??!
4 photos
Rinnai HOTFLO
1.5 from 24 reviews

Reviews

(3)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(20)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.7 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    2.7 (3)
IBSYD

IBSYDSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Do not buy this product

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dario

DarioSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

No issues whatsoever, easy installation and solid hot water

published

I saw all the negative comments here and decided to let everyone know that my Rinnai electric HOTFLO 250L purchased July 2019 is wonderful, good narrow dimensions, made in Australia, Victoria new factory - I did my research. I'm guessing that other customers were ether in minority and/or unlucky and/or products were made in China and all called a plumber instead of calling Rinnai direct and let them guide them through the process. Got good price, $729 delivered and then I organised best installation option - don't let plumbers rip you off please.

Purchased in July 2019 at Cass Brothers for $729.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
GEdmunds

GEdmundsTasmania

  • 8 reviews

Extremely Poor Product

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,200.00.

Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi GEdmunds, Thanks for getting in touch, this matter has been escalated.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

GEdmunds
GEdmunds
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin W

Martin WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Warranty useless.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $1,558.00.

Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Martin W
Martin W
mikecatts

mikecattsadelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

DEOSNT WORK 3 YEARS OLD TO THE DAY..

published

our 3 year old Rinnai Instantaneous 10 has stopped working.. called Rinnai and they were hopless.. so much for their "troubleshooting".. they said to call a plumber.. no help at all..Junk product..
Have had a plumber around and he cant work out whats wrong... Aint a cheap excersise.... Said to call Rinnai.. I explained that we did and they said to call a plumber, he had a chuckle at my expence...
No mention from them of warranty?????
stay away from this rubbish product..

Date PurchasedJan 2015
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
mikecatts
mikecatts

The plumber that you guys sent over had no idea what to do.. He couldnt fix it.. Spare parts are way too expensive just to see if it fixes the problem.. We will need a new service.. Not a Rinnai again.. rubbish product.

Cal909

Cal909AU

  • 2 reviews

Stay away from Rinnai, bad product, bad service

published

Agreed this is very bad service, my tank is rusted I believe, as hot water came out yellowish. When I called them they will not be able to advise whether my tank is still under warranty or not, even I have provided the receipt, model and serial number. They told me to book the technician for $195.00 and they will let me know if it is still under warranty or not.
All I want to know is what is the warranty period for my tank and the storage cylinder of my tank, no you will need to pay $195.00 for that answer. Sad sad sad, I don;t know how Rinnai's customer services be so bad beyond word can be describe.

Date PurchasedNov 2009
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
JenjiK

JenjiKNowra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

It does the job well

published

This is the only hot water heater I have ever needed to buy. The previous one died of old age in mid-winter. I went up a size, from 80L to 125L, mainly for family visits, not because I need the extra capacity every day.
Being without hot water for almost a week (the old one carked it on a freezing Friday night and the supplier with the best price in my regional area didn't have this model in stock) has made me really appreciate reliable hot water.
Running costs are fine for the size. Installation was straightforward. Overall, the whole process cost less than I feared, and less than the Harvey Norman supply and fit package.
No issues at all - it does precisely what it's supposed to, at least at this stage (seven weeks).

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review JenjiK, we are glad to hear the hot water unit is working well for you.

Jey.N

Jey.N

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not enough for 4 persons to shawer...

published

I installed a new Rinnai 315L single element unit 2 months ago. from that day, still now we run out of hot water every afternoon. 4 of us in my house. we don't use hot water to wash clothes. when I called their customer service. they asked me to give the credit card detail first to send a technician. very bad customer service. pls don't buy Rinnai product.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Pat

PatMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Stay away

published

Purchased product hotflo 170l, only had it for 18 months, and it leaks and pilot light turns off..,DO NOT CALL Rinnai customer support....you will be charged excessive fees for someone to come out and not fix the problem and still pay the call out fee of $200 and be told that the leak is condensation, turn a pilot light on, which the should have been able to advise over the phone. Avoid at all costs...this customer service report is current as August 2018. I had a rheem for over 15 years and no issue...these leak after 18 months...save your money and do not buy.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Pat, we are sorry to hear the experience you have faced and would like to investigate further. Could you email through your details to the enquiry@rinnai.com.au email address, mentioning this review and we will contact you.

Pat
Pat
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Good morning Pat, your email has been responded to this morning and a trace placed on the refund. The adjustment has been made to your unit so should not have further issues.

Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

What a dud

published

We had the Hotflo 10installed in March 2015 and by November 2016 it was subject to a warranty claim, no hot water at all. Subsequent to that claim the system worked until early 2018 at which point it started to play up, no warm at all or lukewarm. We spent a fortune thinking it was batteries. Our water flow is from a large rainwater tank delivered by an excellent pump so pressure is not the issue. At time the system just went on strike. It stopped all together last month for a few days, so I decided against repairs, and have replaced it with a Bosch system, same flow rate and with the added bonus of not requiring any power for ignition, it’s a hydro system. I still have the old Rinnai unit if you guys want to have a look.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Jason

Jason

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

seems to a common theme lack of hot water! now what do i do

published

right ive just had a house built and been in only 5 month. now my Rinnai 315lt hot water is not hot enough even though its set to 70 degrees. we have to use max hot water at the tap and are still feeling cold as this weather goes cooler.
ok rannai who do I call? the builder of the home? the plumber or you? im not paying a cent either way it goes as ive paid more than the system is worth with the builders markup. no such product should be faulty in such a short time.
ill await reply so I don't get shafted with the you should have contacted us response.
thank you

Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jason
Jason

Thank you for your prompt reply. Ill chase it up with the builder

Irene gritton

Irene grittonBuderim

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Rubbish

published

After only two years of use in a single person household I've just paid $372. to replace the element & thermostat. Oh, & 2 rusted bolts. I'm assured the parts are better quality than the original but betting the manufacturers won't accept responsibility for supplying sub standard parts. Reading other reviews it seems
pointless contacting Rinnai who would say I should have contacted them first. Wonder how long that would have taken to get hot water back on.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Sheron

SheronSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Buyers be aware

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Sheron
Sheron
Sheron
Sheron
gazzaplus

gazzaplusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Chinese made garbage.

published

Another product made in China and as usual---- garbage.
It was a simple matter of swapping the old unit out, connect the supply and the inlet/outlet pipes.
Yes, extremely simply until the water was turned on and filled the tank all four tapered threads leaked. How long have we humans been making threaded devices, unfortunately the Chinese can't get it right. Checked the threads with a thread gauge and they weren't even close.
If you want to waste time fixing a brand new product then buy Rinnai http://www.rinnai.com.au/

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Doctor

DoctorPort Stephens

Good seller

published

Good price and service.
I had trouble with a Rheem product and didn't want another.
Was delivered at a better price than others without delivery.
Was easy to install and is performing well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Doctor, Thank you for your feed back, We wish you many years on continued service from your unit.

Review collected in partnership with Rinnai

Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tara Rymer

Tara RymerNew South Wales, Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nothing but trouble.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
J C Deep

J C DeepDeepwater NSW

FrustrationFlow

published
phil

philperth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

DONT BUY !!

published

From the day it was installed the water was just warm..Ive had 4 gas plumbers out & the ATCO gas supply guy out(who advised to remove the green tempering gauge which cools the water to the Govt advised temp)..He even changed the regulator at the gas meter, increased the gas press..so with all this done, its still just warm, & the warranties just out..the bathrooms are nearby,but nothing brings the temp up...the ATCO guy said hes seen 4 other complaints with this new model....avoid at ALL costs...go to solar with elec booster & solar PV panels

Paul Vardy

Paul VardyWiaheke Island, Auckland

Leaky Hotflow

published

I have had my Rinnai Hotflo for about two years now ....unknown to me it had been slowly leaking water into to the element box at the base of the cylinder and the floor boards under the Hotflo were soaking wet ...if the element had not blown the whole thing could have gone through the floor boards and what more disturbing is the nice guy who came around to fix it told me this is a common problem with these heaters ...I ask my self why are they not fixing the problem on the factory floor where they make them .....I checked where they are making them and behold it was CHINA ??!! well enough said ...my suggestion is ...Don't buy one ....

Krys

KrysMelbourne

Please help! Rinnai Hotflo drips after every time I use the hot water.

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

None

Noneasked

HOTFLO Electric Storage

Hi - I have a Rinnai HOTFLO electric water heater purchased via Origin about a year ago, model HFE160 (160 litres). It works fine but the thermostat setting is too low by a few degrees, the water is warm and not hot, something I'd like to correct now that it's winter. It takes about 5 minutes for warm water to come out of the kitchen tap when is should be hot, the shower water is warm but was not a problem in the summer. The only question I have is how can I as a user increase the temperature setting without having to arrange a serviceman to come do it at a cost. I live in Oxley Brisbane 4075. Thanks. Peter

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question None. There are unprotected electrical connections and no user accessible components so a suitably qualified person is required to make the adjustments.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

AB Qld

AB Qldasked

HOTFLO

We have just purchased a RinnaiHotFlo water heater Model EHFA 250 S 36 in the water intake inlets and hotwater outlets there is a hollow plastic insert going into the tank. What are these inserts and what is their purpose ?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the question AB Qld. Please call our Technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 for further assistance.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Mel.

Mel.asked

HOTFLO

I have a rinnai16 and it has been nothing but a big mistake. It is not that old and i have already had people out 7 times to fix it but with no luck. It will draw the water through you can hear it ignite then cut out and no hot water. Any help?

4 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Mel, have you had a Rinnai technician inspect the the unit? The most common cause of a unit cutting out is a lack of gas to run the unit. We would like to investigate this for you, can you please send an email to enquiry @ rinnai.com.au (removing the spaces) mentioning Product Review and we will have someone contact you to discuss.

Tara Rymer
Tara Rymer

We also had nothing but trouble. If it is under 12 months old I suggest contacting place of purchase as it should be under warranty and/or contact email given above. We had our Rinnai replaced with a Thermann and have had no troubles since. Good luck hope you can get it sorted soon I know how horrible it is to have no hot water, especially as it approaches winter.

J C Deep
J C Deep

Sorry dont know about that model.
With mine -
Battery - The Rinnai idiots designed it with one "D" size battery - not enough - should be designed with 2 so more reliable like my chinese "camping" HWS - finally found a battery good enough and it lights everytime.
Gas - make sure the regulator fitted to the HWS is not too resrictive - If there is an adjustment on the regulator like mine then open it up and try it.
Flow - make sure the flow is consistently over 4 litres a minute - get a bucket (10 litres) and see how much of it gets filled in a minute.
If flow is to slow - remove flow restrictors on shower heads and taps (plastic fittings on the end of taps - for shower heads usually where the shower head connects to the wall).
I considered buying a non-instant model - as there is no delay with heating the water.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.