2 photos
Ryobi RCS5145N

Ryobi RCS5145N

MPN: RCS5145N
2.8 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (11)
  • Safety
    3.6 (9)
Previous
Next
Terry Collins
Terry Collins
  • 2 reviews

Don't waste your money - spend a bit extra and get a Stihl

published

Purchased for $289.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Very disappointing

published

Unfortunately chainsaw drive shaft stopped working after 2nd use. No service number to call on website. Only used it on 10 cm diameter green wood logs. After sale service very disappointing.

Incentivised Review No
Bingo
BingoNorthern Region, NSW

Bloody rubish

published

Worked good for first 15 mins. Than it all went south
Seem powerful enough than Bar oil started leaking Hard to start when hot got it started than chai screwed up
Spend the extra coin for something better
Going for a refund

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS5145N compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No Very Good

published

First time using the saw with the chainbar tension set the chain came off & bent guides in the chain. So the chain won't sit back in the bar correctly. Took it back & got replacement it did the same thing. Took it back & got Makita, no problem.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bill P.
Bill P.Southern and Hills, SA

No good

published

Used this for lopping pine branches on my property. Nothing too serious or hardcore.

About 30 minutes in, the chain pops off. I refit chain etc. and adjust tension. Chain pops off again roughly 5 minutes later.

Refit chain once more and now chain no longer spins. Adjust tension back and forth several times however chain will not spin upon starting the engine.

Return to Bunnings for a full refund. Save yourself the headaches and get something serious.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
acerace
aceraceQld, 4521
  • 22 reviews
  • 18 likes

Fit for purpose

published

The little easy to use(safe) chainsaw another addition to our Ryobi fleet.

Great for modest branches and even light firewood.

Always amazed what it does with little effort, Sometimes I think NO Way but yes,my wife uses it easily.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JKs Garden Service
JKs Garden ServiceWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is a fantastic little chainsaw

published

I purchased my Ryobi chainsaw because my old McCullough brand had died after much use. I was a little bit sceptical at first because I though tit might have been a bit light for the work I needed to do with it. But after cutting down and old mango tree with it I've decided that I love it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ShouldHaveGotAHusqvarna
ShouldHaveGotAHusqvarna
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Complete product fail

published

This chainsaw is lightweight. That is the only good feature. After that, it is an endless road of pain and suffering. Almost impossible to start. Engine resists as though it were seized.
Even though its new. Rear guard gap too small to get my steel toe boot tip into...even a little, to hold saw down when starting. Once finally started, the idle rate is incorrectly set, as well as the peak rate. About 5 small tree limbs in, and the chain comes off.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
  • Verified

Great saw for the price

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS5145N compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rawry
RawryLaunceston, TAS

Happy lumberjack

published

I'm really happy with purchase. I read some bad reviews but if used correctly e.g. correct fuel and lubricants, maintain at correct intervals it's a great tool for the price

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mad gary
Mad garySouth East Queensland, QLD

Ran ok but the chain lubrication sucks.

published

Ran ok but the chain lubrication sucks. 1 month out of warranty took it apart and the plastic chain lubrication gear was worn out. You need to take just about everything apart to get to this

Purchased in September 2016 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Migz
Migz
  • 3 reviews

3 of these chainsaws ruined in 1 day...

published

Purchased from Bunnings $269 within 2 min stopped the saw and tensioned chain 10 min of cutting later front front chain wheel guide seized. Took it back same day got a replacement, same again but this time the chain came off on step angle cut. Returned again, replaced again, then the 3rd one chain came off but would not sit back into bar...took it back all on the same day....asked for money back...NO MORE RYOBI CHAINSAWS FOR ME EVER, my old ozito electric chainsaw leaves this for dead.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Breathe in the air
Breathe in the airMid North Coast, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better than you think

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Lucky g
Lucky gWestern District, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Lubrication problems.

published

Returned my Ryobi on this date for a warranty claim.I have had an ongoing problem with the chain lubrication system.Oil everywhere except on the chain it was much the same problem l had with the last saw that i had.The saw is great when it is going well but seems to suffer a range of problems.The best point i can give this saw is the two year warranty.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
sierra
sierra
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great price for a decent chainsaw that's built for some hard work.

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Ryobi RCS5145N compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Andrew J.
Andrew J.asked

Where is the oil pump located

No answers
Peter M.
Peter M.asked

There is no spark plug ?

No answers
Sandra B.
Sandra B.asked

Where is the oil pump

1 answer
acerace
acerace

Mine is battery powered ,you just press the black button a few times and oil flows. Petrol ones the oil dribbles out as you use it ,I think.As for a pump????

See all Ryobi RCS5145N questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $299.00
Use Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cutting
Bar Length46 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication, Chain Brake and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight5.3 kg
Engine Displacement51 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity575 mL
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: RCS5145N

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.