??!
2 photos
Ryobi RLM4619SMB

Ryobi RLM4619SMB

MPN: RLM4619SMB
3.5 from 132 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Great Lawn Mower

Had the mower for 3 years now and still going strong. Starts first time and cuts through grass easy.'

Build quality could be a little better, but overall very happy with the mower.

Purchased in July 2017 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Great Engine. Bad mower

As other's have mentioned the engine is great. My mower before this was a Honda and I'd say this Subaru engine is better.

The rest, however, is rubbish.
- The wheels are different sizes, so you fight it when it tracks along edges.
- The Handle is too long, so you fight it in tight spaces and getting it into a garden shed. You'd have to be 7 foot tall to need handles this long. Even on the lowest setting.
- the height adjustment is pretty course.
- You need three hands to get the catcher on
- the catcher is small and you can only fill it about 3/4 full otherwise you lose 1/4 of the load when you pull it off.
- and given the engine is so large it could have been a bigger diameter cut.

Touch wood I haven't had anything break, but clearly whoever designed this doesn't maintain their own yard. They've designed it to look good but it's impractical.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Overall good, but

This is easily the most powerful mower I have ever owned and rarely has there been anything I've encountered that will stall the engine. Long wet grass will stall the mower, even at full speed, but where I live this isn't too much of a problem. The motor starts easily most times and has been reliable with just topping up the oil and cleaning the air filter and spark plug occasionally. The fuel tank and fuel consumption is good, I can do my entire yard on one fill. I use mulching plug only and the clippings could be finer but it's okay. It's not the lightest, quietest, or easiest to maneuver mower I've owned but it's acceptable.

The problems, not much; a metal part of the grass guide broke the welds and fell off. To my eye this appears to be poorly designed and very flimsy and only being held on by 4 spot-welds it's not surprising it fell off. I welded it back on but that only lasted about a year so now left it off as the mower appears to work without it (and the blades chewed it up extensively when it fell off). The mulch plug doesn't seal very well and a lot of grass and dust blows past the plug. The hose fitting is in an awkward position but apart from these there's not been anything major.
I have a standard 1/4 acre suburban lot so the mower doesn't get a huge amount of use, about weekly or fortnightly during the spring/summer and early autumn.

Purchased in December 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Starts first time pretty much every time

Had this lawn mower for about 4 years , never did anything to it and it starts most times first time no problem . Subaru engine is fantastic . Might look at replacing it only cause its a pain to push up and down my back yard hill but thats not the mowers fault i just need a self propelled mower

Purchased in March 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Not worth it

Do not be fooled this product is hopeless. I got this mower less than 2 months ago and already it is failing. It does not cut the grass properly, does not know the meaning of the word straight.....front wheel bar is bent a bit....my daughter is sick of raking after mowing as the mower does not pick up the grass.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Waste of Money

My Ryobi has only had light use every 3-4 weeks for about 12 months and has now failed. Thats only about a dozen or so times ! It is impossible to start despite new plug and service. Given the cost of labour and parts these days, it will probably not be economic to have it repaired.

The only way this mower can now be useful is as a boat anchor. No more doing things on the cheap. Back to Honda for me.

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Simply Superb

very easy to manoeuvre and operate. Its very smooth to drive. Good for grass and lawns.
Sharp blades for increased cut and safety.Powerful 190cc 4-stroke Subaru engine does make it very powerful. Does make a lot of noice .

Purchased in September 2018 at Raw Pleasure for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Great mower

I've put it thru some tough work, keep the blades updated, oil check. Has never given me any trouble. Clean the air filter etc . Don't use the catcher much, the mulched works fine.

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency

Looks great on paper but the engine doesn't make up for the terrible quality

The engine is powerful and quiet but all the other bits made by Ryobi are poorly designed and manufactured from low quality materials.

Using mower for the first time I found the design to be pretty bad. It doesn't properly catch the grass because the self-propelling transmission takes up half the chute. The self propelling feature is a gimmick. It's only needed because the engine is so damn heavy. The catcher attachment is terrible, very difficult to take on and off and grass goes everywhere. The one thing is does well is cutting thick tall grass because the engine is so powerful.

Then the problems started... the hub caps started falling off the wheels. The side chute developed a crack. The wheels actually fell off after the hubs developed cracks around the axle. Nasty ABS plastic! If they're going to use plastic at least make sure it's a durable type of plastic like nylon.

I have found Ryobi products to be rubbish in general. Store brands like Bunnings' Ozito are the same quality for cheaper.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

greatttt

bought from bunnings.empty catcher twice.powerful to do an average yard,700sq meter.no issues yet fingers crossed.i checked other reviews before purchase.starts on first pull, not to loud.frame feels ok to me ,rolls well .
always keep receipts ,you never know. uses regular fuel, the mower comes shipped without oil. It requires 10 w 30 oil which is standard lawn mower oil.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

For the price it is not worth the value for money

I recently purchased this lawnmower from bunnings and have had issues with the wheel rubbing on the chassie. Because i dont have the receipt i dont have warranty. For the price i paid for the lawnmower $500 .you think they would help me out. Should of just got a Honda for an extra $100 .very disappointing from ryobi and bunnings

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Good value

Bought this about 18 months ago and vary happy with it. Our old Honda was still going well but now we have a smaller yard we needed something lighter and easier to empty. The catcher works well and it's good to start and cuts beautifully. Feels sturdy with good grunt and even cuts wet grass.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Not too bad

I use this mower commercially and on a daily basis (It is my second one). It lasts about 9 months doing this before the frame starts to fall apart. The engine however is very good. Starts reliably and I will probably buy again as I no longer like the Rover mowers.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Piece of rubbish

After paying $500.00 for a mower, I expect it to at least, pick up the grass. The catcher is useless as it leaves clumps of grass and doesn't pick it up. I have gone over the same patch of grass 3 times and it still leaves all the clippings behind.

Just another company charging ridiculous prices for something that doesn't do the job....

Useless..... Would not recommend.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Make this your first choice, leaves a Honda for dead

I purchased this mower after dissolution with a Honda mower that I had purchased ( fortunately I got my money back)
This mower with a 190cc Subaru motor is great, starts with ease, has plenty of height adjustment and can lower enough to cut a nice height lawn. The 4 blade system gives a great smooth cut, the controls are straight forward and simple, if I had to be critical it could do with a better bolt pivot system on the folding handle.
At $499 was a great buy with a top quality motor
And can highly recommended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Too great

The Japanese automotive giant has more than 60 years of experience, and that is evident with this engine. It is as powerful as it is durable, and definitely one of the strongest selling points of the mower. We should also mention the versatile cutting mechanics. The Ryobi RLM4619SMB has all the current cutting methods down to a T, including cutting, catching and mulching.

The mulching function is supported by a side and a rear discharger, which is relatively rare. This allows you to recycle the mowed grass with great efficiency. The catcher bag is almost 2 cubic feet in capacity, providing plenty of space to mow down a medium-sized lawn without having to empty it half way. Thanks to the large rear wheels, this Subaru lawn mower is also easily maneuverable.

You can choose between seven different cutting lengths ranging from 0.7 to 3 inches, and if you happen to get thirsty while using the Ryobi on a hot summer afternoon, you will love the cup holder. This Subaru lawn mower review would not be complete without mentioning the potential downsides. At about 77 pounds, the mower is a bit on the heavy side, and not as fast as some other mowers. The engine is still excellent and cuts the grass really well, so these are probably minor flaws rather than real problems.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

excellent mower for the price.

EXCELLENT lawn mover without any cable problem and distance problem.
Cutting of grass is also perfect. Quality of blade is superb which cuts in an angle and make smooth finishing on the lawn. it uses very less petrol while in operation.
Easily cleaned with its hose attachment_the excellent mower for the price.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Service and repair problems

I sought a service for my Ryobi 190 cc Subaru powered lawn mower in my local area. There are multiple local mower service and repair providers. None were keen to assist and some wouldn't. All said getting parts is a significant problem. I had a Briggs and Stratton mower for over 20 years that was great. I'll never buy or recommend this Ryobi/Subaru combination again. I may have to dump this mower at a loss and buy a proper one.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

this mower id tops

okay so for the price I paid its powerful easy to maintain and for todays mowers its actually fairly decently made
i think the ryobi range this year is tops would definitly recommend this mower and the ryobi tool range with a 8.5 out of ten ,i mow and garden for a living and deliberatley bought this mower because i like the design and comfort of the ryobi tools I have always had ryobi tools and really love them ,the only thing this mower hasn't got is self propelled which i hardly use for residentail work ,most standard mowing doesn't require a self propelled mower and i find the only time i use my self propelled mower is when i have long runs ,or i need a little push up a hill ,ryobi has has a self propelled 160cc mower as equally built as the big 190cc high torque engine ,as for starting if you prime properly and keep your fuel clean this mower starts withinn 2-4 pulls every time cold or hot ,i love this mower so much i might even buy a second one just incase for a spare I normally use commercail mowers over 7.5 hp and the ryobi is just as powerful although has a 18 inch base and my commercials start at 21 inch
its perfectly good for mowing average sized yards and definitly powerful enough for the standard type of lawn

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Great Mower

Mows extremely well and without the catcher it mulches to point you don't have to rake the yard after. Starts easily and is fairly quiet for a petrol mower.
Easily cleaned with its hose attachment
Great mower for the price, would happily recommend this mower to anyone considering a new purchase.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Price
No answers

My Ryobi lawnmower keeps loosing power... high low... intermittent.. what’s wrong... cant see in booklet..
No answers

I have a brand new petrol 140cc ryobi lawn mower and it starts and then stops Any advice? Thanks dean
No answers

Details

Ryobi RLM4619SMB
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $499
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity50 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut10 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades4
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement190 cc
BrandSubaru
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
Engine NameSubaru 190cc 4-stroke

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: RLM4619SMB

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.