault).

UNRELIABLE, expensive, bad warranty service

Terrible

published
jack j

jack j

  • 5 reviews

Bad - Do not buy, I wish I bought a Solar Hart

published

Purchased in November 2012 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
truthfacts

truthfacts

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good

published

good panels and always be better and those fragile solar vacuum tubes the rheem collectors have a toughen safety glass and can handle hail upto 25mm dia. Tube will break and leave shards of sharp glass every where and probably in yout rain water tanks.
cheap system with no style
its just a rheem

Questions & Answers

Glenn B.

Glenn B.asked

Solar Premier 596270

Hi I'm in Sydney so no frost issues,. Can I charge the heating cycle side with just water? EG no glycol

2 answers
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Glenn

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Glenn B.
Glenn B.

was that an answer? its a simple question.

Glenn B.

Glenn B.asked

Solar Premier 596270

Hi I am in Sydney so no frost problems can I charge this system with water only?

No answers
JMC

JMCasked

Solar Premier 52H300

Hi has anyone had issues with the solar collectors bursting internally, Rheem has told me this never happens? The problem it’s happen to my unit after his 4 Months

2 answers
JasonV
JasonV

Sounds like typical Rheem to me. Hopefully they'll cover it under warranty without too much trouble.
For us it's happened on both systems I've owned but we don't know if it was the panels or the tank.
Our first system had a rupture 'somewhere' after 3.5 years, losing all the glycol, but the whole system was replaced under warranty (just had to argue with them and pay a large amount for them to honour it).
The replacement system had a rupture somewhere after 6 years, losing all of the glycol again. The whole system is going to the recyclers after this.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear JMC

We are sorry to hear about your experience and our customer service team would like to investigate the issue. However, we cannot obtain your information given the limitations of this website. If you could please email your contact details through to rheemcustomerrelations@rheem.com.au, referencing this review, our team will be able to assist you accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rheem representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.