??!
3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range
1.6 from 39 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.6

39 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.8 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (10)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.6 (9)
  • Heating Speed
    3.0 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Bruce D.

Bruce D.Wimmera, VIC

Terrible noise when using hot water

published

We’ve had the solar unit in for 8 months and the sacrificial anode has been replaced 3 times in the tank to try and combat the build up of pressure in the tank. To date this has not fixed the issue. We were told that we weren’t using enough hot water, so what happens when you go away for the weekend? The copper water pipes have changed colour due to the excessive heat and plastic around the solar return pipe has melted.
It seems that not enough research and development has gone into this product and we a paying the price for it.

Purchased at Tradelink .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

And the water pump has failed now.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono

JonoCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable product with a guarantee to fail multiple times

published

Purchased at ActewAGL for A$5,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
Jono
Rusty4

Rusty4Melbourne

  • 6 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

Martin

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Quality

published

Rinnai Sunmaster tank installed as part of Hills evacuated tube solar hotwater system. Tank failed due to corrosion at cold water inlet and was replaced under warranty. Replacement tank has failed within warranty period due to corrosion at hot water inlet in the same manner as before. No advice on first warranty that our water quality was an issue. They are fitted i believe with sacrificial anodes. Warranty only covers one purchase not the quality of the product. Suspect poor quality metals being used at connection points.
Not worth wasting your money on, by something that's quality and compare warranty to purchase price.

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size6 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Martin
Martin
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L

Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cameron

CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rachael E.

Rachael E.Southwest, VIC

2 Units failed within 4.5 years each. Rinnai not interested. Do not recommend.

published

Failed after 4.5yrs. Rusted at outlet. Replaced under warranty at cost of >$400. Second unit rusted at inlet &failed 4.5yrs later. Rinnai contacted on 3 occasions but totally unhelpful - not interested. Not a water supply issue. Awful & expensive experience.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size7 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hot Sensor Lead

published

The Hot Sensor Lead (20m) 31002715 has deteriorated after 5 years from the heat of the collector panels.
The 20m lead that is supplied by Rinnai is not heat rated. This is Speaker cable and not suitable for Hot Temp Probes. Silicone coated wire should be for the first meter then speaker cable (fig 8) will be fine.
There is no information in installation manual regarding the specs that the hot temp probe requires. I would like this so i can purchase a non generic brand.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill

BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for A$6,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst service ever

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L

Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard L

Thank you for responding. I can be contacted on 0404047510 or lamacraft@bigpond.com

Ken Gray

Ken GrayFar North Queensland, QLD

Rinnai Equinox Hot Water SS330H2EXT

published

This is merely six years old and the tank is bulging and the external plastic has completely broken away. After 2 and a half weeks I cannot even get someone to look at it. Four calls to Rinnai "service" did not get thru. This company is extremely low on customer focus so we would not recommend anything with a Rinnai brand at all based on what happens when you call for help.

Purchased in August 2013 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard

RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
5 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ASM

ASMNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't Buy... Will not buy again. Pump Failure, Frost Valves Constantly leaking

published

18 Month old system was installed on new home and is on 3rd warranty call out. Frost valves leak & have been replaced twice, last set have not lasted 8 months. Pump failed tripping the circuit breaker shutting down all hot water supply in a drizzly cold Victorian evening in July and required our 6 month old daughter to be driven to friends house for several days for bathing until Rinnai sent out a technician to replace.

Requested support from Rinnai on full replacement system however pushed back onto technician suggesting they will provide a solution. Next step ACCC to request full replacement.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ASM, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Pilot_pik

Pilot_pikMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reported pump 3 times in last year - it still whines all night!!

published

I’ve reported that the pump on our Sunmaster 26 has been running all night 3 times since we moved into our new house 18 months ago. Rinnai tell me there’s nothing wrong when there clearly is. The pump whines all night. And you can hear it from our bedroom upstairs. It’s infuriating! Our guest room is downstairs on the adjoining wall and guests complain about the noise too. I do not recommend this system at all!!!!!!

I also fail to understand why the pump runs in the middle of the night. The electricity bill probably negates the benefit of having the panel in the first place.

Rinnai please take this seriously for once and do something about it!!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Geoff

GeoffPerth, WA

Warranty periods and labour costs

published
Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the positive review Geoff. We are pleased to have been able to assist you.

Ravi

RaviMelbourne

Worst product and very unfriendly customer service

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not designed for the intended purpose - Split Solar Hot Water Pannel

published

Well our second Solar Hot water panel has now started leaking just out of the 7 years warrant by 5 months, the first one started leaking in 2015 and was replaced under warranty. Now just after 3 years the replacement panel is now leaking water from the inside again onto the roof.
The system is a Sunmaster by Rinnai with two solar hot water panels on the roof with the Rinnai continuous flow gas boost, the system is not designed for the intended purpose.

A very poor product that should last more than 3 years without fail, I have been quoted $930 for a replacement panel without any labour. This should be still covered under warranty.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
I.Junarsa

I.JunarsaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad Product and Worst Service Support

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
RFitzy

RFitzyMelbourne

Working well in bad frost area. Be mindful of flat solar panels from any supplier in frost prone are

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Robert

Robertasked

Sunmaster Range

Should you have a gas smell from these units

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Robert, you can experience combustion fumes from the gas booster on ignition but we would recommend speaking to our technical support team on 1300 555 545 option 3 or have a gas plumber attend if you are concerned.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Richard L
Richard L

I would say no particularly if the smell persists after ignition

Tej

Tejasked

Sunmaster Flat Plate System

Hi . At night time water leaking side of pannel where is hot sensor assembled. And whistle noise also come from water tank. If i close the main hose incoming cold water then water stopped to leak. It happen always at night. Its only 2.5 years old with 2 pannel on roof. Should be covered in warranty or some one have same issue before. Thanks

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Tej, we would recommend booking a service call to inspect the unit, whistling noise can indicate issues with the frost valves installed in the system. The valve are designed to expel water to protect the solar collectors during colder temperatures.

You can book a service here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

steve

steveasked

Sunmaster Range

solar collector is leaking from what appears a small rubber grommet above inlet/ outlet pipe, contacted rinnair, thats was an ordeal 45 min on hold, can't tell me when someone can come, I asked how to turn water off, was told I would have to seek outside source for that information, what a joke there service department is, not even 24/emergency service looks like a ACCC will be getting involved

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Steve,

We have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.