??!
1 photo
Xiaomi Roborock S5 Max

Xiaomi Roborock S5 Max

4.6 from 111 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.6

111 reviews
5
(82)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (106)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (106)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (107)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (107)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (106)
  • Pet OwnerYes (73) · No (36)
  • System Errors Occasionally (57) · Never (43) · Every time (4) · Often (3)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    4.3 (101)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (103)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Jessica King

Jessica KingGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • Verified purchase

Can not yet fault this product

published

So far so good, can’t fault this vacuum/mop, I have had this for just over a month and use it every night on my laminate flooring, they have never looked cleaner

Purchased in June 2020 for A$950.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Mr Nathan Barnes

Mr Nathan BarnesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Works WAY better then I thought it would!!!!

published

My S5 MAX now has 77hours, 4524meters squared & 225 cleanups over the last 2.5months.
I'm more then happy with it & Ive been telling everyone I know how good it is.
I was going to get a cheaper robo vac but after watching many reviews on YouTube I settled on the Roborock S5 MAX.
I'm vacuuming daily on carpet & tiles, while mopping the tiles weekly.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Ian Wilkinson

Ian WilkinsonSouthern and Hills, SA

  • Verified purchase

Very good compared to competition, , but still room for improvement...

published

Very happy generally, but either the water disposal or pad pressure is not the best combination for our ceramic tile floors, leaves streaks requiring hand mopping in highly visible areas. Latest obstacle avoidance firmware update is better. Appreciate the ongoing updates, demonstrates Roborock is serious about continuous product improvement which gives confidence to buy more of their products.

Purchased in April 2020 at Roborock Australia for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S5 Max compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dazwel

dazwel

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Look no further.

published

We love "Roxy" our S5max. Maps by laser turret and systematically cleans. She also mops, pumps at a user set rate unlike other models that just dribble. Roborock app is great, set no go/no mop zones, schedule cleans, connect to google home, spot clean or choose individual rooms, save 4 maps (ie 2 story house would need 2 maps) just carry her (not charger) change map and start. Parts are cheap from China also mostly interchangeable between RR models. And hair is easily removed from brushes.
Highly recommended addition to the family!

Purchased in May 2020 at Roborock for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

user

userSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Product is good. Customer Service is not.

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Stan

StanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Genuine improvement to our lifestyle!

published

3 months in, we are extremely happy with our S5 Max. It really suits our single level home with dark wood floors and carpets. Very reliable and effective. So easy to swipe the breakfast crumbs on the floor and set the robot to do her thing. The Facebook community for support is great too.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Andrew

AndrewSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

Use on timber floors and rugs. Does a pretty good job of picking up dog hair and carpet fluff. Unable to compare with other robot vacuum cleaners but so far quite impressed.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

  • Verified purchase

Totally a rubbish

published

It always says strong magnetic field sensed even though I already set a no-go zone it sometimes still stocks there. I’ve contacted IT guy they just said we can’t help.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers
1 comment
Roborock
Roborock T.Roborock

Hi Pei - Please contact us if you having issues, not sure why there is strong magnetic field in and around your home however that does not reflect on the performance of the vacuum itself.

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified purchase

Works like a charm

published

We have a mixture of carpets and wood flooring with rugs - vacuuming works well across all surfaces. Mop is ok not deep-clean territory but does the job with a regular consistent approach so we don't have to worry about it :)

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S5 Max compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sunil Saxena

Sunil SaxenaSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Good but not perfect

published

Great navigation doesn't leave any spot.
Mopping isn't perfect and doesn't remove all stains. We have a tiled floor.
Does not climb small 2 cm lips or raised floors.
Vacuum suction is above average.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Nina Grierson-Jones

Nina Grierson-JonesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Not as good as i'd hoped

published

I havent tried this on the mop setting yet, but have been using it nearly every day to vacuum- my floors are tiles and carpet, it has good suction, has not gotten stuck on anything and gets back to the dock fine by itself which is great since i was always having to save my old roomba, it doesnt seem to map as well as i expected- it still misses areas which is very annoying, i would have given it a 4 star review if it wasnt for this

Purchased in June 2020 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

  • Verified purchase

It’s a dream - once you can start it

published

I love my Roborock so much that I made a fried buy one too. I had a Samsung robot vacuum before which was the worst household item I ever owned so I had my doubts when purchasing this one - but I’m so glad I did.
It’s accurate, with quality materials, easy to maintenance and does a fantastic job. I use it on tiles,hardwood and carpet in a townhouse.
The one issue is that the app constantly loses connection. Before every use I spend a good 30+ minutes reinstalling the app, restarting wifi, phone and robot to finally get them all connected. In this time I could just do the vacuuming traditionally, haha. So if this could be improved, it would be great but otherwise it’s a very decent machine.

Purchased in June 2020 at Roborock Australia for A$849.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

allmyfriends

allmyfriendsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

One of the best robo vacs

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Roborock Australia for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Linda

Linda

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Super happy with this

published

We use it every other day, I'm so glad we bought it. I just hope it lasts a few years. I also wish it came with a spare filter and mop cloth...

Purchased in May 2020 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Kate

KateSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Finally the vacuuming gets done.

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Xiaomi Australia for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Xiaomi Roborock S5 Max compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Megan Turner

Megan TurnerWestern Australia

  • Verified purchase

I'm in love. His name is Elliot and he really get me excited with all the work he does. Smitten!!

published

Elliot cleans our wood floor, vinyl and is amazing at cleaning the front door mat too. He is so clever to know where to clean and follows instructions to the letter.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Gerard Paul R.

Gerard Paul R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very clever, Vacuums Well and Mops well

published

We have 80% wooden floors and the rest low pile carpet. It's going a brilliant job. Works on both floors without having to move the dock. Roborock app seems best to me to use. Very easy to customise maps.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

  • Verified purchase

Excellent vacuums and mops

published

Carpet, tiles and wooden. The vacuum cleans everything. It has saved so much time and freed us up so much to do other things we never used to have time for. Additionally it's a strong vacuum cleaner and therefore it cleans everything so well. We can leave it at home and go out or stay at home and it doesn't make much noise. It's a win win win situation!!!

Purchased in March 2020 for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Tim Harrison

Tim HarrisonTasmania

  • Verified purchase

This is the best vacuum I have ever had!

published

Great on carpet and tiles. Picks up a huge amount of dust and dirt on the floor. The mop is great add-on good for cleaning dog food prints or food/drink spills.

Mop no good for dried on food but didn't expect it to clean that.

overall great product. The options to say clean this room or zone of no go areas in the app is great and works fantastically.

Purchased for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Stephen McCormac

Stephen McCormacIllawarra, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Roborock named her Mertle, Set and forget, loving my new cleaner.

published

We have Slate tiles, carpet and floor rugs Mertle is a dream, never know she is on, quiet and cleans surprisingly well, runs at night or while at work. Maps out the floor in stages then zigzags each stage.. picks up pets fur

Purchased in June 2020 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Roborock

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Rose

Roseasked

I’d like to learn more about the mob function- can’t you add anything to the water? Any cleaner or vinegar perhaps? Does it work like a steam cleaner or is it just cold water that only makes the floor wet?

2 answers
Andy X.
Andy X.

It takes cold tap water not anything else like cleaner or vinegar etc. It uses controlled water jet to wet the mopping mat for cleaning and I find it better than expected. However, it can not be used as replacement of your normal floor mopping which is stated in its manual.

James Taylor
James Taylor

Only tap water in the tank but it does a very good mop job and then just do a proper mop every now and then, I sometimes use spray cleaner on the mop cloth before sending it on a mop run.

Get an answer from our members and Roborock representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.