??!
1 photo
Rinnai HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous

Rinnai HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous

1.0 from 9 reviews · View Details

Reviews

1.0

9 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.0 (2)
  • Heating Speed
    1.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Bob

BobFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I had seen these reviews before I bought this lemon

published

We built our new house 5 years ago, the unit worked ok for the first winter (we shifted in late July, live in North Queensland and do not need hot showers in summer). Every winter since we do not get even warm water, have contacted Rinnai before and they told us to contact the company we bought unit from, have had them to look at item and they cannot get it to work any better, there are only two of us in the house so this unit should be able to keep up with our usage. We have not been able to have a WARM shower for 4 years I am fed up with it but cannot afford to buy a new unit.
Do Not Buy These Heaters.
Bob

Purchased in June 2015 at E.H. Westbury & Company (Innisfail Qld) for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bob
Bob
Dale

DaleSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

HOTFLO 10 - Rubbish!!

published

Had nothing but trouble with this water heater, since installed by a Licensed Plumber. Had numerous callouts, and now the water is lukewarm at best. Tried everything. It's definitely not the water or gas pressure as both are excellent. New battery and still the same old problem. Call a technician and pay $300 just for a call out. Do not buy this product, it is absolute rubbish.

Purchased at Tradelink for A$790.00.

Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
IBSYD

IBSYDSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy this product

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mikecatts

mikecattsadelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

DEOSNT WORK 3 YEARS OLD TO THE DAY..

published

our 3 year old Rinnai Instantaneous 10 has stopped working.. called Rinnai and they were hopless.. so much for their "troubleshooting".. they said to call a plumber.. no help at all..Junk product..
Have had a plumber around and he cant work out whats wrong... Aint a cheap excersise.... Said to call Rinnai.. I explained that we did and they said to call a plumber, he had a chuckle at my expence...
No mention from them of warranty?????
stay away from this rubbish product..

Date PurchasedJan 2015
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
mikecatts
mikecatts

The plumber that you guys sent over had no idea what to do.. He couldnt fix it.. Spare parts are way too expensive just to see if it fixes the problem.. We will need a new service.. Not a Rinnai again.. rubbish product.

What a dud

published

We had the Hotflo 10installed in March 2015 and by November 2016 it was subject to a warranty claim, no hot water at all. Subsequent to that claim the system worked until early 2018 at which point it started to play up, no warm at all or lukewarm. We spent a fortune thinking it was batteries. Our water flow is from a large rainwater tank delivered by an excellent pump so pressure is not the issue. At time the system just went on strike. It stopped all together last month for a few days, so I decided against repairs, and have replaced it with a Bosch system, same flow rate and with the added bonus of not requiring any power for ignition, it’s a hydro system. I still have the old Rinnai unit if you guys want to have a look.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
J C Deep

J C DeepDeepwater NSW

FrustrationFlow

published
phil

philperth

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

DONT BUY !!

published

From the day it was installed the water was just warm..Ive had 4 gas plumbers out & the ATCO gas supply guy out(who advised to remove the green tempering gauge which cools the water to the Govt advised temp)..He even changed the regulator at the gas meter, increased the gas press..so with all this done, its still just warm, & the warranties just out..the bathrooms are nearby,but nothing brings the temp up...the ATCO guy said hes seen 4 other complaints with this new model....avoid at ALL costs...go to solar with elec booster & solar PV panels

Rinnai Hotflo

published

This hot water service has given us nothing but trouble since it was installed 18 months ago. Hot water in this house is something of a memory only. It is useless & the amount of water we've wasted, waiting for hot water to come through, is ridiculous. Do not buy

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for your review Nicole, we are sorry to hear you have had issues with your unit and would like to investigate further. Can you please contact us via enquiry @ Rinnai.com.au (with spaces removed) and mention this review.

This is Rubbish with a capital R

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for your review David, we are sorry to hear your disappointment with your hot water system. We would like to investigate further the issues you have had and will contact you today for further information.

Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Rinnai HOTFLO reviews

Questions & Answers

Axel.S.

Axel.S.asked

HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous

We have no issue with hot water when it fires up!! Our issue is we have to remove front cover and light up with a lighter...battery ok and sparks but wont fire up without using the lighter.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Axel,S, thanks for the question. We would recommend talking to our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Scott

Scottasked

HOTFLO 10 Instantaneous

This unit is installed in a remote area and does not get a lot of use. In the 6 months I have had it it has only been used 20 or 30 times, Now it has stopped working. Plenty of waster pressure going into the unit,full gas bottle,new battery. Can anybody tell me what to do. The unit was reccomended and I thought I had made a good choice,but maybe not,
Any clues ?.

3 answers
phil
phil

IF totally buggered it should be under warranty (1300555545 Rinnai serv no at least in WA)
ours is working ok now that we turned the water flow & temp adj clockwise to decr water flow AND my plumber removed the Govt required Temp Limiting device which most plumbers say is the problem if water not hot enough/( nanny state... put in.so babies dont get scalded)
ps..when my solar panel rebate finishes in 4 yrs, I'll be cutting off all gas to house, buying the biggest storage batt & solar hot water elec boosted)

J C Deep
J C Deep

We have since got it working 95% of the time - we had to completely open up the gas regulator which the manual says must be installed (plumber showed me how) and we have to be very careful of air bubbles inside the hot water system (requires draining of the HWS on the inlet side to try and fix). Also I highly recommend removing any flow restrictors on any taps/shower heads You want to ensure your water is flowing at more than 4 litres per minute. I did this by placing a bucket under the outlet, turn on hot water only and see how much water goes into it over a minute - a bucket is usually about 10 litres. You need 4 litres for the HWS to attempt to warm the water. The Temp limiting device might be a factor if there is air bubbles in the HWS - however we still have ours as set up and in summer the water is hot, in winter it is just warm, we are considering setting up a pre-heater for the water before next winter.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Scott, it can be hard to provide a diagnosis without examining the unit. We do have a technical help line who can troubleshoot over the phone and arrange a service call out if required. If the fault is a manufacturing issue, you are still within your warranty period for the unit.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.