??!
4 photos
Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard

Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard

4.4 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

29 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (10)
  • Safety
    4.8 (10)
  • Ease of Installation
    4.9 (9)
  • Ease of Height Adjustment
    4.7 (10)
Previous
Next
Hedonna

Hedonna

  • 2 reviews

My 10 year old has only just grown out of it!

published

Safety for my children is my number 1 priority. After learning that the manufacturers of seatbelts state that you must be a minimum of 145cm in height to safely use a seatbelt (to adequately clear the neck and avoid submarining) I started actively searching for a booster with harness that would suit children up to 145cm tall. This seat, whilst one of the more expensive options, proved to be the most comfortable and easiest to adjust. The children especially love the head protection, which serves as a head rest on long trips, and the seat is extremely comfortable. The ease of adjusting the height of the headrest and straps for different height children is also a major design breakthrough. I highly recommend this product.

Purchased for A$490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelSubaru Forester
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Merissa

MerissaSouth Australia

My 5 year old love it

published

We upgraded my son seat because he is quite tall for his age I wanted something safe for him as I drive country roads a lot. He was so excited to get it in. Now I need one for my daughter they fight over it lol

Purchased in August 2020 at Baby Bunting for A$365.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Car ModelHolden Commodore VF (Wagon)
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Adele K.

Adele K.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely love ours

published

We purchased 1 then had to go back to get another cause it’s so fabulous! So comfortable for our kids and we have 2 in the back of our Santa Fe and will eventually upgrade the 3rd britax Seat to this model when its time.

Purchased in April 2020 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHyundai Santa Fe
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Baby Car Seats

Find out how Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard compares to other Baby Car Seats

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annon123

Annon123Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best compact booster seat

published

We needed to purchase 2 of these to fit 3 seats across our Captiva. These are amazing. Structurally Safe but still comfy for the kids. Will definitely buy a third when it’s time.

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHolden Captiva
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Evie

EvieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

NO CHEST STRAP OPTION

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Shannen1993

Shannen1993Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

LOVE LOVE LOVE

published

recently upgraded both my kids seats. The ease of installation and use has been game changing. Fabric is so soft and comfortable. Best money spent. Almost 2 year old and almost 4 year old love.

Purchased in June 2020 at Baby Bunting for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Monique

MoniqueSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This seat is amazing

published

we bought this seat for extended harness till 8 years old. So much better then the infasecure car seat we had. I dont have to fiddle with the harness for my sons height you just pull the clip on the headrest which is amazing. All car seats should have this feature and the price was amazing.

Purchased in May 2020 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelMazda Tribute
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Dee

DeePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Extra trimmings without the price

published

We chose this seat mostly because it has extended safety harness to 8 years. We now love so many other features- the Hugh quality covering and passing, the removal seat liner, the atm rests ... and overall comfort. It is a great product and is our fourth and favourite car seat.

Purchased in February 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHyundai ix35
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Ang

AngCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing for my reflux baby

published

My son loves this seat he's 6 months, he spews alot And suffers bad reflux!
It's roomy doesn't squish him up like other seats meaning less pressure on his belly.
It's super comfy and so easy to remove and put in other cars, and I love all the extra safety it has with it.

Purchased in June 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Baby Car Seats

Find out how Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard compares to other Baby Car Seats

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jessica

JessicaPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great car seat

published

This is our second Britax seat. Great quality. Love how easy it is to adjust. Easy to install too (the other one is Isofix so I was worried this would be hard for me to do).

Purchased in December 2018 at Baby Bunting Online store for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Ease of Installation
Ease of Height Adjustment
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelHyundai i20
See all answers
1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Jessica, Thanks for taking the time to leave a terrific review and valuable feedback. If there is anything we can assist you with in further, please call us on 1300 303 330. Kind regards, the Safe-n-Sound team.

MariaB

MariaBSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Safe and comfy

published

The car seat is very comfy. Baby is very protected and fabric is soft. It is not a bulky seat so it fits in a medium car. Not overpriced and it works as it should. I'm happy with it and would recommend if you want it as a second car seat as the head protection is not as sophisticated as other car seats.

1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Amanda

AmandaRamsgate Sydney

The black button is to easy for child use

published

This needs to be recalled!! I want my money back!!!! Waste of $430 bought this for my 3 year old and with in 2 weeks she figured out how to press the black button to loosen her straps and get out. I was driving on the high way and she lent all the way over my shoulder I nearly died as I wasn't expecting that! I pulled over and asked her how did she get out and she showed me! The black button is in the child's reach she kept playing with it I had to take it out and put her old insecure neon car seat it where the "leaver" is under neath AWAY from her reach. You say that safety is your first priority well maybe take a look further into it.

1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Amanda, thanks for your review and we're sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please give our consumer care team a call on 1300 303 330 as we would like to discuss this with you in further detail. Kind regards, the Britax team.

Dangerous

published

This is my 5th Safe n Sound seat and after one month of use I am unable to use it. The strap release leaver can be reached by my son, he lifted it, released the straps and climbed out whilst I was driving down the freeway. I’ve gone back to using my older Maxi Rider as the strap release is further away and is a push button, we’ve never had an issue with that seat. A Britax representitive advised me to discipline my son better.

KirstyMatt

KirstyMattPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic Seat

published

I purchased two of these seats in January 2018. The seat is so easy to install, and once in it is easy to adjust and take the seat cover off for easy washing. My daughter loves the seat and is very comfortable sitting in it too. I love the fact that it is a 5 point harness until she outgrows it at around age 8, as the idea of a lap sash is not so appealing for me. Will be definitely purchasing another 2 when my son grows out of his carseat.

  • Verified purchase

So easy to install and change height for each child

published

I love our britax MaxiGuard. I have 3 children who love to swap chairs daily. The Maxi Guard makes it possible to do this with the inbuilt height adjuster. No longer do I need to take the car seat out to adjust the height. Super Easy to clean and my kids fight for this seat (others are another brand currently - upgrading for my sanity ASAP).

Review collected in partnership with Britax Safe-n-Sound

Baby Car Seats

Find out how Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard compares to other Baby Car Seats

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great comfortable seat for growing kid

published

I bought this seat in May last year. It is very easy to install and perfect for my one year old kid.Also It is quite stylish, comfortable. The fabric is also great. I think it is safe for the kid when travelling in the car. Very happy for my purchase. I recommend it to all.

1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
4 little cherubs

4 little cherubsvictoria, 3825

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Greats for growing families

published

Easy to intall. It’s perfect for my growing family. I love that it has the 5 point harness to keep little ones safe for longer. Impact protecting is worth the extra you pay for this car seat.
Easy to clean just put in the washing machine and comes out like new.

AY

AY

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good seat, easy to install

published

We bought this for our 3.5 years old recently. Easy to install, comfy to sit in. When child falls asleep his head can rest on the side, won't lean forward which is perfect. Shoulder protector strap won't attach to the back rest like our previous car seat does, meaning the shoulder pads does drop to chest from time to time which defeats the purpose of being there. I might sow it on to the backrest to keep it at neck high. Overall, happy.

1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
KJ23

KJ23Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great comfortable seat.

published

We purchased this for our 2.5 yr old as an upgrade when we had our daughter and he loves it! It is quite stylish, comfortable and practical. The fabric is also great in the heat! the straps are supposed to tuck out if the way but they often end up back where they were.

1 comment
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Zoe

ZoeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

My boy loves this

published

My boy has changed to this car seat, he loves it and settles well every single ride. The seat is so comfortable, the head rest and harness can be easily adjusted. I install the car seat without any issues by following the instruction. Both my hubby and I are happy with this purchase.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Beep beep

Beep beepasked

Hi, how wide is this seat please? Is it the same as the pro? Also what is the difference between this and the pro? Thanks

1 answer
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Beep beep, thanks for your question. All the specifications for the product are located on the website under each product. If you wish to receive a product comparison for these two products, please email au-support@britax.com so we can further assist you. Kind regards, the Britax Childcare team

Chanelle

Chanelleasked

Hi- I know it says 6 months but minimum 6.3kg. Is it suitable for 6.3kg if not 6 months yet?

1 answer
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Chanelle, thanks for your question. The Britax Safe-n-Sound Maxi Guard is tested from 6mths-8years approx however age is used as a guide whereas height is used as rule. There is no longer a weight limit for car seats. The entry level marker is 290mm approx. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our consumer support team on 1300 303 330. Kind regards, the Britax Childcare team.

Ash Puddicombe

Ash Puddicombeasked

Hello
I recently bought a Britax Safe guard from baby bunting, my little one threw up so I removed all covers to wash and notice the inside of the seat is only a piece of foam with ducted tape ? Is that all there is to it ? I had a cheap car seat prior with that same type of foam inside I thought upgrading to an expensive one and one with excellent reviews would be different but it’s basically identical interior to the cheaper car seat brand I had ... thats a disappointment

3 answers
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Ash Puddicombe, thanks for your question. Can you please email us at au-support@britax.com and provide us wit a photo of exactly what was underneath the cover? If you can also please advise us of the item details when emailing too. Kind regards, the Britax Childcare team.

Ash Puddicombe
Ash Puddicombe

Hello
Yes I will email a photo shortly

Ash Puddicombe
Ash Puddicombe

Email sent

Get an answer from our members and Britax Safe-n-Sound representatives

Details

CategoryBaby Car Seats
Price (RRP) A$449.00
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Age 8+ years
Dimensions 680 x 460 x 505 mm
Colour / FinishBlack, Grey
Weight6.3 kg
Anchor System
Convertible No
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311742080290

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.