??!
2 photos
Ryobi RLM4619SMB

Ryobi RLM4619SMB

MPN: RLM4619SMB
3.6 from 134 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
46
4 star
42
3 star
9
2 star
14
1 star
23

Kym

KymMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very good and reliable

published

It is a very good and reliable lawn mower. Easy to start no Lake's I love her you can plug your hose in to it and start it up and it washes underneath it.

Purchased in April 2019 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

CQ Mountaineer

CQ MountaineerCentral Queensland, QLD

Dirty breather.

published

The Subaru engine is powerful, starts easily and is easy to service. the major problem I see is the air intake. This is clearly designed so the dust stirred up is inhaled directly into the air cleaner element. Why there is no snorkel is beyond my comprehension. I think this engine will have a short life.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
Fran N.

Fran N.Sydney, NSW

Great Lawn Mower

published

Had the mower for 3 years now and still going strong. Starts first time and cuts through grass easy.'

Build quality could be a little better, but overall very happy with the mower.

Purchased in July 2017 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
ibast

ibastSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Engine. Bad mower

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

ed_8

ed_8South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Overall good, but

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Starts first time pretty much every time

published

Had this lawn mower for about 4 years , never did anything to it and it starts most times first time no problem . Subaru engine is fantastic . Might look at replacing it only cause its a pain to push up and down my back yard hill but that's not the mowers fault i just need a self propelled mower

November 21st 2019 Update: Not 5 stars but not bad

I have had this mower for 6 years. Always starts first or second pull . Never serviced it and its still going strong . The only thing I would say is that the air filter is not in a good position . Other than that the mower is reliable and does what a mower should with minimum of fuss

Purchased in March 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Tinia

TiniaNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth it

published

Do not be fooled this product is hopeless. I got this mower less than 2 months ago and already it is failing. It does not cut the grass properly, does not know the meaning of the word straight.....front wheel bar is bent a bit....my daughter is sick of raking after mowing as the mower does not pick up the grass.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

BC1

BC1Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waste of Money

published

My Ryobi has only had light use every 3-4 weeks for about 12 months and has now failed. Thats only about a dozen or so times ! It is impossible to start despite new plug and service. Given the cost of labour and parts these days, it will probably not be economic to have it repaired.

The only way this mower can now be useful is as a boat anchor. No more doing things on the cheap. Back to Honda for me.

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
ShopAdikt

ShopAdiktGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Simply Superb

published

very easy to manoeuvre and operate. Its very smooth to drive. Good for grass and lawns.
Sharp blades for increased cut and safety.Powerful 190cc 4-stroke Subaru engine does make it very powerful. Does make a lot of noice .

Purchased in September 2018 at Raw Pleasure for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gary. Topping

Gary. ToppingNorth-East, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great mower

published

I've put it thru some tough work, keep the blades updated, oil check. Has never given me any trouble. Clean the air filter etc . Don't use the catcher much, the mulched works fine.

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Ben

BenChristchurch

Looks great on paper but the engine doesn't make up for the terrible quality

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

byzance

byzance

  • 10 reviews

greatttt

published

bought from bunnings.empty catcher twice.powerful to do an average yard,700sq meter.no issues yet fingers crossed.i checked other reviews before purchase.starts on first pull, not to loud.frame feels ok to me ,rolls well .
always keep receipts ,you never know. uses regular fuel, the mower comes shipped without oil. It requires 10 w 30 oil which is standard lawn mower oil.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Nathan

Nathan

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

For the price it is not worth the value for money

published

I recently purchased this lawnmower from bunnings and have had issues with the wheel rubbing on the chassie. Because i dont have the receipt i dont have warranty. For the price i paid for the lawnmower $500 .you think they would help me out. Should of just got a Honda for an extra $100 .very disappointing from ryobi and bunnings

Date PurchasedMar 2018

NooNoo

NooNoo

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good value

published

Bought this about 18 months ago and vary happy with it. Our old Honda was still going well but now we have a smaller yard we needed something lighter and easier to empty. The catcher works well and it's good to start and cuts beautifully. Feels sturdy with good grunt and even cuts wet grass.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
garyks57

garyks57Carrum Downs

  • 3 reviews

Not too bad

published

I use this mower commercially and on a daily basis (It is my second one). It lasts about 9 months doing this before the frame starts to fall apart. The engine however is very good. Starts reliably and I will probably buy again as I no longer like the Rover mowers.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Callw

CallwAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of rubbish

published

After paying $500.00 for a mower, I expect it to at least, pick up the grass. The catcher is useless as it leaves clumps of grass and doesn't pick it up. I have gone over the same patch of grass 3 times and it still leaves all the clippings behind.

Just another company charging ridiculous prices for something that doesn't do the job....

Useless..... Would not recommend.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Albany Nomads

Albany Nomads

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Make this your first choice, leaves a Honda for dead

published

I purchased this mower after dissolution with a Honda mower that I had purchased ( fortunately I got my money back)
This mower with a 190cc Subaru motor is great, starts with ease, has plenty of height adjustment and can lower enough to cut a nice height lawn. The 4 blade system gives a great smooth cut, the controls are straight forward and simple, if I had to be critical it could do with a better bolt pivot system on the folding handle.
At $499 was a great buy with a top quality motor
And can highly recommended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Lori

LoriHARRINGTON PARK

  • 4 reviews

Too great

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ishu

IshuNSW, 2150

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

excellent mower for the price.

published

EXCELLENT lawn mover without any cable problem and distance problem.
Cutting of grass is also perfect. Quality of blade is superb which cuts in an angle and make smooth finishing on the lawn. it uses very less petrol while in operation.
Easily cleaned with its hose attachment_the excellent mower for the price.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Mark

MarkNowra

Service and repair problems

published

I sought a service for my Ryobi 190 cc Subaru powered lawn mower in my local area. There are multiple local mower service and repair providers. None were keen to assist and some wouldn't. All said getting parts is a significant problem. I had a Briggs and Stratton mower for over 20 years that was great. I'll never buy or recommend this Ryobi/Subaru combination again. I may have to dump this mower at a loss and buy a proper one.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ross

Rossasked

Why my rear wheel not turning

3 answers
CQ Mountaineer
CQ Mountaineer

This may sound silly, but, "Is the wheel actually touching the ground?" If the axle is twisted, one arm, and thus wheel, will be out of alignment with the other. Does the wheel spin if you spin it by hand while the mower is tilted. This would indicate a seized bearing.

Ross
Ross

yes 1 moving other isnt

Ross
Ross

its brand new never been used


Brian W.

Brian W.asked

Why does mine vibrate hell of alot when going

1 answer
CQ Mountaineer
CQ Mountaineer

Has this occurred since new? (Don't use, take it back!!). Is it a sudden ailment? Sudden, suggests a) missing, or bent blade...b) bent or warped disc, c) bent crank shaft.


Steve

Steveasked

My mower is not collecting the grass in the catcher, it sits in the body or spreading all over the grass, what do i do the mower is only 1 year old

2 answers
ed_8
ed_8

Has the mower ever collected the grass or is this a recent problem?
If it's been like this from day one then I know this sound like a silly question but do you have the mulching plug fitted? If you have the mulching plug fitted then remove and it should be okay.
If the problem has only just recently appeared then check your blades. Ensure they're the correct ones for the model, aren't worn out, and that they're free to swing out when the mower is running.
When you're mowing, go in a clockwise direction or have the uncut grass on the right hand of the mower.
The blade spin clockwise (when viewed from above) and the grass chute in on the right side of the mower.
Could also be wet grass that does clump but there should still be some grass going into the catcher.

ibast
ibast

Agree with ed. It did come with the grass return fitted. Needs to be removed. And the mower doesn't deal with wet and long grass particularly well. Also check the vents for the catcher are clear. If these are clogged it will be reluctant to catch grass.


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.