?
? !
1 photo
Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

1.9 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (15)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (16)
  • Number of Connected Devices 6.25 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    2.8 (16)
  • Reliability
    2.0 (17)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    2.4 (16)
Previous
Next
Jan

JanSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does the basic functionality fine

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ecorigon I.

Ecorigon I.Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolute Howler

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeyendra

JeyendraSydney, NSW

Optus failed

published

We switch to NBN and optus is our internet provider, they supplied Sagemcom P/N 253795799 modem.
This modem is crap, doesn't like to connect any Apple products, Optus technical team can't fix this issue.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

PhilSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish router

published

Router works OK when it's working properly, but it gets slower and slower over the day. I have to reset it every day, so less than useless. Waiting for my TP Link router to arrive.

Purchased in June 2019 at Supplied by Optus.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wow what happened to the Optus of old.

published

Constant IP conflicts on different PC's,
QNAP NAS won't connect.
Can't set an IP address by MAC.
Poor equipment. LOL Optus Help says buy my own router.
Go elsewhere if you can!!

Purchased in January 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices6 devices
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anthony

AnthonySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified

Modem is average

published

- lack of connectivity, random spikes in pings, could possibly be due to the modem heating up
- easy to setup, standard modem
- lots of cables for households that requires connection and sufficient cables are supplied

-Proof of purchase attached to this review, part of Optus bundle that i pay on a month to month basis

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bharat Ratan S.

Bharat Ratan S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified

Nice modem with adaptability and good life.

published

Nice modem but have to reset it sometimes. It has been working fine for more than a year (2 yrs of which I have been with Optus) though I had an option to upgrade to a new modem but I did not as it has been working fine. The Status LEDs are pretty accurate and help me to understand my connectivity.

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leanne12

Leanne12Perth, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Disgrace

published

To experience constant drop outs in this day and age is unacceptable. This modem takes you back to 90's technology.
Stay well away from Optus and it's chosen modem it has caused us constant grief for 6 months and we have finally had enough!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
daveb

davebGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Works fine for me . . .

published

Changed from Optus-Cable to Optus-NBN-HFC 7 weeks ago, and got delivered one of these routers. Simply connected to Arris modem as installed by NBN, then personalised WiFi psw etc .

Has worked 100% for me (including 5GHz WiFi) with touch-wood, no lockups / dropouts (so far). The version is 3684 v3 HP - so maybe in this latest firmware, all the bugs that have upset others have been removed . . .

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim_Ford

Jim_Ford

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sagemcom D@ST 3864 from Optus

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
VV

VVMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Frequent network dropouts & poor WiFi range

published

If you have signed up with Optus on your NBN network then chances are that you have received this modem (or router) as part of the deal. This modem looks good and is easy to setup. For me it was just plug and play.. no issues with setup. The web based interface is basic but sufficient for everyday use.
However, beware .. this modem locks up frequently and requires reboot quite frequently. In my case twice or three times a day. You do get full LAN and WiFi connection from the modem but not internet access when the unit locks up. So it seems that you are connected but can't access anything. Another problem with the unit is that the WiFi range is quite poor, in my case hardly few meters in the house.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George D

George DAdelaide

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Dont buy this

published

This modem is terrible. It has poor range and not worth the hassle of set up. I will be returning it and getting a better one that has better range.

Purchased in February 2019 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Archimedean

ArchimedeanGippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

If I could give less than one star I would

published

A rubbish modem. Constantly have to reset it. Wifi a waste of time despite repeater.
Asked Optus for a better grade of modem but they dont have one.
Decided to replace it with a FRITZ!

Purchased in April 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
ModemSagemcom F@ST 3864AC
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jeanada

jeanadaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

it does the job

published

using it for a few weeks now and about 70% of the time the device has about 5% packet loss. This makes gaming and voice really poor. Otherwise basic admin of device is poor. Cant even add static IP through the GUI. Had to rely on someOptus and have had issues ever since with this piece of rubbish.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

NBN Hater

NBN HaterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really rubbished Modem not sure what to do with optus...

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

SteveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish! Expect to need to find a replacement

published

Sagemcom 3864ACv3 is rubbish. I've been using it for a few weeks now and about 70% of the time the device has about 5% packet loss. This makes gaming and voice really poor. Otherwise basic admin of device is poor. Cant even add static IP through the GUI. Had to rely on some legend on the internet to devise a direct method of creating it. Simply terrible. Now trying to find a way to replace it! Wish Optus didnt inflict it upon us, the Telstra modem was 1000% better.

Purchased in February 2019 at optus.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Magpie Greg

Magpie GregGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Piece of rubbish

published

I switched over to nbn in Oct 2017 on Optus and have had issues ever since with this piece of rubbish.

When I complained to Optus their final solution was run it via ethernet directly into the router. That may work for the desktop but I have a number of devices I need to run with wifi. Problem is I need the landline and am locked in for another 8 months. As soon as that is up I am switching to another provider, or just scrapping the landline altogether and gettign my own router.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Sagecom 3864AC - Poor wi-fi

published

Have only just moved over to NBN and with it had to change to a free Sagecom router from Optus.
Internet connection by ethernet to PC is OK, but the Wi-Fi by comparison is inconsistent to all of my devices, whether PC, laptop or mobile phone.
None of this was a problem before I changed from a Netgear ADSL router.
Past experience with free Optus routers has been negative, so not really surprised.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthed Wharmby

Matthed WharmbySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

bad WiFi not good for new comers

published

i thought it would be good but when i got it after 3 months of use it kept going slow and bad i would not recommend it for all time use but for part time use

Purchased in March 2014 at Thr1ve for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Colin

ColinMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad wifi range and drop outs

published

Works fine a a wired lan router but I found my self having to restart the device once a week due to wifi dropping off. The wifi range is also not great but I could live with that if I didn't have to reboot the modem constantly. It was free from Optus so cant complain about the price.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Ken B.

Ken B.asked

Will this work for NBN

1 answer
Jan
Jan

It was standard issue modem around two years ago with Optus NBN. It will work with any provider as it is a generic modem. Ethernet output cable from NBN ARRIS box goes as input this modem. Note the NBN coax cable does not go into this modem.

ricky

rickyasked

my wifi extender WN2500RPv2 no longer works after the sagecom nbn modem was installed. Tried resetting via WSP and web but does not fix the problem. Ios device also cannot pick up connection with extender and keeps giving wrong IP address. Do i need to configure something on Sagecom modem ? Do i need to add MAC address etc ?

4 answers
Phil
Phil

Is the Sagemcom new? If so, I think you have to configure everything to suit. I have a Sagemcom and its wifi is useless - keeps dropping out. I still use the Sagemcom for the phone landline but I hardwire another router from for my wifi

ricky
ricky

Thanks for reply. Yes, Sagecom modem is new; was provided as part of change from cable to NBN and was set up by service provider. What do I need to change in the configuration ?

Jeyendra
Jeyendra

Along with the Segemcom modem, I am using Netgear R6400 AC1750 Smart WiFi router, there is no issues so far.

John

Johnasked

does this router have voip capability

1 answer
Phil
Phil

Yes. I plug my landline into it and seems to work ok. Just the wifi part isn’t much good

See all Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Product TypeModem and Router
Wi-Fi Type802.11 b, 802.11 g, 802.11 n and 802.11 ac
Band TypeDual Band
Ethernet Ports4
USB Ports2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.