??!
1 photo
Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

1.5 from 8 reviews

Reviews

1.5

8 reviews
5
(0)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.5 (4)
  • Heating Speed
    2.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Richard L

Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cameron

CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill

BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for A$6,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard

RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
5 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Pilot_pik

Pilot_pikMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Reported pump 3 times in last year - it still whines all night!!

published

I’ve reported that the pump on our Sunmaster 26 has been running all night 3 times since we moved into our new house 18 months ago. Rinnai tell me there’s nothing wrong when there clearly is. The pump whines all night. And you can hear it from our bedroom upstairs. It’s infuriating! Our guest room is downstairs on the adjoining wall and guests complain about the noise too. I do not recommend this system at all!!!!!!

I also fail to understand why the pump runs in the middle of the night. The electricity bill probably negates the benefit of having the panel in the first place.

Rinnai please take this seriously for once and do something about it!!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
RFitzy

RFitzyMelbourne

Working well in bad frost area. Be mindful of flat solar panels from any supplier in frost prone are

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Problematic At Best

published

A new Sunmaster with evacuated tubes, no older than three months started to fail about 2 weeks ago and the installation plumber had a shot at repairing it but only made it worse. Started with the hot water spitting pretty violently and has now reached the point at where there is pretty much no flow at all. Called Rinnia service who subsequently called an agent who said we would have to wait 2 days for a service call. That will mean we are 4 days without hot water. I used to have a high opinion of Rinnia but would now like them to remove the system and will be asking them to do so, it is clearly not fit for purpose and their service arrangements are far from optimal.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Good Afternoon Roger, we are sorry to hear you have had issues with your unit. We'd like to investigate further if you could email me your details either through Product review or by emailing enquiry@rinnai.com.au and mention this review.

trucker1

trucker1

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rinnai sunmaster 315 - rusted out tank

published

My rinnai 315 sunmaster tank has corroded out. 5 years 2 months after install. Warranty is only 5 years. Rang rinnai to get their help - hoping for some goodwill support, maybe a discount on replacing it. Too sad, too bad mate, nothing we can do. The tanks are made in china - the vitreous enamel lining would have been poor quality - and it rusted out well before it should have. My last aussie made tank lasted 17 years. Same water quality, the only thing that has change is the poor quality materials used by rinnai. Now $1780 to replace the tank. That's $350 a year for 5 years. Would have been cheaper to forget solar all together, just pay the power bills, and have a hws that lasts for 10 years or something.

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael V

Michael Vasked

Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Good Morning, we had this unit installed in our new build by our plumber in July last year (2018). Our gas bill is astronimcal all year round, $700 after discount during winter and around $400 during summer when the Hydronic isnt running. Is this normal as the only other gas device we use during summer would be the cooktop two or three nights a week? We have noticed the instantaneous running a lot,even during summer.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Michael V,

Thank you for your question.

We would recommend contacting our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 Option 3 for detailed information in reference to the function of the hydronic system.

Alternatively, you can email the technical help desk on technical@rinnai.com.au

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Joe A

Joe Aasked

Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Why dose my pump whine all day and night has done from new 2017 Evacuated 25 tube
Regards
Joe

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Joe A, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Joe A

Joe Aasked

Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Why dose my pump whine all day and night has done from new 2017 Evacuated 25 tube
Regards
Joe

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Joe A, we would recommend speaking with our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3

Richard L
Richard L

There seems to be a fault in the system which allows the pump to run at night. My pump is very quiet

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.