1 photo
Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

1.4 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Rinnai

Reviews

1.4
12 reviews
5
(0)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (8)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.0 (7)
  • Heating Speed
    2.7 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Bruce D.
Bruce D.Wimmera, VIC

Terrible noise when using hot water

published

We’ve had the solar unit in for 8 months and the sacrificial anode has been replaced 3 times in the tank to try and combat the build up of pressure in the tank. To date this has not fixed the issue. We were told that we weren’t using enough hot water, so what happens when you go away for the weekend? The copper water pipes have changed colour due to the excessive heat and plastic around the solar return pipe has melted.
It seems that not enough research and development has gone into this product and we a paying the price for it.

Purchased at Tradelink .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

And the water pump has failed now.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
JonoCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable product with a guarantee to fail multiple times

published

Purchased at ActewAGL for $5,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
Jono
Rusty4
Rusty4Melbourne
  • 6 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin
Martin
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Quality

published

Rinnai Sunmaster tank installed as part of Hills evacuated tube solar hotwater system. Tank failed due to corrosion at cold water inlet and was replaced under warranty. Replacement tank has failed within warranty period due to corrosion at hot water inlet in the same manner as before. No advice on first warranty that our water quality was an issue. They are fitted i believe with sacrificial anodes. Warranty only covers one purchase not the quality of the product. Suspect poor quality metals being used at connection points.
Not worth wasting your money on, by something that's quality and compare warranty to purchase price.

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Martin
Martin
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Cameron
CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for $6,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Pilot_pik
Pilot_pikMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reported pump 3 times in last year - it still whines all night!!

published

I’ve reported that the pump on our Sunmaster 26 has been running all night 3 times since we moved into our new house 18 months ago. Rinnai tell me there’s nothing wrong when there clearly is. The pump whines all night. And you can hear it from our bedroom upstairs. It’s infuriating! Our guest room is downstairs on the adjoining wall and guests complain about the noise too. I do not recommend this system at all!!!!!!

I also fail to understand why the pump runs in the middle of the night. The electricity bill probably negates the benefit of having the panel in the first place.

Rinnai please take this seriously for once and do something about it!!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RFitzy
RFitzyMelbourne

Working well in bad frost area. Be mindful of flat solar panels from any supplier in frost prone are

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Problematic At Best

published

A new Sunmaster with evacuated tubes, no older than three months started to fail about 2 weeks ago and the installation plumber had a shot at repairing it but only made it worse. Started with the hot water spitting pretty violently and has now reached the point at where there is pretty much no flow at all. Called Rinnia service who subsequently called an agent who said we would have to wait 2 days for a service call. That will mean we are 4 days without hot water. I used to have a high opinion of Rinnia but would now like them to remove the system and will be asking them to do so, it is clearly not fit for purpose and their service arrangements are far from optimal.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Good Afternoon Roger, we are sorry to hear you have had issues with your unit. We'd like to investigate further if you could email me your details either through Product review or by emailing enquiry@rinnai.com.au and mention this review.

trucker1
trucker1
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rinnai sunmaster 315 - rusted out tank

published

My rinnai 315 sunmaster tank has corroded out. 5 years 2 months after install. Warranty is only 5 years. Rang rinnai to get their help - hoping for some goodwill support, maybe a discount on replacing it. Too sad, too bad mate, nothing we can do. The tanks are made in china - the vitreous enamel lining would have been poor quality - and it rusted out well before it should have. My last aussie made tank lasted 17 years. Same water quality, the only thing that has change is the poor quality materials used by rinnai. Now $1780 to replace the tank. That's $350 a year for 5 years. Would have been cheaper to forget solar all together, just pay the power bills, and have a hws that lasts for 10 years or something.

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael V
Michael Vasked
Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Good Morning, we had this unit installed in our new build by our plumber in July last year (2018). Our gas bill is astronimcal all year round, $700 after discount during winter and around $400 during summer when the Hydronic isnt running. Is this normal as the only other gas device we use during summer would be the cooktop two or three nights a week? We have noticed the instantaneous running a lot,even during summer.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Michael V,

Thank you for your question.

We would recommend contacting our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 Option 3 for detailed information in reference to the function of the hydronic system.

Alternatively, you can email the technical help desk on technical@rinnai.com.au

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Joe A
Joe Aasked
Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Why dose my pump whine all day and night has done from new 2017 Evacuated 25 tube
Regards
Joe

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Joe A, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Joe A
Joe Aasked
Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Why dose my pump whine all day and night has done from new 2017 Evacuated 25 tube
Regards
Joe

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Joe A, we would recommend speaking with our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3

Richard L
Richard L

There seems to be a fault in the system which allows the pump to run at night. My pump is very quiet

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.